Government Website icon

The .gov means it's official.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Padlock icon

The site is secure.
The https:// or lock icon ensures you're safely connected to the website and any information you provide is encrypted.

Elections iconCounty Election Offices

Each of the 105 counties in Kansas has a county election officer responsible for conducting all official elections held in the county. In the four largest counties - Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Wyandotte - the election officer is the election commissioner, appointed by the secretary of state. For the other 101 counties it is the county clerk, elected by the voters in the county.

In 2022, Secretary Schwab’s administration launched a Certified Election Training program for all Kansas county election officials. The new program helps county clerks analyze election office procedures, improve uniformity across counties, teach how to implement new policies, and provide a curriculum training course to receive certification. This program is in addition to the annual statewide and biannual regional trainings that currently take place for county election officials conducted by the Secretary of State’s office.