Government Website icon

The .gov means it's official.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Padlock icon

The site is secure.
The https:// or lock icon ensures you're safely connected to the website and any information you provide is encrypted.

Media iconPress Release


Wednesday, January 27, 2021

TOPEKA – Secretary of State Scott Schwab today announced Fred Sherman has been sworn in as Johnson County Election Commissioner. Sherman was appointed in January 2020 as Deputy Election Security Commissioner with the intent to assume the position of Election Commissioner in 2021.

“Mr. Sherman has an impressive background in management, finance and government,” said Secretary of State Scott Schwab. “He is an experienced project manager who understands the importance of working with local officials to responsibly manage the Johnson County election office.”

Mr. Sherman replaces Connie Schmidt who was appointed by Schwab to oversee the Johnson County Election Office for the 2020 elections. Sherman worked directly with Ms. Schmidt to administer the successful primary and general elections in preparation for assuming the role of election commissioner.

“2020 was not an easy year, especially for our local election officials who had to administer two major elections in the middle of a global pandemic,” said Schwab. “Fred was instrumental in executing the successful elections and worked hard to ensure a quality election experience for the residents of Johnson County.”

Schwab thanked Ms. Schmidt for her leadership and return to public service.

“Connie selflessly agreed to serve as temporary Johnson County election commissioner, never anticipating the 2020 elections would be held during a global pandemic. Thanks to her outstanding leadership and expertise, the Johnson County Election Office is positioned to thrive. We owe our heartfelt gratitude to Connie for her dedication and service,” said Schwab.

Mr. Sherman has resided in Johnson County since 1995. He has over 25 years of municipal and county government experience and a strong background in management and finance. Mr. Sherman is a member of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA), American Planning Association (APA), American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP), and the University of Kansas Urban Planning Advisory Board. He was a participant in the Local Government Supervision Certificate Program and holds a Credentialed Manager designation from ICMA. Prior to joining the Johnson County Election Office, Mr. Sherman served as the Chief Administrative Officer and City Clerk for the city of Westwood, Kansas. He is a graduate of the University of Kansas and holds a master’s degree from Georgia Tech. Mr. Sherman is a resident of Olathe.

In early 2020, a committee of representatives from Johnson County government and the Office of Secretary of State conducted interviews with applicants and forwarded their recommendations to Secretary Schwab. Upon review, Secretary Schwab interviewed the finalists and collaborated with county officials on the final decision.