Government Website icon

The .gov means it's official.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Padlock icon

The site is secure.
The https:// or lock icon ensures you're safely connected to the website and any information you provide is encrypted.

Media iconPress Release

Eight Candidates File for the Kansas Presidential Preference Primary

Friday, January 19, 2024

TOPEKA – Secretary of State Scott Schwab announced that eight candidates, four Democrats and four Republicans, met today’s filing deadline for the state’s Presidential Preference Primary. The preference primary will be held on March 19. Candidates were required to pay a $10,000 filing fee and submit notarized paperwork with the Kansas Secretary of State’s office.

The Democrat filed candidates are:

Dean Phillips
Jason Michael Palmer
Joseph R Biden Jr.
Marianne Williamson

The Republican filed candidates are:

Donald J. Trump
Nikki R. Haley
Ron DeSantis
Ryan L. Binkley

“I am pleased to have four candidates from each major political party file with our office,” Schwab said. “I encourage Kansans to get out and vote in this historic election.”

As a reminder, the deadline to register or update voter registration is February 20 to participate in the preference primary.

In accordance with K.S.A. 25-4503(d), the Secretary of State’s office will conduct the random selection of the ballot order for both political parties. This event, open to the public and media, is set for 10:00 a.m. on Monday, January 22, at the Memorial Hall Auditorium in Topeka.

In addition to the ballot order selected by the Office, each ballot will have four candidate names, as well as a “none of the names shown” option. To learn more about this one-time Presidential Preference Primary visit