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State of Kansas
BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY
NOTICE OF EXAMINATION '

Pursuant to K.S.A. 74-1504, the Kansas State Board
of Examiners in Optometry will examine applicants

for certificates of optometric registration from June 6-9 -

at the Howard Johnson Motel, Hereford Room, 3839 S..
Topeka Blvd., Topeka. For additional information, call
(913) 367-4989.

Secretary-Treasurer

‘Doc. No. 005282

State of Kansas
STATE BANK COMMISSIONER
STATE BANKING BOARD

NOTICE OF MEETING

" The State Banking Board will meet at 10 a.m. Mon-
day, May 18, in the conference room of the State
Banking Department, 700 Jackson, Suite 300, Topeka.
The board reviews matters relating to its supervisory

-authority set forth in K.S.A. 9-1801 et seq. ‘

EUGENE T. BARRETT, JR.
State Bank Commissioner

Doc. No. 005295

.State of Kansas ' : '
‘ OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 87-96
OFFER OF REWARD

WHEREAS, John James Kelly, age 87, of Atchison,
Kansas, was murdered at his residence in Atchison,
Kansas, on April 22, 1984; and '

WHEREAS, said killing appears to have been a
heinous crime and homicide in violation of the laws of
the State of Kansas. _ '

NOW, THEREFORE, by virture of the authority
vested in me by K.S.A. 75-113, I, Mike Hayden, Gov-
ernor of the State of Kansas, do hereby offer a reward
of five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) for information
leading to the apprehension and conviction of the
perpetrator(s) of this crime.

This document shall be filed with the Secretary of
State as Executive Order No. 87-96, and shall become
effective immediately. : :

Dated April 22, 1987.

MIKE HAYDEN
Governor

BILL GRAVES
Secretary of State

Doc. No. 003330

Vol..6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

HAROLD A. FRIEDEN, O.D.

State of Kansas

NORTHWEST KANSAS GROUNDWATER
MANAGEMENT DISTRICT NO. 4

NOTICE OF MEETING -
AND PUBLIC HEARING

The Northwest Kansas Groundwater Management
District No. 4 will meet at 10 a.m. C.D.T. Thursday,
May 7, in the district office, 1175 S. Range, Colby.
General administrative matters: and other business
will be discussed. : o

The board will also be holding a public hearing the
same day on the 1988 proposed operational budget.
The hearing will begin at 1 p.m. C.D.T. in the district
office. ‘ :

' WAYNE A. BOSSERT

' Manager

Doc. No. 005302

State of Kansas o .
PARK AND RESOURCES AUTHORITY

REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS FOR
~ AMPHITHEATER FACILITIES AT
'EL DORADO STATE PARK

'Sealed proposals will be recéivedatthé office of the
State Park and Resources Authority, 900 Jackson,

" Room 502, Topeka, until 2 p.m. May 15, for the privi- -

lege of installing and operating an ampbhitheater facil-
ity at E1 Dorado State Park in Butler County. A pri-
vately financed amphitheater facility is subject to the
approval of the Army Corps of Engineers. The amphi-

" theater will be at the location designated by the State

Park and Resources Authority. The proposal will be
publicly opened and read at the aforesaid time and
place.: : - ‘

The proposed sublease includes a permit to finance,
construct and operate an amphitheater facility com-
plex consisting of theater facilities (seating area and
stage), scenery construction and change rooms-build-
ing, parking area and utilities, toilet facilities, land-
scaping and all ancillary facilities for a minimum
period of 25 years. The sublease will be awarded to
the bidder or bidders, in the judgment of the State
Park and Resources Authority, for the highest respon-
sible bid taking into account the capital expenditures
for facilities, experience and past history as shown in
statements submitted with proposals. ‘

All bids must be on official proposal forms which -

may be obtained at the address above between 8 a.m.
and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

LYNN BURRIS, JR.
- Director

Doc. No. 005325

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987~
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State of Kansas
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

KANSAS COUNCIL ON
EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

NOTICE OF MEETING

The Kansas Council on Employment and Trammg
will meet from 9 a.m. to noon Friday, May 8, in the
Pozez Education Center, Stormont-Vail Reglonal
Medical Center, 1500 S.W. 10th, Topeka.

- The agenda includes:

1. Subcommittee reports.
a. Targeted Groups
b. Plans Review
¢. Evaluation

2. Youth Task Force report

The meeting is open to the public.
DENNIS TAYLOR

Secretary of Human Resources

Doc. Neo. 005323

State of Kansas
SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS
FOR SOCIAL SERVICES

The Department of Social and Rehabilitation Ser-
vices will accept applications for the provision of
social services for refugees in Dodge City, Garden
City, and Liberal in the areas of crime prevention,
services to youth, and special employment efforts. The
grant period will be from July 1, 1987 to June 30, 1988.

To be eligible, applicants must meet the definition
of a mutual assistance association, in which the orga-
nization must be legally incorporated and be non-
profit or have applied for non-profit status, and the
composition of the board of directors or governing
board of the mutual assistance association must be at
least 51 percent refugees or former refugees.

All proposals must be submitted in triplicate to the
Garden City SRS area office no later than 5 p.m. May
25. Applications received after that date will not be
considered.

Instructions for completing the application are de-
scribed in an RFP packet available on request from
the Garden City SRS office or from Phil Gutierrez,
Department .of Social and Rehabilitation Services,
P.O. Box 30, Topeka 66601, (913) 296-3349.

ROBERT C. HARDER
Secretary of Social and
‘ Rehabilitation Services

Doc. No. 003318

& Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

State of Kansas )
SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

DIVISION OF SERVICES FOR THE BLIND
ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- NOTICE OF MEETING
The Division of Services for the Blind Advisory

_ Committee will meet at 10 a.m. Friday, May 15, in the

Rehabilitation Center for the Blind conference room,
2516 W. 6th, Topeka.

RICHARD A. SCHUTZ
Dlrector Division of Services
for the Blind

Doc. No. 005317

State of Kansas
ATTORNEY GENERAL

Opmlon No. 87-70

Oll and Gas—Crude Oil or Petroleum; Production and
Sale—Assessment of Costs of Administering 55-601 to
55-613, Disposition of Moneys. Keith  R. Henley,
Chalrman, State Corporation Commlssmn, Topeka,
April 16, 1987.

The statutory and regulatory scheme found i in K.S.A.
1986 Supp. 55-609(c), 55-711(c) and K.A.R. 82-3-206

imposes an assessment to pay the conservation divi- -

sion expenses and administrative costs. Under this
scheme the first purchaser pays the assessment and
deducts it from payment of production to produceré
and royalty owners.

Generally, as a matter of federal constltutronal law,
the federal government and Indian tribes are exempt
from state taxation absent congressional consent. In
our judgment there is implicit consent to tax the fed-
eral government in 30 U.S.C. § 189, which authorizes
a tax against a lessee of the federal government.

This federal statute has been interpreted by the U.S.
Supreme Court to authorize the tax against the lessee
“as if the government were not concerned.” There is
also congressional authorization to tax the mineral

interests of Indian tribes if the interests result from a
~ lease issued to a non-Indian lessee pursuant to the

1924 Act found in 25 U.S.C. § 398. However, this
authorization does not exist in the Indian Mmeral

‘Leasing Act of 1938 found in 25 U.S.C. § 396a.

Therefore, Indian mineral interests resulting from a

lease issued to a non-Indian lessee pursuant to the

1924 Act are not exempt and those pursuant to the
1938 Act are exempt from the statutory and regulatory
scheme in question. Cited herein: K.S.A. 1986 Supp.
55-609, 55-711, U.S. Const., Art. IV, §3, cl. 2 30
U.S.C. § 189, 25 U.S.C. §§396a 398. GE

ROBERT T. STEPHAN
’ ‘ Attorney General
Doc. No. 005320 L
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State of Kahsas ‘ S
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

‘ s ,NQTICE;OF HEARING

The State Corporation Commission has set the ap-
plication of Northern Pump Company for a gas well
determination as required by the Natural Gas Policy
Act of 1978, Section 108, seasonally affected well, for
hearing at 10.a.m. Friday, May 15, irr the hearing room
of the Conservation Division, 300 Colorado Derby
Building, 202 W. 1st, Wichita. This matter has been
reopened and remanded to the State Corporation
Commission pursuant to a Federal Energy Regulatory
‘Commission order issued May 21, 1986.

The name and location of the well which the appli-
cant seeks to have classified is as follows:

~ Danner No. Al well, Northwest Quarter of Sec-
tion 31, Township 23 South, Range 32 West,
Finney County, Kansas.

ANN T. RIDER -

- Assistant General Counsel
Doc. No. 005300 ' S

State of Kansas - o ‘
'STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
4 ‘PUBLIC NOTICE
" The State Corporation Commission intends to sub-
mit an application to the Federal Energy Regulatory
‘ Commission for approval of alternative filing require-
- ments pursuant to 18 CFR 274.207. The alternative
filing requirement would allow an operator to apply
" for eligibility determinations under Section 103 of the
Natural Gas Policy Act for additional wells in existing
proration units in the Hugoton Field, Chase Group,
without repeated submissions of geological and engi-
neering data demonstrating that the additional well is
necessary to effectively and efficiently drain a portion
of the reservoir covered by the proration unit that
cannot be effectively and efficiently drained by any
“existing well within the proration unit.
" The alternative filing would provide substantial ev-
idence on which to base a determination since the
pertinent geological and engineering data showing
the necessity for a second well in the existing prora-
tion unit has already been accumulated during pre-
vious hearings under oath.
~ The commission invites written public comment
regarding a proposed alternative filing requirement.
Comments should be addressed to Ann T. Rider, As-
sistant General Counsel, State Corporation Commis-
sion, 200 Colorado Derby Building, 202 W. 1st, Wich-
_ita 67202, no later than May 15. : o
- ANN T. RIDER
Assistant General Counsel

Doc. No. 005301

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

capped infants and toddlers.

State of Kansas

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND ENVIRONMENT

COORDINATING COUNCIL ON EARLY
CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES

NOTICE OF MEETING

A new federal grant will make monies available to
Kansas for use in setting up programs to serve handi-
A public meeting to seek input on a grant proposal
will be held in conjunction with the Citizen’s Advi-
sory Committee meeting at Fort Hays State University
on May 5. The public input portion will be held from
1:30-3 p.m. in the Memorial Union, Pioneer Lounge,
Fort Hays State University, Hays. .

The grant proposal, commissioned by the Coordi-
nating Council on Early Childhood Developmental
Services, is the outgrowth of several years” work by
local and state officials from Social and Rehabilitation
Services, Department of Education, Department of
Health and Environment, Department of Administia-
tion and State Board of Regents, along with public
members such as the Citizen’s Advisory Committee.

In 1985 the Coordinating Council on Early Child-
hood Developmental Services was established by
statute and charged with promoting comprehensive
service delivery to young children with or at risk for
having handicapping conditions and their families in
the state of Kansas. : ;

This meeting will be the first of three scheduled
across the state before the grant is due in July. The
other meetings will be held June 9 in Topeka at the
TARC, 17th and Randolph, from 7-9 p.m., and in
Wichita on June 4 at City Hall, Board Room, 455 N. ,
Main, from 7-9 p.m. :

Copies of the proposal will be available at the pub- -
lic hearings. Written comments will be accepted by
those unable to attend. Requests for copies of the grant
proposal and comments should be addressed to Judy
Moler, Room 905, Landon State Office Building, 900
S.W. Jackson, Topeka 66620-0001. .o

There is no charge for the meeting. No advance

registration is needed. ‘

' JACK D. WALKER, M.D:

: Secretary of Health
- and Environment

Doc. No. 005327

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987



704 N | | _ KANSAS REGISTER

HEARINGS

State of Kansas :
BOARD OF EDUCATION

NOTICE OF HEARING ON THE STATE
PLAN FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES

The Kansas State Board of Education will conduct a
public hearing at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 12, in Room

121 of the Kansas State Education Building, 120 E.

10th, Topeka, to consider proposed changes in the
Kansas State Plan for Community Colleges. The
changes are to become effective July 1, 1987, follow-
ing adoption by the board and approval by the Gover-
nor. The revised state plan relates generally to the
following:

The State Plan for Community Colleges is required
- by Kansas statute for the purpose of developing state

goals for Kansas community colleges. The proposed -

revised plan includes current and complete statutes
and regulations that relate to Kansas community col-

leges. The procedures and forms for new course and -

program approval also are provided, along with the
recently adopted role, scope, and mission statements
for community colleges. The intent of assembling in-
formation concerning community colleges into one
document is to assist trustees, administrators and fac-
ulty in the day-to-day operation of the colleges.

- Draft copies of the revised plan have been distrib- -

uted to a subcommittee of the Community College
Advisory Council in preparation for review by the
entire council. Input also has been solicited from task
forces, the Council of Presidents, and deans of in-
struction. ) :

A copy of the proposed revised plan may be ob-
tained by contacting the secretary of the State Board of
Education prior to the date of the hearing.

All interested persons will be given a reasonable
opportunity at the hearing to present their views,
either orally or in writing, in regard to the proposed
plan. Individuals or organizations that cannot appear
at the hearing may submit to the secretary of the board
at least five days before the hearing their views con-
cerning the proposed plan. All comments received
will be considered by the board. The hearing shall be
conducted in compliance with the public hearing
procedures of the board. : L

KANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
By Bill Musick, Chairman

Doc. No. 005324

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

State of Kansas

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND ENVIRONMENT =~ o

NOTICE OF HEARING -

A public hearing to discuss the proposed addition of
six projects to the federal fiscal year 1987 priority list
will be held at 10 a.m. Tuesday, June 2, at the To-
peka-Shawnee County Health Department, 1615 W.
8th, Topeka. . S

The Bureau of Water Protection has developed

' rankings for six additional projects to be considered

for funding during federal fiscal year 1987. Comments
regarding this proposal can be presented at the hear-
ing or in writing prior to the hearing. Written com-
ments and information on the projects can be obtained
by contacting Robert Nicholson, Bureau of Water Pro-
tection, Kansas Department of Health and Environ-
ment, Forbes Field, Building 740, Topeka 66620,
(913) 862-9360, ext. 250. : ' '

JACK D. WALKER, M.D.
Secretary of Health
and Environment

Doc. No. 005315

Siate of Kansas .
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND ENVIRONMENT

NOTICE OF HEARING
| ON PROPOSED .
ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS

A public hearing will be conducted at 10 a.m. Fri-
day, May 15, at the Kansas Department of Health and
Environment, executive conference room, Building
740, Forbes Field, Topeka, to adopt a temporary*and -
permanent regulation of the Department of Health
and Environment, K.A.R. 28-14-2. o .

The regulation is authorized by K.S.A. 65-156, 65-
157 and 65-171m. The amendments will fix the fees
for any services rendered to cover the cost of the
services in compliance with the House Appropriations
Committee. ‘

Copies of the regulation and the fiscal impact state-
ment may be obtained by writing the Kansas Depart-
ment of Health and Environment, Laboratory Services
and Research, Forbes Field, Topeka 66620. :

All interested parties may submit written comments
prior to the hearing to the address above. Following
the hearing, all written and oral comments submitted
by interested parties will be considered by the Secre-
tary of Health and Environment as the basis for mak-
ing changes to the amended regulation.

JACK D. WALKER, M.D.
Secretary of Health

and Environment
Doc. No. 005328

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987
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State of Kansas
THE KANSAS LOTTERY

REQUEST FOR PROPOSALS FOR
REGIONAL OFFICE FACILITIES

. The state -of Kansas is soliciting proposals for. re-

gional facilities to house ticket distribution centers for
'The Kansas Lottery. Each facility will require 2,000
square feet and be strategically located. within the

state. There will be three sites selected in addltlon to -

‘the Topeka regional office, which will operate from
the general headquarters. .

Request for proposals will be available May 4 at the
office of The Kansas Lottery, Room 154-W, Docking
State Office Bulldmg, Topeka 66612. Deadhne for
receipt of proposals is May 15. For further informa-
tion, contact Dan Walstrom at (913) 296-1765.

LARRY MONTGOMERY
‘Executive Director
Doc. No. 005329 o B

State of Kansas
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DIVISION OF PURCHASES

NOTICE TO BIDDERS

‘Sealed bids for the followmg items will be received
by the Director of Purchases, Landon State Office
Building, 900 Jackson, Room 102, Topeka, until 2 p.m.
C.D.T. on the date indicated, and then will be pub-
licly opened. Interested bidders may call (913) 296-
2377 for additional information.

. MONDAY, MAY 11, 1987

o #27128
Statewide—FAMILY PLANNING -
PHARMACEUTICALS AND SUPPLIES
#27522 ‘
- Kansas nghway Patrol—POLICE TYPE WORK
JACKETS
: #27625
Statewide—DESKTOP COMPUTER PRINTERS
#27633
Department of Social and Rehabilitation
Services—CORRUGATED CARTONS
#68539-A
Department of Transportatlon—-PLANT MIX
various locatlons
" #68889
i Department of Revenue-——MICROCOMPUTER
#68890 :
: Department of Transportatlon—-PAVEMENT
MARKING TAPE, Olathe
#68891
Department of Transportatlon—ROTARY SNOW
PLOW LOADER MOUNTS
© #68896
chhlta State University—ELECTRONIC TESTING
APPARATUS »
#68904
University of Kansas—HARD
DISK/'WORDPERFECT (MAINFRAME)/LASER
PRINTER

Vol.-6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

—

#68905
University of Kansas—TURNKEY INTEGRATED
IMAGE PROCESSING GEOGRAPHIC .
INFORMATION SYSTEM t
 #68908
Kansas State Un1vers1ty—TRANSFORMER
#68909.
Kansas State Umver51ty—AIR CONDITIONING k
UNITS . : o

: TUESDAY MAY 12, 1987
- #A-5607

University of Kansas—PROVIDE CURTAIN WALL

REMODELING, Summerfield Hall, on campus :
#A-5636 : .
Department of Transportatlon-——REROOF
(COMPLETE REPLACEMENT) SUB AREA
BUILDING Winfield ;
#27190
Un1vers1ty of Kansas Medical Center—.
COAGULATION REAGENTS AND SUPPLIES
: L #27205
Unlver81ty of Kansas-—SMALL ANIMAL FEED
S #27478
Kansas Correctional Industrles—-AMORPHOUS
SILICA AND CALCIUM CARBONATE FOR PAINT
#27479 '
Kansas Correctional Industnes—BLENDED
TRAFFIC PAINT THINNER : ,
s #27632
Statéwide—INTERNAL MICROCOMPUTER
FACSIMILE SYSTEMS k .
. #68906 ‘
Larned State Hospltal—KITCHEN EQUIPMENT .
AND SUPPLIES ) o
#68907 :
University of Kansas Medlcal Center—HPLC
COMPONENTS
#68910
University of Kansas Medical Center—-—PRINTED
FOLDERS , t
#68911 -
Department of Transportation——BM- SPECIAL -
AGGREGATE, MC-800 CUT BACK ASPHALT
Riley County ,
. #68912 :
. Dep artment of Transportation—MRA-A'
AGGREGATE Riley County
#68913 .
Department of Transportation—AB- SPECIAL
AGGREGATE Marshall County
. #68914
De artment of Transportatlon——AB SPECIAL
AGGREGATE Kingman County
#68915
Department of Transportation—AB- SPECIAL
AGGREGATE, Osage County ‘
#69816 y
Department of Revenue—DRY WAXED PAPER
FOR LICENSE PLATE, Wichita
#68932
Kansas State University—MILO

WEDNESDAY, MAY 13, 1987

#27148
Kansas State Pemtentlary—-—HIGH CALCIUM
QUICKLIME

( continued )

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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#27631
Kansas State Park and Resources Authority—AB-3
,ACGREGATE various locations :
#68921
Various state agencies—SALE OF USED
EQUIPMENT ,
#68922
- Department of Transportation—LUBRICATING
OIL, Hutchmson
' #68925
_ University of Kansas Medical Center—LAB
RECORDER‘ '
#68926

University of Kansas—TERMINALS—DG MV/20000
COMPATIBLE
#68927 '
Department of Transportation—SWEEPERS
- #68928
Department of Transportation—GRADER BLADES,
Garden City

THURSDAY, MAY 14, 1987

#A-5585
" Kansas Neurological Institute—PROVIDE
- PNEUMATIC CONTROLS AND AIR COMPRESSOR
UPDATE, Sunflower Lodge, on grounds :
#27135 ;
Kansas Fish and Game Commission—PRINTING
OF “KANSAS WILDLIFE” MAGAZINE
#68934
University of Kansas Medical Center—LAB LABELS
#68935
Kansas State Penitentiary—DOORS
#68936
University of Kansas Medical Center—-TRACTOR
#68937
Department of Transportatlon-—LOADERS various
locations
; #68940
Department of Revenue—CONTINUOQUS
REGISTRATION RENEWAL FORMS AND LABELS
- #68941
Umversﬂ:y of Kansas Medical Center—
INTERFACE-EMBOSSER TO IBM MAINFRAME
#68942
University of Kansas Medical Center—RIBBONS
#68946
Wichita State Umvers1ty—TEMPERATURE
SENSORS AND TRANSDUCERS
i #68947
Plttsburg State Unlver51ty—LOCK SETS
#68950
Umvers1ty of Kansas Medical Center; Kansas State
University; Wichita State University; and University of
Kansas-~LASER PRINTERS
#68953
‘Wichita State University—SPECTROMETER
#68954

Kansas State University—FTIR SPECTROMETERS

#68955 ;
* University of Kansas—LAB F REEZE DRYER .
FRIDAY, MAY 15, 1987
' #A-5745
Department of Transportation—CONSTRUCT
PREFAB DOME, CHEMICAL STORAGE
BUILDING, Meade
, S ' #68957

Department of Administration, Division of
Printing—PRINTED ENVELOPES—TR-59A

" © Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

#68961 ‘
Kansas Fish and Game Commission—FURNISH .
ALL LABOR, MATERIALS AND EQUIPMENT FOR
CONSTRUCTION OF BOATHOUSE, El Dorado ‘
Reservoir
#68962 .
Unlver51ty of Kansas—SURFACE TESTING
APPARATUS
#68963

Kansas State Unlver51ty—FREEZE DRYING

- EQUIPMENT

#68964
Fort Hays State University—PROF ESSIONAL
OFFICE SOF TWARE SYSTEM
#68965
Kansas State University—TESTING
EQUIPMENT/VET SCIENCE

MONDAY, MAY 18, 1987
#68949
Department of Social and Rehabilitation ‘
Services—PHARMACY COST REPORT ANALYSIS,
DISPENSING FEE DETERMINATION AND DRUG
PRODUCT COST SURVEY
TUESDAY, MAY 19, 1987
#A-5594 (Rebid)
Osawatomle State Hospital—-REROUTE UTILITY
TUNNEL
THURSDAY, MAY 28, 1987

#68917
Department of Social and Rehabilitation
Services—REHABILITATION MANAGEMENT

FRIDAY, MAY 29, 1987

INFORMATION SYSTEM .

’ #27147
University of Kansas Medical Center—AIRCRAFT
INSURANCE

NICHOLAS B. ROACH
Director of Purchases

Doc. No. 005316

State of Kansas
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

NOTICE TO CONTRACTORS

Sealed proposals for the construction of road and
bridge work in the following Kansas counties will be
received at the office of the Chief of Construction and
Maintenance, K.D.O.T., Topeka, until 10 a.m. C.D.T.

- May 21, 1987 and then pubhcly opened:

DISTRICT ONE—Northeast

- Doniphan—36-22 K-2882-01—U.S. 36, 10 miles east
of the Brown-Doniphan county line southeast to 1
mile east of Troy, 5.5 miles, grading and bridge. (State
Funds)

Johnson—35-46 K-2434-02—I-35, Miami- Johnson
county line, northeast to east of Olathe 8.3 miles of
pavement reconstruction and 6.7 miles of overlay.
(Federal Funds)

Johnson—635-46 K-2134-04—I-635 and I-35 inter-
change, grading, surfacmg and bridge. (Federal
Funds) ; .

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987
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Johnson—46 U-0830-01—Woodland Road at Clear
Creek in Shawnee, 0.1 mile, bridge replacement.
(Federal Funds)

Johnson—46 U-0939-01—Roe Avenue from 121st
Street north to 112th in Leawood, 1.3 miles, grading
and surfacing. (Federal Funds) :

Johnson—46 U-1035-01—Switzer Road at Indian
Creek in Overland Park, 0.1 mile, bridge replacement.
(Federal Funds)

Osage—70 C-1491-01—County road, 1.2 miles south
of Quenemo, then south, 0.1 mile, bridge repair.
(Federal Funds) ‘

Riley—18-81 K-2804-01—K-18, Kansas River bridge
31, in Manhattan, bridge repair. (State Funds)

Riley—18-81 U-1120-01—K-18, Fort Riley (K-18)
and Richards Drive in Manhattan, traffic signal. (Fed-
eral Funds) ’

Wyandotte—70-105 K-0966-09—I-70 from east of
1-635 east to I-670, 1.7 miles, seeding. (Federal Funds)

DISTRICT TWO—Northcentral

Cloud—15 U-0996-01—Tootle Avenue over Chap-
man Creek in Miltonvale, bridge. (Federal Funds)

Dickinson—21 U-0993-01—5th Street over Solomon
River tributary in Solomon, grading and bridge. (Fed-
eral Funds) ;

Ellsworth—27 C-1986-01—County road, 7.2 miles
south and 6.3 miles east of Kanopolis, then east, 0.1
mile, bridge replacement. (Federal Funds)

Jewell—45 C-2039-01—County road, 2.0 miles east
and 10.9 miles south of Esbon, then south, 0.5 mile,
bridge replacement. (Federal Funds)

Jewell—45 C-2042-01—County road, 2.0 miles east

and 11.5 miles south of Esbon, then south, 0.2 mile,
bridge replacement. (Federal Funds) ‘

Marion—50-57 K-2423-01—U.S. 50, 0.1 mile east of
FAS 1410 east to the Marion-Chase county line, 4.0
miles, overlay and widen. (Federal Funds)

Marion—56-57 K-0561-02—U.S. 56, FAS 428 Spur
east of Canada east to U.S. 77, 7.2 miles, surfacing.
(Federal Funds) :

Marion—56-57 K-0562-02—U.S. 56, east junction of

K-15 to FAS 428 Spur east of Canada, 6.9 miles,.

surfacing. (Federal Funds)

Washington—101 -C-2151-01—County road, 2.6
miles north and 3.0 miles west of Hanover, then west,
0.1 mile, bridge replacement. (Federal Funds)

DISTRICT FOUR—Southeast
Allen—54-1 M-1478-01—U.S. 54, 790 feet east of
U.S. 59 approximately 1,460 feet, 0.3 mile, slide re-
pair. (State Funds)
" Greenwood—99-37 M-1462-01—K-99, Otter Creek
bridge 30, 5.3 miles north of K-96, bridge repair. (State
~ Funds) ’

DISTRICT FIVE—Southcentral

Butler—96-8 K-2826-01—K-96, 1.0 mile west of
Keighley east to Butler-Greenwood county line, 7.8
miles, grading, surfacing and bridge. (State Funds)

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

Butler—8 C-2458-01—Kansas Turmpike Authority
bridge in Andover, 0.2 mile, grading and bridge (Fed-
eral Funds) B

Harvey—50-40 K-2594-01—U.S. 50, west Emma
Creek bridge 51, 2.1 miles east of K-89, bridge re-
placement. (Federal Funds) '

Harvey—196-40 K-2599-01—K-196, Jester Creek
bridge 66, 0.4 mile east of the junction of 1-135, bridge
replacement. (Federal Funds) .

Harvey—40 C-2064-01—Lincoln Street in Hesston,
0.6 mile, grading and surfacing. (Federal Funds)

Kingman—54-48 K-1877-01—U.S. 54, Pratt county
line east to Kingman and 0.4 mile east of Kingman,
18.8 miles, grading, surfacing and bridge. (State
Funds) v ; ,

Rice—80 C-2345-01—County road, 5.0 miles east of
Lyons, then east, bridge replacement. (Federal
Funds) Co .

Sedgwick—87 C-1948-01—County road, 2.8 miles
north of Derby, then east, 5.0 miles, surfacing. (Fed-
eral Funds) ; ;

Sumner—160-96 K-2023-01—U.S. 160, Arkansas

River bridge 72 at Oxford, bridge repair. (Federal

Funds)

DISTRICT SIX—Southwest

Scott—86 C-2200-01—County road, 0.5 miles south
of Shallow Water, then west, 1.0 mile, surfacing.
(Federal Funds) ’ :

Proposals will be issued upon request to all pro-
spective bidders who have been prequalified by the
Kansas Department of Transportation on the basis of
financial condition, available construction equipment,
and experience. Also, a statement of unearned con-
tracts (Form No. 284) must be filed. There will be no .
discrimination against anyone because of race, age,
religion, color, sex, handicap, or national origin in the
award of contracts. - ‘

Each bidder shall file a sworn statement executed
by or on behalf of the person, firm; association or
corporation submitting the bid, certifying that such
person, firm, association or corporation has not, either
directly or indirectly, entered into any agreement,
participated in any collusion, or otherwise taken any
action in restraint of free competitive bidding in con-
nection with the submitted bid. This sworn statement
shall be in the form of an affidavit executed and sworn
to by the bidder before a person who is authorized by
the laws of the state to administer oaths. The required
form of the affidavit will be provided by the state to
each prospective bidder. Failure to submit the sworn
statement as part of the bid-approval package will
make the bid nonresponsive and not eligible for award
consideration. ’ ;

Plans and specifications for the projects may be
examined at the office of the respective county clerk or
at the K.D.O.T. district office responsible for the work.

HORACE B. EDWARDS -
Secretary of Transportation

Doc. No. 005263

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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State'of Kansas

' DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
NOTICE TO CONTRACTORS

Sealed proposals for the construction of road and
bridge work in the following Kansas county will be
received at the office of the Chief of Construction and
Maintenance, K.D.O.T., Topeka, until 10 a.m. C.D.T.
May 21, 1987, and then publicly opened: .

- DISTRICT FOUR—Southeast -

' Cherokee—26-11 K-2810-01-—K-26, culvert 507; 3.1
miles north of U.S. 166, culvert.j t(Staté Funds)

- Proposals will be issued upon request to all pro-
spective bidders who have been prequalified by the
Kansas Department of Transportation on the basis of
financial condition, available construction equipment,
and experience. Also, a statement of unearned con-
tracts (Form No. 284) must be filed. There will be no
discrimination against anyone because of race, age,
religion, color, sex, handicap or national origin in the
award of contracts. '

Each bidder shall file a sworn statement executed
by or on behalf of the person, firm, association or
corporation submitting the bid, certifying that such

person, firm, association or corporation has not, either

directly or indirectly, entered into any agreement,
participated in any collusion, or otherwise taken any
action in restraint of free competitive bidding in con-
nection with the submitted bid. This sworn statement
shall be in the form of an affidavit executed and sworn
to by the bidder before a person who is authorized by
the laws of the state to administer oaths. The required
form of the affidavit will be provided by the state to
each prospective bidder. Failure to submit the sworn
statement as part of the bid-approval package will
make the bid nonresponsive and not eligible for award
consideration. ( ‘ , L

Plans and specifications for the project may be ex-
amined at the office of the respective county clerk or at
the K.D.O.T. district office responsible for the work.

HORACE B. EDWARDS
\ Secretary of Transpertation
Doc. No. 005326 ‘ . ;o ,

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.) B

-NOTICE OF REDEMPTION
to the holders of .
~ , Seward County, Kansas:
S - Single Family Mortgage
: +.* Revenue Bonds
1979 Series A
Due December 1, 2004

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to Section 3.01
of the indenture dated as of September 1, 1979,

$325,000 principal amount of bonds has been drawn

by lot from the bonds maturing December 1, 2004 for
redemption at par on June 1, 1987. '

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

KANSAS REGISTER

Coupon bonds of -$5,000 denominations, called
in full bearing. CUSIP No. 818452-AW4

886 - 1060 1252
892 1066 1258
898 1072 1270
916 "1078 1276
922 1090 1281
934 1096 - 1285
946 1102 . 1287
952 1120 1288
958 1126 - 1290
970 1132 11300
976 1138 1306
982 1156 1312
988 1162 C1318
994 1180 1330
1000 1186 1336
1006 - 1192 1340
1012 - 1198 1342
1018 1210 1345
1030 1216 1348
1036 1228 13499
1042 1246 1360 -
© 1048

In addition to the coupon bonds listed above, the
following fully registered bond is called: ,

Bond Number Principal Amount Amount Called
“R-19 - $10,000 - $5,000

Bonds with the December 1, 1987 coupons and all
subsequent coupons attached should be presented to
one of the offices of the paying agents: ‘

Continental Illinois National Bank
and Trust Company of Chicago
- Corporate Trust Operations
+ 30 N. LaSalle St., 16th Floor
. Chicago, IL 60697

' Kansas State Bank & Trust Company
' Trust Department : :
123-N. Market
Wichita, KS 67202

Coupons for the June 1, 1987 interest should\'kbe

NOTICE/BOND REDEMPTION:

detached and presented in the usual manner. Intérest -

on the bonds called for redemption will cease to
accrue on June 1, 1987.

Under the provisions of the Interest and Dividend
Tax Compliance Act of 1983, paying agents making

payments of interest or principal on corporate securi- -

ties or making payment of principal on municipal
securities may be obligated to withhold a 20 percent
tax from remittances to individuals who have failed to
furnish the paying agent with a valid taxpayer iden-
tification number. Holders of the above described

securities who wish to avoid the imposition of this tax -

should submit certified taxpayer identification
numbers when presenting their securities for collec-
tion. ' )
Dated May 1, 1987.
Seward County, Kansas
by Continental Illinois National Bank
and Trust Company of Chicago, Trustee
Doc. No. 005298 - e

-
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(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.)

NOTICE OF REDEMPTION
to the holders of
Seward County, Kansas
Single Family Mortgage
" Revenue Bonds

1980 Series A )
Due December 1, 1986/2011

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to Section 3.01
of the indenture dated as of April 1, 1980, $1,175,000
principal amount of bonds has been drawn by lot for
redemption at par on June 1, 1987.

Coupon bonds, called in full, $5,000 each,
bearing CUSIP No. 818452 and Suffix:

BFO 339 580 819 1059 1299
94 345 585 825 1065 1305
BGS 351 591 831 1071 1311
112 . 357 597 837 1077 1317
BH6 363 603 843 1083 1323
127 369 609 849 1090 1329
131 375 . 615 855 1095 - 1335
BJ2 381 S 621 861 1101 1341
147 387 627 867 1107 1347
153 393 633 873 1113 1353
159 399 639 879 1119 - 1359
165 405 . 645 885 1125 - 1401
171 411 652 891 1131 1407
177 . 417 657 897 1137 1413
183 423 - 663 903 1143 . 1419
189 - 430 669 - 909 1149 1425 .
195 435 675 916 1155 1431
201 441 681 . 921 - 1161 1437
207 447 - 687 . 927 1167 1443
214 453 693 - 933 1173 1449
219 459 699 939 - 1179 1455
225 465 - 705 945 1185 1461
231 471 711 951 1191 1467
237 477 717 957 1197 1473 .
243 483 723 963 1203 1479
249 489 729 969 1209 1485
255 495 735 975 1215 1491
261 502 741 ¢ 981 - 1221 1497
267 . 507 747 987 1227 1503
273 513 753 993 . 1233 1509
279 519 759 999 1239 1515
285 525 765 1005 - 1245 1521
291 531 711 1011 1251 1528
297 537 777 1017 1257 1533
303 543 - 783 1023 1263 1539
309 549 789 1029 1269 1545
315 - 555 795 1035 1277 1551
321 561 801 1041 . 1281 1557
327 567 807 - 1047 1287 1563
333 © 573 813 1053 1293 -

Bonds with the December 1, 1987 coupons and all
subsequent coupons attached should be presented to
one of the offices of the paying agents:

Continental Illinois National Bank
and Trust Company of Chicago

Corporate Trust Operations

30 N. LaSalle St., 16th Floor

Chicago, IL 60697

Security National Bank
~ of Kansas City
" Bond Operations
One Security Plaza, P.O. Box 1250
Kansas City, KS 66112

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987
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Coupons for the June 1, 1987 interest should be
detached and presented in the usual manner. Interest
on the bonds called for redemption will cease to
accrue on June 1, 1987.

‘Under the provisions of the Interest and Dividend
Tax Compliance Act of 1983, paying agents making
payments of interest or principal on corporate securi-
ties or making payment of principal on municipal
securities may be obligated to withhold a 20 percent
tax from remittances to individuals who have failed to
furnish the paying agent with a valid taxpayer iden-
tification number. Holders of the above. described
securities who wish to avoid the imposition of this tax
should submit certified taxpayer identification
numbers when presenting their securities for collec-
tion. ) S ;

Dated May 1, 1987.

: Seward County, Kansas
by Continental Illinois National Bank
and Trust Company of Chicago, Trustee

Doc. No. 005299

‘(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER,‘April 30, 1987.)

NOTICE OF REDEMPTION
City of Cedarvale, Kansas
Industrial Revenue Bonds
(Cedarvale Hospital, Inc.)
Dated June 1, 1972 -

Notice is hereby given to the holders of the city of
Cedarvale, Kansas, industrial revenue bonds, Series
1972 (Cedarvale Hospital, Inc.), maturing on June 1,
1988 and thereafter, that the city of Cedarvale, Kansas
and the Cedarvale Hospital, Inc. have elected to re-
deem all bonds maturing on or after June 1, 1988 and
that said bonds are hereby called for redemption on
June 1, 1987. On such date, each of the aforesaid

- bonds shall become due and payable at a redemption

price equal to 105 percent of the principal amount
thereof, plus accrued interest thereon to June 1, 1987,
and from and after such redemption date interest shall
cease to accrue and be payable on said bonds.
Payment of bonds to be redeemed will be made at
the principal office of the trustee and paying agent,

"BANK IV Wichita, N.A., 100 N. Broadway, Attn: Cor-

porate Trust Department, Wichita, KS 67202, upon
presentation and surrender of said bonds, together
with all coupons, if any, appertaining thereto maturing
on or after the redemption date. Coupons maturing on
June 1, 1987 should be surrendered with said bonds.
Tax Identification Form W-9 or an exemption certifi-
cate is required or backup withholding tax may be
withheld from the payment. ' :
Dated April 21, 1987.

BANK IV Wichita, National Association
. Wichita, Kansas Fiscal Agent
Trustee and Paying Agent:

Doc. No. 005321

. © Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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(Published in the KANSAS RECISTER April 30; 1987.)

. NOTICE OF PARTIAL BEDEMPTION
City of Wichita, Kansas
Industrial Revenue Bonds
Series XXII, 1981
(P.C. Warehouse Inc.)

Notice is hereby given pursuant to the provisions of
Ordinance No. 37-613 adopted by the governing body
of the city of Wichita, Kansas, on December 22, 1981,
that $6,200,000 aggregate prlnClpal amount of the city
of Wichita, Kansas, industrial revenue bonds, Series
XXI1, 1981 (P.C. Warehouse Inc.), have been called
for redemptlon on June 1, 1987 at a redemption price
of 105 percent of the pr1nc1pal amount thereof plus
interest accrued to the redemption date. In accordance
with Ordinance No. 37-613, the following bonds have
‘been called as of June 1, 1987:

Registered Coupon
Maturity Interest Bonds Bonds®  CUSIP
‘Date - Rate  Numbered Numbered Numbers
December 1, 1988 11.50% R- 4 262- 309 967256SQ3
R-30 314-. 323
December 1, 1989 11.75% R- 6 324- 334 967256SR0O
337-416
December 1, 1990 12.00% R-5 417- 454 967256558
‘ : R-7 . 456
R- 8 458- 492
. : 494- 520
December 1, 1991 12.25% R-9 .521- 595 967256ST6 .
o 598- 638
December 1, 1992 12.50% R-10 639- 651 967256SU3
o R-11 653- 671 o
R-12 674- 727
R-22 730- 771
: ) R-23 ) :
December 1, 1996 - 13.00% R-13 773-1041 967256SV1
) : R-14 1045-1046
R-15 1048-1055
R-17 1057-1156
R-18 1169-1179
R-19 1181-1188
R-20 1190-1205
R-21 1208-1212
R-24 1218-1225
R-25 1237-1238
: 1246

All such coupon bonds together with unmatured
coupons thereunto appertaining and all such regis-
tered bonds should be presented for payment on the
redemption date to the Union National Bank of Wich-
ita, as fiscal agent for such bonds, located at 150 N.
Main, Wichita. The method of presentation and deliv-
ery of such bonds to the fiscal agent is at the option-
and risk of the owners of each bond. If mail is used,

insured registered maxl return recelpt requested, 1s :

suggested.

Under the prov1s1ons of the Interest and Dividend
Tax Compliance Act of 1983, paying agents making
payments of principal or interest on corporate securi-:
ties or making payments of principal on municipal
securities may be obligated to withhold a 20 percent
tax from remittances to individuals who have failed to
furnish the paying agent with a valid taxpayer iden-
tification number. Owners of the above- described
bonds who wish to avoid the imposition of this tax
should submit certified taxpayer identification
numbers when presenting their bonds for payment.

Onand after June 1, 1987, interest on all such bonds
called for redemptlon shall cease to accrue.

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

Such partial redemption of such bonds is condi-
tional and is subject to the deposit of the redemption

than the opening of business on the redemption date.

moneys with Union National Bank of Wichita not later .

This notice of redemption shall be of no effect unless ~

such moneys are so deposited.
Dated April 30, 1987.

UNION NATIONAL BANK OF WICHITA
as fiscal agent on behalf of the
‘ ~ City of ‘Wi’chi"t‘a, ‘Kansas
Doc. No. 005331 B ' o

(Published in the KANSAS -REGISTER, April 30, 1987.)

NOTICE OF CALL FOR REDEMPTION
to the holders of
City of Newtorn, Kansas
Industrial Revenue Bonds -
‘(Newton Professional Centre Partnershlp)
$1,000,000—Series 1982A
Dated June 1, 1982

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to the provi-
sions of Section 4 of Ordinance No. 3616 of the city of
Newton, Kansas, duly adopted May 19, 1982, the

above-mentloned bonds maturing June l 1988 and

thereafter and all unmatured coupons. appertaining
thereto have been called for redemptlon and payment
on June 1, 1987 at the principal corporate trust office
of the Southwest National Bank of Wichita, Wichita,
Kansas.

Bond Maturity Principal

No. Date Amount ) Rate
25to 40 06-1-1988 $ 80,000  11.50% .
4] to 60 06-1-1989 100,000 11.75%
6l to 84 06-1-1990 120,000 12.00%
85 to 112 ', 06-1-1991 140,000 12.00%
113 to 200 . 06-1-1992 440,000 12.00%

On such redemption date there shall become due
and payable upon the presentation and surrender of
each such bond the redemption price thereof equal to
102 percent of the principal amount of each bond,
together with interest accrued to the redemption date
(upon the presentation and surrender.of each such
bond and appropriate coupons appertaining thereto).
Interest shall cease to accrue on the bonds so called
for redemption from and after June 1, 1987, provided
that sufficient funds for redemptlon are on deposit
with the trustee and paying agent.

The ‘Southwest National Bank
N - of Wichita, Kansas, as trustee
Doc. No. 005322 ’ o o

Interest. .

©'Kansas Secretary of State, 1967 ‘
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(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.) . R486 100,000 T95165AW9 25,000
| , e g% i o
NOTICE OF REDEMPTION g 165AW9 * 40,000
" Saline C Ka 10 R 13 100,000 795165AW9 25,000
>aline County, Ransas R 14 100,000 795165AW9 25,000
- Single Family Mortgage R 15 100,000 795165AW9 - 5,000
Revenue Bonds R 16 100,000 795165AW9 30,000
‘ 1980 Series A R 19 100000 TodlosAws 5000
Serial Bonds Due December 1, 1987-1996 R 20 ~ 100,000 795165AW9 15,000
Term Bonds Due December 1, 2010 . g gé iggg% ;ggiggg%g igg% Ny
o - " R 23 100,000 795165AW9 25,000
Notice is bereby given that pursuant to Section 3.01 R o1 100,000 795 165AWS: 26,000
of the trust indenture dated April 15, 1980, $1,815,000 :
the _ R 25 100,000 795165AW9 25,000
- principal amount of the bonds, as listed below, are R 26 . 100,000 795165AW9 20,000
called for redemption on June 1, 1987 at the redemp- R 27 100,000 795165AW9 - 30,000
tion price of 100 percent of the principal amount being R 28 100,000 T95165AW9 - 3,000
X R374 45,000 795165AW9 5,000
redeemed plus accrued interest thereon to the re- R457 100,000 795165AW9 10,000 -
demption date. - : o R458 100,000 795165AW9 35,000
‘The serial numbers of the coupon bonds at $5,000 R459 100,000 795165AW9 20,000
h b d d in full. b . CUSIP N R460 100,000 T95165AW9 . 10,000
each to be redeemed in iull, bearing o. R461 100,000 795165AW9 10,000
795165 and Suffix: R462 100,000 795165AW9 15,000
AC4 AM1 745 AW9 1345 1821 R463 100,000 795165AW9 5,000
) R464 100,000 795165AW9 - 5,000
214 484 752 1037 1352 1828
R465 100,000 795165AW9 15,000
222 491 761 1044 1359 1835 .
‘ > R467 100,000 795165AW9 10,000.
230 498 766 1051 1366 1842 R468 100,000 795165AW9 - 20,000
238 505 ARO - 1058 1373 1849 R469 100,000 795165AW9 - ~'5,000
249 514 788 1067 1456 1856 R470 - 100,000 795165AW9 10,000
AH2 519 795 1079 1464 1863 R 84 - 60,000 795165AW9 20,000
258 526 802 1086 1471 1870 R489 100,000 - T95165AW9 . 20,000
265 533 809 1093 1478 1877 - R490 100,000 795165AW9 20,000 -
272 AN9 818 1100 1499 1884 R491 100,000 795165AW9 20,000
279 551 823 1107 1513 2976 R492 100,000 T95165AW9 10,000
288 558 830 1114 1660 2990 R493 100,000 795165AW9 25,000
203 566 837 1121 1667 3004 R494 100,000 795165AW9 20,000
AJS 579 844 1135 1674 3018 R495 100,000 © - 795165AW9 20,000
g‘l)g ggg ggé ne iggzls 382625 On June 1, 1987, all bonds designated for redemp- .
: tion will become due and payable upon presentation
322 593 AW9 1163 1695 3067 £ ffi £ th .
329 600 883 1170 1702 3074 thereo' to the office ofi the paying agent.
336 609 890 1177 1709 3081 Registered bonds and coupon bonds with the De-
344 - AP4 904 1184 1716 3116 cember 1, 1987 coupon and all subsequent coupons
AKS5 623 911 1191 1723 3123 attached should be presented to the office of the
ggg : ggg gég iégg ggg gig‘; paying agent at the Continental Illinois National Bank
377 644 939 1212 1744 3144 and Trust Company of Chicago, Corpora-te Trust
383 654 939 1219 1751 3158 Operatlons, 30 N. LaSalle St, 16th FlOOI', Chlcago, IL
390 658 946 + 1226 1758 3165 60697. ~ B
397 665 ' 953 1233 1765 3186 Each holder whose bond has been redeemed in part
405 672 960 1247 1772 3193 will receive a new bond for the unredeemed portion.
1:;—3 gg?{ gg;’ }ggg }?{gg 338(7) Interest on the bonds or portions of bonds called for
, redemption will cease to accrue on June 1, 1987.
429 AQ2 981 1275 1793 AW9 C f 1. 1987 should be d hed d
437 703 988 1303~ AWS 3214 oupons OtTh]une : should be detached an
445 710 995 1310 . 1800 3235 presented 1n tne usual manner. o )
450 718 1009 1317 1807 3249 Under the provisions of the Interest and Dividend
igﬁ ;%? igég i\?\g’? 1814 3256 Tax Compliance Act of 1983, paying agents making.
ayments of interest or principal on corporate ri-
472 739 1030 1338 pay principa Tporate securt

The serial numbers of the registered bonds to be
redeemed in whole or in part and the principal
amounts to be redeemed are as follows:

Registered Bond CuSIp Amount
Bond Number Amount Number Called
R 95 $ 15,000 795165AQ2 $10,000

R 87 30,000 T95165AW9 5,000
R478 100,000 795165AW9 /5,000
R480 100,000 795165AW9 15,000
R481 100,000 795165AW9 10,000
R482 100,000 795165AW9 10,000
R483" 100,000 795165AW9 25,000
R484 100,000 795165AW9 5,000
R485 . 100,000 795165AW9 20,000

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

ties or making payments of principal on municipal
securities may be obligated to withhold a 20 percent
tax from remiittances to individuals who have failed to
furnish the paying agent with a valid taxpayer iden-
tification number. Holders of the above described
securities who wish to avoid the imposition of this tax
should submit certified taxpayer identification
numbers when presenting their securities for collec-
tion. ' o o
Dated April 14, 1987. - _ _

By Continental Illinois National Bank k
and Trust Company of Chicago, Trustee
Doc. No. 005297 - - ‘

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987
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(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.)

NOTICE OF REDEMPTION
- Crawford County, Kansas =
Single Family Mortgage
Revenue Bonds
. 1980 Series A
Due December 1, 2003

Notice is hereby given that $410,000 principal
amount of the bonds, as listed below, are called for
redemption on June 1, 1987 at the redemption price of
100 percent of the principal amount being redeemed
plus accrued interest thereon to the redemption date.

The serial numbers of the coupon bonds to be re-
deemed are as follows: '

1519 1596 . -

1150 1278 1358 1464
- 1155 1289 = 1363 . 1466 1523 1601
- 1162 1298 1372 1470 1533 1608
1169 1310 1379 1475 1543 1616
1177 1313 1385 1481 1547 1624 .
1183 1320 1390 1484 1554 1631
1239 1323 1398 1485 1561 1638
1247 1331 1403 1496 1568 1643
1255 1337 1452 -1501 1575 1652
1264 1346 1455 1507 1583 1661
1267 1352 1460 1512 1589 1668
1269 - :

" The serial numbers. of the registered bonds to be
redeemed in whole or in part and the principal
amount to be redeemed are as follows: : :

ded Number ~ Total Principal "' Amount Called

R 47 5,000 5,000
"R 48 120,000 30,000

R337 35,000 120,000

" R346 10,000 5,000

R349 75,000 15,000

- On June 1, 1987, all bonds designated for redemp-
tion will become due and payable upon presentation
thereof at the address of the trustee given below. On
and after June 1, 1987, interest on the principal
amount called for redemption shall cease to accrue.
Bonds should be presented for payment in person or
by mail at the following addresses:
Continental Illinois National Bank
. and Trust Company of Chicago
Corporate Trust Operations
30 N. LaSalle St., 16th Floor
Chicago, 1L 60697 :

Kansas State Bank and Trust Co,
(Co-Trustee)
‘Trust Department
123 N. Market
" Wichita, KS 67202

.Under the provisions of the Interest and Dividend
Tax Compliance Act of 1983, paying agents making
payments of interest or principal on corporate securi-
ties or making payments of principal on municipal
securities may be obligated to withhold a 20 percent
tax from remittances to individuals who have failed to
furnish the paying agent with a valid taxpayer iden-
tification number. Holders of the above described
securities who wish to avoid the imposition of this tax
should submit certified taxpayer identification

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

numbers when presenting their securities for collec-
tiOn. - o o
Dated April 30, 1987. :

By Continental Illinois National Bank

and Trust Company of Chicago, Trustee

Doc. No. 005296

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, Aprit 30, 1987.) .

NOTICE OF REDEMPTION
Labette County
" and’ :
Cowley County, Kansas
Single Family Mortgage -
Revenue Bonds
(Multiple Originators and Services)
1981 Series A '

, Notice is hereby given that $2,125,000 principal
amount of the bonds, as listed below, are called for

i

‘redemption on June 1, 1987 at the redemption price of

100 percent of the principal amount being redeemed
plus accrued interest thereon to the redemption date.

Coupon bonds of $5,000 denominations called in-
full, bearing CUSIP No. 505385 and Suffix:

AF1 2024 3367 4383 5119 5647
257 2027 3383 4407 5127 5655
AH7. 2034 3391 4423 5135 5663
404 2037 3407 4431 5143 5671
AJ3 2049 - 3415 4439 | 5167 5679
487 2050 3423 4447 5175 5687
AKO 2055 3431 4463 5195 5695
593 2057 3439 4479 5196 - 5703
ALS 2060 3447 4495 5197 5711
. 723 2061 3455 4511 5198 5719
AM6 2066 3471 4519 5199 5727
844 . 2069 3479 4527 | 5207 - 5735
858 2071 3495 4535 5215 5743
883 2073 3511 4551 5223 " 5751
884 2074 3519 4567 5224 5759
942, 2076 . 3527 4583 5225 5775
959 2077 3543 4599 5226 5783
AQ7 2079 3551 4615 5227 5791
1530 2080 - 3559 4631 5228 5799
1532 2081 3567 4647 5229 5807
1537 2085 3599 4663 5239 5815
1577 2086 3607 4671 5247 5823
1622 2087 3615 4679 5255 5831
1641 2089 3639 4695 - 5263 5839
~1740 - 2090 3663 4711 5271 5847
1782 2093 3687 4727 5279 5855
1790 2094 3703 4743 5205 5863
1793 2095 3727 4759 5311 - 5871
1800 2096 3747 4775 5319 5879
1821 2101 3769 4783 - 5327 5887

1843 . - 2102 . 3783 4791 5335 5895
1847 2103 3799 4799 5343 - 5903
1855 2104 3823 4807 5351 5911
1860 2108 3839° . 4815 5359 5919
1866 2109 3855 4823 5367 5927
1872 2110 3871 4831 5375 5935
1877 2111 3887 4839 5383 - 5943
1884 $ 2112 3903 4847 5391 . 5951
1891 2114 3919 4855 5399 5959
1903 2115 3935 4863 5407 5967
1905, 2116 3951 4871 5415 - 5975
1906 2118 3967 4879 5423 5983
1912 2119 3983 4887 * 5431 5991
1914 2121 3999 4895 5439 5999
2122 4015 4903 5447 6007

1916
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925 2124 4047 4919 - 5463 6023 ‘ catr

1933 AR5 4063 4927 5471 6031 NOTICE OF BOND SALE

1934 3095 4079 4935 5479 © 6039
‘ 1939 3111 4087 4943 5487 6047
1944 7 BI19 4095 4951 5495 6055
1950 03127 - 41l ¢ 4959 ‘5503 6063
1951 3143 4127 4967 5511 6071
1955 3159 4135 4975 5519 6079
1957 3167 4143 4983 © 5527 6087
1960 3183, . 4159 4991 5535 6095
1961 3199 4175 4999 5543 6103
1969 3215 ... 4191 5007 5551 6111
1972 39937 %1 4207 7 5015 5553 6119
1976 3231 4293 - 5023 5559 . 6127
1981 3247 4239~ 5031 5567 6135
1984 3255 . 4247, 5039 5575 6143
1990 3271 4955 . 5047 5583 6151
1992 32797 . 4271 5055 5591 6159
1999 3287 4287 5063 5599 6167
2000 3303 - -4303 .. 5071  .5607 & 6175
2004 3311 4319 5079, 5615 6183
2006 3319 4335 5087 5623 6191
2012 - . ''8335°.0 4351 5095 . 5631 6199
;2017 . 3343 . 4359 . 5103 5639 6207
2021 . 3359 - 4367 5111

* In addition to the coupen bonds listed above, the
following fully registered bonds due June 1, 2002 are
called as shown below bearing CUSIP No. 505385AR5:

-Bond - . - &' - Total Amount
_ Number ~ Principal Called
. R26 - $10,000 - $ 5,000
... .R 29 _ ~ 5,000 5,000
" R33 50,000 15,000
R140 . ,70,000 5,000
R178 . 20,000 5,000

‘ . .RI86 .. 20,000 5,000
. R193 .. - 25,000 - 5,000 ‘
On June 1, 1987, all bonds designated for redemp-

tion will become due and payable upon presentation

thereof at the address of the trustee given below. On
and after June 1, 1987, interest on the principal
amount called for redemption shall cease to accrue.

Bonds should be presented for payment in person or
by mail at the Continental Illinois National Bank and

Trust: Company of Chicago, Corporate Trust Opera-

tions, 30 N. LaSalle St:, 16th Floor, Chicago, IL 60697.
Under the provisions of the Interest and Dividend

Tax Compliance Act of 1983, paying agents making

payments of interest or principal on corporate securi-

ties or making payments of principal on municipal
securities may: be obligated to withhold a 20 percent
tax from remittances to individuals who have failed to
furnish the paying agent with a valid taxpayer iden-
tification number. Holders of the above described
securities who wish to avoid the imposition of this tax
should submit certified taxpayer identification
numbers when presenting their securities for collec-
tion. . ' S . ‘
Dated April 30, 1987.

. By Continental Illinois National Bank and

Trust Company of Chicago, Trustee

Doc. No. 005332
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UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT 501
SHAWNEE COUNTY, KANSAS
GENERAL OBLIGATION ASBESTOS BONDS
SERIES A, 1987

Pursuant to K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 10-106, Unified
School District 501, Shawnée County, Kansas, will

" receive sealed bids in the Board of Education office,

424 S.W. 24th, Topeka 66611 until 7:30 p.m. C.D.T.on
Wednesday, May 6, 1987, for $1,000,000 par value
general obligation asbestos bonds, Series A, 1987, of
the district, at which time and-place such bids shall be
publicly opened. No oral-or auction bids will-be con-
sidered. R U

Details of the Bonds ‘ L R

The Series A, 1987 bonds will be dated as of June 1,
1987, and shall mature on October 1 in each of the
years and in the amounts set forth below. Such bonds
shall consist of fully registered certificated bonds each
in the denomination of $5,000 or integral multiples
thereof, not exceeding the principal amount of bonds
maturing in each year. Interest will be. payable semi-
annually, commencing April 1, 1988, and each Oc-
tober 1 and April 1 thereafter. The principal and
premium, if any, on the bonds- shall ‘be payable in
lawful money of the United States of America at the
principal office of the Treasurer of the State of Kansas
(the paying agent and bond registrar) to the registered
owners thereof upon presentation of the bonds for
payment and cancellation. Interest on the bonds shall
be payable in lawful money of the United States of
America to the registered owners appearing on the
books maintained by the bond registrar as of the 15th
day of the month next preceding the interest payment
dates (the record dates). The fees of the bond registrar
for registration and transfer of the bonds shall be paid
by the district. e

The bonds will mature- serially in accordance with
the following schedule: - S PR

" Principal Maturing ) Maturity Date

$180,000 October 1, 1988
$190,000 October 1, 1989
$200,000 - - “* October 1, 1990
$210,000 ~ October 1, 1991
- $220,000 ~Octobér 1, 1992

All of said bonds shall become due without ofpt‘iy‘on of
prior payment. - N :

Interest Rates . I
Proposals will be received on the bends bearing
such rate or rates of interest as may be specified by the
bidder. Fhe same rate shall apply to all bonds of the
same maturity. Each interest rate shall be in an even
multiple of 1/8 or 1/20 of 1 percent. The differerice
between the highest and lowest interest rate shall not
exceed 2 percent. No interest rate shall exceed the
maximum interest rate allowed by Kansas law, -said
rate being the 20 bond index of tax-exempt municipal
bonds published by Credit Markets in New York, New'
York, on the Monday next preceding the day on which’
A u'(;con'\tinuécv_i‘)

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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'BOND SALE

~the bonds are sold, plus 2 percent, and no bxd of less
. than par and accrued interest will be considered. Bids
- for-less than the. entire issue of bonds will not be
- considered. ‘

Bid Form and Good Faith Deposxt
. Each bid shall be accompanied by a good 'faith
depositin the form of a cashier’s or certified check in
the amount of $20,000 made payable to the order of
" the district. In the event a bidder whose bid is ac-
~ cepted shall fail to carry out his contract of purchase,
‘the amount of said deposit shall be retained by the
-'school district as liquidated damages. The checks of
unsuccessful blddel‘S will be returned promptly

Award of Bids

The sealed bids for the bonds shall be opened

- pubhcly and only at the time and place specified in
this notice, and the bonds will be sold to the best
- bidder. The district reserves the right to reject any and
-all of the bids and to waive any irregularities. The
:-bonds will be awarded to the bidder whose proposal
- results in the lowest net interest cost to the district,
~and the net interest cost will be determined by de-
“ducting the amount of any premiums paid from the
aggregate amount of interest upon all of the bonds
from their date until their respective maturities. In the
event more than one bid is received at the same net
~ interest cost, the unsuccessful bldder w111 be selected
" by lot. !

. Dellvery of the Bonds
: "The bonds, duly printed, execiited and reglstered
~ will be furmshed and paid for by the district, and the
bonds will be sold subject to the unquahﬁed approv-
ing opinion of Fred W. Rausch; Jr., bond counsel,
- Topeka, Kansas. The cost of said legal opinion will be
-paid by the district. The numbers, denominations of
the bonds and the name of the initial registered
owners to be initially printed on the bonds shall be
submitted in writing by the successful bldder to the
- bond registrar not later than May 28, 1987. The pur-
chaser will be furnished with a complete transcript of
proceedings  evidencing  the authorization and is-
" suance of the bonds and the usual closmg proofs,
which will include a certificate that there is no litiga-
tion pending or threatened at the time of delivery of
‘the bonds affecting their validity. Payment for the
bonds will be made in immediately available funds.
Delivery of the bonds will be made to the successful
" bidder on or about June 15, 1987, at any bank in the
_ state of Kansas or Kansas Clty, Mlssoun at the ex-
pense of the district. Delivery elsewhere will be made
at the expense of the purchaser.

. Authority and Security for the Bonds
The bonds are being used pursuant to the provisions
of K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 12-5401 et seq. The bonds will be
general obligations of the school district, payable as to
both principal and interest from ad valorem taxes
" which may be levied without limitation as to rate or
-amount on all the taxable tangll)le property within the
~school district.

Purpose of Issue ~ v
The bonds are being issued for the purpose of re-

" © Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

moving asbestos from various buildings in the school

district. The total estimated projected cost of said

improvements is $1,500,000, of which $1,000,000 is
being funded by the proceeds of this issue. The bal-
ance, $500,000, will be paid from the school dlStI‘lCt s
capltal outlay levy fund. ,

CUSIP Identification Numbers :

It is anticipated that CUSIP 1dent1ﬁcat10n numbers
will be printed on certificated bonds or assigned to
uncertificated bonds, but neither the failure to print
such number on any bond nor any error with respect
thereto shall constitute cause for failure or refusal by
the purchaser thereof to accept delivery of and pay for
the bonds in accordance with the terms of the suc-
cessful bid and this notice of bond sale. All expenses
in relation to the assignment and printing of CUSIP
numbers on the bonds will be paid for by the county.

Legal Opinion and Tax Exemption

The bonds will be seld subject to the legal opinion
of Fred W. Rausch; Jr., Topeka, Kansas, bond counsel,
whose approving legal opinion as to the validity of the
bonds will be furnished and paid for by the school
district, printed on the bonds and delivered to the
suecessful bxdder as and when the bonds are deliv-
ered.

On October 22, 1986 the Tax Reform Act of 1986
became effectwe which redesignates the Internal
Revenue Code of 1954 as the Internal Revenue Code
of 1986, The 1986 code imposes certain additional
requirements and restrictions’ which must be met
subsequent to the issuance of state and local govern-
ment obligations in order to maintain the exemption

- from federal income taxation of the interest on such

obligations. The school district will covenant in the
bond resolution to comply with the provisions of the
Act and to take all action as may be. necessary to
comply with the Act and all applicable future law to
preserve the tax-exempt status of the bonds, to-the
extent such actions can be taken by the school district.

In the opinion of Fred W. Rausch, Jr., Topeka,
Kansas, bond counsel, under existing law statutes,
regulations, rulings and judicial decisions, assuming
continued compliance by the school district with the
terms of the bond resolution, the: bonds are exempt
from intangible personal property taxes levied by

Kansas counties, cities or townships, and the interest -

on the bonds is exempt from federal income taxation
except as follows: .

(a) For taxable years begmmng in the years 1987
1988 and 1989, the interest on the bonds will be
included in the adjusted net book income of corpo-
rations. For purposes of computing the corporate
alternative minimum tax, a corporation’s alternative
minimum taxable income must be increased by 50
percent of the amount by which such corporation’s
ad_]usted net book income exceeds such corpora-
tion’s alternative minimum taxable income (deter-
mined without regard to this adjustment or the
alternative tax net operating loss deduction). For
taxable years beginning after 1989 the use of “book
income” will be. replaced by ° adjusted current
earnings,” and “50%” will be replaced by “75%.”
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(b) For taxable years beginning after December

31, 1986, property and casualty insurance compa-

nies will be required to reduce their deduction for

losses incurred on insurance contracts by 15 per-
cent of the amount of interest received or accrued

“on tax-exempt obligations acquired after August 7,

1986, including the bonds. ,

(c) For taxable years ending after December 31,
1986, banks and thrift institutions will be unable to
deduct any portion of their interest expenses allo-

" cable to purchasing and carrying tax-exempt obli-
~ gations acquired after August 7, 1986, including the
bonds.

H.R. 2005, the Superfund Amendments and
Reauthorization Act of 1986, which was enacted on
October 17, 1986, includes among its provisions the
imposition of a new environmental tax. Calculation of
the tax is to be based generally on a percentage of the
corporate alternative minimum taxable income as de-

- fined in the 1986 code which would include interest

on tax-exempt obligations, including the bonds. The
amount of-tax is equal to 0.12 percent of excess of the
alternative minimum taxable income (without regard
to net operating losses and the deduction for the
environmental tax) over $2 million. The environmen-
tal tax is imposed whether or not the taxpayer is
subject to the alternative minimum tax, but is deduct-
ible from gross income. The environmental tax is
effective for taxable years beginning after 1991. The
imposition of this environmental tax could result in
additional taxation of interest on the bonds for certain
bondowners.

Qualified Tax—Exempt Obligations

The Tax Reform Act of 1986 provides that banks and
thrift institutions would be unable to deduct any por-
tion of the interest cost of purchasing or carrying

- tax-exempt obhgatlons (with certain exceptions) if

such interest costs are incurred in taxable years end-
ing after December 31, 1986, with respect to bonds
acqulred after August 7 1986. The Act prov1des that
certain “qualified tax-exempt obligations” as defined
in Section 902(b)(3) will be treated as having been
acquired on August 7, 1986. The school district will
convenant to take such actions as are necessary to
designate the Series A, 1987 bonds as “qualified tax-
exempt obligations” described above. The school dis-
trict does not intend to issue bonds in excess of
$10,000,000 in calendar year 1987.

- Assessed Valuation

Assessed valuation for U.S.D. 501, Shawnee
County, (Topeka) Kansas, for the ‘year 1987 is as
follows:

. Equalized assessed valuation of taxable tangible

PIOPEILY. ¢ o v v v et iie e i en $322,950,350.
Tangible valuation of motor vehicles. . ...... $ 64,376,346
Equalized assessed tangible valuation for

computation of bonded debt limitations . . .  $387,326,696

Bonded Indebtedness ‘

The total bonded indebtedness of the county, at the
date hereof, including this $1,000,000 issue, is
$1,000,000.

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

Bond Ratmg S : S
The school district does not mtend to apply for a
rating of these bonds. -

'Additional Information

Additional copies of this notice of sale and further
information may be received from the office of Unified -
School District 501, 624 S.W. 24th, Topeka, KS 66611,
or from Fred W. Rausch Jr., bond counsel, Sulte 20L,

220 S.W. 33rd, Topeka, KS 66611.

Dated April 20, 1987.

UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT 501
Shawnee County, Kansas (Topeka)‘
By Michael D. Tribbey

Clerk of the Board of Educatlon

Doc. No. 005319

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.)

HOUSE BILL No 2187

AN ACT concerning the uniform controlled substanees act; releting to the sched~
uling of certain substances; concerning 6g‘:rtmnon requirements amendin,
K.S.A, 65-4116 and K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 65—4107 and 65-4127b an
repeahng the existing sections. )

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas o
Section 1. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 654105 is hereby amended to -

read as follows: 65-4105. (a) The controlled substances listed in

this section are included in schedule I and the number set forth -
opposite each drug or substance is the DEA controlled sub-‘

stances code which has been assigned to it. o .
(b) Any of the following opiates, including theu' 1somers,,

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters and ethers, unless

specifically excepted whenever the existence of these isomers,.
esters, ethers and salts is poss:ble within the specxﬁc chemlcal
designation:

(1) Acetylmethadol ....... PR N B 9601
(2) Allylprodine. ............ ..c.c0nnns e v . 9602
(3) Alphacetylmethadol . ................. B L 9603
(4) Alphameprodine. ............... c...0. PP Lo 9604
(5) Alphamethadol................... 9605

(6) Alpha-methylfentanyl ‘
(N-[1-(alpha-methy}- beta-phenyl)ethyl—4-plpendyl]

propionanilide;
l-(1-methyl-z-phenylet}xyl)—4~(N-propannlldo) ) - .
piperiding). ...\ . iy e - 9814,
(T) Benzethidine................. .....couuuun. wee . 9606
(8) Betacetylmethadol . . ... [P e 9607
(9) Betameprodine. ........ o0 ... i i 0608
(10) Betamethadol..................... ... ..i0.vu.s 9609
(11) Betaprodine . ............ .o ieniiinnneinanasn 9611
(12) Clonitazene . ... ... ..ottt ineeeerannnnsione: 0612
(13) Dextromoramide. . . .. 9613
(14) Diampromide. . ... 9615
(15) Diethylthiambutene . 9616
(16) Difenoxin........ 9618
(17) Dimenoxadol . . ... w9617
(18) Dimepheptanol . .............. 0 o it . 9618
(19) Dimethylthiambutene . .......................... 9619
(20) Dioxaphetyl butyrate . . ............. . it - 9621
(21) Dipipanone . .........coiiiiiiiinniinsancsine, - 9622
(22) Ethylmethylthiambutene , .................... e 9623
(23) EtonHazene ..........c.cvneieeerenneaneneonraans 9624
(24) Etoxeridine . .. .. ‘ . 9625
(25) Furethidine . ... ‘9626
(26) Hydroxypethidine ., 9627
(27) Ketobemidone . ... ' 9628
(28) Levomoramide................. 0.....en e 9629
(29) Levophenacylmorphan. .......................... 9631
(30) Morpheridine. ............ ..ottt 9632
(31) Noracymethadol.......... RSP e 9633
(32) Norlevorphanol . ............... ... oo 9634
(33) Notmethadone................ e 9635
(34) . Norpipanone . ......... et ety 9636
(35) Phenadoxome . ..........ccuienenenrnenennnenens - 9637 -
(36) Phenampromide. .............c0oi'iiiernenennns 9638
(37) Phenomorphan. . 9647
(38) Phenoperidine . . ... SO 9641 .
. ‘ (continued)
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(39) Piritramide. .................. PN e 9642 (18) N-methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate ........ ... e ' 7484
(40) Proheptazine . ......... e . 9643 (19) Psilocybin . ... ... ‘ veli, o T4BT
(41) Properidine ..................c00un. e 9644 - (20) Psiloeyn............... [ v 7438
(42) Propiram ............iiiiiiiiiiie i R 9649 (21) - Tetrahydrocannabinols. . . .......... ... .., ... . 7370

"(43) Racemoramide ............... ... .00 0o, 9645 Synthetic equivalents of the substances contamed in the
(44) Tilidine . ................... e e : . 9750 plant, or in the resinous extractives of Cannabis, sp: and/or
(45). Trimeperidine . .. .........c.vvvvivevrnvnvnvnnn. i 9646 synthetic substances, derivatives, and -their isomers ‘with .

(c) Any of the following -opium ‘derivatives, their salts,
isomers and’ salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted,
whenever the existence of these salts, isomers and salts of
isomers is possible within the specific chemical desrgnatlon.

. (1) Acetorphine . ...........c.c0iiuiiiii i . 9319
(2)" Acetyldihydrocodeine. ................... .. 5.l - 9051 .
(3).- Benzylmorphine. . ................. 9052

" (4) . Codeine methylbromlde . 9070

"(5) Codeine-N-Oxide......... e e 9053
(6) Cyprenorphine...................ce...... M, 9054

-(7}.-Desomorphine. .......... VI PR ’ 9055
(8) Dihydromorphine. ........... N 9145
(9). Drotebanol. ......c...c.iiiiiiiiiin i, 9335

(10) "Etorphine (except hydrochlonde salt) L 9056
(11) Heroin......iv.ieiiiiin i e 9200
(12) Hydromorphinol.........................c...... 9301
(13) - Methyldesorphine . . ... PN 9302
(14). Methyldihydromorphine. ' . L 9304
(15) Morphine methylbromide . . ... P . 9305
(18) Morphinemethylsulfonate...;...Q....".........,... 9306
an- Morphme-N-Ox:de ........... N R 9307
-(18) .Myrophine........... P e i 9308
(19) Nicocodeine. ......................... e 9309
(20) . Nicomorphine . .................... [ 9312
(21) Normorphine . ............... e [ e 9313
(22) Pholeodine. ............coiiviiiiii i s 9314
(23) Thebacon. ... ...coviiiiiii it i ieereennenns 9315

(d) Any material, compound mrxture or preparatron which
“contains any quantity of the following hallucinogenic sub-
stances, their salts, isomers and salts of isomers, unless specifi-
cally excepted whenever the existence of these salts, isomers
and salts of isomers is pos51ble within the specrfic chemical
designation:

(1) 4-bromo-2 5-dimethoxy-amphetamine. . . . ..., .. Ceian 7391
- Some trade or other names: 4-bromo-2.5-dimeth- .
- m{y-alpha-methylphenethylamme, 4-bromo-2. 5—DMA
(2) 2.5-dimethoxyamphetamine . ....................... 7396
- Some trade or other names: 2.5-dimethoxy-alpha-
- methylphenethylamine; 2.5-DMA. - :
(3). 4-methoxyamphetamine . .................... 0.0 . 7411
" Some trade-or other names: . ‘
' 4—methoxy—alpha-methylphenethylamme,
-7 paramethoxyamphetamine; PMA. : L
- (4) -5-methoxy-3. 4-methylenedroxy—amphemmme .......... - 7401
{5) 4-methyl-2. 5—drmethoxy-amphetamme ............... ) .. 7395
) Some trade or other names: -
* 4-methyl-2. 5—d1methoxy-alpha-methylphenethylamme, .
“DOM"; “STP”. .
6) 3 4-methylenedloxy amphemmne ..... PUPIAN I - 7400

(7) 3,4,5-trimethoxy amphetamine . .................... 7390
(8) Bufotenine. . ... T et et 7433
Some trade or other 3-(Beta-Dimethyl-

* aminoethyl)-5-hydroxyindole; 3-(2-dimethy}-
- aminoethyl)-5-indolol; N N-dlmethylserotomn,
5-hydroxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine; mappine.

',(9) Diethyltryptamine . ......¢...ooiviiiiiiiiniern.. . . 7454
.. - Some trade or other names: % LN- Dnethyltryptamme h
" 'DET.
(10) Dimethyltryptamine. ................. e ) 7435
Seme trade or other names: DMT. . ' :
(1) Ibogaine. ... .oov vt iniiieti et et e 7260

Some trade or other names: 7-Ethyl-6 6Beta,7 8,
9,10,12,13-octahydro-2-methoxy-6.9-methano
’-SH -pyrido [1',2":1,2] azepmo [5.4-b] indole;
Tabernanthe iboga.

(12) Lysergic:acid dlethylamrde ..... PR 7315
(13) ‘Marihuana .........c....... e PO 7360
(14) Mescaline. ...................... e 7381
(15) Parahexyl...... e e e ey, . 7374

Some trade or other names: = - - ) )

- 3-Hexyl-l-hydroxy-7,8, -

9,10-tetrahydro-6,6 Q-trmethyl-ﬁH drbenzo- [b,d]pyran; |
.~ . Synhexyl. . . )
(16) Peyote . .......ciiriieiirilinrtoiiiiennnnnna., ) 7415

Meanig all parts of the plant presently classified botani-
cally as. Lophophora williamsii Lemaire, whether.growing
..~ or not, the seeds thereof, any extract from any part of such
. plant, and every compound, manufacture, salts, derivative,
mixture or preparation of such plant, its seeds or extracts.
an N-ethyl~3-prpendyl benzrlate ...................... 7482
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" similar .chemical structure and. pharmacologlcal activity. . - .o
such as the following: Delta 1 cis or trans tetrahydrocan-
nabinol, and their optical isomers Delta 6 cis or trans te-
trahydrocannabinol, and their optical isomers Delta 3,4 cis
or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, and its optical isomers (Since . - .
nomenclature of these substances is not internationally.-
standardized, compounds of these structures, regardless of = - )
numerical designation of atomic positions covered), exce'ptA o
dronabmal (synthetic) in oil and encapsulatedina =~

gelatin capsule in @ United States food and diug )
inistration approved drug product. o
(22) Ethylamine analog of phencyclidine . ........ weveees L 7455,
Some trade or other names: N-ethyl-l-phenyl- . : P
cyclo-hexylamine; (1-phenylcyclohexyl)ethylamine;
N-(l-phenylcyclohexyl)ethylamme, cyclohexamme, '
PC

(23) Pyrrolldme analog of phencyclidine . ............... L 7458
Some trade or other names: 1-(1-phenylcyclo- S
hexyl)-pyrrolidine; PCPy; PHP. DR ;

(24) Thiophene analog of phencyclidine. ......... e © 7470
Some trade or other names: 1-[1-(2-thienyl)- : .
cyclohexyl]-piperidine; 2-thienylanalog of
phencyclidine; TPCP; TCP. ) T

(25) 3-methylfentany! ...................... .. 000000 T405
Some trade or other names: 3, 4-methylenedroxy- ' o .
methampetamine; MDMA.

(26) 1-methyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxypiperidine. . .. .. i o 961
Some trade or other names: MPPP. o .
(27) 1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-phenyl-4-acetylox- prpendme ...... o 9663

Some trade or other names: PEPAP.

(e) Any material, compound, mixture or preparatron Whl.Ch
contains any quantity of the following substances having a de-
pressant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts,
isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence: of siich
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possrble wrthin the specific
chemrcal desrgnat:on

(1) Meclogualone. ............. e iiiiae i o578
(2) Methaqualone . ................... .. ... veiiesen 0 2565

(f) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed.in another
schedule, any material, compound, mixture or preparation which
contains any quantity of the following substances having a stim-
ulant effect on the central nervous system mcludmg its’ salts,
isomers and salts of isomers: :

(1) Fenethylline. ............. i )&3
(2) N-ethylamphetamine . ....................... PP 7 ¢/ 1

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 65-4107 is hereby amended to'read
as follows: 65-4107. (a) The controlled substances listed in this
section are included in schedule II and the number et forth
opposite each drug or substance is the DEA controlled sub-
stances code which has been assigned to it.

(b) Any of the following substances, except those narcotic
drugs listed in other schedules, whether produced dlrectly or
indirectly by extraction from’ substances of vegetable origin or
independently by means of chemical synthesis or by combma- »
tion of extraction and chemical synthesis: Ny

(1) Opium and opiate and any salt, compound, derrvatlve or
preparation of opium or opiate, excludmg apomorphine, dex-
trorphan, nalbuphine, naloxone and naltrexone and their re-:.
spective salts, but including the followmg

{A) Raw opium. .........cciviiiininnnnnnannnans aae . 9600

(B) Opium extracts. .. ......cuovuvnenrnnennenennennns .. .. .- 9610

(C) Opium fluid-extracts ......... e 9620

(D) Powderedopium ...................cccvueueai ., T 9639

(E) Granulatedopium ... ................ e e 9640

(F) Tincture ofopium . ....................... . Loy 9630

(G), Codeine.............0c..00iiiiinninns . . ., 9050
(H) Ethylmorphine.............. o WD 9190
(I) Etorphine hydrochloride e e 79059

() Hydrocodone . ....... ... 9193

Hydromorphone o 9150

9260

9300

- 9143

Oxymorphone 9652

(P) Thebaine 9333
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(2)- Any salt, compound, isomer, derivative or preparation
thereof which is chemically- equrvalent or identical with any of
the substances referred to in paragraph (1), but not mcludmg the
isoquinoline alkaloids of opium.

(3) Opium poppy and poppy straw.

(4) . Coca leaves (9040) and any salt, compound, derivative or
preparation of coca leaves, but not including decocainized coca
leaves or extractions which do not contain cocaine (9041) or
ecgonine (9180).

(5) Cocaine, its salts, isomers and salts of i isomers (9041).

"~ (6) Ecgonine, its salts isomers and salts of isomers (9180).

(7) Concentrate of poppy straw (the crude extract of poppy
straw in either liquid, solid or powder form which contains the
phenanthrene alkaloids-of the opium poppy) (9670).

(c) Any of the following opiates, including their isomers,
_esters, ethers, salts and salts of isomers, esters and ethers,
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers and salts
is possible within the specific chemical designation dextrorphan
and levopropoxyphene excepted:

(1) Alfentanil. ................................ A 9737
(2) -Alphaprodine . . ........... ... ...l i, 9010
(3) Anileridine. ............. ... .. i 9020
(4) Bezitramide . . ............. .0t 9800
(5) Bulk dextropropoxyphene (nondosage forms). ......... 9273
{6) Dihydrocodeine. .............ccovviiiriiiniinnn. 9120
(7) Diphenoxylate . . ............ it 9170
(8) Fentanyl. ...........c.ciiiiiiiiininnnnnnns ‘ 9801
(9) Isomethadone. ..................civiiiiinnnnnn. 92926
(10) Levomethorphan . ........................i. ... © 9210
(11) Levorphanol. .................c.iiiiiiiieinun.. 9220
(12 Metazocine. ............... e e i e 9240
(13) Methadone. .............iiriiiiiiinnenn.. 9250
(14) Methadone-intermediate, 4-cyano-2-dimethyl ,
ammo-4 4-dlphenyl butane............... ... 9254
15). M diate, 2-methyl-3-morpholine-1, ‘
1-diphenyl-propane-carboxylicacid . . ............... 9802
(16) Pethidine(meperidine). .......................... 9230
-(17) Pethidine-intermediate-A, 4-cyano-1-methyl- )
4-phenylpiperidine. . ......... ... .. ... ... ... 9232
- (18) Pethidine-intermediate-B, ethyl-4-phenyl- )
piperidine4-carboxylate. . ........................ 9233
(19)  Pethidine-intermediate-C, 1-methyl-4-phenyl-
piperidine-4-carboxylicacid. . . .................... . 9234
(20) Phenazocine. ............couveeiiinunrnnenannnns 9715
(21) Piminodine. ........... e i s B 9730
(22) Racemethorphan. ............................... . 9732
(23) Racemorphan..............ccoiiiiieninrnnnnnnns 9733
(24) Sufentanil. .. .. et e ee ettt e e 9740

(d) Any material, compound, mixture, or preparation which
contains any quantity of the following substances having a po-
tential for abuse associated with a stimulant effect on the central
nervous system:

(1) Amphetamme, its salts, ophcal isomers and salts of its

optical isomers. .. ........ oot i i 1100
(2) Phenmetrazineanditssalts....................... 1631
(3) Methamphetamine, including its salts, isomers and salts of '

BSOMMETS. . . 0 vttt ittt ittt i it e 1105
(4) Methylphenidate . ............... . ..o, 1724

(e) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another
schedule, any material, compound, mixture or preparation which
contains any quantity of the following substances having a de-
pressant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts,
isomers and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such
salts, isomers and salts of isomers is possible within the specific
chemical designation:

(1) Amobarbital . .............. ... ... . ., 2125
(2) Secobarbital . ........ P 2315
(3) Pentobarbital . .............. et et . : 2270
(4) Phencyclldme ................................. 7471

(f) Any matenal compound, mixture, or preparation which
contains any quantity of the following substances:

(1) Immediate precursor to amphetamme and methamphe-
tamine: .

(A) Phenylacetone . . .......o...c..oeuseeisinaienn. ~ ss01
~ Some trade or other names: phenyl- 2—propanone,
. P2P; benzyl methyl ketone; methyl benzyl ketone.
2)

Immediate precursors to phencyclidine (PCP):

® (A) l-phenylcyclohexylamine. ........................ 7460
(B) ' l-piperidinocyclohexanecarbonitrile (PCC) . .......... 8603
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(g) Any material, compound, mixture or preparation which
contains any quantity of the followmg hallucinogenic sub-
stance, its salts, isomers and salts of isomers, unless specifically’
excepted, whenever the existence of these salts, isomers and
salts of isomers is possible within the speczf' c- chemtcal deszg-
nation: .

(1) Dronabinol (synthetic) in oiland p ""ma

_soft gelatin capsule in a United States food and drug,
administration approved drug product . . ............ 7369

Some other names for dronabinol: (6aR-trans)
+64.7.8.10a-tetrahydro-6.6.9-trimethiyl-3-pentyl
-6H-dibenzo(b.d)pyran-1-ol,0r(- )-delta-9—( trans)
-tetrahydrocannabinol

Sec. 3. K.S.A.65-4116 is hereby amended to read as follows

~ 65-4116. (a) Every person who manufactures, distributes or dis-

penses any controlled substance within this state or who pro-
poses to engage in the manufacture, distribution or dispensing of
any-controlled substance within this state shall obtain annually a
registration issued by the board in accordance with the uniform .
controlled substances act and with rules and regulatlons
adopted by the board.

(b) Persons registered by the board under this act to man-
ufacture, distribute, dispense or conduct research with con-
trolled substances may possess, manufacture, distribute, dis-
pense or conduct research with those substances to the extent
authorized by their reglstratlon and in conformrty with the other
provisions of this act.

(¢) The following persons need not register and may lawfully
possess controlléd substances under this act, as specified in thls
subsection: ‘

(1) An agént or employee of any registered manufacturer,
distributor or dispenser of any controlled substance if the agent
or employee is acting in the usual course of such ‘agent or
employee’s business or employment ;

(2) a common or contract carrier or warehouseman or an
employee thereof whose possession of any controlled substance :
is in the usual course of business or employment '

(3) an ultimate user or a person in possession of any con-
trolled substance pursuant to a lawful order of a practitioner or in
lawful possession of a schedule V substance; = .

(4) persons licensed and registered by the board under the
provisions of the acts contained in article 16 of chapter 65 of the
Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments theréto, to man-
ufacture, dispense or distribute drugs are considered to be in
compliance with the registration provision of the uniform con-
trolled substances act without additional proceedings before the
board or the payment of additional fees, except that manufactur-
ers and distributors shall complete and file the application form
required under the uniform controlled substances act; .

(5) any person licensed by ‘the state board of healing arts;

(6) any person licensed by the state board of veterinary
examiners;

(7) any person licensed by the Kansas dental board; and

(8) any person who is a member of the Native American
Church, with respect to use or possession of peyote, whose use
or possession of peyote is in, or for use in, bona fide religious
ceremonies of the Native American Church, but nothing in this
paragraph shall authorize the use or possession of peyote in any
place used for the confinement or housing of persons arrested,

‘charged or convicted of criminal offenses or in the state security

hospital.
(d) The board may waive by rules and regulations the re-
quirement for registration of certain manufacturers, distributors

" or dispensers if the board finds it consistent with the public

health and safety, except that licensure of any person by the state
board of healmg arts, Kansas dental board or the state board of
veterinary examiners shall constitute compliance with the regis-

- tration requirements of the uniform controlled substances act by

such person for such person’s place of professional practice.
Evidence of abuse as determined by the board relating to a
person licensed by ‘the state board of healing arts shall be

* submitted to the,state board of healing arts and the attorney

general within 60 days. The state board of healing arts shall,
within 60 days, make findings of fact and take such action against

( contmued)
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such person as it deems necessary. All findings of fact and any
action taken shall be reported by the state board of healing arts to
the board of pharmacy and the attorney general. Evidence of
abuse as determined by the board relating to a person-licensed
by the state board of veterinary examiners shall be submitted to
the state board of veterinary examiners and the attorney general
within 60 days. The state board of veterinary examiners shall,
within 60 days, make findings of fact and take-such action against
such person as it deems necessary. All findings of fact and any
action taken shall be reported by the state board of veterinary
examiners to the board of pharmacy and the attorney general.
Evidence of abuse as determined by the board relating to a
dentist licensed by the Kansas dental board shall be submitted to
the Kansas dental board and the attorney general within 60 days.
The Kansas dental board shall, within 60 days, make findings of
fact and take such action against such dentist as it deems neces-
sary. All findings of fact and any action taken shall be reported by
the Kansas dental board to the board of pharmacy and the
attorney general.

(e) A separate annual registration is required at each place of
business or professional practice where the applicant manufac-
tures, distributes or dispenses. controlled substances.

() The board may inspect the establishment of a registrant or
applicant for reglsh'atron in accordance with the board’s rules.

and regulations.

(g) (1) The registration of any person or locatwn shall ter-
_minate when such person or authorized representative of @
location dies, ceases legal existence, discontinues business or
professional practice or changes the location as shown on the
certificate of registration. Any registrant who ceases legal exis-
tence, discontinues business or professional practice, or changes
location as shown. on the certificate of registration, shall notify
the board promptly of such fact and forthwith deliver the
certificate of registration directly to the secretary or executive
secretary of the board. In the event of a change in name or
mailing address the person or authorized representative of the
location shall noti ify the board promptly in advance of the

effective date of this change by filing the change of name or

mailing address with the board. This change shall be noted on
the original application on file with the board.

(2)  No registration or any authority conferred thereby shall
be assigned or otherwise transferred except upon such condi-
tions as the board may specifically designate and then only
pursuant to the written consent of the board.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 65-4127b-is hereby amended to
read as follows: 65-4127b. (a) Except as authorized by the uni-
form controlled substances act, it shall be unlawful for any
person to manufacture, possess, have under such’person’s con-
trol, prescribe, admlmster dehver, distribute; dispense or com-
pound

(1) Any depressant de51gnated in subsection (e) of K.S.A.

65-4105, subsection (e) of K.S.A. 65-4107, subsection (b) or (c) of
K.S.A. 65-4109 or subsection (b) of K S.A. 65-4111, and amend-
ments thereto;

(2) .any stimulant de51gnated in subsectxon (d) or (f) of K.S.A.

65-4107 or subsection (e) of K.S.A. 65-4109 and amendments,

thereto;

{(3) any hallucinogenic drug designated in subsectlon (d) of
K.S.A. 65-4105 and amendments thereto or designated in sub-
section (g) of K.S.A. 65-4107 and amendments thereto; or

(4) any substance designated in subsection (c), (d), (e), (f) or
(g) of K.S.A. 65-4111 and amendments thereto.

Any person who violates this subsection shall be guilty of a
class A misdemeanor, except that such person shall be guilty of a
class D felony upon conviction for a second or subsequent
offense or if the substance was prescribed for or administered,
delivered, distributed or dispensed to a child under 18 years of
age. -

(b) Except as -authorized by the uniform controlled sub-
stances act, it shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for
sale or have in such person’s possession with the intent to sell:

(1) Any depressant designated in subsection (e) of K.S.A.
65-4105, subsection (e) of K.S.A. 65-4107, subsection (b) or (c) of
K.S.A. 65-4109 or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 65-4111, and amend-
ments thereto;

© Kansas Secrctary of State, 1987

(2) any stimulant designated in subsection (d) or (f) of K.S.A.
65-4107 or subsection.(e) of K. S A. 65-4109, and amendments
thereto;

(3) any hallucinogenic drug designated in subsection (d) of
K.S.A. 65-4105, and amendments thereto or designated in sub-
section (g) of K.S.A. 654107 and amendments thereto; or

(4) any substance designated in subsection (c), (d), (e), (f) or
(2) of K.S:A. 65-4111, and amendments thereto.

Any person who vxolates this_subsection shall be guilty of a

~class C felony.

(c) Except as authorized by the .uniform controlled sub-
stances act, it shall be unlawful for any person to manufacture,

possess, have under such person’s control, prescribe, administer,

deliver, distribute, dlspense, compound sell, offer for sale.or
have in such person’s possession with intent to sell any con-

trolled substance designated in K.S.A. 65-4113 and amendments -
thereto. Any person who violates this subsection shall be guilty

of a class A misdemeanor, except that such person shall be guilty
of a class D felony if the substance was prescribed for or admin-
istered, delivered, distributed, dispensed, sold, offered for sale

or possessed with intent to sell to a child under 18 years of age.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 65-4116 and K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 65-4105, 65-
4107 and 65-4127b are hereby repealed.

Sec. 6. . This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its pubhcatxon in the_ Kansas reglster

1 hereby certify that the above BILL onglnated in the HOUSE; and
passed that body February 18, 1987.

HOUSE concurred in SENATE amendments April 8, 1987
: JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD .
Chief Clerk of the House.

Passed the SENATE as amended April 6, 1987.
ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the. Senate
LU KENNEY :
Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED April 21, 1987.
MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
Office of Secretary of State

"1, BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office.

IN- TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name and afﬁxed my official seal, this 21st day of April,
1987. :

BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) : Secretary of State.
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SENATE BILL No. 373

AN ACT concerning the ‘construction defects recovery fund; relating to certain
. :::gg:;(‘litures therefrom; amending K.5.A. 75-3785 and repealing the existing
Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas: -
Section 1. K.S.A: 75-3785 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 75-3785. (a) There is hereby created in the state treasury
the construction defects recovery fund. A ,
~(b) All proceeds received by state agencies shall be depos-
ited in the construction defects recovery fund. All expenditures

- from the construction defects recovery fund in excess of $10,000
$25,000 for the purposes stated in paragraph (4) of this subsec- .

tion shall be subject to the prior approval of the state finance
couticil, which is hereby characterized as a matter of legislative
delegation and subject to the guidelines prescribed in subsec-
tion (c) of K.S.A. 75-3711c, and amendments thereto. All other
expenditures from the construction defects recovery fund ef
$10.000 or less shall be subject to the prior approval of the
secretary of administration, and the secretary of administration
shall report each such expenditure to the joint committee on
state building construction. Sueh Where expenditures are made
in support. of litigation in .which the state is involved, such
expenditures also shall be subject to the prior approval of the
attorney general. All expenditures shall be paid pursuant to
vouchers of the director of accounts and reports approved by the
secretary of administration end the head of the state ageney that
suffered the damages for whieh the proeeeds were paid and shall
be for one or more of the following purposes: . - ;

(1) To.identify the nature, extent and causes of defects in the
design, construction or other work on the capital imprevement
for which the preeeeds were reeeived improvements;

(2) to provide architectural, engineering or other technical
services to determine methods for correcting or repairing such
* defects; . - ~ :

(3) to provide services in support of claims by the state or to
defend claims against the state concerning sueh defeets stat
construction projects; or : . :

(4) to correct or repair suek defects for which the proceeds
were received, or to make other repairs or perform maintenance
related to such defects. ‘ ‘ . o

te} The director of aceounts and reports shall ransfor an-
nually from the eonstruction defeets reeovery fund to the state
general fund proeeeds that have been eredited to the eonstrue-
approval from the seerctary of administration or from the state

{d)(c) As used in this section, “proceeds” means money paid
to the state of Kansas or any state agency for forfeited bid bonds,
or by an insurer, or by a person or firm performing duties related
to construction under a contract with a state agency, to compen-
sate the state for errors, omissions or other construction, archi-
tectural or engineering related defects adversely affecting the
state or a state agency. .

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 75-3785 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force fro:ﬁ and
after its publication in the Kansas register. B

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the SENATE, and
passed that body April 7, 1987.
ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY
Secretary of the Senate.

Passed the HOUSE April 9, 1987. .
JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House.
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APPROVED April 21, 1987. | .
. MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

' STATE OF KANSAS

. Office of Secretary of State )
I, BILL, GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that.the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office. o
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name and affixed my official seal, this 21st day of April,
-~ 1987. - : o

BILL GRAVES
(SEAL) ; Secretary of State.

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.)

SENATE BILL No. 412

AN ACT authorizing the city of McPherson to determine and change the use of
certain public grounds within the city. .
Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. Whenever the governing body of the city of
McPherson shall determine by ordinance that the property de-
scribed as Block 81 of the city of McPherson, McPherson county,
Kansas, dedicated as public grounds by the original plat of the
city of McPherson, and known as the Wickersham Block by
reasons of its use by the school district as a site for a school -
building, is no longer needed for the use for which it was
originally acquired, such city is hereby authorized to use such’
property for any public purpose which the governing body shall
determine is in the best interest of the inhabitants of such city.
Sec. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register. ;

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the SENATE, and ’
passed that body April 7, 1987. . } o
' - -ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY S
Secretary of the Senate.

Passed the HOUSE April 9, 1987.
: JAMES D BRADEN
_Speaker of the House.” .
‘GENEVA SEWARD ;
Chief Clerk of the House.

APPROVED April 21, 1987. .
MIKE HAYDEN
. Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS -
: Office of Secretary of State .
I, BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do_
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office. ' '
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name -and affixed my official seal, this 21st day of April,

1987. :
BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) o l . Secretary of State.
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HOUSE BILL No. 2580

AN Acrconcemmg hospital district no. 1, Marion county, Kansas; authorizing the
hospital board to convey, without consideration, certain property

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. Notwithstanding any provisionis of article 25 of

chapter 80 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated to the contrary, the

hospital board of hospital district no. 1, Marion county, Kansas, is

hereby authorized to convey, without consideration, to such

party or parties as the board may determine, the following

described property of hospital district no. \1,'locatejd in Marion -
cournty, Kansas: Lots 10, 11, 12 and 13, Block 5, Southern Addi-

tion to the City of Marion, Marion County, Kansas

Sec. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register.

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the HOUSE, and
passed that body Aprll 3, 1987.
JAMES D..BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House.

Passed the SENATE April 9, 1987, .
. ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate
LU KENNEY -
Secretary of the Senate.

APPROVED April 21, 1987.
- MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS

‘ Office of Secretary of State
I, BILL GRAVES Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the

original enrolled bill now on file in my office.
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name and affixed my official seal, this 21st day of Apnl

1987.
BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) . Secretary of State.

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987)

SENATE BILL No. 72

AN ACT relatmg to banks and’ bankmg concemmf branch bankm& amendin
S 9-llllc and K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 9-1111, 9-1111a and 9-1111b and.
ing the exlstm%. ectlons also repealmg K.$.A. 1986 Supp. 9-525, 9-526,
9— 7 28, 9-529,

Be it enacted by the Legtslature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 9-1111 is hereby ‘amended to

" read as follows: 9-1111. The general business of every bank shall

be transacted at the place of business specified in its certificate

of authority, and it shall be unlawful for any bank to establish and

operate any branch bank except as hereinafter provided:
(a) Any bank domiciled in this state may have an attached

“auxiliary teller facility Iocated on the premises specxﬁed in its

certificate of authority;

(b)  in addition to an attached auxiliary teller &cﬂlty, any
bank domiciled in this state may, subject to the requirements and
limitations hereinafter prescribed in subsections (¢) and (d),
establish and maintain not more than three branch banks, except
thatabankmayhavee-ptetweaéd-r&eaelbmnehbankses—
tablished under the previsiens of KS:A- 1086 Supp- 0-525
through 0-531; {e) any branch bank which was established by a
bank within 2,600 feet of the premises specified as such bank’s
principal place of business in its certificate of authority, prior to
the effective date of this aet July 1, 1986, shall not be included in
the maximum number of branch banks allowed in subseetion (b}

under this subsection;

© © Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

~ serve the public convenience or needs

& (c) a branch bank may be established and operated by a
state bank incorporated under the laws of this state may, with the
approval of the state banking board, and by a national banking
association may, with the approval of the appropriate federal
supervisory agency, granted upon the basis of findings by the
state banking board or such federal agency that such service w1ll
serviees; limited to rental of safe depes—tt bexes; feeewmg de-
pesitsefevewlaﬂéaﬁda&meeashmgeheekserefdevstepey-
issuing exchange; issting and fedeem-mg obligations of the trea-
sury of the United States ef Asneriea in denominations of $1;000
erless—makmgallefpeseflemeutheﬁzedtebemadeat&e
prinecipal place of business of the bank subjeet to the same
conditions end limitations; exereising the trust powers granted to
the bank pursuant to X-S-A- 9-1601; and amendments: thereto;
subjeet to suech eonditions as the commissioner may require; aﬂd
reeeiving payments payable at the bank at branch banks;

{e} (d) branch banks established and maintained uﬂdef the
provisions of this seetion authorized under subsection (b) shall
be located:

(1) Within the corporate limits of the same city within which
the premises specified by the bank as its place of business in its
certificate of authority is located, if the same is located w1thm an
incorporated city;

(2) within the boundaries of the township in Wthh the
premises specified by the bank as its place of business in its
certificate of authority is located, if such premises are located
outside of the corporate limits of an incorporated city;

(3) - more than 50 feet from any other nonpart101pat1ng bank or
branch bank; -~ -

(4) more than 2,600 feet from the premises mamtamed -as the
principal place of business of any bank, the articles of incor-
poration or charter of which was approved by the state board or
federal agency less than five years prior to location of any such
branch bank, unless the state board in the case of a state bank or
the appropriate federal supervisory agency in the case of a
national banking association, shall specifically find and deter-
mine after careful examination and investigation that the location
of such branch bank within such restricted -area will net have a

materially adverse effect upen the capital structure, deposits and

general financial- position of such existing bank; -

(5) within the corporate limits of a city located in- Johnson’y

county ‘which has no bank-and which is contiguous to a city
located in Johnson county where the premises specified by the
bank as its place of business ‘in’ its certlﬁcate of authonty is
located; :

(e) in addition to establtshment and maintenance of branch

banks as authorized by subsection (b), one or more branch banks’

may be established and maintained in this state by any bank

domiciled in this state subject to the following reqmrementsk

and limitations: = -
(1) ' A branch bank may be located at the site of a bank

domiciled in Kansas which has been merged into or consoli-

dated with the branching bank, except that c£ such bank was
chartered after January 1, 1987, it shall have been in existence
and. actively engaged in business for five or more years;

(2) a bmnch bank may be located at the site of a bank’

domiciled in Kansas the assets of which have been purchased

-and the liabilities of which have been assumed by the branchmg'

bank from a receiver in liquidation of the bank; -

(3)  branch banks which have been established and main-
tained pursuant to subsection (b) by a bank mierged into or
consolidated with the branching bank, or the assets of which
have been purchased and the liabilities of which have béen
assumed by the branching bank, may continue to be maintained
by the branching bark, and nothmg in this act shall be deemed
to require any service to be provided at any such existing branch
bank which was not being provided at the time of such merger
consolidation or purchase and assumption;

"(4) * the establishment and maintenance obf a branch estab-
lished pursuant to this subsection by a state bank incorporated
under the laws of this state or by a national banking association
shall be subject to approval by the state banking board or by the
appropnatejederal supervisory agency, respectively, upon the

. basis of findings that such service will serve the public conve-
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nience and need, except that such approval may be given by the
state bank commissioner in emergency situations under rules
and regulations adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 9-1713, and amend-
ments thereto; = ~ ;

. {5) abranching bank establishing and maintaining a branch
bank pursuant to any provision ,Zf this subsection (e) shall
operate the branch bank for a period of at least two years before
selling or otherwise disposing of such branch bank, except that
such branching bank may sell or dispose of the branch bank for
the purpose of establishing a new bank charter in the city or
township in which such branch bank is located; :

- (6) any branching bank establishing and maintaining a
branch bank pursuant to any provisions of this subsection (e),
shall provideé for an advisory board of directors made up of not
less than [ﬁve members from the city or county where the branch
bank is located; :

(7) any branching bank establishing and maintaining a
branch bank pursuant to any provisions of this subsection (e),
.;’halli provide checking, savings and loan services at such branch

ank; ‘ ~

(8) any branching bank establishing and maintaining a
branch bank pursuant to any provisions of this subsection (e),
shall have such branch bank open {or business not less than 20
hours per week legal holidays excluded; '

(f) any branch bank established and operated by a bank
prior to January ‘1, 1987, may continue to be operated by the
bank which established the branch; ‘

4 (g) any state bank or national banking association having
its principal office and main banking house in this state may
provide and engage in banking transactions by means of remote
service units wherever located, which remote service units shall
not be considered to be branch banks authorized herein. Any
banking transaction effected by use of a remote service unit shall
be deemed to be transacted at a bank and not at a remote service
unit; . :

{® (h) as a condition to the operation and use of any remote
service unit in this state, a state bank or national banking associ-

" ation, each hereinafter referred to as a bank, which desires to

operate or enable its customers to utilize a remote service unit
must agree that such remote service unit will be available for use
by customers of any other bank or banks upon the request of such
bank or banks to share its use and the agreement of such bank or
banks to share all costs, including a reasonable return on capital
expenditures incurred in connection with its development, in-
stallation and operation. The owner of the remote service unit,
whether a bank or any other person, shall make the remote
service unit available for use by other banks and their customers
on a nondiscriminatory basis, conditioned upon payment of a
reasonable proportion of all costs, including a reasonable return
on capital expenditures incurred in connection with the devel-
opment, installation and operation of the remote. service unit.
Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this subsection, a
remote service unit located on the property owned or leased by
the bank where the principal place of business of a bank, or an

attached auxiliary teller facility or branch bank of a bank, is

located need not be made available for use by any other bank or
banks or customers of any other bank or banks;

{) (i) for purposes of this section, “remote service unit”
medns an electronic. information processing device, including
associated equipment, structures and systems, through or by
means of which information relating to financial services ren-
dered to the public is stored and transmitted, whether instan-
taneously or otherwise, to a bank and which, for activation and

account access, is dependent upon the use of a machine-readable’

instrument in the possession and control of the holder of an
account with a bank. The term shall include “online” computer
terminals and. “offline” automated cash dispensing machines
and automated teller machines, but shall not include computer
terminals or automated teller machines or automated cash dis-
pensing machines using systems in which account numbers are
not machine read and verified. Withdrawals by means of “off-
line” systems shall not exceed $300 per transaction and shall be
restricted to individual not corporate or commercial accountss;

(i) anybank located in this state may establish and maintain
one or more branch banks in any city located in the same county
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in which the branching bank is located which city does not have
a main bank, specified in the certificate of authority, located
within the corporate limits of such city, or if there is no
application pending for approval of a branch bank in any such
city filed by a bank located in the same county as such city is
located, in any such city located in any county adjoining the
county in which such bank is located. ; B
Upon receiving an application for approval of a branch bank
to be established in a city located in a county adjoining the
county in which the branching bank is located as authorized
under this subsection (), the chairperson of the banking board
shall cause a hearing to be conducted in the city in which the
branch bank is proposed to be-located within 60 days following
receipt of such application. Notice of such hearing shall be
published by the branching bank in the official newspaper in
such city, or if there be no such (;_lfﬁcial newspaper, in an offictal
newspaper in the county in which such city is located. Such
notice shall be published not less than 10 or more than 30 days
prior to the date of such hearing, and proof of publication shall
be given to the bank commissioner. In addition- the bank
commissioner shall give notice of such hearing to the chie{
executive officer of any state or national bank whose main ban
is located within the county in which such city is located. Any
hearing scheduled or commenced under the provisions of this
subsection (j) shall be stayed pending consideration of a new
application for approval of a branch bank in such city by a bank

" located in the same county in which such city is located.

Upon completion of the transcript of any hearing hereunder, a
copy thereof shall be filed in the office of the state bank
commissioner, and one copy shall be furnished to each member
of the state banking board not less than 14 days prior to the
meeting at which such application is considered. At the next
regular meeting of the banking board held after each member
therezf has been furnished a transcript of the hearing for a
period of not less than 14 days, or at any meeting thereafter as

- designated by the chairperson of the board, such application

shall be considered by the board, and the board shall approve or
disapprove such application. In either event, no action by the
board shall be final until a statement of findings of fact in
support of such action shall have been prepared by such pérson
designated to do so by the chairperson thereof, circulated to and
signed by those members voting thereon, and filed in the office
of the state bank commissioner.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 9-1111ais hereby amended to read
as follows: 9-1111a. Any two or more banks which are individu-
ally authorized to establish and maintain branch banks under the
provisions of this aet may jointly establish and maintain a
common branch bank. Each bank participating in the establish-
ment and maintenance of a joint branch bank shall be deemed to
have established a branch bank for the purposes of the limitation
prescribed under the provisions of subseetior (b} subsections (b)
and (e) of K.S.A. 9-1111, and amendments thereto. ,

“Sec. 3. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 9-1111b is hereby amended to read
as follows: 9-1111b. A bank making application to the state
banking board for approval of a branch bank under the provisiens
of this eet shall pay to the state bank commissioner a fee to be set
by the commissioner, with approval of the board, in an amount
not to exceed $500 to defray the expenses of the board;
commissioner or other designees in the examination and inves~
tigation of the application. The commissioner: shall remit-all
amounts received under this section to the state treasurer who
shall deposit the same to a separate special account in the state
treasury for each application. The moneys in each such account

" shall be used only to pay the expenses of the board, commis-

sioner or other designees in the examination and investigation of
the application to which it relates and any unused balance shall-
be refunded to the applicant bank. S
Sec. 4. K.S.A.9-111lc is hereby amended to read as follows: -
9-1111c. Whenever the state bank commissioner shall determine
that any bank domiciled in this state has established a detaeh
sepdee faeility or faeiliies branch in violation of the laws
governing the operation of such bank, er is effering serviees at

{continued)
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governing the eperation of sueh bank; the commissioner shall
give written notification to the bank of such determination.
Within ten (30} 10 days after receipt of such notification by the

bank, the bank shall have the right to appeal in writing to the.

state banking board from the commissioner’s determination, and
thereupon the board shall fix a date for a hearing, which hearmg
shall be held within thirty (306) 30 days from the date of such
appeal. At such hearmg the board shall hear all matters relevant
to the commissioner’s determination and shall thereafter within
tern 40) 10 days after the hearing approve or disapprove the
commissioner’s determination, and the decision of the board
shall be final and conclusive.

If the bank does not appeal to the state banking board from the
commissioner’s determination as herein provided; or if an appeal
is taken and the commissioner’s determination is approved by
the board, the commissioner shall nohfy the attorney general of
such determmatxon— and. If the bank is a state bank incorporated
under the laws of this state, the commissioner shall proceed as

provided in K.S.A. 9-1714, and amendments thereto, for the.

purpose of correcting sueh condition or operation, and all
provisions of K.S.A. 9-1714, and amendments thereto, shall be
applicable to such proceedmgs, and as to any bank domiciled in
this state the commissioner alse shall notify the pooled money
investment board of such determination, and thereafter the
pooled money investment board shall not award the bank a state
bank account until the commissioner determines that the bank
has established its detached serviees facility or facilities branch
in the manner required under the laws governing the operation
of such bank, errseﬂ'eangatsaeh&eﬂ&yerf&eﬂt&esen}y
services authorized under the laws governing the operation of

suek bank; and the commissioner shall have 1) notxfied the .

pooled money investment board.

“Sec.’5. K.S.A. 9-1111c¢ and K.S.A. 1986 Supp 9-525, 9-526,
9-527, 9-528, 9-529, 9-530, 9-531, 9-1111, 9-1111a and 9-1111b
are hereby repealed

Sec. 6. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register.

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the SENATE, and
passed that body March 2, 1987.

SENATE adopted Conference Committee report-April 8, 1987.
ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY '
- Secretary of the Senate.

Passed the HOUSE as amended April 3, 1987.

HOUSE adopted Conference Committee report April 8, 1987.
JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House.

APPROVED April 21, 1987.
. MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.- )

STATE OF KANSAS
: Office of Secretary of State
I, BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State -of the State of Kansas do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office.
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
nly name and affixed my official seal, this 21st day of April,
1987. i
BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) Secretary of State.

T Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987.)

'HOUSE BILL No. 2197

AN Acr concerning the county inheritance tax fund; providing for the termination
of distributions to counties therefrom; abohshmg such fund and disposing of
the moneys therein; amending K.S,A. 79-1578 and repealing the existing
section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 79-1578 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 79-1578. (a) Until July 1, 1987, the secretary of revenue
shall certify to the director of accounts and reports the amount of
revenue collected from the tax imposed under the provisions of
this act at the time of paying the same. to the state treasurer and
an amount equal to five pereent (5%) 5% of the total amounts
certified shall be transferred by the director of accounts and
reports from the state general fund to the county inheritance tax
ﬁmdwh-tehmherebyere&tedpﬁertothedatesheremeﬁef
provided for distributions frem the latter fund to be made to
eeunties. Such certification shall be based upon receipts paid to
the director of taxation with appropriate adjustments or .correc-
tions. No such certi[catwn shall be made by the secretary of
revenue and no such transfer shall be made by the director of
accounts and reports after June 30, 1987.

(b). Until January 1, 1988, the director of taxation shall make
distributions from the county inheritance tax fund to counties.on
the first days day of February, May and September of each year.
The director of taxation shall pay to each county the amount of
said county’s entitlement, which shall equal five pereent (6%)
5% of the proceeds of the tax imposed under this act, -upon
legacies and successions to any estate subject to the jurisdiction
of said such county and collected by the director of taxation as
indicated by inheritance tax retumns filed and attributed to said
such county, with any adjustments or corrections made by said
the director. No such distribution shall be made by the director
of taxation after December 31, 1987.

(c) The director-of accounts and reports shall draw warrants -

on the state treasurer payable to the county treasurer of each
county entitled to payment from the county inheritance tax fund

~ upon vouchers approved by the director of taxation. No such

warrant shall be drawn by the director of accounts and reports
after December 31, 1987. Upon receipt of such warrant, each
county treasurer shall credit the amount thereof to the general
fund of his er her the county.

(d) On January 1, 1988; the director of accounts and reports
shall transfer all moneys in the county inheritance tax fund to

. the state general fund and the county inheritance fund is hereby

abolished.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 79-1578 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register.

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the HOUSE and

passed that body March 11, 1987.
JAMES D. BRADEN -
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House.

Passed the SENATE April 7, 1987.
ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
" LU KENNEY ;
Secretary of the Senate.

APPROVED April 17, 1987. :
: MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
Office of Secretary of State

I BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregomg is a correct copy of the
ongmal enrolled b)ll now on file in my office.
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IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF; T have hereurto subscribed
my name and afﬁxed my ofﬁmal seal this 17th day of April,
1987.
. - «BILL GRAVES:
secretary of Sate.

;_V(SEAL) e

Ty ‘(Publrshed in the KANSAS REG?&TER April 30, 1987)

'HOUSE BILL No 2561

Ar Act makmg and conce i\ -appropriations for the ﬁscalyears endmg ]une 30,
i 1987 , Jiine 30 1988 June30 989, and June 30, 1990; to initiate and complete
ain capi t projects for.Kansas, state university, university of
K;ansas un*vers:ty of Kansas mpdlcal cemter and Wichita state university;
. authorizing certain transfers, imposing’ certain restrictions and limitations,
- “and directing or authotizing disbursements and acts.incidental to the forego-
-+ ing; amending;sections 4. and 5: of chapter. 15 of the 1986 Sessmn Laws of
., Kansas .and repealmg the _existing se(;ttons V' :

Be it enacted bij-the Legtslature of the State of Kansas
‘Section -1, For the fiscal years: ending June 30, 1987, }une 30,
1988 June''30;" 1989, and: June' 30,:11990, appropriations - are
hereby made, restrictions and llmltatlons -are hereby imposed,
and trarisfers; disbursemients and-acts incidental tothe foregoing
are hereby directed or authorized to'initiate:and complete capltal
1mprovément projects as prowded in tbls act :

(a) There is ‘p¥of>r1ated for the above agency from the
Kansas educafional buildirig fund for the capital improvement
pr ject and for the fiscal year spemﬁed as follo” 1

Construct Qbemlst;ry . blochemlstry bmldmg
fiscal ; ér dlng June'30, 1989 $285 000

-Sec.- 3. On the .effective, date of thl.s ﬁct,;&ectwn 4 of chapter'
15 of the 1986 Session Laws of Kansas is hereby amended to read
as follows Sec. 4.

DI UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS R B

(a) The above agency is_ hereby authonzed to mmate ‘and
c0mplete &, capital. : 1mprovement pfo;ee’e -projects 19 renovate
Snow hall and to construct.and ‘equip science library; subject to
the restrictions.and limitations: imposed. by this. section. ..
+{b). There -is apptopriated- for the above. agency from the
Kansas educational building fund for. the :capital. improvement
projects and for the fiscal years speexﬁed as- follows
Renovate Snow hall .~ .

- For:the fiscal-year ending June130, 198 AR
_ Ko, the fisc cj Jyear ending Jupe 30, 198 e 543,000
“For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1989 . Lol 2,733,500

For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1990 PR -2;733,500
Construct and equip science;! library: : : )

" For the fiscal year endmg ]une 30 1988 4359000 - 4,659,900
_ For the fiscal year ending Juhie 30; 1989 . Voot v 5,490,900

For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1990 .......... 2:629,200 v 3,129,200

MO “The' appfoprratlons ‘made’ by tl'llS section -shall not be
subject to the provmons of K.S:A. 46-155 and amendments
thereto.

Sec. 4.

= UNIVEBSITX OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER

(a) ‘The above agency is hereby authorized to initiate and
complete a capital improvement project for heating, ventilating
and.air:conditioning repairs: to Bell memorial hospital subject to
the restrictions and. lmgltauons imposed by this section.

(b) In addition tn.the purposes for which expenditures may
be made for .fiscal .year 1988 from the university of Kansas
hospital fund, expenditures may be made for fiscal year 1988
from such fund for the following capital improvement project,
subject to the expenditure limitation prescribed therefor:

Heating, ventilating and air conditioning repairs to Bell memorial :
hospital~FY 1988 . . . .. ...ttt i $540,000

(c) In addition to the purposes for whlch expenditures may
be made for fiscal year 1989 ‘from the-university of Kansas
hospital: fund, -expenditures may-be frade: for fiscal year 1989

from such fand for: the following-capital improvement project,

subject to the expenditure limitation prescribed therefor: -

Heating, ventilating and air. conditioning repairs to Bell memorial

hospital—FY 1989 . . ... . ....oii it i e e $400,000

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

APPROVED April 21, 1987.

Sec. 5. On the effective date of this act, section 5 of chapter
15 of the 1986 Session Laws of Kansas is hereby amended to read
as follows Sec. 5

WICHITA STATE UNIVERSITY

(a) The above agency is hereby authorized to initiate and
complete a capital improvement project for an addition to and
remodeling of Ablah library, subject to the restrictions and limi-
tations unposed by this section.

(b) . There is appropriated for the abovc agency from the
Kansas educational building fund for the capital improvement
project and for the fiscal years specified as follows:

Addition to and remodeling of Ablah library

For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1986 . .......... R $2,900,000
For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1987 .......... 4;600,000 3,000,000
For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1988 .......... 2:360;000 3,350,000
For the fiscal year endmg June 30,1989 . ........... 450,000 1,050,000

" (c) The appropnatlons made by this section shall not be

_subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 46-155 and amendments
_thereto. = ; : .

Sec. 6.
-WICHITA STATE UNIVERSITY
(a) The above agency is hereby authorized to mltlate and
complete a capital improvement project to plan, construct and
equip a science classroom building subject to the restrictions and

" limitations lmposed by this section.

(b) There is appropriated for the above agency from the
Kansas educational building fund for the capital improvement
project and for the fiscal years specified as follows:

Plan, construet and equip—science classroom building

For the fiscal year ending June 30,1988 . ............... L. 00(
For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1989 .................. 350,000

Sec. 7. On the effective date of this act sectlons 4 and 5 of
chapter 15 of the 1986 Session Laws of Kansas are hereby
repealed.

Sec. 8. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas reglster

1 hereby certify that the above BILL orlgmated in the HOUSE and
passed that body March 25, 1987.
JAMES D. BBADEN
Speaker of the House. .
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House.

Passed. the SENATE April 7, 1987.
ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY ‘
Secretary of the Senate..

MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
Office. of Secretary of State
I BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office, .

- IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name and affixed my official seal, this 21st day of April,
1987. ~ ~

i BILL GRAVES
(SEAL) - Secretary of State.

€ Kansas Secretary of State, 1987 )
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g HOUSE BILL No. 2360

‘AN Acf. roviding for the establishment of a Shawnee county fair aséociation;
providing for election of a board of directors and executive board; authorizing
a county tax levy to fund the operations of the fair association, '

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

- Section 1. A meeting shall be held at 7:00 p.m.. on December
8, 1987, at the Kaw Valley cooperative building at 5715 West 21st
‘Street in Topeka, Kansas, for the purpose of electing the initial
members of the board of directors of the Shawnee county fair
association established under the provisions of this act. The
qualified electors residing in each township in Shawnee county.
may participate in such meeting to elect from among the resi-
dents of that township one director of the fair association. The
qualified electors residing in the city of Topeka may participate
in such meeting to elect from among the residents of the city
three directors of the fair association. Upon assembling at such
meeting the qualified electors of each such township and the
qualified electors of the city shall separate into their individual
groups and make such election.

Of the members first elected to the board of directors by the

qualified electors of the city of Topeka at such election meeting,
one director shall serve for a term of one year, one director shall
serve for a term of two years and one director shall serve for a
term of three years. Of the members first elected to the board of
directors by the qualified electors of the various townships at
such election meeting, directors elected from Auburn, Dover,
Grove and Menoken townships shall serve for a term of one year,
directors elected from Monmouth, Mission, Rossville and Silver
‘Lake shall serve for a term of two years, and directors elected
from Soldier, Tecumseh, Topeka and Williamsport townships
shall serve for a term of three years. The diréctors so elected
shall constitute the Shawnee county fair association.

An annual election meeting shall be held on the first Tuesday
of December in 1988 and each year thereafter at which meeting
the -qualified electors of the city and the qualified electors of
each township shall elect from among the residents of such city
or township a successor to serve for a term of three years for each
director whose term expires on such date. The executive board,
as provided for in section 2, shall fix the time and place of such
annual election meeting and shall cause a notice of the election
meeting to be published once in a newspaper of general cir-
culation in the county at least 10 days prior to the date fixed for
such election meeting.

Elections of directors at such annual election meetings shall
be conducted in the same manner as the elections conducted at
the 1987 meeting were required to be conducted, except that the
city shall elect only one director to succeed the director whose
term has expired and only those townships having directors
whose terms have expired shall elect directors to succeed such
directors. '

Directors shall be eligible to serve for two consecutive terms.
Vacancies in the membership of the board of directors shall be
filled by appointment by the executive board of the fair associa-
tion for the unexpired term of office. '

The fair association established under the provisions of this act

shall be given recognition by the state board of agriculture -

without having lands or buildings of an appraised value of at
least $5,000 or without paid-up stock subscriptions in its treasury
in the amount of $5,000 appropriated to the purchase of lands or
buildings or both. -

Sec. 2. The board of directors of the Shawnee county fair
-association shall meet annually on the first Tuesday of De-
cember immediately following the election meeting provided for
in section 1 and shall elect from among its own members an
executive board consisting of a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, a
.. secretary and a treasurer. '

The executive board of the association shall be authorized to

transact all business of the fair association. The members-elect of
the executive board, prior to entering upon the duties of their
respective offices, shall take and sign the usual oath of public
officers, and the same shall be filed in the office of the county

clerk. »

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

The treasurer-elect of the executive board, before entering
upon the duties of the office as treasurer, shall execute to the fair
association a corporate surety bond of 100% of the amount as
nearly as can be ascertained that shall be in the treasurer’s hands
at any one time. Such bond shall be conditioned upon the
faithful discharge of the duties of the office of treasurer. The
amount and sufficiency of the bond shall be determined by the
board of county commissioners, and, upon the board’s approval
endorsed on the bond, shall be filed with the county clerk, who

" shall immediately notify the secretary of the executive board and

the county treasurer of the approval and filing.

Members of the executive board shall hold office for one year

and until their successors are elected and qualify. Vacancies in
the membership of the executive board shall be filled for the
unexpired term from the remaining members of the board of
directors by the executive board.”

Sec. 3. All moneys received by the treasurer for the fair
association shall be deposited by the treasurer in-a bank or trust
company designated by the executive board and authorized to
receive public deposits. The treasurer shall pay out, on the
warrant of the secretary, or by a combination warrant check,
signed by the chairperson, all moneys which shall come to the
treasurer’s hands for the use of the fair association, and the
treasurer shall not pay any sum from the funds of the association
in any other manner. The treasurer shall keep a record of all the
moneys received and disbursed, specifying the person or per-
sons from whom received and to whom paid, and the object for
which the same has been paid out. The treasurer shall present to
the board of directors. at each annual meeting of the board a
written report containing a statement of all moneys received,
disbursed and on deposit.

Sec. 4. The initial members of the board of directors. of the
fair association shall adopt bylaws and rules and regulations’
governing the fair association in its activities of conducting a fair.
Thereafter such bylaws may be amended or repealed by a
two-thirds majority vote of the members of the board of directors
of the association. The board of directors shall prepare and
approve an annual budget for the operations of the fair associa-

_ tion and certify the same to the county not later than August 1 of

any year.

Sec. 5. The board of county commissioners of Shawnee
county may levy an annual tax of not to exceed 2/10 of one mill
upon all the taxable tangible property within the county for the
purpose of funding the budget of the Shawnee county fair asso-
ciation to pay the costs of renting facilities within the county for
the conduct of fairs, purchasing supplies and equipment, and
paying premiums and other reasonable expenses of 4-H fairs and
grange fairs sponsored by the’ fair association, and to pay a
portion of the principal and interest on bonds issued under.the
authority of K.S.A. 12-1774, and amendments thereto, by cities

located in the county. No levy shall be made for such purposes

until a resolution authorizing the making of such levy has been
adopted by the board of county commissioners and published for
two consecutive issues in the official county paper. Whereupon,.
such levies may be made unless a petition in opposition thereto
signed by notless than 5% of the qualified electors of the county,
as determined by the vote for secretary of state at the last
preceding election, is filed with the county election officer
within 60 days following the last publication of the resolution of
the board. In the event such a petition is filed, it shall be the duty
of the board of county commissioners to submit the question to

the voters at an election called for such purpose or at the next

general election. If no protest petition is filed or if the question is
submitted on a question submitted ballot and those voting on the
question shall vote in favor of such tax lévy, the board of county
commissioners shall make such tax levies. Taxes levied under
the authority of this act shall be exempt from the limitations
imposed under the provisions of K.S.A. 79-5001 to 79-5016,
inclusive, and amendments thereto. The amounts collected by
the county for the purposes hereinbefore specified from tax
levies, except for an amount to pay a portion of the principal and
interest on bonds issued under the authority of K.S.A. 12-1774,
and amendments thereto, by cities located in the county, shall be
paid to the fair association, upon request of the treasurer.
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Sec. 6. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register.

‘Thereby cértify‘ that the above BI’LI; Originated in the HOUSE, and
passed that body March 9, 1987. :

HOUSE concurred in SENATE amendments April 7, 1987. .
o JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House.

. ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY
Secretary of the Senate.

Paségd tBe SENATE as amended April 6, 1987.

APPROVED April 17, 1987. .
; MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS

o Office of Secretary of State
1, BILL. GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the

eriginal enrolled bill now on file in my office.
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name and affixed my official seal, this 17th day of April,
1987. . ,

BILL GRAVES
_ (SEAL) Secretary.of State.
\

(Published in the KANSAS REGISTER, April 30, 1987)

HOUSE BILL No. 2550

Aﬁ ACT concerning the Kansas public employees retirement system; relatin; to
insured death and disability benefits; amending K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-4927
and repealing the existing section. '

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

" Section 1. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-4927 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 74-4927. (1) The board may establish a plan of
death and long-term disability benefits to be paid to the mem-
bers of the retirement system as provided by this section. The
long-term disability benefit shall not be payable until the
member has been prevented from carrying out each and every
duty pertaining to the member’s employment as a result of
sickness or injury for a period of 180 days and the annual benefit
shall not exceed an amount equal to 60% of the member’s annual
rate of compensation on the date such disability commenced and
shall be payable in equal monthly installments. In the event that
amember’s compensation is not fixed at an annual rate but on an
hourly, weekly, biweekly, monthly or any other basis than an-
nual, the board shall prescribe by rule or regulation a formula for
establishing a reasonable rate of annual compensation to be used

" in determining the amount of the death or long-term disability
benefit for such member. Such plan shall provide that:

'(A) For deaths occurring prior to January 1, 1987, the right
to receive such death benefit shall cease upon the member’s
attainment of age 70 or date of retirement whichever first occurs.
The right to receive such long-term disability benefit shall cease
(i) for a member who becomes eligible for such benefit before
attaining age 60, upon the date that such member attains age 65
or the date of such member’s retirement, whichever first occurs,
and (ii) for a member who becomes eligible for such benefitat or
after attaining age 60, the date that such member has received
such benefit for a period of five years, upon the date that such
member attains age 70, or upon the date of such member’s

_ retirément, whichever first occurs:, (iii) for all disabilities in-
curred on or after January 1, 1987, for a member who becomes

eligible for such benefit at or after attaining age 70, the date

that such meémber has received such benefit for a period of 12
months or upon the date of such member’s retirement, which-
ever first occurs, and (iv) for all disabilities incurred on or after
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January 1, 1987, for a member who becomes eligible for such
benefit at or after attaining age 75, the date that such member
has received such benefit for a period of six months or upon the
date of such member’s retirement, whichever {?rst,oc,curs.: e
(B) " Long-term disability benefit payments shall be in lieu of
any accidental total disability benefit that a member may be
eligible to receive under subsection (3) of K.S.A. 74-4916 and
amendments thereto. Such plan may provide that any amount

- which a member receives as a social security benefit or a dis-

ability benefit from any source by reason of any employment
including but not limited to workmen’s compensation benefits
may be deducted from the amount of insured disability benefit
payments under such plan, except that not more than 50% of
such workmen’s compensation benefits shall be deducted
therefrom. In no case shall a member who is entitled to receive
insured disability benefits receive less than $50 per month, As
used in this section, “workmen’s compensation benefits” shall
mean the total award of disability benefit payments under the
workmen’s compensation act notwithstanding any payment. of
attorney fees from such benefits as provided in the workmen’s
compensation act. . o
(C) The plan may include other provisions relating to quali-
fications for benefits; schedules and graduation of benefits; lim-
itations of eligibility for benefits by reason of termination of
employment or membership; conversion privileges; limitations -
of eligibility for benefits by reason of leaves of absence, military
service or other interruptions in service; limitations on the con-
dition of long-term disability benefit payment by reason of im-
proved ‘health; requirements for medical examinations. or.yre-
ports; or any other reasonable provisions as established by rule
or regulation of uniform application adopted by the board. .
(D) Onand after April 30, 1981, the board may provide under
the plan for the continuation of long-term disability benefit
payments to any former member who forfeits the entitlement to.
continued service credit under the retirement system or contin-
ued assistance in the purchase of retirement annuities under
K.S.A. 74-4925 and amendments thereto and to contiriued long-
term disability benefit payments and continued death benefit
coverage, by reason of the member’s withdrawal of contributions
from the retirement system or the repurchase of retirement .
annuities which were purchased with assistance received under
K.S.A. 74-4925 and amendments thereto. Such long-term dis-

‘ability benefit payments may be continued until such individual

dies, attains age 65 or is no longer disabled, whichever occurs
first. , R
(E) Any visually impaired person who is'in training at and
employed by a sheltered workshop for the blind operated by the:
secretary of social and rehabilitation services and who would,
otherwise be eligible for the insured disability benefit as de-
scribed in this section shall not be eligible to receive such;
benefit due to visual impairment as such impairment shall be
determined to be a preexisting condition. .
(2) (A) In the event that a member becomes eligible for-a
long-term disability benefit under the plan authorized by this
section such member shall be given participating service credit
for the entire period of such disability..Such member’s “final
average salary” shall be computed in accordance with subsection
(17) of K.S.A. 74-4902 and amendments thereto except that the
years of participating service used in such computation shall be.
the years of salaried participating service. N o
(B) In the event that a member eligible for a long-term.
disability benefit under the plan authorized by this section shall
be disabled for a period of five years or more immediately
preceding retirement, such member’s “final average salary”
shall be adjusted upon retirement by the actuarial salary as-
sumption rates in existence during such period of disability.
(C)} In the event that a member eligible for a long-term
disability benefit under the plan authorized by this section shall*
be disabled for a period of five years or more immediately
preceding death, such member’s current annual rate shall be
adjusted by the actuarial salary assumption rates in existence
during such period of disability. N o o
(3) (A) To carry out the legislative intent to provide, within
the funds made ‘available therefor, the broadest possible cover-

(continued)
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age for members who are in active employment or involuntarily
absent from such active employment, the plan of death and
long-term disability benefits shall be subject to adjustment from
time to time by the board within the limitations of this section.
The plan may include terms and provisions which are consistent
with the terms and provisions of group life and long-term dis-
ability policies usually issued to those employers who employ a
large number of employees. The board shall have the authority
to establish and adjust from time to time the procedures for
financing and administering the plan of death and long-term
disability benefits authorized by this section. Either the insured
death benefit or the insured disability benefit or both such
benefits may be financed directly by the system or by one or
more insurance companies authorized and licensed to transact
group life and group accident and health insurance in this state.

(B) The board may contract with one or more insurance
companies, which are authorized and licensed to transact group
life and group accident and health insurance in Kansas, to un-
derwrite or to administer or to both underwrite and administer
either the insured death benefit or the insured disability benefit
or both such benefits. Each such contract with an insurance
company under this subsection shall be entered into on the basis
of competitive bids solicited and administered by the board.
Such competitive bids shall be based on specifications prepared
by. the board. ‘

(i) In the event the board purchases one or more policies of
group insurance from such company or companies to provide
either the insured death benefit or the insured disability benefit
or both such benefits, the board shall have the authority to
subsequently cancel one or more of such policies and, notwith-
standing any other provision of law, to release each company
which issued any such canceled policy from any liability for
future benefits under any such policy and to have the reserves
established by such company under any such canceled policy
returned to the system for deposit in the group insurance reserve
of the fund. ‘ i

(ii) In addition, the board shall have the authority to cancel
any policy or policies of group life and long-term disability
insurance in existence on the effective date of this act and,
notwithstanding any other provision of law, to release each
company which issued any such canceled policy from any lia-
bility for future benefits under any such policy and to have the
reserves established by such company under any such canceled
policy returned to the system for deposit in the group insurance
reserve of the fund. Notwithstanding any other provision of law,
‘no premium tax shall be due or payable by any such company or
companies on any such policy or policies purchased by the board
nor shall any brokerage fees or commissions be paid thereon.

(4) (A) The cost of the plan of death and long-term disability
benefits shall be paid from a special reserve hereby created in
the fund, to be known as the group insurance reserve. Each
participating employer shall appropriate and pay to the system in
such manner as the board shall prescribe-in addition to the
employee and employer retirement contributions -an amount
equal to .6% of the amount of compensation on which the
members’ contributions to the Kansas public employees retire-
ment system are based for deposit in the group insurance reserve
of the Kansas public employees retirement fund.

(B) * The director of the budget and the governor shall include
in the budget and in the budget request for appropriations for
personal services a sum to pay the state’s contribution to the
group insurance reserve as provided by this section and shall
present the same to the legislature for allowances and appropri-
ation. ‘

(C) = The provisions of subsection (4) of K.S.A. 74-4920 and
amendments thereto shall apply for the purpose of providing the
funds to make the contributions to be deposited to the group
insurance reserve. v

(D) Any dividend or retrospective rate credit allowed by an
insurance company or companies shall be credited to the group
insurance reserve and the board may take such amounts into
consideration in determining the amounts of the benefits under
the plan authorized by this section.

(5) The death benefit provided under the plan of death and
long-term disability benefits authorized by this section shall be

< Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

known and referred to as “insured death benefit.” The long-term
disability benefit provided under the plan of death and long-
term disability benefits authorized by this section shall be
known and referred to as “insured disability benefit.”

(6) The board is hereby authorized to establish an “optional
death benefit plan.” Such optional death benefit plan shall be
made available to all employees of the state of Kansas who are
covered or may hereafter become covered by the plan of death
and long-term disability benefits authorized by this section. The
cost of the optional death benefit plan shall be paid by the
applicant either by means of a system of payroll deductions or
direct payment to the board. The board shall have the authority
and diseretion to establish such terms, conditions, specifications
and coverages as it may deem to be in the best interest of the
state of Kansas and its employees which should include term
death benefits for the person’s period of active state employment
regardless of age, but in no case, on and after January 1, 1986,
shall the maximum allowable coverage be less than $100,000.
The cost of the optional death benefit plan shall not be estab-
lished on such a basis as to unreasonably discriminate against
any particular age group. The board shall have full administra-
tive responsibility, discretion and authority to establish and
continue such optional death benefit plan and the director of

accounts and reports of the department of administration shall
when requested by the board and from funds appropriated or
available for such purpose establish a system to make periodic
deductions from state payrolls to cover the cost of the optional
death benefit plan coverage under the provisions of this subsec-
tion (6) and shall remit all deductions together with appropriate
accounting reports to the system. All funds received by the
board, whether in the form of direct payments, payroll deduc-
tions or otherwise, shall be accounted for separately from all
other funds of the retirement system and shall be paid into a
special reserve hereby created in the fund, to be known as the
optional ‘death benefit plan reserve, from which reserve the
board is authorized to make the appropriate payments and to pay
the ongoing costs of administration of such optional death ben-
efit plan as may be incurred in carrying out the provisions of this
subsection (6). ~
Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-4927 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register. ‘

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the HOUSE, and
passed that body March 9, 1987. i
. : . * JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chief Clerk of the House. .

Passed the SENATE April 9, 1987.
i ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY
Secretary of the Senate.

APPROVED April 21, 1987.
MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
Office of Secretary of State

I, BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office. )

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed

ymy name and affixed my official seal, this 21st day of April,

:1987. ‘ . o
BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) Secretary of State.
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HOUSE BILL No. 2129

AN ACT relating to insurance; concerning risk retention and purchasing groups;
formation; operation; requirements; amending K.S.A. 40-241i, 40-4101, 40-
4102, 40-4103, 40-4108, 40-4109, 40-4113 and 40-4114 and repealing the
existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 40-4104, 40-4105, 40-4106, 40-4107,
40-4110, 40-4111 and 40-4112.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 40-4101 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 40-4101. As used in this act: )

(a) “Commissioner’ means the state insurance commissioner
of this state or the commissioner, director or superintendent of
insurance in any other state.

(b) “Completed operations liability”” means liability arising
from out of the installation, maintenance or repair of any product
at a site which is not owned or controlled by any person who: (1)
Performs that work; or (2) hires an independent contractor to
perform that works;; but shall include liability for activities which
are completed or abandoned before the date. of the occurrence
giving rise to the liability.

(c) “Domicile”, for purposes of determining the state in
which a purchasing group is domiciled, means: (1) For a corpo-
ration, the state in which the purchasing group is incorporated;
and (2) for an unincorporated entity, the state of its principal
place of business.

(d) “Hazardous financial condition” means that, based on
its present or reasonably anticipated financial condition, a risk
retention group, although not yet financially impaired or insol-
vent, is unlikely to be able to: (1) Meet obligations to policy-
holders with respect to known claims and reasonably antici-
pated. claims; or(2) pay other obligations in the normal course
of business. B

{e} (e) “Insurance” means primary insurance, excess insur-
ance, reinsurance, surplus lines insurance, and any other ar-
rangement for shifting and distributing risk which is determined
to be insurance under the laws of this state. .

() “Liability” means legal liability for damages (including
costs of defense, legal costs and fees, and other claims expenses)
because y injuries to other persons, damage to their property,
or other damage or loss to such other persons resulting from or
arising out of: (1) Any business (whether profit or nonprofit),
trade, product, services (including professional services), prem-
ises or operations; or (2) any activity of any state or local
government, or any agency or political subdivision there(;f; and
(3) does not include personal risk liability and an employer’s
liability with respect to its employees other than legal liability
.under the federal employers’ liability act.

(g) “Personal risk liability” means liability for damages be-
cause of injury to any person, damage to property, or other loss
or damage resulting from any personal, familial, or household
responsibilities or activities, rather than from responsibilities or
activities referred to in subsection (f). ‘

(h) “Plan of operation or a feasibility study” means an
analysis which presents the expected activities and results of a
risk retention group including, at a minimum: (1) The coverages,
deductibles, coverage limits, rates and rating classification sys-
tems for each line of insurance the group intends to offer;

(2)" historical and expected loss experience of the proposed
members and national experience of similar exposures;

(3) pro forma financial statements and projections;

(4) appropriate opinions by a quadlified, independent casu-
alty actuary, including a determination of minimum premium
or participation levels required to commence operations and to
prevent a hazardous financial condition;

(5) identification of management, underwriting procedures,
managerial oversight methods, investment policies; and

(6) such other matters as may be prescribed by the commis-
sioner for liability insurance companies authorized by the in-
surance laws of the state. _

(@) (i) “Product liability” means the liability for damages
because of any personal injury end, death, emotional harm,
consequential economic damage, or property damages damage
(including damages resulting from the loss of use of property)
arising frem out of the ganufacture, design, importation, dis-

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

‘limited liability association taxeble as e eorperation ¢
' jnsuranee company formed pursuant to this aet formed ungl,er the

tribution, packaging, labeling, lease or sale of a product as

and construed by the laws of this state, but does not
include the liability of any person for those damages if the
product involved was in the possession of such a person when

the incident giving rise to the claim occurred.

(j) “Purchasing group” means any group which:

(1) Has as one of its purposes the purchase of liability
insurance on a group basis; ‘ ‘

(2) purchases such insurance only for its group members and
only to cover their similar or related liability exposure, as -
described in subparagraph (3); : o

(3) is composed of members whose businesses or activities
are similar-or related with respect to the liability to which
members are exposed by virtue of any related, similar, or com-
mon business, trade, product, services, premises, or operations;
and :

(4) . is domiciled in any state. .
{e}(k) ‘“Risk retention group” means any corporation or other
ion or &% an

laws of any state, Bermuda, or the Cayman Islands:
(1) “Whieh is organized for the primary purpese of assuming
{2) Whose primary activity consists of assuming and spread-
ing all, or any portion, of the preduet liability er eompleted
eperations liability sisk exposure of its group’s members; end
(3) which is compesed of members each of whose prineipal

 butien; peckaging; labeling; lease or sale of a produet or prod-
- uwelss

(2) which is organized for the primary purpose of conduct-
ing the activity described in subparagraph (1); ,

(3) which is chartered and licensed as a liability insurance
company and authorized to engage in the business of insurance
under the laws of any state; or before January 1, 1985 was

chartered or licensed and authorized to engage in the business

of insurance under the laws of Bermuda or the Cayman Islands

and, before such date, had certified to the insurance commis-
sioner of at least one state that it satisfied the capitalization

' requirements of such state, except that any such group shall be

considered to be a risk retention group only if it has been
engaged in business continuously since such date and ‘only for
the operations liability (as such terms were de ined in the
product liability risk retention act of 1981 before the date of the
enactment of the risk retention act of 1986); S
(4) which does not exclude any person from membership in
the group solely to provide for members of such a group a
competitive advantage over such a person; o
(5) which has as its members only persons who have an

‘ ownership interest in the group and which has as its owners

only persons who are members who are provided insurance by
the risk retention group; or has as its sole member and sole
owner an organization which is owned by persons who are
provided insurance by the risk retention group; S

(6) whose members are engaged in businesses or activities
similar or related with respect to the liability of which such
members are exposed by virtue of any related, similar, or com-
mon business trade, product, services, premises, or operations;

(7) whose activities do not include the provision of insurance
other than liability insurance for assuming and spreading all or
any portion of the liability of its group members; and reinsur-
ance with respect to the liability of any other risk retention
group (or any members of such other group) which is engaged in
businesses or activities so that such group or member meets the
requirement described in subparagraph (6) from membership in
the risk retention group which provides such reinsurance; and

(8) - the name of which includes the phrase “risk retention
group”. . ‘
anee related services or management services to; er for; a sisk
menegement eonsultants: »

s

(continued)
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4} (1) “State” means the state of Kanses; any state in of the
United States and the District of Columbia. ‘
Sec. 2. K.S.A.40-4102 is hereby amended to read as follows:
-40-4102. A risk retention group seeking to be chartered in this
state must be chartered and licensed as an a lability insurance
company authorized by the insurance laws of this state and,
except as provided elsewhere in this act, must comply with all of
‘the laws, rules and regulations and requirements and rales and
‘regulations applicable to such insurers chartered and licensed in
this state and with K.S.A. 40-4103, and amendments thereto, to
the extent such requirements are not a limitation on laws, rules
and regulations or requirements of this state. Before it may offer
insurance in any state, each risk retention group shall also
submit for approval to the insurance commissioner of this state
a plan of operation or a feasibility study and revisions of such
plan or study if the group intends to offer any additional lines of
liability insurance. Immediately upon receipt of an application
for charter, this state shall provide summary information con-
cerning the filing to the national association of insurance com-
missioners including the name of the risk retention group, the
identity of the initial members of the group, the identity of those
individuals who organized the group or who will provide ad-
ministrative services or otherwise :;:;ﬂuence or control the ac-
‘tivities of the group, the amount and nature of initial capitali-
zation, the coverage to be afforded and the states in which the
group-intends to operate. Providing notification to the national
association of insurance commissioners is in addition to and
shall not be sufficient to satisfy the requirements of KS.A.
40-4103, and amendments thereto, and all other sections of this
Sec. 3. K.S.A. 40-4103 is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-4103. {e) Risk retention groups chartered in states other than
this state; Bermuda or the Cayman Islands and seeking to do
business as a risk retention group in this state must shall observe
nd abide by the laws of this state as follows:
- 42} designate the is5i0 as its egent for service of
3) ne later than Mareh 1 of each year; file with the commis-
sioner of this state its annual statement as filed with the eom-
missioner in the ehartering state or the publie official having
{4 file a copy of the last examination; if any; mede of the sisk
state or the publie official having supervision of insuranee in the

chestering + S

anderﬂaehwsefBemudaerﬂieGmaaMbefem}m-
_43) file with the commissiener of this state a eopy of the
eertifieation filed with the commissioner of at least ene state thet
eemmsmenereftbatstateesmee&ngthe!equuementsofthﬁ

_{a) . Notice of operations and designation of commissioner as
agent. Before offering insurance in this state, a risk retention
group shall submit to the commissioner: -

(1) A statement identifying the state or states in which the
risk retention group is chartered and licensed as a liability
insurance company, date of chartering, its principal place of
business and such other information including information on
its membership, as the commissioner of this state may require to
verify that the risk retention group is qualified under subsection
(k) of K.5.A. 404101 and amendments thereto;

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

(2) a copy of its plan of operations or a feasibility study and
revisions of such plan or study submitted to its state of domicile;
but the provision relating to the submission of a plan of opera-
tion or a feasibility study shall not apply withrespect to any line
or classification of liability insurance which: - e

(A) - Was defined in the product liability risk retention act of
1981 before October 27, 1986; and ' S e

(B) was offered before such date by any risk retention grou
which had been chartered and operating for not less than three
years before such date; ' o ‘

(3) a statement of registration which designates the com-
missioner as its agent for the purpose of receiving service of
legal documents or process. - - o

(b) Financial condition. Any risk retention group doing bus-
iness in this state shall submit to the commissioner: Lo

(1) A copy of the group’s financial statement submitted, to its
‘state of domicile, which shall be certified by an independent
public accountant and contain a statement of opinion on loss
and loss adjustment expense reserves made by a member of the
American academy of actuaries or a qualified loss reserve spe-
cialist (under criteria established by the national association of
insurance commissioners); g

(2) acopy of each examination of the risk retention group as
certified by the commissioner or public official conducting the
examination; "

(3) upon request by the commissioner, a copy of any audit
performed with respect to the risk retention group; and

(4)  such information as may be required to verify its contin-
uing qualification as a risk retention group under subsection (k)
of K.S.A. 404101 and amendments thereto. -

(c) Taxation. (1) All premiums paid for coverages within this
state to risk retention groups chartered outside this state shall
be subject to taxation at the same rate and subject to the same
interest, fines and penalties for nonpayment as that provided by
K.S.A. 40-246c and amendments thereto. Risk retention groups
chartered or licensed in this state shall be taxed in accordance
with K.S.A. 40-252, and amendments thereto. , B

(2) To the extent agents or brokers are utilized, they shall
report and pay the taxes for the premiums for risks which they
have placed with or on behalf of a risk retention group not
chartered in this state. | , oy

(3)  To the extent agents or brokers are not utilized or fail to
pay the tax, each risk retention group shall pay the tax for risks
insured within the state. Further, each risk retention group
shall report all premiums paid to it for risks insured within the
state.

(d) Compliance with unfair claims settlement practices law.
Any risk retention group, its agents and representatives, shall
comply with subsection (9) of K.S.A. 40-2404 and amendments
thereto. : o S

(e) Deceptive, false or fraudulent practices. Any risk reten:
tion group shall comply with the laws of this state regarding
deceptive, false or fraudulent acts or practices. However, if the
commissioner seeks an injunction regarding such conduct; the
leunction shall be obtained from a court of competent juris-

iction. ~ o

(f) Examination regarding financial condition. Any risk re-
tention group shall submit to an examination in accordance
with K.S.A. 40-222 and 40-223, and amendments thereto, by the

 commissioner to determine its financial condition if the ¢om-

missioner of the jurisdiction in which the group is chartered has
not initiated an examination or does not initiate an examination
within 60 days after a request by the commissioner of this state.
(g) Notice to purchasers. Any policy issued by a risk reten-
tion group shall contain in 10 point type on the front page and
the declaration page, the following notice: »
~ "NOTICE N
This policy is issued by your risk retention group. Your risk
retention group may not be subject to all of the insurance
laws and regulations of your state. State insurance insol-
vency guaranty funds are not available for your risk reten-:
tion group. . i
(h) Prohibited acts regarding solicitation or sale. The fol-
lowing acts by a risk retention group are hereby prohibited:
(1) The solicitation or sale of inssfrance by a risk retention
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group to any person who is not eligible for membership in such
group; and .

(2) the solicitation or sale of insurance by, or operation of, a
risk retention group thatisina hazardous financial condition or
is financially-impaired. .

(i) Prohibition on ownersth by an insurance company. No
risk retention group shall be allowed to do business in this state
1f an insurance company is directly or indirectly a retention
group all of whose members are insurance companies.

(i) - Prohibited coverage. No risk retention group may offer
insurance policy coverage prohibited by the laws of this state or
declared unlawful by the supreme court of the state of Kansas.

(k) Delinquency proceedings. A risk retention group not
chartered in this state and doing business in this state must
comply with a lawful order issued in a voluntary dissolution

“proceeding or in a delinquency proceeding commenced by a
state insurance commissioner if there has been a Bfmdmg
financial impairment after an exammatton under subsection (
of this section.

. Sec. 4. K.S.A.40-4108 is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-4108. No risk retention group; with respeet to its
liability o insuranee shall be permitted to

join or contribute financially to any insurance insolvency guar- -

anty fund, or similar mechanism, in this state, nor shall any risk
retention group, or its insured, receive any benefit from any such
fund for claims ansmg out of the operations of such risk retention
group for preduet liability or eperations insuranee.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 40-4109 is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-4109. A policy of insurance issued to a risk retention group or
any member of that group shall not be required to be counter-
signed as otherwise provided in by K.S.A. 40-246 and amend-
ments thereto.

New Sec. 6. Any purchasmg group meeting the criteria es-
tablished under the provisions of the federal liability risk reten-
tion act of 1986 shall be exempt from any law of this state relating
to the creation of groups for the purchase of insurance, prohibi-
tion of group purchasing or any law that would discriminate
agamst a purchasing group or its.members. In addition, an
insurer shall be exempt from any law of this state which pl‘OhlbltS
providing, or offering/to provide, to a purchasing group or its
members advantages based on their loss and expense experience
not afforded to other persons with respect to rates, policy forms,
coverage or other matters. A purchasing group shall be subject to

.all other applicable laws of this state.

New Sec. 7. (a) A purchasing group which intends to do
business in this state shall furnish notice to the commissioner
which shall:

(1) Identify the state in which the group is domiciled;

(2) specify the lines and classifications of liability insurance
which the purchasing group intends to purchase;

(3) identify the insurance company from which the group
intends to purchase its insurance and the domicile of such
company;

(4) identify the principal place of business of the group, and

(5) provxde such other information as may be requlred by the

commissioner to verify that the purchasing group is qualified
under subsection (j} of K.S.A. 40-4101 and amendments thereto.
(b) The purchasing group shall file with the insurance de-
partment its written consent, irrevocable, that any action or
garmshment proceeding may be commenced agamst such group
in the proper court of any county in this state in which the cause
of action shall arise or in which the plaintiff may reside by the
service of process on the commissioner of insurance of this state
and stipulating and agreeing that such service shall be taken and
held in all courts to be as valid and binding as if due service had
been made upon the president or chief officer of such corpora-
tion. Such consent shall be executed by the president of the
company and shall be accompanied by .a certified copy of the
order or resolution of the board of directors, trustees or managers
authorizing the president to execute the same. The summons,
accompanied by a fee of $3 shall be directed to the commissioner
of insurance and shall require the defendant to answer not less
than 40.days from its date. Such summons, and a certified copy of
the petition shall be forthwith forwarded by the clerk of the court
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to the commissioner of insurance, who shall 1mmed|ately for-
ward a copy of the summons and the certified copy of the
petition, to the president of the group sued and thereupon the
commissioner of insurance shall make return of the summons to
the court from which it issued, showing the date of the receipt by
the commissioner, the date of forwarding of such copies and the
name and address of the person to whom the commissioner
forwarded the copy. Such return shall be made under the com-
missioner’s hand and seal of office, and shall have the same force
and effect as a due and sufficient return made by the sheriff on
process directed to the sheriff. The foregoing shall not apply in
the case of a purchasing group which:

(1) (A) Was domiciled before April 2, 1986; and .

(B) is domiciled on and after October 27 1986 in any state of

'the United States;

(2) (A) before October 27, 1986 purchased insurance from an
insurance carrier licensed in any state; and

(B) since October 27, 1986 purchased its msurance from-an -
insurance carrier hcensed in any state;

(3) was a purchasing group under the requn'ements of the
pr(‘)iduct liability retention act of 1981 before October 27 1986;
an

(4) does not purchase insurance that was not authorized for
purposes of an exemption under that act, as in effect before
October 27, 1986.

New Sec. 8. A purchasing group may not purchase insurance
from a risk retention group that is not chartered in a state or from
an insurer not admitted in the state in which the purchasing
group is located, unless the purchase is effected through a
licensed agent or broker acting pursuant to the surplus lines laws
and regulations of such state.

New Sec. 9. The commissioner is authonzed to make.use of
any of the powers established under the insurance code of this’
state to enforce the laws of this state so long as those powers are
not specifically preempted by the product liability risk retention
act of 1981, as amended by the risk retention amendments of
1986. Such authonzahon includes, but is not limited to, the
commissioner’s administrative authority to mvest:gate, issue
subpoenas, conduct depositions and hearings, issue orders and
impose penalties. With regard to any investigation, administra-
tive proceeding, or litigation, the commissioner can rely on the
procedural law and regulatlons of the state. The injunctive au-
thority of the commissioner in regard to risk retention groups is
restricted by the requirement that any injunction be issued by a
court of competent jurisdiction.

Sec. 10.. K.S.A. 40-4113 is hereby amended to read as fol- -
lows: 40-4113. {e} A risk retention group whieh is chartered and
licensed under K-S-A- 4041032 or 40-4103 and which violates any
provision of this act will be subject to fines and penalties appli-
cable to licensed insurers generally, including revocation of
license or the right to do business in this state, or both. -

(-b} A risk retention group doing business in this state; whieh
or licensed in aceordance with e*ther S
404102 er 40-4103— will be deemed an unauthorized insurer and
Mb&eﬁnesaadpendhesefehep@er%ef&hem
Statutes Annotated: ‘

New Sec. 11. Any person acting, or offering to act, as an
agent or broker for a risk retention group, which solicits mem-
bers, sells insurance coverage, purchases coverage for its mem-
bers located within the state or otherwise does business in this
state shall, before commencing any such activity, obtain a llcense
from the commissioner.

‘New Sec: 12. An order issued by any district court of the
United States enjoining a risk retention group from soliciting or
selling insurance, or operating, in any state (or in all states or in
any territory or possession of the United States) upon a finding
that such a group is in a hazardous financial condition, shall be
enforceable in the courts of the state.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 40-4114 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 40-4114. The commissioner mey establish is hereby au-
thorized to adopt such rules and regulations relating to risk .
retention groups as are may be necessary to carry out the provi-
sions of this act.

(contmued) .
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Sec. 14. K.S.A.40-241i is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-241i. (a) Any company authorized to transact business in this
. state may, upon determining that the agent is of good business
reputation and has had experience in insurance or will immedi-
ately receive a course of instruction in insurance and on the

- . policies and policy forms of such company, certify such agent as

the agent of the company under the license in effect for the
agent. The certification shall be made to the commissioner on a
form prescribed by the commissioner immediately upon ap-
pointment of the agent, shall be accompanied by-the certification
fees set forth in K.S.A. 40-252, and amendments thereto, and
shall remain in effect until May 1, unless the commissioner is
notified to the contrary or the hcense of the certified agent is
terminated, The certification fee shall not be returned. for any
reason.

(b) With respect to insurance on growing crops, evidence
satlsfactory to the commissioner that the agent is qualified to
transact insurance in accordance with standards or procedures
established by any branch of the federal government shall be
deemed to be the equivalent of certification by a company.

(c) Duly licensed insurance agents transacting business in
accordance with the provisions 3{ article 41 of chapter 40 of the
Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, shall be
deemed to be certified by a company for-the kinds of insurance
permitted under the license in effect for the agent.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 40-241i, 40-4101, 40-4102, 40-4103, 40-4104,
40-4105, 40-4106, 40-4107, 40-4108, 40-4109, 40-4110, 40-4111
40-4112, 40-4113 and 40-4114 are hereby repealed

Sec. 16. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its pubhcatlon in the Kansas reglster

I hereby certify that the above BILL orlgmated in the HOUSE and
passed that body F ebruary 19, 1987.

HOUSE concurred in SENATE ‘amendments Apnl 6, 1987.
: JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD
Chaef Clerk of the House
. Passed the SENATE as amended April 3; 1987. : :
: ROBERT V. TALKINCTON
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY
Secretary of the Senate.

APPROVED April 17, 1987. . ‘
- MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
- Office of Secretary of State : -

I BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office. -~ -

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed
my name and affixed my official seal, this 17th day of April,
1987.

BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) Secretary. of State.
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SENATE BILL No 3

AN ACT concerning the state bom'd agneulhne concemmg 'selechon of dele-
&bes for attenldgnce at annual meogtmg, promdmg for eleet;on of members of

board; ‘concerning eléction” f dle !
provndin ‘for membergship ' of mm:hanging the name (:Flthé board

Lk

S S e 9?25"5?“23%&2055 2,213 i35 L IR 10
" 2.219, 2-220, 74-502, T4-503, 74-520, 74521, 7 25!'3 id 74-504 and

repea.lmg the existing sections:: .~ ¢t

" Beit enacted by the’ Legislature of the S

Section 1. K.S.A. 74-502 is hereby amensled to. read fo
lows 74-502. (a) The farm, organizations. speclﬁed in. tlus sub-

o"{(ans

- section, yvhether now organized .or hereafte: to be ‘organized

under the laws of Kansas, shall be allowed to select delegates for
attendance at the annual meeting of the: state board . of agrioul-

. ture. The delegates sha.ll be seleoted in Ccordanc > with: the
following: : ‘

(1) One from. each county or dlstnct agncultural socxety
. composed of one or more ‘counties; .. ..
(2) one from each state fair or statew1de f;
(3) .one from each county.farmers’ institute; ;
(4) one from each county. farm bureau, assoelahon thh a

(5) one from each county farmex:s umon w1th a y iny mem-
bership of not less than 100; .
(6) one from each county grange w1th a votmg meml] e;sIup of

not less than. 100 - L
"(7) one from each of the n-me ezgh
 districts with member co-ops corpposed )
_of not less than 100;. .,
. (8) onemember of the Kansas vaestock as atlon fmm each
county in which the Kansas livestock assoclatlon ‘has a voting

membership of not less. than 005

(9) one from each county.n tional fax:mers orgamza on with

a voting membership of not less.than 100; [P
wheet

(10) -one from each county .Kansas. association of
growers orgamzatwn wzth a votmg membershtp of not .ss thqn
100; - : . .

4n (12) one from“each‘assoclqtlon pf e sta
for .promotion of a farm crop o Crps; and

(13) “one from each nonpro i :
membership of not less than 100, of s 370/ for the
promotion. or representation f a specific, mdu’s‘try n, agn{msi—
ness. For the purposes of ,ismbsectton, agribusiness
_ suppliers of goods. or services used in the farmmgwnemtmn as
defined in K.S.A. 1986 Supp, 2-3402, and ame thereto.
Each delegate authonzed aader this. subseetapn shall be directl
muolved in_the indystry of agribusiness. remesegtee@, .

‘(b) In'addition tothe de egatesiproyided for in sub: ecgqn}(a)
“of this section, orie .individual from each. of the oouuhes may
attend the annual meeting of the state board of agric
_delegate, if a petiti signed by not Jes§ than Q.1¢ ) qyalifie
_¢lectors of the’ county, who are agpcultpl;al Qrodu ts or;lang-
owners and who are not. votmg membexs of the Jarm’ bu;eau
assoc;atlon, farmers union, X

tion, Kansas assoc‘tatwn 0,
association or who arg voti Yo 7 S
zation, which has a voting mhershxp Qfless than 100, Agricul-
tural producers and landowiers § b\e thos pers ), ar
qualified to vote in the’ agi'lculu;ml ‘s tabilization and consgrva
tlon serv1ce ’s county electlons No person shan Sign more ‘than
one petition. A petition shall not,be filed with the county elec-
tion’ officér” prior September 1 if e vl? Gt

election officer shall submit to thé Secr tary o '
agriculturé on or before the ‘first Friday follo%mrgg the ‘secontd
“Tuesday of Décember of éach yeir, the thdivi “riatiied as a

ditigh' to ‘the
0 t_he secretai'y

delegate on the first petition which'is filed Tn"
‘forégoing, the county election'officer shaﬂ' certil
the sufficiency of éach ‘1gnature ¢
1ndw1dua1 as an, elecw of the county k:
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signatures on the petition has been determined to be in accord-
ance with the provisions of this subsection.

(c) Inorderto be eligible to send, or to participate by petition
in the sending of, a delegate to the annual meeting of the state
board of agriculture, each of the farm organizations shall have:
- (1) Duly elected officers; (2) held meetings; (3) carried on the
work as provided for in the constitution and bylaws adopted by
the organization; (4) filed a copy of the constitution and bylaws
with the secretary of the state board of agriculture; (5) annually
certified the above facts; (6) within three days after the election
furnished, in writing on blanks furnished by the secretary of the
state board of agriculture, a list of officers so elected to the
secretary of the state board of agriculture; and (7) on or before the
first Friday following the second Tuesday of December of each
year, furnished a list of its voting members to the secretary of the
state board of agriculture. ‘

(d) Each delegate entitled to attend the annual meeting of ‘

the state board of agriculture shall be duly elected, and autho-
rized in writing by the members of the organization the delegate
represents. The written authorization shall be certified to the
secretary of the state board of agriculture on or before the first
Friday following the second Tuesday of December of each year.
Each delegate representing a Kansas co-op council district shall
be selected at the fall district meeting of each co-op council
district. No such delegate selected shall be an employee of any
cooperative, but may be a member of a cooperative board of
directors. No delegate representing the Kansas livestock associ-
* ation shall be an employee of the Kansas livestock association.
Each delegate, except in the case of the delegates from county
and district agricultural societies, shall be a bona fide farmer or

" breeder of livestock. The state board of agriculture shall recog-

nize not more than one association representing a single kind or
a single breed of livestock. The county fair associations and
county agricultural societies shall be construed to mean one and
the same thing, and there shall be but one such fair association
recognized in any county, except in counties that now have more
thx;n one fair association affiliated with the state board of agri-
culture. :

(e) County or district agricultural societies shall hold well-
balanced agricultural fairs designed to promote education and to
encourage the improvement and development of agriculture in a
broad and comprehensive way, and when, in the judgment of the

state board of agriculture, any such society does not conform to

adequate standards in its fairs, the state board of agriculture may,
by formal resolution adopted at a regular meeting of the board,
declare forfeited the society’s representation with the state board
of agriculture, and the place thus vacated may be assigned by the
board of agriculture to another sociéty or association that com-
plies with the provisions of this act and holds fairs of acceptable
character, and, moreover, any county or district agricultural so-
ciety that has failed or fails to hold a fair for two consecutive
years shall lose its representation with the state board of agri-
culture, and its place may be taken by another society which
shall have fulfilled the requirement of this act. Each county or
district agricultural society herein mentioned which shall have
held a fair for the current year, offered and awarded premiums
for the improvement of stock, tillage, crops, implements, me-
chanical fabrics and articles of domestic industry, shall make out
a statement containing a synopsis of awards, moneys received,
assets and liabilities, and an abstract of the treasurer’s account,
duly ;ig,ned and certified by its officials. The statement shall be
forwarded by mail or otherwise to the secretary of the state board
of agriculture on or before the first Friday following the second
Tuesday of December of each year. ‘ ‘
Sec. 2. K.S.A. 74-503 is hereby amended to read as. follows:
74-503. It shall be the duty of the officers and the members of the
state board of agriculture, together with so many of the autho-
rized delegates as shall be in attendance, to meet at the capital of
the state on the second Wednesday of January of each year, and
proceed to elect two members of the board from each agricultural
district hereinafter established, who shall constitute the state
board of agriculture. Notwithstanding the provisions of K.S.A.
75-4318, and amendments thereto, board members may be
nominated in caucus by voice vote, show of hands or, if re-
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quested, by secret ballot. If a secret ballot is requested, voting
slips shall be provided to voting members of the caucus. Board
members presiding at caucus meetings shall appoint a secretary
for the purpose of keeping minutes of such meetings and for the
purpose of taking attendance of qualified delegates eligible to
participate in caucus elections. Board members may be elected
at the general assembly by voice vote, show of hands or, if
requested, by secret ballot. For the purpose of appointment and
tenure of office of the state board of agriculture, the state is
hereby divided into six agricultural districts, which shall be
constituted as follows: ' o
First district, the counties of Marshall, Nemaha; Brown, Don-
iphan, Pottawatomie, Jackson, Atchison, Shawnee, Jefferson,
Leavenworth, Wyandotte, Osage, Douglas, Franklin and John-
son. o
Second district, the counties of Miami, Coffey, Anderson,
Linn, Woodson, Allen, Bourbon, Wilson, Neosho, Crawford,
Montgomery, Labette and Cherokee. ’ N
Third district, the counties of Republic, Washington, Cloud,
Clay, Riley, Ottawa, Dickinson, Geary, Wabaunsee, Saline,
Morris, McPherson, Marion, Chase and Lyon. ~ - - '
Fourth district, the counties of Ellsworth, Rice, Reno, Harvey,
Butler, Greenwood, Kingman, Sedgwick, Harper, Sumner,.
Cowley, Elk and Chautauqua. S e
Fifth district, the counties of Greeley, Wichita, Scott; Lane,
Ness, Rush, Barton, Hamilton, Kearny, Finney, Hodgeman,
Pawnee, Stafford, Stanton, Grant, Haskell, Gray, Ford, Edwards,
Kiowa, Pratt, Morton, Stevens, Seward, Meade, Clark, Co-

"manche and Barber. ,

Sixth district, the counties of Cheyenne, Rawlins, Decatur,
Norton, Phillips, Smith, Jewell, Sherman, Thomas, Sheridan,
Graham, Rooks, Osbomne, Mitchell, Wallace, Logan, Gove,
Trego, Ellis, Russell and Lincoln. S B B

Members shall be elected for terms of three years, except that
of the successors to the members from the second district whose
terms expire in 1985, one member shall be elected for a term of
one year and one member for a term of three years at the meeting
in January, 1985; of the successors to the members from the third
district whose terms expire in 1986, one member shall be elected
for a term of one year and one member for a term of three years at
the meeting in January, 1986. Nothing herein shall affect the
terms of the members of the board in office.on the effective date
of this act and they respectively shall hold office for the terms for
which they were respectively elected, except that the successor
of one of the members from the second district whose term
expires in 1985 shall be elected from the fifth district at the
meeting in January, 1985, for a term of three years. At the-
expiration of the terms of these members, succeeding members
shall be elected from their designated districts for terms of three
years, or until their successors are elected and qualified. The
members shall elect from their number a president, vice-presi-
dent and treasurer for a term of one year. The secretary of the
board shall be elected by the members of the board for a term of
two years. Every newly elected secretary of the state board ,o[
agriculture elected on or after the effective date of this act shall
be elected subject to confirmation by the senate as provided in
K.S.A. 75-4315b and amendments thereto. The secretary of the
state board of agriculture shall prepare for the annual meeting a
program of speakers, or other features calculated to be of value in
promoting the state’s agricultural industry, the annual meeting to
continue in session until such time as the business requiring
attention shall have been completed. The annual meeting shall
not remain in session for more than three days. Each delegate to
the annual meeting of the state board of agriculture and each
officer and member of the state board of agriculture shall be
entitled to one vote in all business coming before the annual

. meeting. The actual traveling and hotel expenses of each officer

and member of the state board of agriculture, of each speaker to
appear before the meeting, and all other actual expenses contin-
gent to the holding of the annual meeting, shall be paid out of the
treasury of the state of Kansas, in a sum not to exceed $10,000

~ annually.

Sec. 3. KS.A. 74-520 is hereby amended to read as follows:
" (continued)
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74-520. Immediately upen the taking effeet of this aet; (a) The
state board of agriculture, with its seeretary; the secretary of the
state board of agriculture, one individual appointed for a term
of three years by the Kansas chamber of commerce and industry,

- one individual appointed for a term of three years by the travel
industry association of Kansas and one individual appointed for
a term of three years by the Kansas technology enterprise
corporation from among the board of directors of the Kansas
technology enterprise corporation shall constitute the beard of
state fair managers state fair board. _

- (b} “Any vacancy occurring in a position on the state fair

‘board shall be filled in the same manner in which the original

appointment was made. :

~"New Sec. 4. The name of the board of state fair managers is
hereby changed to the state fair board. All properties, moneys,
-appropriations, powers, duties and authority now vested in the
board of state fair managers shall be vested in the state fair board.
Whenever the board of state fair managers, or words of like
effect, is referred to or designated by any statute, contract or
other document, such reference or designation shall be deemed
10 apply to the state fair board.

“Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2-135 is hereby amended to read as follows:
2-135. The beard of state fair managers board in the name of the
state of Kansas, and each community fair association, and each
county fair association, organized and operating under the laws
of the state of Kansas shall have the right of eminent domain as
provided in'K.S.A. 26-501 to 26-516, inclusive, and amendments
thereto for the acquisition of lands or additional lands for fair-
grounds or fair purposes. ~
‘Sec. 6." K.5.A. 2-201 is hereby gmended to read as follows:
 2-201. A state fair shall be held annually in the city of Hutchin-
son, Kansas, at such time as shall be fixed by the beard ef state
fair managers board. It shall be unlawful for any person, corpo-
ration or association, or for any corporate entity other than the
board of state fair manegers of Kansas board, tohold or conduct a
state fair in Kansas or to hold or conduct any exhibition or display
of any livestock or agricultural products under a designation,
publicity or advertisement as a state fair.
A violation of this section shall constitute a misdemeanor.
Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2-202 is hereby amended to read as follows:

2-202. The tract-of land conveyed by the county of Reno to the
state of Kansas for fair purposes, and all other real estate acquired
by the state of Kansas, for fair purposes, shall be held by the state
of Kansas as a state fairgrounds, and for other authorized uses.
The beard of state fair menagers board may direct, regulate,

lease and control the use of said the fairgrounds, and the build-

ings located thereon, in the conducting and operating of a state
fair; and when. When use of seme the fairgrounds, and the
buildings located thereon, is not deemed necessary for use for
fair purposes, the board of state fair managers board may enter
into a contract, lease or agreement permitting the use of all or a
portion of such fairgrounds, or buildings located thereon, for
such-uses and on such terms and conditions as may be agreed
upon+PRrevided; Fhat. Such contract, lease or agreement shall be
in writing: Provided furthes;. In the event such contract, lease or
agreement shall invelve involves a use in which two or more
persons or firms are known to.be interested, then the contract,
lease or agreement shall be awarded by the director of pur-
chases; pursuant to the provisions of article 37 of chapter 75 of
the Kansas Statutes Annotated. And If at any time the state of
- Kansas shell fail fails to hold a state fair in any one year, then the
county of Reno or any association in that county organized for the
purpose of holding a fair; shall be permitted to use the tract
conveyed by the county of Reno to the state of Kansas and
buildings thereon; free of charge; for the purpose of holding a
state fair that year. :

“Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2-202a is hereby amended to read as follows:
2-202a. The beard of state fair menagers board shall on or before
the first dey of April 1 each year, file in the office of the county
assessor of Reno county, Kansas, a list of all persohs or firms
having property stored on the fairgrounds, or in the buildings
‘located thereon, as of the date applicable for the assessment of
property for purposes of taxation, last preceding: Previded; That,
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except that the state of Kansas or any of its agencies shall not be
included in said the list. o o

Sec. 9. K.S:A. 2-202b is hereby amended to read as follows:
2-202b. The beard of state fair snanagers board may raze any
frame building; located on the state fairgrounds, or portion of
same, when it is deemed by said the board unsafe, obsolete or of
not sufficient use to justify maintenance. Said The board may
repair, maintain or remodel any frame building; or buildings,
located on the state fairgrounds as it shall deem deems necessary.

" Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2-205 is hereby amended to read as follows:
2-205. (a) (1) All moneys received by the beard of state fair
managers board through the operation of the state fair and from
any and all other sources directly related to the operation of the
state fair shall be remitted to the state treasurer at least monthly.
Upon receipt of each such remittance the state treasurer shall
deposit the entire amount thereof in the state treasury and the
same shall be credited by the state treasurer to the state fair fee
fund, which is hereby created. As soon after the effective date of
this act as possible, the director of accounts and reports shall
transfer all moneys in the state fair revolving fee fund to the state
fair fee fund created under this section. On the effective date of
such transfer, all liabilities of the state fair revolving fee fund are
hereby transferred to and imposed upon the state fair fee fund.
On the effective date of such transfer, the state fair revolving fee
fund is hereby abolished. : ' '

(2) During the period beginning July 1; and extending to
December 31; of each year, moneys in the state fair fee fund, and
appropriations for the operation of the state fair from the state
general fund made for the state fair, or the beard of state fair
managess board, may be transferred from the state treasury to a
bank in Reno county, Kansas, to the account of the beard of state
fair managers board, upon vouchers of the beard of state fair
managers board, for its use in operating and conducting a state
fair, including but not by way of limitation, the payment of labor,
salaries -of part-time employees, prizes and awards. The state
treasurer and the director of accounts and reports are authorized
and directed to honor all such vouchers and orders of the board
of state fair managers board, and to make such transfers as
directed. During the period beginning July 1; and extending to
December 31; of each year, the beard of state fair managers
board, is authorized to expend moneys on deposit to its credit in
any Reno county, Kansas, bank, by approved vouchers directed
to the treasurer of the beard of state fair managers board, and by
the issuance of checks by the treasurer of the board to the
persons entitled thereto as shown upon such vouchers, and all
such expenditures may be-made without conipliance with any of
the provisions of any act contained in article 37 of chapter 75 of
the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or acts amendatory of the provi-
sions thereof or supplemental thereto. - ‘ '

(3) During the period beginning July 1; and extending to
December 31; of each year, the boa¥d of state fair managers
board; may employ labor and personnel in conjunction with the
current operation of the state fair, without compliance with the
provisions of any act contained in article 29 of chapter 75 of the
Kansas Statutes Annotated, or acts amendatory of the provisions
thereof or supplemental thereto. This authority to employ shall
not be construed as authorizing the board to employ its normal
classified service employees on a different basis for all or any
part of that six-month period. ‘ ' '

{4) All unencumbered moneys on deposit to the credit of the
beard of state fair managers board in a Reno county, Kansas, -
bank; on December 31; of each year, shall be transferred back to
the state treasury to the credit of the state fair fee fund or
appropriation from the state general fund according as each may -
be entitled. All moneys in the state fair fee fund may be used for
the payment of checks drawn against the same upon vouchers
drawn by the beard of state fair managers board. It shall be the
duty of the beard of state fair managers board to submit on or
before December 31; of each year a full and complete object
classification report on all moneys collected by and expended by
the beard of state fair menagers board to the director of accounts

(b) (1) All moneys received by the beard of state fair manag-
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‘ers board through the operation and promotion of events held on
the state fairgrounds on those days which have not been desig-
nated as official state fair days, herein referred to as non-fair days
events, shall be deposited in a separate account established in a
" bank in Reno county, Kansas, for each nen-fair days event by the

board of state fair manegers board. All expenses incurred in the

.operation and. promotion of each non-fair days event shall be
paid-from the separate bank account established for such non-fair
days event by issuance of checks by the treasurer of the board of
state fair managers board or a person designated by such trea-
surer and the balance of the money in such account after pay-
ment of all such expenses shall be remitted to the state treasurer
by the beard of state fair managers board. Upon receipt of each
- such remittance the state -treasurer shall deposit the entire
amount thereof in the state treasury and the same shall be
credited by the state treasurer to the non-fair days activities fee
fund. Moneys in the non-fair days activities fee fund may be
" transferred from the state treasury to a bank in Reno county,
Kansas, to a separate account established for each non-fair days
event, by the board of state falrma-nagers bodrd, upon vouchers
of the board of state fair managers board, for its use in the
operation and promotion of events held on the state fairgrounds
on those days which have not been designated as official state
fair days. The state treasurer and the director of accounts and
reports are authorized and directed to honor all such vouchers
and orders of the beard of state fair managers board, and to make
such transfers as directed. The beard of state fair managess board
is authorized to expend moneys on deposit to its credit in any of
the non-fair days event accounts in any Reno county, Kansas,

bank, by approved vouchers directed to the treasurer of the
board of state fair smanagers board, and by the issuance of checks
by the treasurer of the board to the persons entitled thereto as
shown upon such vouchers, and all such expenditures may be
made without compliance w1th any of the provisions of any act
contained in article 37 of chapter 75 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated, or acts amendatory of the provisions thereof or sup-
plemental thereto.

(2) - On or before April 1 of each year, the bea-rd of state fair
managers board shall make a full and complete report of all
moneys expended from all such non-fair days event accounts in
the previous year to the director of accounts and reports.

(c¢) Each bank account required for use in operating and
conducting a state farr under subsection (a) or a non-fair days
event under subsectron (b) shall be awarded to a bank in Reno
county, Kansas, by the pooled money investment board under a
written agreement in accordance with procedures for state bank
accounts under K.S.A. 75-4217 and amendments thereto and
shall be secured by pledge of securities in the manner pre-
scribed for state bank accounts under K.S.A, 75-4218 and
amendments thereto and in the amount prescnbed for fee
agency | accounts under that statute.

_Sec. 11. K.S.A. 2-205a is hereby amended to read as follows:

2-205a. When sufficient funds are not available and it is neces-
sary to contract for supplies and services in advance of the fair,
the board of state fair menagers board is authorized to enter into
contract which shall contain a provision that such contract shall
become effective and binding upon the beard of state fair man-
egefsboard only in the event that funds are available to carry out
the provisions thereof. All of such contracts shall be filed with
the department of administration and, made a matter of record;
and paid upon proper vouchers drawn by the beard ef state faur
m&a&gefs board on the state treasurer.

Sec. 12. K.S.A.2-205b is hereby amended to read as follows
2-205b The board of state fair managess board is authorized to
select and contract for afternoon and evening grandstand attrac-
tions, and grounds attractions and shows: Previded; Thet. Copies
of all such contracts shall be sent by the beard of state fair
menagers board to the department of administration for process

purposes. The beazd of state fair managers board is authorized to -

select and purchase livestock feed, livestock bedding; and ad-
vertising media, including but not by way of limitation the
following: Newspaper advertising, magazine advertising, out-
door billboards, radio, television, bumper signs, window .cards,
pencils; and calendars all without approval from the department
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of administration, but with purchase requisitions; or purchase
order vouchers to be submitted to the director of purchases; for
processing purposes.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2213 is hereby amended to read as follows
2-213. The state boerd of fair managers are fair board is hereby
authorized and empowered to enter into a contract with individ-
uals or corporations for the construction of an automobile display
building, and the maintenance thereof, .upon the- state fair-
grounds and for which purpose the nght to ‘construct: such
building upon state’s property is hereby expressly granted and
conferred, which seid building shall be the property of the state
for the use and benefit of the state fair. The said board is further
authorized and empowered to enter into a written lease for such
building for a period of not more than eight years during which
such period the rentals therefrom shall be used and applied to
the payment of the cost of the construction and to the mainte-
nance of such building and such rentals during seid such period
shall be deemed ample and sufficient to pay the entire cost of the
construction and the maintenance of such building. In no event -
shall the state of Kansas ever be liable for the cost of such
building, nor shall the state be liable for the mamtenance of such
building during said eight-year lease period: s however;
That. In the construction of seid the building brick from the
penitentiary may be used and labor from the mdustnal reforma-
tory shall be provided. k

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 2-214 is hereby ‘amended to read as follows
2-214; The boatd of state fair meanagess board and any parties in
interest are hereby authorized and empowered to enter into a-
contract, lease or agreement permitting the use of a portion of the
Kansas state fair grounds at Hutchinson, Kansas, for the erection
thereon by the city of Hutchinson, of a fire station; or for the
erection thereon by any agricultural or livestock organization of a
statewide or nationwide character, of office buildings; and the
erection of any such fire station or office buildings shall be under
such terms and conditions as are lawful and proper: Provided;
hewever;. Upon the abandonment of any such fire station or.
office buildings for the purposes which such fire station or office
buildings were originally constructed, all right, title and interest

_in and to such fire station or office buildings shall 1mmed1ately

vest in the state of Kansas. -

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2-215 is hereby amended to read as follows:
2-215. The beard of state fair managers board is hereby autho-
rized and empowered to grant easements for sewers and public
utilities and for street purposes to the city of Hutchinson, Kansas,
its successors and assigns, permitting the use of a portion of the
Kansas state fairgrounds along and within thirty (30} 30 feet of
the south side of the street adjoining and contiguous to the north
side of the southwest quarter of section six 8), township

{23) 23, range five {5} west, in Reno county, Kansas, -
less the east &wenty {20) 20 acres of said such quarter section.
Said Such easements shall be granted under such terms and
conditions as ate lawful and proper. ' '

. Sec. 16. . K.S.A. 2-216 is hereby amended to read as follows
2-216 The board of state fair managers board shell annually;
shall establish and collect admission charges for access and
admissions entrances for persons attending the annual state fair
at Hutchinson. No person except authorized employees of the
state fair board, children under the age of six (6) years and such
exhibitors or participants in activities as the board shall specifi-
cally provide for, shall be authorized to enter the state fair:
grounds and bulldmgs unless he or she shall exhibit such person
exhibits evidence that he er she such person has paid the
admission charge :

The state fair board is further authonzed to provide for the
refunding of the admission charges to certain entrants, exhibi-
tors, performers; or participants in the activities at the falr if such
party has evidence that ke or she such party should be exempted
from the payment of the charges.

All fees received by the beeard of state fair managers. board in
accordance with the provisions of this act shall be placed in the
revolving fee fund the same as other moneys are placed therein
under K.S.A, 2-205 and amendments thereto.

Sec.-17.. K.S.A, 2-217 is hereby amended to read as follows

(continued)
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2-217. The beard of state fair menagers board is hereby autho-

rized and empowered to enter into an agreement with the Kansas
- wheat centennial committee permitting the ‘use of the state

fairgrounds as a site for the construction of a permanent building
" to cornmemorate the wheat industry. IR : '

Sec. 18. K.S.A. 2-219 is hereby amended to read as follows:

* 2-219. When the use of the fairgrounds is not deemed necessary
! for use for fair purposes, the beoard of fair menagess state fair
board may enter into a contract, lease or agreement with the city
“of Hutchinson, Kansas, permitting the use of all or a portion of
such fairgrounds; or buildings located thereon; for such uses and
‘on such terms and conditions as may be agreed upon: Provided;
That. Such contract, lease or agreement shall be in writing.
 Sec. 19. K.S.A. 2-220 is hereby amended to read as follows:
2-220. (a) The state fair special cash fund is hereby created in the
. state treasury. The beard of state fair managess board may apply
. annually tothe director of accounts and reports to establish a
change fund for use during the period of the state fair which shall
~ be maintained in the form of cash from the moneys of the state
fair special cash fund which shall be transferred from the state
"treasury to a separate account of the beard of state fair managers
board in a bank in Reno county, Kansas, in accordance with
‘subsection (c). The director of accounts and reports shall autho-
rize the establishment of such change fund and shall establish a
.maximum amount for such change fund of not to exceed ene
| ) dolars ($100,000) $100,000 in accordance
with the need therefor. o
(b) After establishing the maximum amount for a change fund
. under subsection (a) and not less than ten {10} 10 days prior to
“the date fixed for the commencement of the state fair, the
director of accounts and reports shall transfer an amount of
‘money equal to such maximum amount from the state general
fund to the state fair special cash fund. No such transfer from the
state general fund shall exceed one hundred thousand dellars
£$160,000) $100,000. o S
" (¢) For the purposes of a change fund authorized under this
section, the moneys in the state fair special cash fund may be
“transferred by warrant, upon vouchers of the beard of state fair
manegers board, from the state treasury to a separate account of
such board in a bank in Reno county, Kansas. This bank account
shall be awarded to a bank in Reno county, Kansas, by the pooled
money investment board under a written agreement in accord-
ance with procedures for state bank accounts under K.S.A. 75-
4217 and amendments thereto and shall be secured by pledge of
securities in the manner prescribed for state bank accounts
under K.S.A. 754218 and amendments. thereto and in the
amount prescribed for fee agency accounts under that statute.
The state treasurer and the director of accounts and reports shall
honor al! such vouchers and make such transfers as directed in
accordance with this subsection, except that no such transfer
shall be made more than ter 40) 10 days prior to the date fixed
for the commencement of the state fair. o s
. (d) The change fund authorized under this section may be
established by the beard of state fair managess bodrd not more
than five days preceding the date fixed for the commencement of
the state fair. Such change fund shall be maintained in the daily
amounts necessary for the operation of the state fair as directed
by the beard of state fair managess board except that no such
amount shall exceed the maximum amount established by the
director of accounts and reports under subsection (a). Prior to the
sixth day after the conclusion of the state fair each year, such
change fund shall be finally reconciled and all the moneys in
such change fund shall be deposited in the bank account of the
board of state fair managers board from which the change fund
was established. Upon such deposit, all such moneys shall be
remitted to the state treasurer. Upon receipt of such remittance,
. the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount thereof in the
state treasury and the same shall be credited to the state fair
special cash fund. Each year upon the crediting of such moneys
to the state fair special cash fund and after the conclusion‘of the
state fair, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer all
;in'loxclleys in the state fair special cash fund to the state general
nd. :
(e) The moneys in the change fund authorized ‘under this
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" thereto.

‘benefit of the public.

section shall be used exclusively for the making of change in
operating and conducting the state fair during the period of the
state fair. No advance or expenditure shall be made from such
change fund. C : S T
(f) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the change
fund authorized by this section shall be administered in the same
manner as change funds authorized in accordance with K.S.A.
75-3078 and amendments thereto and shall be subject to such
procedures and reporting requirements as may be prescribed by

. the director of accounts and reports under that statute. The

director of accounts and reports may .authorize a reconciling
entry in any reconciliation statement for the change fund-autho-
rized by this section in an amount of not to exceed the maximum
authorized by K.S.A. 75-3078 and amendments thereto for
change funds authorized in accordance with that statute.

(g) - All officers and employees of the beard of state fair mean-
egers board having custody of moneys of the change fund au-
thorized by this section shall be covered by a blanket surety
contract purchased by the committee on surety bonds and insur-
ance in such amount or amounts and upon such terms and
conditions as the committee on surety bonds and insurance

. deems necessary and proper in accordance with the provisions of

K.S.A. 75-4103, 75-4104 and K-S-A- 1879 Supp: 75-4105, and
amendmients thereto. : IR
Sec. 20. K.S.A.74-521 is hereby amended to réad as follows:
74-521. Said The state fair board of stete fair managers shall
immediately organize by the election, from their own number, of
a president and a vice-president, each of whom shall hold office
for a term of one {13 year, and until their successors are elected
and qualified, Said The board of state fair menagers board shall
select and purchase a seal to authenticate all their acts and
proceedings. Said The board shall have power to meet for the
transaction of business under the call of the president whenever
it may be necessary; to fully control and regulate the time and
manner of holding a state fair; to appoint all necessary subordi-
nate officers and employees; to fix and establish premiums and
awards for exhibitors and contestants, and pay the. same;. to
budget and expend funds for necessary printing; and advertising
for a state fair; and to do and perform all other matters pertinent

in connection with the holding of a state fair. Said The board may

- appoint a secretary-treasurer. The secretary-tredsurer shall be in

the unclassified service of the Kansas civil service act; and shall
receive an annual salary fixed by said the board and approved by °

* the state finance council. $aid The board members shall serve on

committees which may be established by the board, or its presi-
dent, and to which seid the board members are assigned; by the

board or its president. Members of the board of state fair manag-

subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by such board, shall
be paid compensation, subsistence allowances, ‘mileage “and
other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223 and amendments

Sec. 21. K.S.A.74-522 is her‘eby‘am_endedhto read as 'fdllQWs:
74-522. The members of seid beard of the state fair managers

- board shall be paid all #eveling travel and hotel expenses

actually and necessarily incurred by them in the performance of
their respective duties. , S

Sec. 22. K.S.A.74-523 is hereby amended to read as follows:
74-523. The said board of state fair managers board shall have
power to make all needful adopt rules and regulations regarding
the holding of said the state fair and the control and government
thereof, which rules and regulations shall be published for the

Sec. 23. K.S.A.74-524 is hereby amended to read as follows:
74-524. A majority of said beard of the state fair-saanagers board
shall constitute a quorum to transact business; - ... ¢ :

Sec. 24. K.S.A. 2-135,-2-201, 2-202, 2-202a, 2-202b, 2:205,
2-205a; 2-205b, 2-213, 2-214,:2-215; 2-216, 2-217; 2-219; 2-220,
74-502, 74-503, 74-520, 74-521, 74-522, 74-523 and 74-524 are -
hereby repealed. S o S

Sec. 25. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register. ~~ =~
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SENATE adopted Conference Committee report April 8, 1987. -
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STATE OF KANSAS
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I, BILL, GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office. ‘ .

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed

my name and affixed my official seal, this 215t day of April,

1987. ) ‘ : ’
BILL GRAVES
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HOUSE BILL No. 2342

AN ACT conceming the em ecuri g i i ificati
et ameading KX 41706 i ropestiag the exsmion sastonn for
Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas: '
Section 1. K.S.A. 44-706 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 44-706. An individual shall be disqualified for benefits:
(a) If the individual left work voluntarily without good cause
attributable to the work or the employer, subject to the other
provisions of this subsection (a). The disqualification shall begin
the day following the separation and shall continue until X
the individual has become reemployed and has had earnings
from insured work of at least three times the individual’s weekly
benefit amount. An individual shall not be disqualified under
this subsection (a) if: ‘ .
(1) The individual was forced to leave work because of ill-
ness or injury upon the advice of a licensed and practicing
physician and, upon learning of the necessity for absence, im-
mediately notified the employer thereof, or the employer con-
sented to the absence, and after recovery from the illness or
injury, when recovery was certified by a practicing physician,
the individual returned to the employer-and offered to perform
services and the individual’s regular work or comparable and
suitable work was not available; as used in this paragraph (1)
“physician” means any person licensed by the proper licensing
authority of any state to engage in the practice of medicine and
surgery, osteopathy, chiropractic, dentistry, optometry, podiatry
or psychology; : R ' -

(2) the individual left temporary work to return to the regular

employer;

(3) the individual left work to enlistin the armed forces of the
United States, but was rejected or delayed from entry;

(4) the individual left work because of the transfer of the
individual’s spouse from one place -of work to another place of
work at a geographic location which makes it unreasonable for
the individual to continue work at the individual’s place of work;

(5) the individual left work because of hazardous working
conditions; in determining whether or not working conditions
are hazardous for an individual, the degree of risk involved to the
individual’s health, safety and morals, the individual’s physical
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fitness and prior training and the working conditions of workers
engaged in the same or similar work for the same and other

.employers, in the locality shall be considered; as used in this

paragraph (5), “hazardous. working conditions” means working
conditions that could result in a danger to the physical or mental
well-being of the individual;. each determination as to whether
hazardous working conditions exist shall include, but shall not
be limited to, a. consideration of (A) the safety measures used or
the lack thereof, and (B) the condition of equipment or lack of

. proper equipment; no work shall be considered hazardous if the
. working conditions surrounding the individual’s work are the
‘same or substantially the same as the working conditions gener-
ally prevailing among individuals performing the same or similar

work for other employers engaged in the same or similar type of
activity; S ,

" (6) the individual left work to enter training approved under
section 236(a)(1) of the trade act of 1974, provided the work left is
not of a substantially equal or higher skill level than the. indi-
vidual’s past adversely affected employment (as defined for
purposes of the trade act of 1974), and wages for such work are
not less than 80% of the individual’s average weekly wage as

.determined for the purposes of the trade act of 1974; .
“(7)  the individual left work because of unwelcome harass-

ment of the individual by the employer or another employee of

“which the employing unit had knowledge;

(8) the individual left work to accept better work; each de-

 termination as to whether or not the work accepted is better work

shall include, but shall not be limited to, consideration of (A) the
rate of pay, the hours of work and the probable permanency of
the ‘work left as compared to the work accepted, (B) the cost to

. the individual of getting to the work left in comparison to the cost
_ of getting to the work accepted, and (C) the distance from the
" individual’s place of residence to the work accepted in compari-

son to the distance from the individual’s residence to the work
left; o ' . C o
" (9) the individual left work as a result of being instructed or
requested by the employer, a supervisor or a fellow employee to
perform a service or commit an act in the scope of official job
duties which is in violation of an ordinance or statute; -

(10) * the individual left work because of a violation of the
work agreement by the employing unit and, before the individ-
ual left, the individual had exhausted all remedies provided in
such agreement for the settlement of disputes before terminat-
ing; -or ; . ) o

(gll) after making reasonable efforts to preserve the work, the
individual left work due to a personal emergency of such nature
and compelling urgency that it would be contrary to good con-

‘science to impose a disqualification.

(b) If the individual has been discharged for misconduct

‘connected with the individual’s work. The disqualification shall
‘begin the day following the separation and shall continue until
“after the individual becomes reemployed and has had eamings

from insured work of at least three times the individual’s deter- -
mined weekly benefit amount, except that if an individual is
discharged for gross miscéonduct connected with the individual’s
work, such individual shall be disqualified for benefits until"
such individual again becomes employed and has had earnings -
from insured work of at least eight times such individual’s
determined weekly benefit amount. In addition, all wage credits
attributable to the employment from which the individual was
discharged for gross misconduct connected with the individual’s
work shall be canceled. No such cancellation of wage credits
shall affect prior payments made as a result of a prior separation.
(1) For the purposes of this subsection (b), “misconduct” is
defined as a violation of a duty or obligation reasonably owed the
employer as a condition of employment. In order to sustain a
finding that such a duty or obligation has been violated, the facts
must show: (A) Willful and intentional action which is sub-
stantially adverse to the employer’s interests, or (B) carelessness
or negligence of such degree or recurrence as to show wrongful
intent or evil design. The term “gross misconduct” as used in
this subsection (b) shall be construed to mean conduct evincing
extreme, willful or wanton misconduct as defined by this sub- -
section (b). ) :
: : : S o : (continued)
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- (2) An individual shall not be disqualified under this sub-
“section (b) if the individual is discharged under the following
. circumstances: , , ' R o
“.(A) The employer discharged the individual after learning
the individual was seeking other work or when the individual
~gave notice of future intent to quit;
. (B) the individual was making a good-faith- effort to do the
“assigned work but was discharged due to: (i) Inefficiency, (ii)
" unsatisfactory performance due to inability, incapacity or lack of
~training or experience, (iii) isolated instances of ordinary negli-
gence ‘or inadvertence, (iv) good-faith errors in judgment or
discretion, or (v) unsatisfactory work or conduct due to circum-
~stances beyond the individual’s control; or
. (C) the individual’s refusal to perform work in excess of the
“contract of hire. ~ = L S ‘
¢ (¢)- Ifthe individual has failed, without good cause, to either
.apply for suitable work when so directed by the employment
-office of the secretary of human ‘rescurces, or to accept suitable
» work 'when offered to the individual by the employment office,
-the secretary of human resources, or an employer, such disqual-
.ification shall begin with the: week in which such failure oc-
curred and shall continue until the individual becomes reem-
ployed and has had earnings from  insured work of at least three
times such individual’s determined weekly benefit amount. In
determining whether or not any work is suitable for an individ-
ual, the secretary of human resources, or a person or persons
designated by the secretary, shall consider the degree of risk
involved to health, safety and morals, physical fitness and prior
training, experience and prior earnings, length of unemployment
and prospects for securing local work in the individual’s cus-
tomary occupation or work for which the individual is reasonably
fitted by training or experience, and the distance of the available
work from the individual’s residence. Notwithstanding any other
provisions of this act, an otherwise eligible individual shall not
be disqualified for refusing an’ offer of suitable employment, or
failing to apply for suitable employment when notified by an
employment office; or for leaving the individual’s most recent

work accepted during approved training, including training ap- .

proved under section 236(a)(1) of the trade act of 1974, if the
acceptance of or applying for suitable employment or continuing
such work would require the individual to terminate, approved
training and no work shall be deemed suitable and benefits shall
not be denied under this act to any otherwise eligible individual
for refusing to:accept new work under any of the following
conditions: (1) If the position offered is vacant due directly to a
strike, lockout or other labor dispute; (2) if the remuneration,
hours or other conditions of the work .offered are substantially
less favorable to the individual than those prevailing for similar

work in the locality; (3) if as a condition of being employed, the '

individual would be required to join or to resign from or refrain
from joining any labor organization. ~ g

" (d) For any week with respect to which the secretary of
human resources, or a person or persons designated by the
secretary, finds that the individual’s unemployment is due to a
stoppage of work which exists because of a labor dispute or there
would have been a work stoppage had normal operations not

‘been maintained with other personnel previously and currently -
employed by the same employer at the factory, establishment or

other premises at which the individual is or was last employed,
except that this subsection (d) shall not apply if it is shown to the
satisfaction of the secretary of human resources, or a person or
persons designated by the secretary, that: (1) The individual is
not participating in or financing or directly interested in the

labor dispute which caused the stoppage of work; and (2) the

individual does not belong to a grade or class of workers of
which, immediately before the commencement of the stoppage,
there were members employed at the premises at which the
"stoppage occurs any of whom are participating in or financing or
directly interested in the dispute. If in any case separate
branches of work which are commonly conducted as separate
businesses in separate premises are conducted in separate de-
partments of the same premises, each such department shall, for
the purpose of this subsection (d), be deemed to be a separate
factory, establishment or other premises. For the purposes of this
subsection (d), failure or refusal to cross a picket line or refusal

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

for any reason during the continuance of such labor dispute to
accept the individual’s available and customary work at the

 factory, establishment or other premises where the individual is

or was last employed shall be considered as participation and

interest in the labor dispute. . , '
- (e) Forany week with respect to which or a part of which the
individual has received or is seeking unemployment benefits

under the unemployment compensation law of any other staté or

of the United States, except that if the appropriate agency of such

“other state or the United States finally determines that the

individual is not entitled to such unemployment benefits, this
disqualification shall not apply. ’ . R

(f) For any week with respect to which the individual is
entitled to receive any unemployment allowance or compensa-

‘tion granted by the United States under an act of congress to

ex-service men and women in recognition of former service with
the military or naval services of the United States.

(g) For the period of one year beginning with the first day
following the last week of unemployment for which the individ-
ual received benefits, or for one year from the date the act was
committed, whichever is the later, if the individual, or another in
such individual’s behalf with the knowledge of the individual,
has knowingly made a false statement or representation, or has
knowingly failed to disclose a material fact to obtain or increase
benefits under this act or any other unemployment compensa-
tion law administered by the secretary of human resources.

(h) For any week with respect to which the individual is
receiving compeénsation for temporary total disability or perma-

_nent total disability under the workmen’s compensation law o

any state or under a similar law of the United States.

(i) For any week of unemployment on the basis of service in
an instructional, research or principal administrative capacity for
an educational institution as defined in subsection (v) of K.S.A.
44-703 and amendments thereto, if such week begins during the
period between two successive academic years or terms or, when
an agreement provides instead for a similar period between two
regular but not successive terms during such period or during a
period of paid sabbatical leave provided for in the individual’s
contract, if the individual performs such services in the first of
such academic years or terms and there is a contract or a reason-
able assurance that such individual will perform services in any
such capacity for any educational institution in the second of
such academie years or terms. ' )

() For any week of unemployment on the basis of service in
any capacity other than service in an instructional, research, or
admiristrative capacity in an educational institution, as defined
in subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703 and amendments thereto, if
such week begins during the period between two successive
academic years or terms if the individual performs such services
in the first of such academic years or terms and there is a
reasonable assurance that the individual will perform such ser-
vices in the second of such academic years or terms, except that if
benefits are denied to the individual under this subsection (j)
and the individual was not offered an opportunity to perform
such services for the educational institution for the second of
such academic years or terms, such individual shall be entitled to
a retroactive payment of benefits for each week for which the
individual filed a timely claim for benefits and for which benefits
were denied solely by reason of this subsection (j).

(k) |Forany week of unemployment on the basis of service in
any capacity for an educational institution as defined in subsec-
tion (v) of K.S.A. 44-703 and amendments thereto, if such week
begins during an established and customary vacation period or .
holiday recess, if the individual performs services in the period
immeﬁ‘liately before such vacation period or holiday recess and
there is a reasonable assurance that such individual will perform
such services in the period immediately following such vacation
period or holiday recess. -

(I) [For any week of unemployment on the basis of any ser-
vices, substantially all of which consist of participating in sports
or athletic events or training or preparing to so participate, if
such week begins during the period between two successive
sport seasons or similar period if such individual performed
services in the first of such seasons or similar periods and there is
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.a réasonable assurance that such individual will perform such
_services in the later of such seasons or similar periods.
(m) For any week on the basis of services performed by an

a.hen unless such alien is an individual who was lawfully admit-

ted for permanent residence at the time such services were
performed, was lawfully present for purposes of performing such
. services, or was permanently residing in the United States under
color of law at the time such services were performed, including
~an alien who was lawfully present in the United States as a result
ofthe. apphcatron of the provisions of section 203(a)(7) or section
212(d)(5) of the federal immigration and nationality act. Any data
or information required of individuals applying for benefits to
.determine whether benefits are not payable to them because of
their alien status shall be uniformly required from all applicants
for benefits. In the case of an individual whose application for
benefits would otherwise be approved, no determination that
benefits to suchindividual are not payable because of such
Andividual’s alien status shall be made except upon a prepon-
derance of the evidence.

(n) , For any week in whlch an individual is recelvmg a
govemmental or other pension, retirement or retired pay, annu-
ity or other similar periodic payment under a plan maintained by
“a base period employer and to which the entire contributions
'were provided by such employer, except that: (1) If the entire
cont{rbutxons to such plan were provided by the base period
émployer but such individual’s weekly benefit amount exceeds
such governmental or other pension, retirement or retired pay,
‘annuity or othér similar periodic payment attributable to such
week, the weekly benefit amount payable to the individual shall
‘be reduced (but not; below zero) by an amount equal to the
amount of such pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or
_other similar periodic payment which is attributable to such
week; or (2) if only a portion of contributions to such plan were
provrded by the base period employer, the weekly benefit
amount payable to such individual for such week shall be re-
duced (but not below zero) by the prorated weekly amount of the
_pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar
"periodic payment after deduction of that portion of the pension,
-retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic pay-
‘ment that is directly attributable to the percentage of the con-
tributions. made to the plan by such individual; or (3) if the entire
contnbutlons to the plan were provided by such individual, or by
‘the individual and an employer (or any person or orgamzatlon)
who is not a base period employer, no reduction in the weekly
benefit amount payable to the individual for such week shall be
made under this subsection (n); or (4) whatever portion of con-
tributions to such plan were provided by the base period em-
ployer, if the services performed for the employer by such
individual dunng the base 'period, or remuneration received for
the services, did not affect the individual’s eligibility for, or

‘increased the amount of, such pension, retirement or retired pay, .

annuity or. other similar periodic payment, no reduction in the
_weekly benefit amount payable to the individual for such week
shall be made under this subsection (n). The conditions speci-
fied in clause (4) of this subsection (n) shall not apply to pay-
ments made under the social security act or the railroad retire-
ment act of 1974, or the corresponding provisions of prior law.
Payments made under these acts shall be treated as otherwise
provided in this subsection (n). If the reduced weekly benefit
amount is not a multiple of $1, it shall be reduced to the next
lower multlple of $1.

‘ (0) Forany week of unemployment on the basis of services

performed i in any capacity and under any of the circumstances
gescnbed in subsection (i), () or (k) which an individual per-
formed in an educational institution whlle in the employ of an
educational s serwce agency. For the purposes of this subsection

(o), the term ‘educational service agency” means a governmen-

agency or entity which is established and operated exclu-
sively for the purpose of providing such services to one or more
educahonal institutions.

(p)  Forany week of unemployment on the basis of service as

a school bus or other motor vehicle driver employed by a private
contractor to transport pupils, students and school personnel to
or from : school-related functions or activities for an educational
institution, as define in subsectwn ( v) of K.S.A. 44-703 and
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amendments thereto, if such week begms during the penod
between two successive academic years or during a similar
period between two regular terms, whether or not successive, if
the individual has a contract or contracts, or a reasonable
assurance thereof, to perform services in any such capacity with
a private contractor for any educational institution for both
such academic years or both such terms. An individual shall not
be dzsqualiﬁed for benefits as promded in. thzs subsectwn (p) for
any week of unemployment on the basis of service.as a bus.or
other motor vehicle driver employed by a private contractor.to
transport persons to or from. nonschool-related functwns or
activities.

(q) For any week of unemployment on the basts ”‘Lsemwes
performed by the individual in any capacity and under any C :
the circumstances described in subsection (), (j),-(k) or (o) w
are provided to or on behalf of an educational institution, as
defined in subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703 and amendments
thereto, while the individual is in the employ of an  employer
which is a governmental entity or any employer-described in
section 501(cX3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1954
which is exempt from income under section 501(a) df the code

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 44-706 is-hereby repealed.

- Sec..3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and '

.after its publlcatlon in the Kansas reglster o

1 hereby certify that the above BILL orrgmated in- the HOUSE ahd
passed that body March 31, 1987.

HOUSE concurred m SENATE amendments Apnl 8 1987
- JAMES D: BRADEN: : . = -
Speaker of the House: 7
GENEVA SEWARD* - 7
Chzef Clerk: of the- House

'Passed the SENATE as amended Aprll 7, 1987

ROBERT V. TALKINCTONV
- President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY .. .» -
. Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED April 23, 1987. N
~ ‘ ’ MIKE HAYDEN. ...
Governor. . . .

' STATE OF KANSAS
Office of Secretary of State

I, BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas do
hereby certify that the abave and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in my office. -

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF; 1 have hereunto subscrrbed
my name and afﬁxed my oﬂicral seal thrs 23rd day of Aprrl
1987. v :
; BILL CRAVES
. (SEAL) Secretary of State.

b
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HOUSE BILL No. 2467

AN ACT concerning state agencies; concefnixig the state sugl&lsug prgpe;a‘gg '
upp. »

; amending K.S.A. 74-2124, 75-3739 and K.S.A: 1

- 75-6602 and 75-6604 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 75-6601 through 75-6605
and sections 2 and 3, and amendments thereto, shall be known as
the state surplus property act. ;

New Sec. 2. (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), all
sales, trade-ins or other disposition of personal property owned
by state agencies shall be made in accordance with the state.
surplus property act and rules and regulations authorized by
such act. ‘ ‘

- (b) Subject to rules and regulations adopted pursuant to the
state surplus property act or as otherwise directed by the gover-
nor, state agencies may transfer or loan personal property to
other state agencies with or without charging a fee therefor. In
accordance with procedures prescribed by the director of pur-
chases, a state agency may trade in personal property in con-
junction with a purchase by the state agency. The state agency
shall give the director of correctional industries notice of the
proposed trade-in. The director of correctional industries may
elect to provide for disposition of the property under the surplus
property program in lien of permitting the stite agency to trade
in the property. ‘ S :

Sec. 3. K.S.A.74-2124 is hereby amended to read as follows:
74-2124. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of K:$-A- 75-3730
end amendments therete the state surplus property act, the
superintendent of the Kansas highway patrol may negotiate the
sale of retired highway patrol vehicles to political subdivisions of
this state under such terms and conditions as may be approved
by the superintendent. ‘

(b) All other sales of highway patrol vehicles shall be in
accordance with the. provisions of K.S.A. 75-3739 75-6602 and
amendments thereto. .

(¢) The proceeds from all sales of highway patrol vehicles

shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the o

general fees fund of the Kansas highway patrol.
Sec. 4. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 75-3738 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 75-3738. The director of purchases shall:
' B (a) Purchase, rent or otherwise provide for the furnishing
of supplies, materials, equipment or contractual services for all
state agencies and approve as to form and exceution all leases for
£2) (b) Have power to authorize any state agency to purchase
directly certain specified supplies, materials, equipment or con-
tractual services under prescribed conditions and procedures.
43)}(c) Prescribe the manner in which supplies, materials and -
" equipment shall be purchased, delivered and distributed.
) (d) Prescribe the time, manner and authentication of
making requisitions for supplies, materials, equipment and con-
tractual services.

{5) (¢) Establish standard\s of quality and quantity and‘lde- ‘
velop standard specifications in consultation with the several -

state agencies.
®) ‘Ha-vep?weftqtmnsferteorbeﬁwwnmteegeneieser

A (f) Prescribe the manner of making chemical and physical
tests of samples submitted with bids and samples of deliveries to
determine compliance with specifications and the manner in
which state agencies shall inspect all deliveries of supplies,
materials and equipment. ' ,

€8 (g) Prescribe the amounts and form of, accounting for and
disposition of any deposit or bond required to be submitted with
a bid or a contract and the amourit of any.such deposit or bond to.
be given for the faithful performance of a contract.

" © Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

“{9)(h) Require reports by state agencies of stocks of supplies,
materials and equipment on hand and prescribe the form of such
reports and deliver copies of such reports to the director of
ini ive serviees purchases and the director of accounts
and reports. ‘ ’

Sec. 5. K.S.A.75-3739 is hereby amended to read as follows:
75-3739. In the manner as provided in this act and rules and
regulations established thereunder:

(a) All contracts for construction and repairs, and all pur-
chases of and contracts for supplies, materials, equipment and
contractual services, shall be based on competitive bids; end
advertised publie auction or after advertising for sealed bids in
the same manner provided for of property herein as
may be determined by the director of purchases, except that
competitive bids need not be required: (1) For contractual ser-
vices where no competition exists; or (2) sales in an i
markets or (3) when, in the judgment of the director of purchases,
chemicals and other material for use in laboratories, shop and
like experimental studies by state educational institutions may
be purchased to the best advantage of the state, or where rates
are fixed by law or ordinance; or (4) for items fraded in on like
items; or (5) (3) when, in the judgment of the director of pur-
chases, an agency emergency requires immediate delivery of
supplies, materials or equipment, or immediate performance of
services. . o

The director of purchases shall make a detailed report at least
once in each calendar quarter to the legislative coordinating
council and the chairpersons of the senate and the house of
representatives committees on ways and means of all emergency
purchases under subsection (a}5)(3).

(b) If the amount of the purchase or sale is estimated to
exceed approximately $5,000, sealed bids shall be solicited by
notice published once in the Kansas register not less than 10
days before the date stated therein for the opening of such bids.
The director of purchases may also designate a trade journal for
such publication. The director of purchases shall also solieit such
bids by sending notices by mail to all aetive prespeetive bidders
known to the director. All bids shall be sealed when received
and shall be opened in public at the hour stated in the notice.

(c) All purchases or sales estimated to exceed approximately

$2,000 but not more than $5,000, shall be made after receipt of
* sealed bids following at least three days’ notice posted on a.
‘public bulletin board in the office of the director of purchases.

The director of purchases may also solicit sealed bids by mail in
such cases in like manner as provided in subsection (b).

(d) All purchases eor sales estimated to be approximately
$2,000 or less may be made either upon competitive bids or in
the open market, in the discretion of the director of purchases
but, so far as practicable, shall be based on at least three com-
petitive bids and recorded-as provided in K.S.A. 75-3740; and
amendments thereto, except that the director of purchases, with
the approval of the secretary of administration, may delegate
authority to any state agency to make small purchases o sales of
less than $2,000 either on the open market or under certain
prescribed conditions and procedures. ' '

(e) Contracts and purchases shall in all cases be based on
specifications fixed by the director of purchases. When deemed
applicable and feasible by the director of purchases, such speci-
fications shall include either energy efficiency standards or ap-
propriate life cycle cost formulas, or both, for all supplies, mate-
rials, equipment and contractual services to be purchased by the
state. The director of purchases may reject a contract or purchase
on the basis that a product is manufactured or assembled outside
the United States. No such specifications shall be fixed in a.
manner to effectively exclude any responsible bidder offering
comparable supplies, materials, equipment or contractual ser-
vices. :

(f) Notwithstanding anything herein to the contrary, all con-
tracts with independent construction concerns for the .construc-
tion, improvement, reconstruction and maintenance of the state
highway system and the acquisition of rights-of-way for state
highway purposes shall be advertised and let as now or hereafter

. provided by law.
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(g) Notwithstanding anything herein to the contrary and ex-
cept as otherwise provided in this subsection, the director of
purchases, with the approval of the secretary of administration,
may authorize state agencies to contract for services and materi-
als with other state agencies, or with federal agencies, political

. subdivisions of Kansas, agencies of other states or subdivisions

thereof, or private nonprofit educational institutions, without
competitive bids if: (1) The obligations and duties imposed on,
and the benefits and privileges to be received by, each state
agency which is a proposed party to the contract does not exceed
the authority and powers delegated to such state agency by the
legislature, including the authority to enter into the contract; (2)
the obligations and duties imposed on the state agency required
to perform services or supply materials are within the normal
scope of duties of the state agency and the competence of the
state agency to perform the contracted services and to deliver the

_prescribed materials is demonstrated to the satisfaction of the

director of purchases; and (3) the director of purchases deter-
mines that materials are not available from responsible sources
other than state agencies at a lower cost. In addition to the
requirements of elauses (b to 3} snelusive; of this subseetion
subsections (g)1) through (3), if a contract for services is fi-
nanced entirely from moneys derived exclusively from the state
general fund, the director of purchases, with the approval of the
secretary of administration, may authorize state agencies to enter
into such a contract for services with other state agencies, or with

federal agencies, political subdivisions of Kansas, agencies of .

other states or subdivisions thereof, or private nonprofit educa-
tional institutions, without competitive bids only if the direetor
of purchases determines that comparable services are not rea-
sonably available from respensible sources other than such
agencies at a lower cost.

(h) Exceptas otherwise specifically provided by law, no state
agency shall enter into any lease of real property without the
prior approval of the secretary of administration. Such state
agency shall submit to the secretary of administration such
information relating to any such proposed lease as the secretary
may require. The secretary of administration shall either ap-
prove, modify and approve or reject any such proposed lease.

. ageney ing in suech vehieles and when
authorized to do so by the director of - The meotor
and shall be utilized by the direetor of purehases to pay ell or part

fund- .
. New Sec. 6. (a)On the effective date of this act, the director
of accounts and reports shall transfer all moneys in the motor
vehicle and highway equipment sales fee fund to the state
general fund. ‘

(b) On the effective date of this act, all liabilities of the motor

_vehicle and highway equipment sales fee fund existing prior to

that date are hereby transferred to and imposed on the state
general fund. '

(¢) The motor vehicle and highway equipment sales fee fund
is hereby abolished.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 75-6602 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 75-6602. (a) Subject to such limitations as the secre-
tary of corrections may prescribe, the director of Kansas correc-
tional industries may dispose of surplus state property to indi-
viduals. and entities eligible for participation in the federal
surplus property program by:

(1) Sale at fixed pricess;

(2) by sale at negotiated pricess; or ) :

(3) by advertised public auction or advertised sealed bids.
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(b) Subject to such limitations as the secretary of corrections
may prescribe;: - o

(1) The director of Kansas correctional industries may sell
state surplus property to the general public by advertised public
auction or advertised sealed bids; and » . o

(2) may sell property to the general public at fixed or nego-
tiated prices if such property has been offered for a period of at
least 60 days to individuals and entities eligibile for partictpa-
tion in the federal surplus property program. -

{e) Sales of surplus state property shall not be subjeet to the

property deseribed in subseetion (i) of K:S-A- 75-3730:

. Sec. 8. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 75-6604 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 75-6604. (a) Subject to and in accordance with limi-
tations and procedures prescribéd by the director of accounts
and reports therefor, each state agency disposing of surplus
property by sale under this the state surplus property act shall
deposit the moneys received therefor, less fees and charges
assessed by the director of Kansas correctional industries, in the
state treasury to-the credit of the conversion of materials and
equipment fund or the appropriate fee or other special revenue -
find of the state agencv. : - . :

" Sec. 9. K.S.A. 74-2104, 75-3739 and K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 75-

13738, 75-6602 and 75-6604 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 10. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register. ' :

I hereby certify that the above BILL oﬁginated- in the HOUSE, anﬂ
passed that body March 11, 1987, .

HOUSE concurred in SENATE amendments April 9, 1987.
‘ " 'JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD ,
Chief Clerk of the House.

Passed the SENATE as amended April 8, 1987. .
. ROBERT V. TALKINGTON.
President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY o
Secretary of the Senate.

MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
Office of Secretary of State ‘

I, BILL- GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original enrolled bill now on file in niy office. . S

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed

my ;lame and affixed my official seal, this 23rd day of April,

1987. - ‘ T :
BILL GRAVES '

(SEAL) Secretary. of State. -
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HOUSE Substitute for Substitute for SENATE BILL No. 141

AN AcT concerning alcoholic beverages; amending K.S.A. 41-102, 41-103,41-104,
. -41-203 through 41-207, 41-210, 41-304 through 41-308, 41-308a, 41-316
thro 41-313, 41-316, 41-317, 41-319, 41-320 through 41-323, 41-328, 41-
401, 41-402, 41-403, 41-408, 41-409, 41-410, 41-501, 41-506, 41-601, 41-602,
41-701, 41-702, 41-703, 41-709, 41-710, 41-714, 41-717,41-718, 41-719, 41-727,
-803, 41-901, 41-1101, 41-2601, 41-2605, 41-2606, 41-2608 thy “fh 41-2615,
41-2619 through 41-2623, 41-2625 through 41-2630, 41-2632, 4 -2633, 41-
2633a, 41-2634, 41-2637, 41-2640, 41-2701 throu: 41-2708,41-2721, 41-2723,
41-2724, 79-3819, 79-3833, 79-4101 throu, 9-4104, 79-41a02, 79-41a06
79-41a07 and 79-41a08, K.S.A. 1986 Su; p. T 3, 7997-41a01, 79-41a03 and
78-41a04 and K.S.A. 41-102, as amended by section 1 of this act, 41-306, as
amended by section 13 of this act, 41-307, as amended by section 16 of this act,
41-310, as amended by section 19 of this act, 41-311, as amended by section 21
of this act, 41409, as amended by section 37 of this act, 41-410, as amended by
section 39 of this act, 41-701, as amended by section 45 of this act, 41-1101, as
amended,gg section 58 of this act, 79-4101, as amended by section 109 of this
act, 79-4102, as amended.lg]y,section 111 of this act, 79-4103, as amended by

* section 113 of this act, and 794104, as amended by section 115 of this act, and
re; ing the existing sections; also repealinf K.S.A. 41-2602, 41-2603, 41-

, 41-2713, 41-2718 and 41-2801 throu 1-2804 and K.S.A. 41-2723, as
gended by section 106 of this act, and 41-2724, as amended by section 107 of

" this act. ‘ :

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

- Section 1. K.S.A. 41-102 is hereby amended to read as fol-

lows: 41-102. As used in this -act, unless the context clearly

requires otherwise: , , - :
(a) “Alcohol” means the product of distillation of any fer-

mented liquid, whether rectified or diluted, whatever its origin,

and includes synthetic ethyl alcohol but does not.include dena-

tured alcohol or wood alcohol. ~ o ;

~ (b) “Alcoholic liquor” means alcohol, spirits, wine, beer and

every liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits,

wine or beer and capable of being consumed as a beverage by a
human being, but shall not include any beer e¢ cereal malt
beverageeenhin-ingaetmerethea&%%dleebelbyweight.

(c) “Beer;”wheaitsmeeningisaetenl&rged;meéiﬁed;of '

limited by ether words; means a beverage, containing more than
3.2% alcohol by weight, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an
infusion or concoction of barley, or other grain, malt and ‘hops in
waterand includes beer, ale, stout, lager beer, porter and similar
beverages having such alcoholic content. , .
(d) “Board” means the state alcoholic beverage control board
of review created by this act. o ,
(e) “Caterer” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601
and amendments thereto. ~ .
(f). “Cereal malt beverage” has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 41-2701 and amendments thereto. ,
(8) :“Club” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601 and
amendments thereto. o L
(h) “Director” means the director of alcoholic beverage con-
trol of the department of revenue. P
- # (i) (1) “Distributor” means the person importing or caus-
ing to be imported into the state, or purchasing or causing to be
purchased within the state, alcoholic liquor for sale or resale to
retailers licensed under this act. , : \
" (2) “Distributor” does not mean a wholesaler or distributor
licensed pursuant to article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated except to the extent (A) specifically provided
by law or (B) that such wholesaler or distributor imports, pur-
chases or causes to be imported or purchased any ‘alcoholic
liquor other than as allowed by seetion 11 K.S.A. 41-2723 and
_amendments thereto. : L
& (j)) “Domestic table wine” means wine which contains not
more than 14% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured
without rectification or fortification from agricultural products
grown in this state. o
(k) “Drinking establishment” has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 41-2601 and amendments thereto. B
@ (1) “Farm winery” means a winery licensed by the direc-
tor to manufacture, store and sell domestic table wine.

)(m) “Manufacture” means to distill, rectify, ferment, brer, :

make, mix, concoct, process, blend, bottle or fill an original
package with any alcoholic liquor, o with beer regardless of its
elecholie contont; end ineludes blending beer or cereal malt
beverage. : L o

& (n) (1) “Manufacturer” means every brewer, fermenter,
distiller, rectifier, wine maker, blender, processor, bottler or
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person who fills or refills an original package and others engaged
in brewing, fermenting, distilling, rectifying or bottling alcoholic
liquers or beer regardless of its alecholie content liquor, beer or
cereal malt beverage. . ,
(2) “Manufacturer” does not include a farm winery.
&9 (o) “Minor” means any person under 21 years of age. .
4 (p) “Nonbeverage user” means any manufacturer of any of
the products set forth and described in K.S.A. 41-501 and
amendments thereto, when the products contain alcohol or wine,
and all laboratories using alcohol for nonbeverage, purposes. . :
ém) (q). “‘Original package” means any bottle, flask, jug, can,
cask, barrel, keg, hogshead or other receptacle. or container
whatsoever, used, corked or capped, sealed and labeled by the
manufacturer of alcoholic liquor, to contain and to convey any
alcoholic liquor. , o R
&) (r) “Person” means any natural person, corporation, part-
nership or association. o L
¢e}(s) “‘Primary American source of supply” means the man-
ufacturer, the owner of alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a
marketable product or the manufacturer’s-or owner’s exclusive
agent who, if the alcoholic liquor cannot be secured directly from
such manufacturer or owneér by American wholesalers; is the
source closest to such manufacturer or owner in the chapnel of
commerce from which the product can be secured by American
wholesalers. : . o S
£p} (¢) (1) “Retailer” means a person who sells at retail, or
offers for sale at retail, alcoholic liquors. .
(2) “Retailer” does not include a farm winery. R
“{e (u) “Sale” means any transfer, exchange or barter.in any
manner or by any means whatsoever for a consideratjon, and
includes all sales made by any person, whether principal, pro-
prietor, agent, servant or employee. : L . "
(v) “Salesperson” means any natural person who:
(1) Procures or seeks to procure an order bargain, contract
or agreement for the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage; or : , e
(2) is engaged in promoting the sale of alcoholic liquor or
cereal malt beverage, or in promoting the business of any
person, firm or corporation engaged in the manufacturing and
selling of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, whether.the
seller resides within the state of Kansas and sells to licensed
buyers within the state of Kansas, or whether the seller resides
without the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within
the state of Kansas. ) T
(w) “Secretary” means the secretary of revenue. .
) (x) (1) “Sell at retail” and “sale at.retail” refer to and mean
sales for use or consumption and not for resale in any form and
sales to clubs keeasedp&rsu&ntteuﬁele%efehapteg»ﬂef&he
Kansas Statutes Annetated, licensed drinking establishments,
licensed caterers or holders of temporary permits. -~ .
(2) “Sell at retail” and “sale at retail” do not refer to or mean
sales by a distributor, a farm winery or by a elub licensed
pursuant to ertiele 26 of chapter 41 of the Kanses Stetutes Anno-
tated, a licensed club, a licensed drinking establishment, a
licensed caterer or a holder of a temporary permit. ‘

- {s}(y) “To-sell” includes to solicit or receive an order for, to

keep or expose for sale and to keep with intent to sell.

€ (z) “Spirits” means any beverage which contains élcdh'dl g

obtained by distillation, mixed with water or other substance in
solution, and includes brandy, rum, whiskey, gin or other ‘spiri-
tuous liquors, and such liquors when rectified, blended or oth-
erwise mixed with alcohol or other substances. ~~ . -
(aa) “Supplier” means a manufacturer of alcoholic liquor or

cereal malt beverage or an agent of such:manuch‘turer;_ other v

than a salesperson. , e
(bb) ““Temporary permit” has the meaning provided by
K.5.A. 41-2601 and amendments thereto. . =~ . . _—
) (cc) “Wine” means any alcoholic beverage obtained by
the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe
grapes, fruits, berries or other agricultural. products, including
such beverages containing added alcohol or spirits or containing
sugar added for the purpose of correcting natural deficiencies.
Sec. 2. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A.. 41-102, as
amended by section 1 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
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follows: 41-102. As used in this act, unless the context clearly
requires otherwise:

(a) “Alcohol” means the product of distillation of any fer-
mented liquid, whether rectified or diluted, whatever its origin,
and includes synthetic ethyl alcohol but does not include dena-
tured alcohol or wood alcohol.

(b) “Alcoholic liquor” means alcohol, spirits, wine, beer and
every liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits,
wine or beer and capable of being consumed as a beverage by a
human being, but shall not include any cereal malt beverage.

(c) - “Beer’ means a beverage, containing more than 3.2%
alcohol by weight, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an
infusion or concoction of barley, or other grain, malt and hops in
water and includes beer, ale, stout, lager beer, porter and similar
beverages having such alcoholic content. '
of review ereated by this set:

{e)(d) - “Caterer” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601
and amendments thereto.

& (e) “Cereal malt beverage™ has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 41-2701 and amendments thereto.

@ (f) “Club” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601
and ‘amendments thereto. ,

&) (g) “Director” means. the director of alcoholic beverage
control of the department of revenue.

&) @) (k) “Distributor” means the person importing or caus-
ing to be imported into the state, or purchasing or causing to be
purchased within the state, alcoholic liquor for sale or resale to
retailers licensed under this act or cereal malt beverage for sale
or fesale to retailers licensed under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amend-
ments thereto. )

{2) ZDistributer” dees net mean @ whelesaler or distributer

thereto:

(i) “Domestic beer” means beer which contains not more
than 8% alcohol by weight and which is manufactured from
agricultural products grown in this state.

() “Domestic table wine” means wine which contains not
miore than 14% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured
without rectification or fortification from agricultural products
grown in this state.

(k) “Drinking establishment” has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 41-2601 and amendments thereto. .

(1) “Farm winery” means a winery licensed by the director to
manufacture, store and sell domestic table wine.

(m) “Manufacture” means to distill, rectify, ferment, brew,’

make, mix, concoct, process, blend, bottle or fill an original
package with any alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage.
(n) (1) “Manufacturer” means every brewer, fermenter, dis-

tiller, rectifier, wine maker, blender, processor, bottler or person .

who fills or refills an original package and others engaged in
brewing, fermenting, distilling, rectifying or bottling alcoholic
liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage. ’

(2) “Manufacturer” does not include a microbrewery or a

farm winery.
(0) “Microbrewery” means a brewery licensed by the direc-
tor to manufacture, store and sell domestic beer. '
{e} (p) “Minor” means any person under 21 years of age.
{9} (q9) “Nonbeverage user” means any manufacturer of any
of the products set forth and described in K.S.A. 41-501 and

amendments thereto, when the products contain alcohol or wine,

and all laboratories using-alcohol for nonbeverage purposes.

@) (r) “Original package” means any bottle, flask, jug, can,
cask, barrel, keg, hogshead or other receptacle or container
whatsoever, used, corked or capped, sealed and labeled by the
manufacturer of alcoholic liquor, to contain and to convey any
alcohelic liquor. ‘ ‘

@) (s) “Person” means any natural person, corporation, part-
nership or association. - o

{s)(t) “Primary American source of supply” means the man-
ufacturer, the owner of alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a
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marketable product or the manufacturer’s or owner’s exclusive
agent who, if the alcoholic liquor cannot be secured directly from
such manufacturer or owner by American wholesalers, is the
source closest to such manufacturer or owner in the channel of
commerce from which the product can be secured by American
wholesalers.

& (u) (1) - “Retailer” means a person who sells at retail, or
offers for sale at retail, alcoholic liquors. - . ,

(2) “Retailer” does not include a microbrewery or a farm

@) (v) “Sale” means any transfer, exchange or barter in any
manner or by any means whatsoever for a consideration and
includes all sales made by any person, whether principal, pro-
prietor, agent, servant or employee.. ‘

&) (w) “Salesperson” means any natural person who:

(1) Procures or seeks to procure an order, bargain, contract or
agreement for the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt bever- |
age; or ' o , e

(2) is engaged in promoting the sale of alcoholic liquor or

~ cereal malt beverage, or in promoting the business of any person,

firm or corporation engaged in the manufacturing and selling of
alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, whether the seller
resides within the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers
within the state of Kansas, or whether the seller resides without
the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within the state of
Kansas. . B '

{w) (x) - “Secretary” means the secretary of revenue.

&) (y) (1) “Sell at retail” and “sale at retail” refer to and
mean sales for use or consumption and not for resale in any form
and sales to clubs, licensed drinking establishments, licensed
caterers or holders of temporary permits. ‘

(2) “Sell at retail” and “sale at retail” do'not refer to or mean
sales by a distributor, a microbrewery, a farm winery, a licensed
club, a licensed drinking establishment, a licensed caterer or a
holder of a temporary permit. : .

&) (z) “To sell” includes to solicit or receive an order for, to
keep or expose for sale and to keep with intent to sell.

@) (aa) “Spirits” means any beverage which contains alcohol .
obtained by distillation, mixed with water or other substance in
solution, and includes brandy, rum, whiskey, gin or other spiri-
tuous liquors, and such liquors when rectified, blended or oth-
erwise mixed with alcohol or other substances. ~

{ae)(bb) “Supplier” meansa manufacturer of alcoholic liquor
or cereal malt beverage or an agent of such manufacturer, other
than a salesperson. o - : o ‘

(b} (cc) “Temporary permit” has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 41-2601 and amendments thereto. R

{ee} (dd) “Wine” means any alcoholic beverage obtained by
the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe
grapes, fruits, berries or other agricultural products, including
such beverages containing added alcohol or spirits or containing
sugar added for the purpose of correcting natural deficiencies.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 41-103 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-103. The legislature hereby declares the public policy of this
state to bes (1) That beer containing not more-then 3.2 pereent of
alechel by weight that: (a) Cereal malt beverage shall be sold at
retail separately from sales of alcoholic liquor at retail; (2) that
(b) cereal malt beverage shall be sold and dispensed at retail in
rooms or premises separate and distinct from rooms or premises
where alcoholic liquor is sold; and {3) thet (c) no retailer’s license
for the sale of alcoholic liquers liquor shall be granted to any
applicant making application therefor if the premises sought to
be licensed are located outside the corporate limits of any city
within this state, save and except as provided in K.S.A. 41-303
and amendments thereto. _

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 41-104 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-104. No person shall manufacture, bottle, blend, sell, barter,
transport, deliver, furnish or possess any alcoholic liquor for
beverage purposes, except as specifically provided in this act,
the club and drinking establishment act or im article 27 of
chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, except that nothing
contained in this act shall prevent: , o

( continuéd )

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987



w KANSAS REGISTER

NEW STATE LAWS

- ¢4} (a). The possession and transportation of alcoholic liquor -

for the personal use of the passessor, the possessor’s family and
guests except that the provisions of K.S.A. 41-1103 and amend-

-ments thereto relating to transportation and -the provisions of
K.5.A. 41-407 and amendments thereto shall be applicable to all
persons; . - S :

- 48} (b) .. the making of wine, cider; or beer by.a person from
fruits, vegetables or grains, or the product thereof, by simple
fermentation and without distillation, if it is made solely for the
-use of the maker and his or her the maker’s family;

3)(c) any duly licensed practicing physician or dentist from
possessing or using alcoholic liquor in the strict practice of his o¥
‘her the medical or dental profession; ; :

4 (d) any hospital or other institution caring for the sick and
.diseased persons, from possessing and using alcoholic liquor for
.the treatment of bona fide patients of such hospital or institution;

€8} (¢) any drugstore employing a licensed pharmacist from

possessing .and using alcoholic liquor in the compounding of
prescriptions of duly licensed physicians; or

the possession and dispensation of wine by an autho-
rized representative of any church for the purpose of conducting
any bona fide rite or religious ceremony conducted by such
churchs er -

- €0 the purehase; possession o sale of alesholie liquer

V : ; > Hiquer by
e}ubl—ieensedpawumteafﬁele%ofebapte;ﬁefthem’

Sec. 5. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-203 is hereby

amended to read as follows: 41-203. (a) There is hereby ereated a.

or negleet in office:
{e) Membepsofthesh&ealeehekebevefageeenbelbeudof
review meetings of the beard; or asu-beerfl-
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. act.

(b) Whenever the.state alcoholic beverage control board.of
review is referred to or designated by statute, contract or other
document, the reference or designation shall be deemed to apply
to the director. : o S

(c) All books, records and other property o the state alco-
holic beverage control board of review are hereby transferred to
the director. o , :

(d) No suit, action or other proceeding, Judicial or adminis-
trative, lawfully commenced, or which could have been com-
menced, by or against the state alcoholic beverage control board
of review shall abate by reason of the abolition of such board,
and the court may allow any such suit, action or other proceed-
ing to be maintained by or against the director. o

Sec..6. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-204 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-204. (a) No person shall be
appointed a member of the beard or director who is not a citizen
of the United States and who has not resided in the state of
Kansas successively for five (5) years nest years immediately
pre;;eding the dateh:fl‘l h;)s appointmg::lt; and. dive ' .

. (b) -No person s e appointed deputy director; seeretary
ofﬂaebeard-;ageﬁt‘erempleneef&e.dhem who is not a
citizen of the United States and who has not resided in the state
of Kansas successively for two (2) years next years immediately
preceding t‘l;;.edate of his appointment; ner shall any persen be so

. (¢) No person shall be appointed director or deputy director
if such person has been convicted of; or shall have i
of a felony; or of any violation of any federal or state law
concerning the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal
malt beverages Pprior or subsequent to the passage of this aet; nor
whe, has paid a fine or penalty in settlement in any prosecution
against him such person in any violation of such laws er whe
shell have or has forfeited his bond to appear in court to answer
charges for any such violation. '

(d) No sueh eppeintee person appointed director, deputy
director or agent-or employee of the director may, directly or
indirectly, individually or as a member of a partnership, or as a
shareholder of a corporation, have any interest whatsoever in the
manufacture, sale or distribution of alcoholic liquor, nor receive
any compensation or profit therefrom, nor have any interest
whatsoever in the purchases or sales made by the persons au-
thorized by this act, or to purchase or to sell alcoholic liquor.
None of the provisions, of.this seetion shall prevent any such
appeintee subsection shall prevent a person subject to this
subsection from purchasing and keeping in his the person’s
possession for the use of himself or members of his family or any
the person or the person’s family or guests any alcoholic liquor
which may be purchased or kept by any person by virtue of this

Sec. 7.. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-205 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-205. Each member of the beard;
The director, deputy director and each person appointed by the
beard er director; shall take and subscribe an oath thet he will to
support and enforce the provisions of this act and the constitu-
tion of the state of Kansas, - - . A
Sec: 8.- On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-206 is -hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-206. (a) Except as permitted
pursuant to subsection (b), no member or employee of the beard;
the direetor or neither the director nor any employee in the
office of the director shall solicit or accept, directly or indirectly,
any gift, gratuity, emolument or employment from any manufac-
turer, distributor, wholesaler; or retailer of alcoholic liquor or
rom any person who is an applicant for any license or is g
icensee under the provisions of this act, or from any officer,
agent or employee thereof; ner; or solicit requests from or rec-
ommend, directly or indirectly, to any such person, or to any
officer, agent or employee thereof, the appointment of any per-
son to any place or positions and every. Any such person, officer,
agent or employee thereof, is hereby forbidden to offer to any
member or employee of the beard; the director, or any employee
in the office of the director, any gift, gratuity, emolument or
employment, except as permitted pursuant to subsection (b).
(b) The secretary may adopt rules and regulations allowing
the acceptance of official hospitality by the director and em.
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-ployees in the o ice of the director; subject to such limits as

prescribed by the secretary. . . . .. R .
(c) If any:person who is member or employee of the beard;

‘the director; ef any or an employee in the office of the, director

guilty of a misdemenner; end upen convietion thereef shell be
fined. not mere than five hundred dollars ($500); or shall be

months or be both se fined and imprisoned violates any provi-

sion: of. this section, such person shall be removed. from: such

person’s o{fice or employment. e e e
(d) - Violation of any provision of this section is a misde-

‘meanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500 or impris-
_onment of not less than 60 days nor more. than six months, or

both such fine and imprisonment. . - . .

(e) Nothing contained in this section shall be construed as
preventing the prosecution and punishment of any person for
bribery as defined in the criminal code of this state. .

Sec. 9. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-207 is hereby

.amended to.read as follows: 41-207. The director and the beard

eaech may, for authentication of the records, process and pro-
ceedings of the director end beard; respeetively, adopt and keep
and use a common seal; of eaeh of which seals judicial notice
shall be taken in all of the courts of the state, Any process, notice

_ or other paper which the director may be authorized by law to
_ issue; shall be deemed sufficient if signed by the director or

deputy director and authenticated by the seal of the director. Any
chaimman of the board and attested te by the seerctary of the

All acts, orders, proceedings, rules; and regulations, entries,
minutes; and other records of the director and all reports and
documents filed with the director may. be proved in any court of
this state by copy thereof certified to by the director or the
deputy director. with the ‘seal of seid the director attached. 'A
written certificate stating that after diligent search no record or
entry of a specified tenor is found to exist in the records of the
office of state director.of alcoholic beverage control, when signed
and certified to by the director or the deputy director and
authenticated by the seal of the director, shall be admissible as
evidence in any court of this state to prove that the records of seid
the office contain no such record or entty. -~ - coe
sments fled with the beard may be proved in any coust of this
state by eopy thereof certified to by the sceretary of the board

Sec. 10. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-210 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-210. (a) The director shall pro-
pose such rules .and regulations as necessary.to carry out the
intent and purposes of this act. After the hearing on a proposed
rule and regulation has been held as- required by law, the
director shall submit the proposed rule and regulation te the
regulation; the direetor shall submit it to the secretary of revenue
rvho, if the secretary approves it, shall adopt the rule and regu-

ation. - . S B N Lo o
"(b). It is.intended by this act that the director .of alcoholic
beverage control shall have broad discretionary powers to gov-
emn the traffic in alcoholic liquors and to enforce strictly all the

provisions of this act in the interest of sanitation, purity of

products, truthful representation and honest dealings in such
manner as generally will promote the public health and welfare.
All valid rules and regulations adopted under the provisions of
this act ‘shall be absolutely. binding upon all licensees and
enforceable by the director of alcoholic beverage control through
the power of suspension or revocation of licenses... .. ... . . .

Sec. 11. . On and. after January 1,:1988, K.8.A..-41-304 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-304. Licenses issued by
the director shall be-of the following classes: (a) Manufacturer’s
license; (b) aleehelie liquor spirits distributor’s license; (c) wine
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distributor’s license {exeept bees)s e); (d) beer distributor’s li-
cense; {d) (¢) retailer’s license; {e) (f) microbrewery license; (g)
farm winery license; and ) (h) nonbeverage .user’s-license. .
Sec. 12. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-305 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-305. The A manufac-
turer’s license shall allow: () the manufacture; sterage and’
storage of alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage and the-sale
of alcoholic: liquor; ineluding beer regardless of- its aleoholie
eontent; and cereal malt beverage to distributors and nonbe-
verage users licensed in this state and to such persons witheut

 the outside this state as mey be permitted by laws and (2) the sele
b ¥ ’

of wine to wh pursuant to article 27 of chapter
41 of the Kansas Statutes Annetated: A liceive to manufacture
beer shall also allow the sale of beer to retailers liconsed in this
state: Any eereal malt beverage or beer eontaining net to exéeed
shall net be sold to any person in this state other than a whele-
saler or distributer helding e valid end existing whelesaler's ar

Sec. 13. - On and ‘after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-306 is hereby

“amended to read as follows: 41-306.-An alcoholic liquor distrib-

utor’s license, except a beer ‘distributor’s license, shall allow:
" @) (a) ' The wholesale purchase, importation and storagé of
alcoholic liquors, except beer, but all such”’aleoh‘glic liguor so
purchased or imported which is manufactured in the United
States shall be purchased from the primary Americin source of
supply ‘or from another licensed distributor, except that a li-
censed distributor may purchase confiscated alcoholic liquorata
sheriff's sale;. e o
. @ (b) The sale of alcoholic liquors, except beer, to: -
(@) (1) Distributors licensed in this states; -~~~

~{B)(2)  retailers licensed in this state, except that a licensed
distributor shall sell a brand of alcoholic liquor only to those
retailers whose licensed premises are located in the geographic
territory within which such distributor is authorized to sell such
brand, as designated in the notice or notices filed with the

director pursuant to K.S.A. 41-410; and amendments thereto; and

te)(3)  such persons located outside such territory or outside
this state as permitted by laws. R

. {(¢) - ‘The sale of wine, but only in barrels, ’casks and other bulk '

containers; to:

(1) Licensed caterers; and , R R
- (2) clubs and drinking establishments licensed in this state,
except that such distributor shall sell a brand of wine only to
such clubs and drinking establishments the licensed premises o[

1which are located in the geographic territory within which suc

distributor is authorized to sell such brand, as designated'in the
notice or notices filed with the director pursuant to K.S.A.
4]-410 and-amendments thereto. - C e T
-(3) (d) The purchase of alcoholic. liquors, except beer, in
barrels, casks or other bulk containers and the bottling thereof
before resale, but all bottles or-containers filled with such alco-
holic liquors shall be sealed, labeled, stamped and otherwise
made to.comply with all laws and rules and regulations govern-
ing the preparation and bottling of alegholic liquors by manu-
facturers and with all federal rules; regulations-and laws. - -
“‘Sec. 14. 'On and after January 1, 1988, K.S:A.' 41-306, as.
amended by section 13 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-306. An ie liguer distributer’s Heense; exeept
a.beer A spirits distributor’s license, shall allow: -~~~
“(a) The wholesale purchase, importation and storage of alee-
holie liquots; except beer; but all sueh alechelie liquor spirits,
but all such - spirits so purchased or imported ‘which is- are
manufactured’ in the United States shall be purchased from the
primary American source of supply or from another  licensed
spirits distributor, except that a licensed spirits distributor may
purchase confiscated aleeholie liguoer spirits at a'shetiff's sale..
"(b) - The sale of alechelie liquors; exeept beer; spirits to:
(1) Spirits-distributors licensed in this state; ~ = -~ <
(2) retailers licensed in this state, except that o lieensed such
distributor shall sell a brand of alecholie liguer spirits only to
those retailers whose licensed premises are located in the geo-
‘ ‘ : ... (continued)
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graphic territory within which such distributor is authorized to
sell such brand, as designated in the notice or notices filed with
the director pursuant to K.S.A. 41-410 and amendments thereto;
and ) .
(3) such persons located outside such territory or outside this
state as permitted by law. , ‘
" {e} The sale of wine; but only in barrels; casks and other bulk
) Liecensed eaterers: and :

¢} (c) The purchase of aleohelie liguoss; exeept beer; spirits

in barrels, casks or other bulk containers and the bottling thereof
before resale, but all bottles or containers filled with such slee-
heolie liquers spirits shall be sealed, labeled, stamped and other-
wise made to comply with all laws and rules and regulations
governing the preparation and bottling of ie ki
spirits by manufacturers and with all federal rules, regulations
and laws. ,
" New Sec. 15. On and after January 1, 1988, a wine distribu-
tor’s license shall allow: ‘
(a) The wholesale purchase, importation and storage of wine,
" but all wine so purchased or imported which is - manufactured in
the United States shall be purchased from the primary American
source of supply or from another licensed wine distributor,

except that a licensed wine distributor may purchase confiscated -

wine at a sheriff’s sale.

(b)  The sale of wine to: ,

(1) Wine distributors licensed in this state; ‘ ,

(2) retailers licensed in this state, except that such distributor
shall sell a brand of wine only to those retailers whose licensed
premises are located in the geographic territory within which
such distributor is authorized to sell such brand, as designated in
the notice or notices filed with the director pursuant to K.S.A.
41-410 and amendments thereto; and -

-(3) such persons located outside such territory or outside this

state as permitted by law.

(c) The sale of wine, but only in barrels, casks and other bulk
containers, to: )

(1) Licensed caterers; and :

(2) clubs and drinking establishments licensed in this state,
except that such distributor shall sell a brand of wine only to
such clubs and drinking establishments the licensed premises of
which are located in the geographic territory within which such
distributor is authorized to sell such brand, as designated in the
notice or notices filed with the director pursuant to K.S.A. 41-410
and amendments thereto. ,

(d) The purchase. of wine in barrels, casks or other bulk
containers and the bottling thereof before resale, but all bottles
or containers filled with such wine shall be sealed, labeled,
stamped and otherwise made to comply with all laws and rules
and regulations governing the preparation and bottling of wine

4 })y manufacturers and with all federal rules, regulations and

aws. - ,

(e) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the
Kansas liquor control act. . ;

Sec. 16. - On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-307-is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-307. A beer distributor’s license
shall allow: ) :

(a) The wholesale purchase, importation and storage of beer

(b) The sale of beer to retailers licensed under this act whe:

(1) Licensed caterers; '

(2) retailers, clubs and drinking establishments, licensed in
this state, except that such distributor shall sell a brand of beer
only-to those retailers, clubs and drinking establishments of
which the licensed premises are located within the geographic
territory designated in the notice or notices filed with the direc.
tor pursuant to K.S.A. 41-409; as amended; and to and amend-
ments thereto; and

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

(3) such persons located outside said territory or without the
?y weight such territory or outside this state as permitted by .
aw. L e e e

Sec. 17. On and after January 17 1988, KiS.A. 41-307, as
amended by section 16 of this act, is’heréby amended to read as
follows: 41-307 A beer distributor’s license shall allow:

(a) The wholesale purchase, impdﬂaﬁbﬁ' and storage of beer.

(b) The sale of beertg: "~ * "t o e oS

(1) ' Licensed caterers; '~ 7 = Toe e ,

(2) beer distributors licensed in this state;-

(3) retailers; clubs and drinking establishments, licénsed in
this state, except that such distributor shall sell ‘a brand’of beer
only to those retailers, clubs ‘and 'drinking establiskments of
which the licensed premises are loéated within in the _geo-
graphic territory within which such distributor is duthorized to
sell such brand, as designated in the notice or notices filed with
the director pursuant to K.S.A. 41409 41-410 and amendments
thereto; and o e o

€3} (4) - such persons located ovitside such territory or outside
this state as permitted by law.. - . .~ T

(c) The sale of cereal mialt beverage to:

(1) Beer distributors licensed in this state; . ,

(2) clubs and drinking establishents, licensed in this state,
and retailers licensed under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amendments
thereto, except that such distributor shall sell ¢ brand of cereal

* malt beverage only to those such clubs, drinking establishments

and retailers of which the licensed premises are located in ‘the
geographic territory within which such distributor is autho-

" rized to sell such brand, as designated in the notice or notices

filed with the director pursuant to K.S.A. 41410 and amend-
ments thereto; and - S
(3) such persons located outside such territory oi* outside
this state as permitted by low. o '
(d) The purchase of cereal malt beverage in kegs or other
bulk containers and the bottling or canning thereof in accord-
ance with law. S e T T e e
Sec. 18." On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-308'is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-308. (a) A retailer’s license shall
allow the licensee to sell and offer for sale at retail and deliver in
the original package, as therein prescribed, only in the premises
taining mere than 3.2 percent of alechol by weight alcoholic
liquor for use or consumption off of arid away from the prerises
specified in such licenses but not for resale in eny form exdept to
e elub licénsed pursuant to article 26 of chdpter 41 of the Kansas
Statutes Annetated. A retdiler’s license shall perniit sale and
delivery of alcoholic liquor only on the licensed premises and
shall not permit sale of alcoholic liquor for resale in any form,
except that a licensed retailer may: = = = - v T
(1) Sell alcoholic liquor to a temporary permit holder for
resale by such permit holdér; and -~~~ " . T
(2) sell and deliver alcoholic liquor to a caterer orito the
licensed premises of a club or drinking ‘establishment, if such
premises are in the county where the retailer's premises are
located or in an adjacent county, for resale by such club,
establishment or caterer. T
(b) - The holder of a retailer’s license shall not sell, offer for
sale, or give away or permit to be sold, offered for sale; or given'
away in or from the premises as specified in such license any
service; or thing of value whatsoever except alcoholié liquor in’
the original package, ner shell he or she ‘except that a licensed
retailer may charge a delivery fee for delivery to a club, drinking
establishment or caterer pursuant to subsection (a). < 7 -
(c) No licensed retailer shall furish any entertainment in
such premises or permit any pinball machine ‘or game of skill or
chanee to be located in'or on such premises. ce f
' ) (d) A retailer’s license shall allow the licensee to store
wine in" refrigerators;: cold - storage units, ice boxes or other -
cooling devices, and the licensee may sell such wirie to con-
sumers-in'a chilled condition, * " o
Sec. 19. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-310 is hereby
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amended to read as follows: 41-310. (a) At the time application is
made to the director for a license of any class, the applicant shall
pay the fee provided by this section. ‘
" (b) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufac-
ture alcohol and spirits shall be $2,500. ‘
(¢! The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufac-
ture beer (regardless of alcoholic content) shall be:
(1) For 1 to 100 barrel daily capacity or any part thereof, $200.
(2) For 100 to 150 barrel daily capacity, $400.
(3)- For 150 to 200 barrel daily capacity, $700.
(4) For 200 to 300 barrel daily capacity, $1,000.
(5) For 300 to 400 barrel daily capacity, $1,300.
(6) For 400 to 500 barrel daily capacity, $1,400.
(7) - For 500 or more barrel daily capacity, $1,600.
. As used in this subsection, “daily capacity” means the average
daily barrel production for the previous 12 months of manufac-
turing operation. If no basis for comparison exists, the licensee
shall pay in advance for the first year’s operation a fee of $1,000.
(d) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufac-
ture wine shall be $500. .
(e) The annual fee for a farm winery license shall be $250.
- (§  The annual fee for a distributor’s license for the first and
each additional distributing place of business operated in this
state by the licensee and wholesaling and jobbing alcoholic
liquors, except beer shall be $1,250. ' .
 (g) The annual fee for abeer distributor’s license, for the first
and each additional wholesale distributing place of business
operated in this state by the licensee and wholesaling or jobbing
beer shall be $150.
(h). . The annual fee for a nonbeverage user’s license shall be:
(1) For class 1, $10. ,
- (2) For class 2, $50.
(3) For class 3, $100.
(4) For class 4, $200.
(5) For class 5, $500. , '
(i) In addition to the license fees prescribed by subsections
(b), (c), (@), (f), (g) and (h): - o
(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located may
levy and collect an annual occupation or license tax on the
licensee in an amount not exceeding the amount of the annual
license fee required to be paid under this act to obtain the
license, but no city shall impose an occupation or privilege tax on
the licensee in excess of that amount; and
.(2) any township having a population of more than 11,000 in
which the. licensed ‘premises are located, if the premises are
located outside an incorporated city, may levy and collect an
annual occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount not
exceeding the amount of the annual license fee required to be
paid under this act to obtain the license, but no township shall
impose an occupation or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of
that amount; the township board of the township is authorized to

fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be paid by the licensee to”

the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt therefor to the
licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed in the general
fund of the township. ,
i) The annual fee for a retailer’s license shall be $100 $250.
(k) In addition to the license fees prescribed by subsection

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located shall
levy and collect an annual occupation or license tax on the
licensee in an amount not less than $100 or more than $300, but
no other occupation or excise tax or license fee shall be levied by
any city against or collected from the licensee; and

(2) any township having a population of more than 11,000 in
which the licensed premises are located, if located outside any
incorporated city, shall levy and collect an annual occupation or
license tax on the licensee in an amount not less than $100 or
more than $300; the township board of the township is autho-
rized to fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be paid by the
licensee to the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt
therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed
in the general fund of the township. ' .

() The license year for a license shall commence on the date
&: lilc:nse is issued by the director and shall end one year after

t date. :
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Sec. 20. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-310, as
amended by section 19 of this act, is hereby amended to read as

follows: 41-310. (a) At the time application is made to the director

for a license of any class, the applicant shall pay the fee provided
by this section. , e S

(b) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufac-
ture alcohol and spirits shall be $2,500. Co '

(¢) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufac-
ture beer ¢, regardless of alcoholic content), shall be: ‘

(1) For 1'to 100 barrel daily capacity or any part thereof, $200.
~(2) For 100 to 150 barrel daily capacity, $400. S

(3) For 150 to 200 barrel daily capacity, $700. -

(4) For 200 to 300 barrel daily capacity, $1,000. -

(5) For 300 to 400 barrel daily capacity, $1,300.

(6) For 400 to 500 barrel daily capacity, $1,400. -

(7) For 500 or more barrel daily capacity, $1,600. -

As used in this subsection, “daily capacity” means the average °
daily barrel production for the previous 12 months of manufac-
turing operation. If no basis for comparison exists, the licensee
shall pay in advance for the first year’s operation a fee of $1,000.

(d) The annual fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufac-
ture wine shall be $500. ' " ~

(e) - The annual fee for a microbrewery license or a farm
winery license shall be $250. S -

() The annual fee for a spirits distributor’s license for the
first and each additional distributing place of business operated -
in this state by the licensee and wholesaling and jobbing alee-.
holie liquors; exeept beer shall be $3:250 spirits shall be $1,000.

(2) The annual fee for a wine distributor’s license for the
first and each additional distributing place of business operated
in this state by the licensee and wholesaling and jobbing wine
shall be $1,000. . ‘ ~

() (h) The annual fee for a beer distributor’s license, for the
first and each additional wholesale distributing place of business
operated in this state by the licensee and wholesaling or jobbing
beer and cereal malt beverage shall be $150 $1,000. :

&) (i) The annual fee for a nonbeverage user’s license shall
be: : . o I

(1) For class 1, $10. -

(2) For class 2, $50.

(3) For class 3, $100.
' (4) For class 4, $200.

(5) For class 5, $500. S o )

& (j) In addition to the license fees prescribed by subsec-
tions (b), (c), (d), (D), (g) and, (h) and (i): , o -

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located may
levy and collect an annual ‘occupation’ or license tax on the
licensee in an amount not exceeding the amount of the annual
license fee required to be paid under this act to obtain the
license, but no city shall impose an occupation or privilege tax on
the licensee in excess of that amount; and S

(2) any township having a population: of more than 11,000 in
which the licensed premises are located, if the premises are
located. outside an incorporated city, may levy and cellect an
annual occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount not
exceeding the amount of the annual license fee required to be
paid under this act to obtain the license, but no township shall
impose an occupation or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of
that amount; the township board of the township is authorized to
fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be paid by the licensee to
the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt therefor to the
licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed in the general
fund of the township. S -

& (k) The annual fee for a retailer’s license shall be $250.

de) () In addition to the license fees fee prescribed by sub-
section §) (k): o ;

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located shall |
levy and collect an annual occupation or license tax on the
licensee in an amount not less than $100 e nor more than $300,
but no other occupation or excise tax or license fee-shall be
levied by any city against or collected -from the licensee; and

(2)° any township having a population of more than 11,000 in
which the licensed premises are located, if located outside any
incorporated city, shall levy and collect an annual occupation or-

(continued).
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- license tax on the licensee in an amount not less than $100 ex nor

more than $300; the township board of the township is autho- -

rized to fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be paid by the
“licensee to the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt
therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed
in the general fund of the township. .
&) (m) The license year for a license shall commence on the
date the license is issued by the director and shall end one year
after that date. : '

o Sec. 21. K.S.A.41-311 is hereby amended to read as follows:

“41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the

liquor control act to a person: ( ;
(1) Who has notbeen a citizen of the United States for at least
10 years; ‘
' (2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this
 state, any other state or the United States; exeept that this
sabséeﬁea(a)(ﬂ)shdlﬂetpmhibkkeeasafeefapefsenselelyby
reason of eonviction of e nonviolent felony; other than racke-
eemeand#ﬂaepeﬁmhasﬂetbeeneemetedefaaym
-~ {3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provi-

sions of this act or who has had any license issued under the
cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except

that a license may be issued to a person whose license was -

revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at any time after the
lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation; )
 (4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping
a house of prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to
answer charges of being a keeper of a house of prostitution;
(5)' who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gam-
bling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency
and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer
charges for any of those crimes; ,
- (6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who appeints ex, other than as a member of the governing.

body of a city or county, appoints or supervises any law en-
forcement officer, who is a law enforcement official or who is an
employee of the director er the beard; ' '

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the
license as agent of another; .

(9) _who at the time of application for renewal of any license
issued under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a
first application, except as provided by subsection (a)12);

, (30)&\:};1:“:: :hfih*hglder ofiila;:l;d and existing license issued
under is state ing to eerenl malt beverages and
malt produets article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated unless the person agrees to and does surrender the

 license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the
person of a license under this act, except that: L
_“(A) A retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702 and
amendments thereto shall be eligible to receive a retailer’s
-license under the Kansas liquor control act; and . X

(B). a holder of a cereal malt beverages wholesaler’s license
shall be eligible to receive a beer distributor’s license under this
act; o

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is

. sought, or does not have a written lease thereon for at least 34 of
the period for which the license is to be issued; or

(12) - whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license

under this act for any reason other than citizenship, residence

requirements or age, except that this subsection (aX12) shall not.

© apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license.

'(b) No retailer’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of the eounty in which the
premises sought to be licensed are loeated this state;

(2) iﬁﬂaee&seefefetaﬂeé;a‘personwhehﬁsaetbeen;fbrat
‘least twe years immediately preeceding the date of application; &
lieense are loented or a person who has not been a resident of this

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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eounty for the purpose of

state for a total of at least four years immediately preceding the
date of application; exeept that; if the premises sought te be

eounty; the applicant shall be deemed to be a resident of each

3) i-nthe'easeef,af&mwiﬁem&‘p,efsenwhehasaetbeen;
for at least five years immediately preceding the date of applica-
Hon; a resident of the eounty in whieh the premises eovered by
the license are loeated or & person wheo has not been a resident of

this#ateferateﬁalef&tle&st-}@ye&rspreeeéhgtbedateef

applieation; exeept that; if the premises seught te be licensed are
loeated in a eity whieh is loeated in two or mere eountios and the
applicant for license is a resident of either eounty; the applicant
shall be deemed to be a resident of each eounty for the purpese
of i ion;

) (3) a person who has beneficial interest in the manufac-
ture, preparation or wholesaling of alcoholic beverages;

{8} (4) a person or copartnership or association who has ben-
eficial interest in any other retail establishment licensed under
this act;

. 46)(5) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are (iua.li-

fied to obtain a license; or

&7 (6) a corporation.

(¢) No manufacturer’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer; manager or director thereof,
or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the
stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a manu-
facturer’s license for any reason other than citizenship and resi-
dence requirements; ' _

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have
been residents of this state for at least five years immediately
preceding the date of application and unless all the members of
the copartnership would be eligible to receive a manufacturer’s
license under this act;

" (3) an individual who is not a resident of this state; or

(4) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for

at least five years immediately preceding the date of application.
(d)* No distributor’s license shall be issued to:
(1) A corporation, if any officer, manages; director or stock-

holder of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a dis- -

tributor’s license for any reason. It shall be unlawful for any
stockholder of a corporation licensed as a distributor to transfer
any stock in the corporation to any person who would be ineli-

- gible to receive a distributor’s license for any reason, and any

such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any
stockholder owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or
devisee to whom stock of the corporation descends by descent
-and distribution or by will is ineligible to receive a distributor’s
license, the legal representatives of the deceased stockholder’s
estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall have 14 months

" from the date of the death of the stockholder within which to sell

the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor’s license,

- any such sale by a legal representative to be made in accordance

with the provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any
such corporation is the subject of any trust and any trustee or
beneficiary of the trust who is 21 years of -age or older is
ineligible to receive a distributor’s license, the trustee, within 14

months after the effective date of the trust, shall sell the stock to a .

person eligible to receive a distributor’s license and hold and

. disburse the proceeds in accordance with the terms of the trust.

If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail,
refuse or neglect to sell any stock as required by this subsection,
the stock shall revert to and become the property of the corpora-
tion, and the corporation shall pay to the legal representatives,
heirs, devisees or trustees the book value of the stock. During the
period of 14 months prescribed by this subsection, the corpora-
tion shall not be denied a distributor’s license or have its dis-
tributor’s license revoked if the corporation meets all of the other
requirements necessary to have a distributor’s license;

(2) acopartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to
receive a distributor’s license; : :

(3) an individual who is not a resident of this state; or

'(4) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for
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at least 10 years immediately preceding the date of application,
except that:

(A) A wholesaler of cereal malt beverages properly licensed
on September 1, 1948, shall be eligible for a beer distributor’s
license; and - :

** (B) a person who has been a resident of the state for at least

five years immediately preceding the date of application shall be

" eligible for a beer distributor’s license. '

" (e) "No nonbeverage user’s license shall be issued to a corpo-
ration, if any officer, manager or director of the corporation or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock
‘of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage
user’s license for any reason other than citizenship and residence

requirements.

() No farm winery license shall be issued to a:
" (1) Person who is not a resident of the eounty in which the
premises seught to be licensed are loeated this state;

(2) person whe has net been; for at least twe years immedi-
ately preeeding the date of application; e resident of the eounty
in which the premises eovered by the license are loeated or @
person who has not been a resident of this state for a tetal of at
least four years immediately preceding the date of application;
exeept that; if the premises sought te be ki afe ine
eity whieh is loeated in two or more counties and the applieant
for license is a resident of either eounty; the applieant shall be
deemed to be a resident of each county for the purpese of

(3) person who has beneficial interest in the manufacture,
preparation or wholesaling of alcoholic beverages other than that
produced by such winery;

(4) person er, copartnership or association whe which has
beneficial interest in any ether retail establishment retailer
licensed under this act; .

(5) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to
obtain a license; or -

(6) corporation, unless all of the stockholders would be eli-

_gible to receive a license.

_.Sec. 22. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-311, as
amended by section 21, is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the
liquor control act to a person:

. (1) Who has notbeen a citizen of the United States for at least
10 years; )

(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this
state,. any other state or the Unitéd States;

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provi-
sions of this act or who has had any license issued under the

cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except

that a license may be issued to a person whose license was

-revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at any time after the

.lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

<

(4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping
ahouse of prostitution or has forfeited bond to appear in court to
answer charges of being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

. (5) .who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gam-
bling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency
and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer

_charges for any of those crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age; v ,

(7). who, other than as a member of the governing body of a
city or county, appoints or supervises any law enforcement
officer, who is a law enforcement official or who is an employee

_of the director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the
license as agent of another; ' '

-(9). who at the time of application for renewal of any license
issued under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a
first application, except as provided by subsection (a)(12);

.. (10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued

under article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated

.unless the person agrees to and does surrender the license to the

officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a
license under this act, except that:
) a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702 and
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‘to obtain a license; or

amendments thereto shall be eligible to receive a retailer’s
license under the Kansas liquor control act; end

(B) a holder of a cereal malt beverages wheleseler's lieense
shell be eligible to reeeive a beer distributer's lieense under this
. (11) who does not own the premises for which a license is
sought, or does not have a written lease thereon for at least 3/4 of
the period for which the license is to be issued; or - '

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license
under this act for any reason other than citizenship, residence
requirements or age, except that this subsection (a)(12) shall not

. apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license.

“(b) * No retailer’s license shall be issued to:
(1) A person who is not a resident of this state;
(2) aperson who has not been a resident of this state for at

least four years immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) a person who has beneficial interest in the manufacture,

- preparation or wholesaling of alcoholic beverages;

(4) a person or copartnership or association who has benefi-
cial interest in any other retail establishment licensed under this

_ act; S

(5) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified

(6) a corporation. :

(¢) No manufacturer’s license shall be issued to: ,

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock
of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a manufac-
turer’s license for any reason other than citizenship and: resi-
dence requirements; C ‘

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have
been residents of this state for at least five years immediately
preceding the date of application and unless all the members of -
the copartnership would be eligible to receive a manufacturer’s
license under this act; ' ;

(3) an individual who is not a resident of this state; or

(4) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for
at least five years immediately preceding the date of application.

(d) No distributor’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholdér of the
corporation would be ineligible to receive a distributor’s license
for any reason. It shall| be unlawful for any- stockholder. of a
corporation licensed as a distributor to transfer any stock in the
corporation to any person who wouyld be ineligible to receive a
distributor’s license for any reason, and any such transfer shall be
null and void, except that: (A) If any stockholder owning stock in
the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock of the
corporation descends by descent and distribution or by will is
ineligible to receive a distributor’s license, the legal representa-
tives of the deceased stockholder’s estate and the ineligible heir
or devisee shall have 14 months from the date of the death of the -
stockholder within which to sell the stock to a person eligible to
receive a distributor’s license, any such sale by a legal repre-
sentative to be made in accordance with the provisions of the
probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such corporation is the
subject of any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who
is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a distributor’s
license, the trustee, within 14 months after the effective date of
the trust, shall sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a
distributor’s license and hold and disburse the proceeds in
accordance with the terms of the trust. If any legal representa-
tives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or neglect to sell any
stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert to and
become the property of the corporation, and the corporation shall
pay to the legal representatives; heirs, devisees or trustees the
book value of the stock. During the period of 14 months pre- -
scribed by this subsection, the corporation shall not be denied a
distributor’s license or have its distributor’s license revoked if
the corporation meets all of the other requirements necessary to
have a distributor’s license; o S

(2) acopartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to
receive a distributor’s license; o , S

(3) an individual who is not a resident of this state; or .~

(4) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for

' (continued)
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except that: .

(A) A wholesaler of cereal malt beverages properly licensed
on September 1, 1948, shall be eligible for a beer distributor’s
license; and - e :

(B) "a person who has been a resident of the state for at least
five years immediately preceding the date of application shall be
eligible for a beer distributor’s license. :

(e) Nomnonbeverage user’s license shall be issued to a corpo-
ration, if any officer, manager or director of the corporation or any
stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock
of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage
user’s license for any reason other than citizenship and residence
requirements. . )

(f) No microbrewery license or farm winery license shall be
issued to a: - - - ‘

(1) Person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) person who has not been a resident of this state for at least
four years immediately preceding the date of application;

(3} . person who has beneficial interest in the manufacture,
" preparation or wholesaling of alcoholic beverages other than that
produced by such brewery or winery; '

(4) person, copartnership or association which has beneficial
interest in any retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A.
41-2702 and amendments thereto; ‘ :

(5) * copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to
obtain a license; or . -

at least 10 years immediately preceding the date of application,
‘ \

- (6) corporation, unless all of the steekholders would be eli-

. gible to reeeive a lieense stockholders owning in the aggregate

50% or more of the stock of the corporation would be eligible to
receive such license and all other stockholders would be eligible
to receive such license except for reason of citizenship or resi-
dency. o ’ -

Sec. 23. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-312 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-312. No person holding a
manufacturer’s or distributor’s license shall be permitted to
receive any retailer’s, microbrewery or farm winery license. No
person holding a retailer’s, microbrewery or farm winery license
shall be permitted to receive any manufacturer’s or distributor’s
license or another retailer’s, microbrewery or farm winery li-
cense. . : L } '

Sec. 24. On and after January 1,, 1988, K.S.A. 41-313 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-313. No corporation,
either organized under the laws of this state, any other state 6r a
foreign country, shall be issued a manufacturer’s, distributor’s,
microbrewery or farm winery license unless the corporation has
first procured a certificate of authority from the secretary of state
to do business in this state as provided by law, appointed a
citizen of the United States, and resident of Kansas, as its agent
and filed with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly
executed power of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept
service of process from the director; the beerd and the courts of
this state and to exercise full authority of the corporation and full
authority, control and responsibility for the conduct of all busi-
ness and transactions of the corporation within the state relative
toalcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The agent must be
satisfactory to and approved by the director with respect to the
agent’s character. The agent shall at all times be maintained by
the corporation. :

In addition, any corporation organized under the laws of any \

other state or foreign country, as a condition precedent to the
issuance to it of any license, shall file with the secretary of state
of the state of Kansas, a duly authorized and executed power of
attorney, authorizing the secretary of state to accept service of
process from the director; the beard and the courts of this state
and to accept service of any notice or order provided for in this
act, and all such acts by the secretary of state shall be fully
binding upon the corporation. . - ,
‘Sec. 25. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-316 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-316, Licenses to manu-
facturers, distributors, microbreweries, farm wineries and non-
beverage users of alcoholic liquors shall be issued and renewed

¥

by:the director to qualified applicants upon written application,

receipt of bond properly executed and payment in advance of the )

state registration fee and the license fee.

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

Sec. 26. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-317 -is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-317. (a) Applications for
all licenses under this act shall be upon forms prescribed and
furnished by the director and shall be filed with the director in
duplicate. Each application shall be accompanied by a state
registration fee of $50 for each initial application and $10 for
each renewal application to defray the cost of preparing and
furnishing standard forms incident to the administration of this
act and the cost of processing the application. Each application
shall also be accompanied by a deposit of a certified or cashier’s
check of a bank within this state, United States post office money
order or cash-in the full amount of the license fee required to be
paid for the kind of license applied for, which license fee shall be
returned to the applicant if the application is denied. All regis-
tration fees shall be paid into the state treasury by the director
and shall be credited to the state general fund. All license fees
received by the director, including fees received for licenses to
manufacture beer, regardless of its alcoholic content, shall be
paid into the state treasury by the director and shall be credited
to the state general fund. - R

(b) Every applicant for a manufacturer’s, aleoholie liquor
distributer’s; beer distributor’s, nonbeverage user’s, micro-
brewery, farm winery or retailer’s license shall file with the
application a joint and several bond on a form prescribed by the
director and executed by good and sufficient corporate sureties

licensed to do business within the state of Kansas to the director,

in the following amounts:
(1) For a manufacturer, $25,000; g :
(2) for en elechédlie liquer a spirits distributor, $15,000; -
(3) for a beer or wine distributor or a retailer, $2,000;

(4) for nonbeverage users, $200 for class 1, $500 for class 2,

$1,000 for class 3, $5,000 for class 4 and $10,000 for class 5; and

(5) for a microbrewery or a farm winery, $2,000.

If a distributor holds or applies for more than one distribu-
tor's license, only one bond for all such licenses shall be re-
quired, which bond shall be in an amount equal to the highest
applicable bond. : :

(c) - All bonds required by this section shall be conditioned on
the licensee’s compliance with the provisions of this act and

" payment of all taxes, fines and forfeitures which may be assessed

against the licensee.

Sec. 27. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-319 is

hereby amended to read as follows: 41-319. Within 30 days after
an application is filed for a retailer’s, microbrewery or farm
winery license and within 20 days after an application is filed for
amanufacturer’s, distributor’s or nonbeverage user’s license, the

director shall enter an order either refusing ‘or granting the .

license. If the director does not enter an order within the time
prescribed, the license applied for shall be deemed to have been
refused. The director, with the written consent of the applicant
for a license, may delay entering an order on an application for an
additional period of not to exceed 30 days. ‘

Sec. 28. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-320 is

hereby amended to read as follows: 41-320. (a) All proceedings
for the suspension and revocation of licenses of manufacturers;
distributors, retailers, microbreweries, farm wineries and non-
beverage users shall be before the director, and the proceedings

- shall be in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the

secretary of revenue pursuant to K.S.A. 41-210 and amendments
thereto and not inconsistent with law. Except as provided in
subsection (b), no license shall be suspended or revoked except
after a hearing by the director with reasonable notice to tae
licensee and an opportunity to appear and defend. '

(b) When proceedings for tlfe suspension or revocation of a

distributor’s license are filed and the distributor has been issued
more than one license for distributing places of business in this
state, any order of the director suspending or revoking the
license at any one place of business shall suspend or revoke all
licenses issued to the distributor. When one person is the holder
of stock in two or more corporations licensed as distributors

.under the provisions of this act, any order of the director sus-

pending or revoking the license ‘of any such corporation shall

operate as a suspension or revocation of the license of all carpo-

{lations licensed as distributors in which the person is a stock-
older. : 8
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iSec.'29. -On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-321 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-321. Whenever the director
refuses an application for any license or shall suspend or revoke
any license, the director shall prepare an order so providing
which shall be signed by the director or a person designated by
the director, and the seal of the director shall be affixed thereto.
The order- shall state the reason or reasons for such refusal,
suspension or revocation, The order shall be mailed, by certified
mail, by the director to the applicant at the address shown on the
apphcatlon or.to the hcensee at the add.ress of the premises
licensed.

Any apphcant or hcensee aggrieved by any order of the direc-
tor may appeal from such order to the alechelie beverage

of review secretary by filing a notice of appeal with the
secretary of the beard. Such notice of appeal must either be
mailed to the secretary by certified mail or filed with the secre-
tary within 15 days after the date the order to be appealed from
was mailed as provided by this section or, if such appeal is taken
because tHe director has failed to enter the order on an applica-
tion for a license, within 15 days after the date an application for
a‘license is considered to have been refused as provided in
K.S.A. 41-319 and amendments thereto. The notice of appeal
shall be on a form which shall be prescribed and furnished by
the beard secretary. Whenever any such notice of appeal is filed,
the secretary of the beasd shall notify, in writing, the director of
stuch appeal. The secretary at least 10 days before the time fixed
for the hearing shall notify the director and the applicant or
licensee of the time when, and place where, the appeal will be
heard by the beard secretary, such notice to the applicant or
licensee to be made by certified mail. The hearing shall be held
within 30 days after the date of the filing of the notice of appeal
unless the person appealing shall consent to a later hearing.

The secretary of revenue shall adopt, pursuant to K.S.A. 41-210
and amendments thereto, such rules and regulations as neces-
sary to govern the procedure in such hearings. At any such
hearing the applicant or licensee and the director may be present
in person or by agent or counsel and present evidence and
argument. The beard secretary shall have the power to adjourn
any hearing, but no such adjournment shall be for more than five
days unless consented to by the person appealing. Within five
days after the hearing is concluded, the beard secretary shall
render its the secretary’s written opinion, decision and order on
such appeal. A copy of such opinion, decision and order shall be
mailed by the secretary of the beard by certified mail to the
applicant or licensee, and a copy shall be also delivered or
mailed by the secretary of the beard to the director.

Sec: 30. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-322 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-322. For the purpose of hearing
or conducting any appeal authorized to be heard by it; the beard
by the secretary, the secretary shall have power to examine, or
cause to be examined, under oath, any licensee, the dlrector or
other person, and to examine or cause to be examined books and
records of any such licensee; to hear testimony and take proof
material for its information in hearmg such appeal; to administer
or cause to be administered oaths; and for any such purposes to
issue subpoenas to require the attendance of witnesses and the
production. of books which shall be effective in any part of this
state; and any district court or any judge thereof either in term
time or vacation, may by order duly entered, require the attend-
ance of witnesses and the production of relevant books subpoe-
naed by the beard secretary and the district court or judge may
compel obedlence to its er his or her the order by proceedings for
contempt.

Sec. 31. On’ and after July 1; 1987 KS A. 41-323 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-323. Any action of the beard

secretary pursuant to' K.S.A. 41-321 and amendments thereto is’

subject to.review in accordance with the act for judicial review
and civil enforcement of agency actions. At the time of the filing
of the petition for review, the pet:tloner shall give a bond for
" costs conditioned .on the petitioner’s prosecuting the appeal
without-delay and paying all costs assessed against the peti-
tioner. If review of the decision of the district court is sought
pursuant to K:8.A.77-623 and amendments thereto, the director
shall not be réquired to give a bond on such review.

~ -
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Sec. 32. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-328 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-328. (a) In addition to or in lieu of
any other civil or criminal penalty provided by law, the director,
upon a finding that a licensee under the Kansas liquor control act
has violated any provision thereof, may impose on such licensee
a civil fine not exceeding $1,000 for each violation.

(b) No fine shall be impesed pursuant to this section except
upon the written order of the director to the licensee who
committed the violation. Such order shall state the violation, the
fine to be 1mposed and the right of the licensee to appeal to the
board: appeal such order to the board; and the
order. Such order shall be subject to appeal and review in the
manner provided by K.S.A. 41-321, 41-322 and '41-323, and
amendments thereto.

(¢) Any fine imposed pursuant to this section shall be paid to
the state treasurer, who shall deposit the same in the state
treasury and credit it to the state general fund.

(d) This section shall be part of and ‘supplemental to the
Kansas liquor control act.

Sec. 33. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-401 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-401. Every licensed
manufacturer or 0 spirits or wine and every spirits or wine
distributor of liquer exeept beer shall provide at his
such manufacturer’s or distributor’s own expense a warehouse
to be situated on and to constitute a part of his such manufac-
turer’s or distributor’s distillery e¥, winery or as & past of his
premises used for the purpose of distributing, furnishing or
selling sueh liguer spirits or wine for purposes of resale, to be
kept separate and distinct from such distillery, winery or prem-
ises, and to be used only for the storage of sueh ki spirits or
wine manufactured or distributed by him such manufacturer or
distributor for purposes of resale until the tax levied thereon, as
hereinafter provided, shell have has been paid: Previded;. No
dwelling house shall be used for such purpose. Such warehouse,
when approved by the director, shall be a bonded warehouse of
the state of Kansas; and shall be under the control of the directors
and he. The director may assign one or more of his agents to be
known as a ZstorekeeperZ or ZinspectorZ to enforce the provi-
sions of this act with respect to such warehouse or warehouses.

‘Sec. 34. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-402 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-402. The entire stock of
alecholie liguor; exeept beer regardless of its aleoholie content;
of sueh spirits or wine of manufacturers or distributors, except in
the case of a distillery or wine cellar where such hquer spirits or
wine is in the process of distillation or manufacture, shall be kept
in sueh warehouse such manufacturer’s or distributor’s ware-
house approved under K.S.A. 41-401 and amendments thereto.
The director shall prescribe the records which the storekeeper or
inspector shall keep, when assigned, as regards to such liquer
spirits or wine while in the process of manufacture or distillation
and after such liguer shall have spirits or wine has been deliv-
ered to bonded warehouses. Every such warehouse shall be in
the joint custody of the director through his the director’s store-
keeper or inspector, when assigned, and the proprietor thereof,
and shall be kept securely locked and at no time be unlocked or
open, or remain open unless in the presence of such storekeeper;
inspector or other person who may be designated to act for him
the director, as provided by the rale rules and regulations or
order of the director; and no such ligaer spirits or wine shall be
received or delivered in or delivered from such warehouse,
except on order or permit of the director or his the director’s duly
authorized storekeeper, inspector or other agent.

Sec. 35. K.S.A.41-403 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-403. Sueh Alcoholic liquor may, on payment of the tax
thereon, pursuant to the rales of the directer; rules and regula-
tions of the secretary, may be withdrawn, on such triplicate
forms as the director preseribe prescribes, from the ware-
house, pursuant to application to the director or to the store-
keeper or inspector in charge of such warehouse; and. One
triplicate original of each of sueh entry of w1thdrawal shall be
transmitted to the director. When such liquor is withdrawn from
any warehouse for sale only to other distributors or to lieensed
retail liquor dealers in Kansas retailers, clubs, drinking estab-

(continued)
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lishments or caterers, licensed in this state, there shall be affixed
to each original package, container or cask; a bonded warehouse
stamp or stamps indicative of the fact that the gallonage tax
thereon, as hereinafter levied, has been paid. In case of receipt of
such liquor by manufacturers or distributors, entries of sueh
_ reeeipts entry of such receipt to such warehouses shall be made
in triplicate, and one triplicate original of eaeh of sueh entries of
reeeipts such entry of receipt shall be transmitted forthwith by
the proprietor of the warehouse to the director. :
Sec. 36. K.S.A.41-408 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-408. Any common carrier of merchandise owning or operating
any railroad, express company, bus, truck or other transportation
lines or routes for the transportation of merchandise in the state
of Kansas, upon application end filing of & bend in form and
penalty and with sueh suretes as may be approved by the
direetor, may be designated as a carrier of such alcoholic liquor,
for the final release of which liquor, from a bonded warehouse in
the state of Kansas, a permit has not been issued. The consignee
shall be a manufacturer or distributor maintaining a bonded
warehouse for such liquor within the state of Kansas. Neothing in
this seetion shall be eonstrued to prevent or restriet any commen

earrier from transporting in intrastate commeree any such liguer .

without giving the required bond where the consigner is a
bonded warchouse of the state of Kansas and the consignee is e
lieensed retail liquer deeler in this state: Any such liquor arriv-
ing at a point of entry in the state of Kansas may be entered, in
accordance with any rules and regulations which may be
adopted pursuant to K.S.A. 41-210 and amendments thereto, for
transportation in beng to any bonded warehouse in the state of
Kansas. :

Sec. 37. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-409 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-409. &) (a) Before commencing
or continuing business, every manufacturer or distributor of
beer; regardless of its alechelie eontent; or cereal malt beverage
and every importer of beer eentaining mere than 3:2% of aleohol
by weight shall file with the director a notice in writing, which
states: {a) (1) The name of the person, company, corporation or
firm, (b} (2) the name of the members of any such company or
firm, {e} (3) the places of residence of such persons, {d) (4) a legal

_description of the premises on which the office of the manufac-
turer or distributor is situated and of the title thereto and the
name of the owner thereof, and {e) (5) the geographic territory
within which the distributor will distribute beer te retailess or
cereal malt beverage to licensed retailers, clubs and drinking
establishments. No manufacturer or distributor or other supplier
of beer or cereal malt beverage shall enter into an agreement for
the distribution of a brand of beer or cereal malt beverage with
more than one distributor of beer or cereal malt beverage for all
or any part of such geographic territory. Such geographic terri-

tory shall be the territory agreed upon by the manufacturer and

the distributor and it may not be changed or modified without
the written consent of all parties thereto. No supplier or distrib-
utor shall terminate or modify an agreement for the distribution
of abrand of beer or cereal malt beverage or alter the geographic
- territory designated in an agreement unless such supplier or
distributor files written notice thereof with the director not less
than 30 days prior to the termination, modification or alteration.
Upon receipt of such notice, the director shall notify immedi-
ately all affected parties of the impending termination, modifi-
cation or alteration by certified mail. Any supplier or distributor
aggrieved by a termination, modification or transferral made

under this section may file an appropriate action in any district -

court of this state having venue, alleging that the termination,
modification or transferral violates the agreement between the
supplier and the distributor involved. There shall also be filed
with such notice a verified copy of any contractual arrangement
between the manufacturer and distributor, the importer and the
distributor, and the distributor and the retailer, club or drinking
establishment. )

& (b) Every such manufacturer or distributor of beer or
cereal malt beverage on filing notice of the manufacturer or
distributor’s intention to commence or continue business as
required by this section, shall execute a bond to the state of
Kansas to be approved by the director in a sum equal to three

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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times the amount of the tax which, in the opinion of the director,
such manufacturer or distributor will be liable to pay during any
one month and in no event less than $5,000 and conditioned ¢a)

that: (1) The manufacturer or distributor will pay, or cause to be -

paid the taxes or duties required to be paid the state of Kansas
under the Kansas liquor control act on all beer or cereal malt
beverage made or brewed or distributed by or for the manufac-
turer or distributor, before the same it is sold or removed for
consumption or sale from the premises owned or controlled by
the manufacturer or distributor in such manner and at such time
as the director may prescribe pursuant to rules and regulations
adopted under the Kansas -liquor control act; {(b) that (2) the
manufacturer or distributor will keep, or cause to be kept, books
and records and make reports in the manner and for the purposes
specified by rules and regulations adopted under the Kansas
liquor control act, which shall be open to inspection by the
director and the proper agents of the director; (e} thet (3) the
manufacturer or distributor will in all respects faithfully comply
with all the requirements of the laws of the state of Kansas and
the rules and regulations relating to the manufacture and dis-
tribution te licensed cereal malt beverage and beer retailers in
the state of Kansas; (d) that of beer and cereal malt beverage; and
(4) the manufacturer or distributor will execute a new bond once
in four years, or whenever required to do so by the director in the
amount determined under this subsection, and conditioned as
provided by this subsection, which bonds shall be in lieu of any
former bond or bonds of such manufacturer or distributor in
respect to all liability accruing after its approval by the director.

3} (c) The director may require under rules and regulations
adopted as provided in this act; that beer and cereal malt bever-
age be kept, received and withdrawn from bonded warehouses,
as other alcoholic liquors are kept, received and withdrawn as
provided under the Kansas liquor control act, whenever the
director deems that the public interest demands.

) (d) No beer or cereal malt beverage manufactured or
distributed within this state shall be sold under the provisions of
this act until the manufacturers or distributors of such beer or
cereal malt beverage furish satisfactory evidence to the director
that such beess are beer or cereal malt beverage is brewed from
alcoholic fermentation of an infusion of pure hops or pure extract
of hops, and pure barley malt or other wholesome grains or
cereals, and wholesome yeast, and pure water, and are free from
all harmful substances, preservatives and adulterants.

Sec. 38. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-409, as

amended by section 37 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-409. (a) Before commencing or continuing business,
every manufacturer or distributor of beer or cereal malt bever-
age, every beer distributor and every importer of beer shall file
with the director a notice in writing, which states: (1) The name
of the person, company, corporation or firm, (2) the name of the
members of any such company or firm, (3) the places of residence
of such persons, and (4) a legal description of the premises on
which the office of the manufacturer or distributor is situated and

supplier or distributor shall terminate or meodify an agreement
for the distribution of a brand of beer or eereal malt beverage or
alter the geographie territory designated in an agreement unless

1 lios or distributor £ itton notics £ £ with the
Hien or alteration- Upon reeeipt of such netice; the director shall

or trans-
ferral made under this seetion may file an appropriate action in
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eny distriet court of this state heving venue; alleging thet the
termination; modification or wansferral violates the agreement
between the supplier and the distributer involved: There shall
alse be filed with such netice a verified eopy of any contractual
arrangement between the manufacturer and dishibuter; the im-
porter and the distributer; and the distributer and the retailes;
elub or drinking establishment.

(b) Every such manufacturer or distributer of beer or cereal
malt beverage and every beer distributor, on filing notice of the

manufacturer’s or distributor’s intention to com-
mence or continue business as required by this section, shall
execute a bond to the state of Kansas to be approved by the
director in a sum equal to three times the amount of the tax
which, in the opinion of the director, such manufacturer or
distributor will be liable to pay during any one month and in no
event less than $5,000 and conditioned that: (1) The manufac-
turer or distributor will pay, or cause to be paid the taxes or
duties required to be paid the state of Kansas under the Kansas
liquor control act on all beer or cereal malt beverage made or
brewed or distributed by or for the manufacturer or distributor,
before it is sold or removed for consumption or sale from the
premises owned or controlled by the manufacturer or distributor
in such manner and at such time ‘as the director may prescribe
pursuant to rules and regulations adopted under the Kansas
liquor control act; (2) the manufacturer or distributor will keep,
or cause to be kept, books and records and make reports in the
manner and for the purposes specified by rules and regulations
adopted under the Kansas liquor control act, which shall be open
to inspection by the director and the proper agents of the direc-
tor; (3) the manufacturer or distributor will in all respects faith-
fully comply with all the requirements of the laws of the state of
Kansas and the rules and regulations relating to the manufacture
and distribution of beer and cereal malt beverage; and (4) the
manufacturer or distributor will execute a new bond once in four
years, or whenever required to do so by the director in the
amount determined under this subsection, and conditioned as
provided by this subsection, which bonds shall be in lieu of any
former bond or bonds of such manufacturer or distributor in
respect to all liability accruing after its approval by the director.

(c) The director may require under rules and regulations
adopted as provided in this act that beer and cereal malt bever-
age be kept, received and withdrawn from bonded warehouses,
as other alcoholic liquors are kept, received and withdrawn as
provided under the Kansas liquor control act, whenever the
director deems that the public interest demands.

(d) No beer or cereal malt beverage manufactured or distrib-
uted within this state shall be sold under the provisions of this
act until the manufacturers or distributors of such beer or cereal
malt beverage furnish satisfactory evidence to the director that
such beer or cereal malt beverage is brewed from alcoholic
fermentation of an infusion of pure hops or pure extract of hops,
and pure barley malt or other wholesome grains or cereals, and
wholesome yeast, and pure water, and are free from all harmful
substances, preservatives and adulterants.

Sec. 39. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-410 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41—410 (—1-) (a) No distributor of
alcoholic liquor, except beer, shall sell any alcoholic liquor in
this state unless such distributor has filed with the director a
written notice stating each geographic territory, agreed upon in
writing between the distributor and a supplier of the distributor,
within which the distributor sells te retailers one or more brands
of such supplier to. retailers, clubs or drinking establishments
licensed in this state. Such notice shall be accompanied by a map
outlining each geographic territory stated in the notice. No
manufacturer, importer or other supplier shall grant a franchise
for the distribution of a brand to more than one distributor for all
or part of any designated territory.

{2) (b) Each supplier of alcoholic liguers liquor doing busi-
ness within this state shall file with the director a written notice
describing each geographic territory, agreed upon in writing
between the supplier and a distributor, within which the dis-
tributor sells to licensed retailers one or more brands of the
supplier to retailers, clubs or drinking establishments licensed
in this state. |
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£3) (c) - No supplier or distributor shall terminate or modify a
franchise for the distribution of a brand of alcoholic liquor or
alter the geographic territory designated in a franchise agree-
ment unless such supplier or distributor files written notice
thereof with the director not less than thirty (30} 30 days prior to
the termination, modification or alteration. In the case of an
alteration in a franchise territory, siich notice shall be accompa-

"nied by a map outlining the altered territory. Upon receipt of

such notice, the director shall notify immediately, by certified
mail, all affected parties of the impending termmatlon, modifi-
cation or alteration.

) (d) Any notice filed by a supplier pursuant to subsectxon
{3} (c) shall be accompanied by an affidavit stating that the

" termination, modification or alteration is not caused by the

failure of the distributor to violate any provision of the Kansas
liquor control act or any rules and regulauons adopted pursuant
thereto.

{5)(e) Any supplier or distributor aggneved by a termination,
modification or alteration made under subsection (3} (¢) may file
an appropriate action in any district court of this state having -
venue, alleging that the termination, modification or alteration
violates the franchise agreement between the supplier and dis-
tributor involved. ‘

6} (f) No franchise agreement for the distribution of a brand
of alcoholic liquar shall be terminated or modified, nor shall the
territory designated in such an agreement be altered except for
reasonable cause.

€5 (g) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the
Kansas liquor control act.

Sec. 40. On and after Janua.ry 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-410 as
amended by section 39 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-410. (a) No distributor of elechelie liguor; except
bees; shall sell any alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage in
this state unless such distributor has filed with the director a
written notice stating each geographic territory, agreed upon in
writing between the distributor and a supplier of the distributor,
within which the distributor sells one or more brands of such

- supplier to retailers; licensed under the Kansas liquor control

act or under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amendments thereto or to clubs
or drinking establishments licensed in this state under the club
and drinking establishment act. Such notice shall be accompa-
nied by a map outlining each geographic territory stated in the
notice. No manufacturer, importer or other supplier shall granta
franchise for the distribution of a brand to more than one dis-
tributor for all or part of any designated territory.

(b) Each supplier of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage
doing business within this state shall file with the director a
written notice describing each geographic territory, agreed upon
in writing between the supplier and a distributor, within which
the distributor sells one or more brands of the supplier to

. retailers; licensed under the Kansas liquor control act or under

K.S.A. 41-2702 and amendments thereto or to clubs or drinking
establishments licensed in this state under the club and drinking
establishment act.

(c) No supplier or dxstnbutor shall terminate or modify a
franchise for the distribution of a brand of alcoholic liquor or
cereal malt beverage or alter the geographic territory designated
in a franchise agreement unless such supplier or distributor files
written notice thereof with the director not less than 30 days
prior to the termination, modification or alteration. In the case of
an alteration in a franchise territory, such notice shall be accom-
panied by a map outlining the altered territory. Upon receipt of
such notice, the director shall notify immediately, by certified
mail, all affected parties of the impending termination, modifi-
cation or alteration.

(d) Any notice filed by a supplier pursuant to subsectlon (c)

" shall be accompanied by an affidavit stating that the termination,

modification or alteration is not caused by the failure of the
distributor to violate any provision of the Kansas liquor control
act or any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
(e)}lAny supplier or distributor aggrieved by a termination,
modification or alteration made under subsection (c) may file an
appropriate action in any district court of this state having venue,

(continued) .
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alleging that the termination, modification or alteration violates
the franchise agreement between the supplier and distributor
involved.

() No franchise agreement for the distribution of a brand of
alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage shall be terminated or
modified, nor shall the territory designated in such an agreement
be altered, except for reasonable cause.

(2) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the
Kansas liquor control act.

‘Sec. 41. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-501 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-501. (a) As used in thls
section and K.S.A. 41-501a; and amendments thereto:

(1) “Gallon” means wine gallon.

(2) “Federal area” means any lands or premises which are
located within the exterior boundaries of this state and which are
held or acquired by or for the use of the United States or any
department, establishment or agency of the United States.

(b) (1) For the purpose of raising revenue a tax is imposed

- upon the manufacturing, using, selling, storing or purchasing
alcoholic liquors in this state or a federal area at a rate of $.18 per
gallon on all beer contamlng more than 3.2% alcohol by weight;
$.30 per gallon on wine containing 14% or less alcohol by
volume; $.75 per gallon on wine containing more than 14%
alcohol by volume; and $2.50 per gallon on alcohol and spirits.

(2) The tax 1mposed by this section shall be paid only once
and shall be paid by the person in this state or federal area who
«first manufactures, uses, sells, stores, purchases or receives the
alcoholic liquors. The tax shall be collected and paid to the
director as provided in this act. If the alcoholic liquor is man-

ufactured and sold in this state or a federal area, the tax shall be -

pald by the manufacturer, mwrobrewery or farm winery produc-
ing it. If the alcoholic: hquor is imported into this state by a
distributor for the purpose of sale at wholesale in this state or a
federal area, the tax shall be paid by the distributor, and in no
event shall such tax be paid by the manufacturer unless the
alcoholic liquor is manufactured in this state. If not to exceed
one gallon {,or metric equivalent}, per person of alcoholic liquor
has been purchased by a private citizen outside the borders of
the United States and is brought into this state by the private
citizen in such person’s personal possession for such person ’s
own personal use and not for sale or resale, such import is lawful
and no tax payment shall be due thereon.

(¢) Manufacturers, microbreweries, farm wineries or distrib-
utors at wholesale of alcoholic liquors shall be exempt from the
payment of the gallonage tax imposed on alcoholic liquors, upon
satisfactory proof, including bills of lading furnished to the
director by affidavit or otherwise as the director requires, that the
liquors were manufactured in this state but were shipped out of
the state for sale and consumption outside the state.

(d) Wines manufactured|or imported solely and exclusively
for sacramental purposes an&l uses shall not be subject to the tax
provided in for by this section.

(e) .The tax provided for by this section is not 1mposed upon:

(1) Any alcohol or wine, whether manufactured in or im-
ported into this state, when sold to a nonbeverage user licensed
by the state, for use in the manufacture of any of the followmg
when they are unfit for beverage purposes: Patent and proprie-
tary medicines and medlcm#] antiseptic and toilet preparations;
flavoring extracts and syrups and food products; scientific, in-
dustrial and chemical products; or scientific, chemical, experi-
mental or mechanical purpqses or

(2) - the privilege of engaging in any business of interstate
commerce. or otherwise, which business may not be made the
subject of taxation by this state under the constitution and stat-
utes of the United States. )

(f). The tax imposed by this section shall be in addition to all
other taxes imposed by the state of Kansas or by any municipal
corporation or political subdivision thereof.

(g) Retail sales of alcoholic liquor and beer, sales of beer to
consumers by microbreweries and sales of wine to consumers by
farm wineries shall not be subject to the tax imposed by the
Kansas retailers’ sales tax act but shall be subject to the enforce-
ment tax provided for in this act.

(h) Notwithstanding any ordinance to the contrary, no city
shall impose an occupation or privilege tax on the business of
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any person; firn or corporation licensed as a manufacturer,
distributor, microbrewery, farm winery, retailer or nonbeverage
user under this act and doing business within the boundaries of
the city except as specifically authonzed by K. S A. 41-310 and
amendments thereto.

(i) The director shall collect the taxes 1mp0sed by thls sectl(m
and shall account for and turn over-to the state treasurer at least
once each week all moneys collected from the tax: The state
treasurer shall credit 1/10 of the moneys collected from taxes
imposed upon alcohol and spirits under subsection (b)(1) to the
community alcoholism and intoxication programs fund created:
by K.S.A. 41-1126 and amendments thereto and shall credit the:
balance of the moneys collected to the state general fund.

(§) If any alcoholic liquor manufactured in or imported into’
this state is sold to a licensed manufacturer or distributor of this
state to be used solely as an ingredient in the manufacture of any
beverage for human consumption, the -tax imposed upon the
manufacturer or distributor shall be reduced by the amount of
the taxes which have been paid under tlns sectlon as to the
alcoholic liquor so used. ‘

(k) The tax provided for by this section is not 1mposed upon- -
alcohol or wine used by any school or college for scientific,
chemical, experimental or mechanical purposes or by hospitals,
sanitoria or other institutions caring for the sick..-Any school,,
college, hospital, sanatorium or other institution caring for the.
sick may import alcohol or wine for scientific, chemical, experi-
mental, mechanical or medicinal purposes by making apphca-
tion to the director for a permit to import it and receiving sueh a
permit. Application for the permit shall be on a form prescribed
and furnished by the director, and a separate permit shall be

- required for each purchase of alcohol or wine. A fee of $2 shall.

accompany each application. All permits- shall .be. issued. in
triplicate to the apphcant and shall be under the seal of the office
of the director. Two copies of the permit shall be forwarded by
the applicant to the microbrewery, farm winery, manufacturer or
distributor from which the alcohol or wine is purchased, and the
microbrewery, farm winery, manufacturer or distributor shall
return to the office of the director one- copy of the permit with its.
shipping affidavit and invoice. Within 10 days after receipt of any
alcohol or wine, the school, college, hospital or sanatorium
ordering it shall file a report in the office of the director upon.
forms furnished by the director, showing the amount of alcohol
or wine received, the place where it is to be stored, from whom it
was received, the- purpose for which it is_to be used and such
other information as required by the director. Any school;. col-
lege, hospital, sanatorium or institution caring for the sick; which
complies with the provisions of this subsection, shall not-be

required to have any other license to purchase alcohol or :wine .
from a microbrewery, farm winery, manufacturer or distributor..

Sec. 42. K.S.A. 41-506 is hereby amended to read as. follows: .

41-506. The director shall redeem any unused crowns or stamps-
that any purchaser thereof presents. for redemption: within . six:
months after the sale thereof by the director, at the face value
thereof. The director shall prepare a voucher showing the net
amount of such refund due, and the director of accounts and

reports shall draw a warrant on the state treasurer for the same-

and against the alcoholic liquor tax refund fund created by K.S.A.
41-507 and amendments thereto. The secretary of revenue may
adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 41-210 and ~amendments
thereto, rules and regulations prescribing the manner of making

proof of such claims and providing for refunds-of the face value of -

crowns_or stamps affixed to any alcoholic liquor taxed herein

which has become unfit for use and consumption or unsalable . -
where such alcoholic liquor is returned for any of such reasons to -
- the whelesaler distributor who affixed the crowns or stamps

thereto and crowns that may be unfit for use by reason of size,
sanitary condition or other reasons: :Where: the director. finds
such refund proper, the refund may be made by the issuance of, .
tax credit memoranda to such whelesaler distributor which shall *
be accepted as credit on subsequent remlttances for the purchase
of crowns or stamps.

Sec. 43. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A.-41-601 is

hereby amended to read as follows: 41-601. Every manufacturer, ..
distributor, microbrewery which sells any beer-to a beer dis-
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tributor at wholesale and farm winery which sells any wine to a
distributor at wholesale shall between the 1st and 15th day of
each calendar month, make return under oath to the director of
all alcoholic liquor manufactured and sold by the manufacturer,

distributor, microbrewery or farm winery in the course of busx-
ness during the preceding calendar month. In the case of a
distributor, the return shall also show: (a) The total amount of
liquor purchased by the distributor during the preceding calen-
dar month, the names of the distillers or distributors from whom
purchased, the quantity of each brand and the price paid there-
for; and (b) the names and locations of the retailers to whom
alcoholic liguers were liquor was sold by the distributor during
the preceding calendar month, the quantity of each brand and
the price charged therefor. The return shall be made upon forms
prescribed and furnished by the director and shall contain such
other information as the director reasonably requires.

Sec. 44. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-602 is

hereby amended to read as follows: 41-602. It is the duty of each

manufacturer, distributor, microbrewery which sells any beer to
a beer distributor and farm winery which sells any wine to a

distributor to keep complete and accurate records of all sales of

liquor, wine or beer and complete and accurate records of all
“alcoholic liquors produced, manufactured, compounded or im-
ported. The director, in the director’s discretion, may prescribe
reasonable and uniform methods for keeping records by manu-
facturers, distributors, microbreweries and farm wineries as
contemplated by K.S.A. 41-401 through 41-409, and amendments
thereto.
Sec. 45. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-701 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-701. &9 (a) Except as provided in
" subsection (b), no distributor er whelesaler of alcoholic liquor,
except beer, shall sell or attempt to sell any alcoholic liquor
. within this state except to:
{a) (1) A licensed manufacturer, licensed nonbeverage user
~ or licensed distributor; or
~ {b) (2) a licensed retailer, except that, subject to the provi-
sions of subsection (&)} &) (d), no such distributor- ef alechelie

> exeept bees; shall sell a brand of alcoholic liquor to any

retailer whose licensed premises are located outside of the
geographic territory within which such distributor is authorized
to sell such brand, as designated in the notice filed with the
director by the distributor pursuant to K.S.A. 41-410; and
amendments thereto.

(b) A distributor may sell and attempt to sell wine, but only
in barrels, casks and other bulk containers, to:

(1) A licensed caterer; and

(2) a club or drinking establishment licensed in this state,
except that, subject to the provisions of subsection (d), no such
distributor shall sell a brand of wine to any club or drinking
establishment the-licensed premises of which are located out-
side of the geographic territory within which such distributor is
authorized to sell such brand, as designated in the notice filed
with the director by the distributor pursuant to K.S.A. 41410
and amendments thereto.

& (c) No beer distributor shall sell or attempt to sell any
 beer within this state except to:
- (1) A licensed manufacturer licensed nonbeverage user or

licensed distributor;

(2) a licensed caterer; or
(3)  a retailer, club or drinking establishment licensed in this
state, except that, subject to the provisions o{ subsection (d), no
such distributor shall sell beer to any retailer whe is, club or

drinking establishment if such retailer’s, club’s or establish-.

ment’s licensed premises are located outside the geographic
territory designated in the notice filed with the director by the
distributor pursuant to K.S.A. 41-409 and amendments thereto.

@) {e) (d) (1) If any beer distributor refuses to sell beer or

provide service in connection therewith to any retailer located
within such beer distributor’s geographic territory, it shall be
lawful for any other beer distributor to sell beer to such retailer.

@) (2) If any licensed distributor of alcoholic liguor, except
beer, refuses to sell alcoholic liquor which such distributor is
authorized to sell or refuses to provide any service in connection
therewith to any retailer located within such distributor’s geo-
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graphic territory, it shall be lawful for any other licensed dis-.
tributor of alcoholic liquor, except beer, to sell such llquor to

such retailer.
£3) (e) No manufacturer of alcoholic liquor shall sell or at-
tempt to sell any alcoholic liquor within this state except to a

.. licensed manufacturer, licensed distributor or licensed nonbe-

verage user, except that the holder of a license to manufacture
beer may attempt to sell or sell beer manufactured by such
manufacturer to retailers licensed in this state, but a licensed.
manufacturer of beer shall not sell or attempt to sell any beer
manufactured by such menufacturer containing net to exceed
thfeeendéwe-ten&hspeteent(&-ﬁ-%)efdeeholbywe*ghtcereal
malt beverage to any person in this state other than a wholesaler
or distributor licensed as such under the laws of this state
relating to cereal malt beverages and malt products. S
" 4} () No supplier, wholesaler, distributor, manufacturer or
importer shall by oral or written contract or agreement, expressly
or impliedly fix, maintain, coerce or control the resale price of
alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage to be resold by
such wholesaler, distributor, manufacturer or 1mporter, exeept
that @ lieensed distributer

&) ( g) Any suppher, wholesaler, dxstnbutor or manufacturer
violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a mis-
demeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a
fine of not less than five hundred delars ($500) $500. and not
more than ene thousand deHears ($1;000) $1,000, to which may be
added not to exceed six (6} months’ imprisonment. In addition,
any supplier, wholesaler, distributor, manufacturer or 1mporter
violating the provisions of this section relating to fixing, main-

" taining or controlling the resale price of alcoholic liquor, beer or

cereal malt beverage shall be liable in a civil action to treble the
amount of any damages awarded plus reasonable attomey fees
for the damaged party.

Sec. 46. On and after January 1, 1988, KS. A 41-701 as

. amended by section 45, is hereby amended to read as follows
* 41-701. (a) Except as prov1ded in subsection b} (d), no spirits

distributor ef aleohelie liquer; exeept bees; shall sell or attempt:
to sell any alecholie liguer spirits within this state except to::

(1) A licensed manufacturer, licensed nonbeverage user or
licensed spirits distributor; or

@) a licensed retailer, exeept that; subjeettoﬂaepfewswas of
(d-);ﬂe.sneh d*s(ﬁbutofsh&l-lseu u brand of aleoholie

authorized by K.S.A. 41-306 and amendments thereto. :

(b) A distributer may sell and attempt to sell wine; butenly in
barrels; easks and other bulk eentainers; Except as provided in
subsection (d), no wine distributor shall sell or attempt to sell
any wine within this state except to:

(1) A licensed manufacturer, licensed nonbeverage user -or
licensed wine distributor; ‘

(2) a licensed caterer; and or '

) &(3) aretailer, club or drinking establishment, heensed :
in this state, exeept that; subjeet to the provisions of
(d)-nesuehd*s&%batersh&ﬂseﬂabmdefwmete&nyekbor
drinking establischment the licensed premises of which are lo-
eated outside of the geographie territory within whieh sueh
distzributer is autherized to sell sueh brand; as designated in the
notice filed with the direetor by the distributer pursuent to
KS-A: 41410 end a-mend-men-ts thereto as authorized by sectmn
15.

(c) Except as provided by subsection (d), no beer dlstnbutor
shall sell or attempt to sell any beer or cereal malt beuerage
within this state except to:

(1) A licensed manufacturer, lxcensed nonbeverage user or
licensed beer distributor;

(2) a licensed caterer; or

(3) aretailer; licensed under the Kansas liquor control act or
under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amendments thereto or a club or

(continued)
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, drmkmg estabhshment licensed in this state, e*eept that; sub-
jeet to the prews;ens ef

authorized by 41-307 and amendments thereto. .

(d) (1) If any beer distributer refuses to sell beer or provide
serviee in eonneection tlaefewith to any retailer located within
suehbee;ehs&nbuter—s territory; it shall be lawful for

2) Henylicensed distributor of alechelie liquor; exeept beer;
spirits distributor refuses to sell aleehelie liquer spirits which
such distributor is authorized to sell or refuses to provide any
service in- connection therethh to any lwensed retailer loeated
within sueh geographie as authorized by
K.S.A. 41-306 and amendments thereto, it shall be lawful for any
other licensed spirits distributor of aleehelie liquor; exeept beer;
to sell sueh hquef to sell such spirits to such retailer.

(2). If any wine distributor refuses to sell wine which such
‘ dtstnbutor is authorized to sell or r‘?'uses to furnish service in

connection therewith to any licensed retailer, as authorized by
section 15, it shall be lawful for any other licensed wine dis-
tributor to sell such wine to such retailer.

(3) If any beer distributor refuses to sell beer or cereal malt
beuerage which such distributor is authorized to sell or provide
service in connection therewith to any retailer licensed under
this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amendments thereto, as
authorized by K.S.A. 41-307 and amendments thereto, it shall be
lawful for any other licensed beer distributor to sell such beer or
cereal malt beverage to such retailer.

{e) No manufacturer of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt bever-
age shall sell or attempt to sell any alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage within this state except to a licensed manufacturer,
licensed distributor or licensed nonbeverage user; exeept that

sel-lere&em'pttesellenyeeredm&ltbevemgete&nypmenin '

this state other than e whelesaler or distributor licensed as such
underdaehwsefthws&aterelahﬂgteeeiedmaltbevemgesaad
# No suppher wholesaler, distributor, manufacturer or im-
porter shall by oral or written contract or agreement, expressly or
impliedly fix, maintain, coerce or control the resale price of

alcoholic hquor, beer or cereal malt beverage to be resold by -

such wholesaler, distributor, manufacturer or importer.

(g) Any supplier, wholesaler, distributor or manufacturer'

violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a mis-
demeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a
fine of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000, to which may
be added not to’ exceed six months’ imprisonment. In addition,
any supplier, wholesaler, distributor, manufacturer or importer
violating the piovisions of this section relating to fixing, main-
taining or controlling the resale price of alcoholic liquor, beer or
cereal malt beverage shall be liable in a civil action to treble the
amount of any damages awarded plus reasonable attorney fees
for the damaged party.

Sec. 47. On and after July l 1987 K.S.A. 41-702 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-702. (—l-) It shall be unlawful for
any person having a retailer’s lieense (a) Except to the extent

. permitted pursuant to K.S.A. 41-703 and amendments thereto,
no licensed retailer, club, drinking establishment or caterer; or
any officer, associate, member representative or agent of such
lieensee to thereof, shall accept, receive; or borrow money; or
anything else of value, or te accept or receive credit, directly or
mdlrectly, om: (1) Any ﬁersen-pemaefsh-n-p ©oF eorporation en-
gaged in the manufeeturing; or whelesaling of sueh
liquor; or frem manufacturer or dtstnbutor (2) any person
connected with e#, in any way representing; or from any or a
member of the famxly (of)' suebh a migufacturer, or distributor er

; of from; (3) any stockholders in any eerperation
engeged in mmfaetufmg- distributing or whelesaling of sueh
ligues; or from a manufacturer or distributor; or (4) any officer,
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manager, agent or representative of sueh a manufacturer— or
distributor es - It shall be unlawful for any. ‘
(b) Except to the extent permitted pursuant to K.S.A. 41- 703
and amendments thereto, no manufacturer; or distributor er
wheleseler to shall give or lend money or anything of value or
otherwise loan or extend credit, directly or indirectly, to any
suech licensee retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A.
41-2702 and amendments thereto, or to any licensed club;
drinking establishment or caterer, or to the manager, represent-
ative, agent officer or director of sueh licensee thereof.
If any recipient of a license to sell intoxieating liquors at
retail or whelesale shell violate any of the previsions of subdivi-

| sion (-1-) of this seetion; his lieense (c) If any licensed retailer;

distributor, manufacturer club, drinking establishment or ca-
terer violates any provision of this section, the license of such
retailer, distributor, manufacturer, club, drinking establish-
ment or caterer shall be suspended or revoked by the director in
the manner provided by law for revocation or suspensmn for
other violations of this act.

Sec. 48. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41 703 is hereby
ameénded to read as follows: 41-703. (a) Except as provided by
subsection (d), no manufacturer; or distributor er whelesaler
shall directly or indirectly: (1) Sell, supply, furnish, give e, pay
for, e¥ loan or lease; any fumlshmg, fixture or equipment on the
premises of a place of business of another lieensee autherized
under this aet to sell alecholie liquer at retail a licensee under the
club and drinking establishment act or a retailer licensed under
the Kansas liquor control act or under K.S.A. 41-2702 and
amendments thereto; (2) pay for any such licensee’s or retailer’s
license, or advance, furnish, lend or give money for payment of
such license; (3) purchase or become the owner of any note,’
mortgage or other evidence of indebtedness of sueh lieensee any’
such licensee or retailer or any form of security therefor; (4) be
interested in the ownershlp, conduct or operation of the business
of any lieensee to sell alecholie liguor at retail such

_ licensee or retailer; or (5) be interested, directly or indirectly, or

as owner, part owner, lessee or lessor thereof in any

premises
" upen which aleoholie liquer is seld at retail the lzcensed prem;.

ises of any such licensee or retailer.

(b)" Except as provided by subsection (d), no manufacturer, or
distributor er whelesaler shall, directly or indirectly, or througha
subsidiary or affiliate; or by any officer, director or firm of such
manufacturer; or distributor ex whelesalef furnish, give, lend or
rent any interior decorations or any signs, for-inside. or outside
use, for use in or about or in connection with any ene establish-
ment on whieh the licensed premises of a licensee under the club
and drinking establishment act, or a retailer licenised under the:
Kansas liquor control act or under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amend-
ments thereto products of the manufacturer; or distributor e

are sold.

(c) Nopemenengagedmthebasmessofm&aufae@uﬁag-:

aleohelie liqguoers manufacturer or
distributor shall directly or indirectly pay for or advance, furnish
or lend money for the payment of any lieenses for another license
of another under the club and drinking establishment act, the
Kansas liquor control act or K.S.A. 41-2702 and:- amendments :
thereto.

(d) A manufacturer or distributor may furnish things of
value to a licensee under the club and drinking establishment
act or to a retailer licensed under the Kansas liquor control act
or under K.S.A. 41-2702 .and amendments thereto to the extent
permitted by rules and regulations adopted by the secretaryr
pursuant to subsection (e).

(e). The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations permit-
ting manufacturers and distributors to- furnish equipment,
signs, supplies or similar things of value to licensees under the
club and drinking establishment act or to a retailer. licensed
under the Kansas liquor control act or under K.S.A. 41-2702 and
amendments thereto. Such rules and regulations shall limit the
furnishing of such things of value so that they are not condi-
tioned on or an inducement to the purchase of any alcoholic
liquor or cereal malt beverage. In adopting such rules and
regulations, the secretary shall consider and, to the extent the
secretary determines suitable, base such rules and regulations
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" on the standards of the bureau of alcohol tobacco and ﬁrearms
of the United States treasury.
~ Sec. 49. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S A. 41-709 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-709. No manufacturer; or
distributor er whelesaler shall sell or. deliver any package con-
taining alcoholic liquor manufactured or distributed by him such
~manufacturer or distributor for resale, unless the person to
whom such package is sold or delivered is authorized to receive
such package in accordance with the provisions of this act:
- Thet a may sell or deliver beer eontain-
ing not more than 3:2 pereent of aleohol bywetghtmanufaemfed
by him for resale to a wholesaler or distributor licensed
ﬂaelawsefth&sstetefela&ngteeereelmakbevefages The
director shall revoke the license of any manufacturer; or distrib-
utor er whelesaler who violates the provisions of this section.
Sec. 50. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-710 is
. hereby amended to read as follows: 41-710. (a) No retailer’s
license shall be issued for premises which are located in areas
- not zoned for general commercial or business purposes, if the
city or township in which the premises are located is zoned or
are not approved by the director, if the premises sought to be
licensed are located outside an incorporated city in a township
which is not zoned.
(b) No mzcrobrewery license or farm wmery license shall be
issued for premises which are zoned for any purpose except
agricultural, commercial or business purposes.

(c) No retailer’s, microbrewery or farm winery license shall -

be issued for premises which:

(1) Are located within 200 feet of any public or parochial

school or college or church, except that if any such school,

college or church is established within 200 feet of any licensed
premises after the premises have been licensed, the premises
shall be an eligible location for retail licensing; and

(2) do not conform to the building ordinances or laws of the
state or city or, in the absence of such ordinances or laws, are not

structurally in good condition or are in a dilapidated condition.
* Sec. 51. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-714 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-714. (a) It shall be
unlawful for: -

(1) Any person to advertise any alcoholic llquor by means of
handbills;

(2) any person to advertise any alcoholic liquor by means of
billboards along public highways, roads and streets or for any
owner or occupant of any property to permit any billboard
advertising alcoholic liquor to remain on the property;

(3) any retailer of alcoholic liquor to have any sign on the
licensed premises in violation of subsection (b); or -

(4) any licensee to dlsplay alcoholic liquor in any window of

- the licensed premises.
(b) No retailer shall have more than one sign on the licensed
" premises. The sign shall contain nothing but the license number,
the name of the retailer and the words “Retail Liquor Store.” No
letter or figure in the sign shall be more than four inches high or
three inches wide. If more than one line is used, the lines shall
be not more than one inch apart. The sign shall be placed on the
corner of a window or on the door.

(c) The provisions of this section shall not be mterpreted to
prohibit the advertising of a microbrewery or farm winery, but
before July 1, 1989, no adverhsmg of a farm winery shall adver-
tise the sale of wines by the winery or the prices of those wines
and before July 1, 1989, no advertising of a microbrewery shall
advertise the sale of beer by the brewery or the prices of that
beer. Any advertising of a farm winery or microbrewery shall be
subject to approval by the director prior to its dissemination.

(d) On and after July 1, 1989, the provisions of this section

shall not be interpreted to prohzbtt advertising of the price of
any alcoholic liquor or advertising ¢;f any alcoholic liquor by
brand name, and no rule and regulation adopted hereunder
shall prohibit such advertising.

{d) (e) The secretary of revenue may adopt, in accordance
with K.S.A. 41210 and amendments thereto, rules and regula-

tions necessary to regulate and control the advertlsmg, in any -

form, and display of alcoholic liquor and nothing contained in
this section shall be construed as limiting the secretary’s power
to adopt such rules and regulations not in conflict with this act.
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Sec. 52. On and after .January 1, 1988 K.S. A 41—717 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41 717. (a) No petson shall
sell or furnish at retail and no microbrewery or farm winery shall
sell to any consumer any alcoholic liquor on ¢redit; on a pass-
book; on order on i store; in exchange for any goods, wares or
merchandlse, or in payment for any services rendered. If any
person extends credit in violation of this seetion subsection, the
debt attempted to be created shall not be recoverable at Taw.

(b) No microbrewery, farm winery or retailer of alcoholic
liquor shall agcept a check for payment for aleoholic liquors sold
by the winery or retailer to a consumer, other than the personal
check of the person making the purchase. -

Sec. 53. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41—718 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-718. (a) No person except
a manufacturer, distributor, microbrewery, farm winery or
wholesaler shall fill or refill, in whole or in part, any original .
package of alcoholic liquor with the same or any other kmd or
quality of alcoholic liquor.

(b) No person shall have in the person’s possession for sale at
retail any bottles, casks or other containers contammg alcohohc
liquor, except in original packages. -

Sec. 54. K.S.A.41-719 is hereby amended to read as follows
41-719. (a) Execept as provided in &); No person shall
drink or consume alcoholic liquor upen on the public streets,
alleys, roads or highwayss in beer § > taverns; poel halls or

to which the genera-} publie has aecess; whether or not an
admission or other fee is eharged or eel-leeted- upen property
owned by the state or eny sabd-wrs*en thereof; or
inside vehicles while upen on the public streets, alleys, roads or
highways.

(b) %epmasefsubsee&eﬁéa-)sheuaetappl-yteﬂae
drinking or eonsumption of aleoholie liquor No person shall
drink or consume alcoholic liquor on private property except:

(1) On premises where the sale of liguor by the individual
drink is authorized by the club and drinking establishment act;

(2) upon private property by a person occupying such. prop-
erty as an owner or lessee of an owner and by the guests of such
person, if no charge is made for the serving or mixing of any
drink or drinks of alcoholic liquor or for any substance mixed
with any alcoholic liquor and if no sale of alcoholic liquor in
violation of K.S.A. 41-803 and amendments thereto takes place;

(3) in a lodging room of any hotel, motel or boarding house
by the person occupying. such room and by the guests of such.
person, if no charge is made for the serving or mixing of any

‘drink or drinks t;f alcoholic liquor or for any substance mixed

with any alcoholic liquor and if no sale of alcoholic liquor in
violation of K.S.A. 41-803 and amendments thereto takes place;

(4)- ina private dining room of a hotel, motel or restaurant, if
the dining room is rented or made available on a special occa-
sion to an individual or organization for a private party and if
no-sale of alcoholic liquor in violation of K.S.A. 41-803 and,
amendments thereto takes place; or ;

(5) on and after ]anuary 1, 1988, on the premises of @ micro-
brewery or farm_winery, tf authorized by K.S.A. 41-308a or
section 138, and amendments thereto. ~

(¢) No person shall drink or consume alcoholw liquor. on
public property. except: »

(1) Ypen On real property leased by acity to others under the ,
provisions of K.S.A. 12-1740 te 12-1749; inelusive through 12-
1749, and amendments thereto, if such real property is actually
being used for hotel or motel purposes .or purposes incidental
thereto.

(2) In any state owned or operated bulldmg or structure, and
upen on the surrounding premises, which are is furnished to and
occupied by any state officer or employee as a residence,

(3): 'In e elub which is licensed by the di s and which is
loepted upen On premises licensed as a club or drinking es-
tablishment and located on property owned or operated by an.
airport authority created pursuant to chapter 27 of the Kansas -
Statutes Annotated- :

or established by a city having a populatlon of more than,

200,000.
( contmued )
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(4) On the state fair grounds on the day of any race held -

thereon pursuant to the Kansas parimutuel racing act.

(5) Ypen On property exempted from the previsiens of sub-

S(Behon(a) this subsection (c) pursuant to subsection e} ex (d), (e),
or (g)

{e}(d) Any city having a population of more then 200,000 may
exempt, by ordinance, specified property, title of which is vested
insuch city; from the provisions of subsection ¢} (c).

{d) (e) The board of county commissioners of any county
heving & pepulation of net less then 150,000 may exempt, by
resolution, specified property, the title of which is vested in such
county, from the provisions of subsection () (c).

- (f) The state board of regents may exempt from the provi-
sions (;f subsection (c) specified property which is under the
control of such board and which is not used for classroom
instruction, where alcoholic liquor may be consumed in ac-
cordance with policies adopted by such board. ‘

(g} The board of regents of Washburn university may exempt
from the provisions of subsection (c) specified property the title

{ which is vested in such board and which is not used for
classroom instruction, where alcoholic liquor may be consumed
in accordance with policies adopted by such board.

.{e)(h) Violation of any provision of subseetion {a) this section
is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $50 or

more than $200 or by imprisonment for not more than six months,

or both..

Sec. 55. K.S.A. 41-727 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-727. (a) Except with regard to serving of alcoholic liquor as
permitted by K.S.A. 41-308a, 41-2610 or section 138, and
amendments thereto, no person under 21 years of age shall
possess, consume, obtain er, purchase; or attempt to obtain or
lp;urchase— alcohohc liquor &em any persen except as authorized

y law :

(b). Violation of this subseetion section by a person 18 or more
years of age but less than 21 years of age is a misdemeanor
punishable by a fine of not less than $100 end net mere than $350
or by nor more than $250. In addition to such fine, the court may
order the offender to pe1form 40 hours of public service; er by
both. -

&) Nepeﬁenuﬂdefa}yeafsefegesheupessessefeenwme
elechelie liguor exeept as authorized by law:

%oln&eaef%h&ssubsee&enbyepemenl&efmereyeﬁsefege
but less than 21 years of age is @ punishable:

1) . By a fine of not less then $100 and net mere then $250 or
by%hemefpubheseme&efbybeﬁa-#eem&eden

premises lieensed pursuant to artiele 26 of chapter 41 of the

KaﬂsasS-tatu-tesAnnetateéef

4D byaﬁaeefaetless%han%mdﬂetmereﬂmn%efby
Hbeu-rsefp&bhesemee—erbybeth-ffeemmﬁtedeﬂ&ﬂyoﬂaef

{c) Any person less than 18 years of age who violates thls
section is a juvenile offender under the Kansas juvenile offend-
ers code and;. Upon adjudlcatlon thereof; shell be required as @
eendrlhen of

subsee&eﬂ(a)ef &) and as.a condition of disposition, the court
shall require the offender to pay a fine of not less than $100 nor
more than $250. In addition to such fine, the court may order
the offender to perform 40 hours of pubhc service.

(d) This section shall be part of and supplementa.l to the
Kansas liguor control act.

Sec. 56. K.S.A. 41-803 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-803. (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to own, maintain,
operate or conduct, either directly or indirectly, an open saloon.

(b) As used in this section, “open saloon” means any place,
public or private, where alcoholic liquor is sold or offered or kept
for sale by the drink or in any quantity of less than 100 milliliters
(3:4 fluid ounces) or sold or offered or kept for sale for consump-
tion on the premises where sold, but does not include any elub

pursuant to ertiele 26 of chapter 41 of the Kansab
St&tutes Asmotated premises where the sale of liquor is autho-
rized by the club and drinking establishment act or, on and after

January 1, 1988, any microbrewery or farm winery, if autho-

rized by KSA. 41-308a or section 138 ‘and amendments thereto.

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

(c) Any violation of the provisions of this' section is a mis-
demeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500 and by
imprisonment for.not more than 90 days:

Sec. 57. On and after January 1, 1988, KS.A. 41901 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-901 (a) ‘No person shall
manufacture, import for distribution as a distributor at wholesale
or distribute or sell alcoholic liquor e¢ beer or manufacture
eontaining not mere than 3:2% alechel by weight or cereal malt

beverage at any place within the state without having first

obtained a valid license se to do the;‘celfor under the provisions of
this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702 and amendments thereto. No
person shall obtain a license to carry on the business authorized
by the license as agent for another, obtain a license by fraud or
make any false statement or otherwise violate any of the provi-
sions of this act in obtaining any license hereunder. No person
having obtained a license hereunder shall violate any of the
provisions of this act with respect to the manufacture, posses-
sion, distribution or sale of alcoholic liquor er beer; with respeet
to the manufacture of beer containing not more than 3:2% alechol
by weight or cereal malt beverage; or with respect to the main-
tenance of the licensed premises.

(b) Violation of subsection (a) shall be punishable as follows,

except where other penalties are specifically provided by law:

(1). For a first offense, by a fine of not more than $500; and

(2) fora second or subsequent offense, by a fine of not more
than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than six moniths, or
both. .

(c) Each day any person engages in business as a manufac-
turer, distributor, microbrewery, farm winery or retailer in vio-

lation of the provisions of thxs act shall constitute a separate.

offense.
(d) Any hcense obtained to carry on the business as agent for

another or any license obtained by fraud or by false statements
shall be revoked by the director. When a license has been

revoked for obtaining a license to carry on the business autho-
rized by the license as agent for another, or obtained a license by
fraud or by any false statement, all alcoholic liquor in the pos-
session of the person who procured the license shall be forfeited
and sold and the proceeds of the sale shall be paid to the county
treasurer of the county where the alcoholic liguers were liquor
was located. During the pendency of any appeal from any order
revoking a license, the director may obtain an order from the
district court of the county where the alcoholic liquor is located,
restraining the sale or disposal of the alcoholic liquor. When an
order revoking any license is issued by the director, the director
shall forthwith forward by registered mail a certified copy of the
order revoking the license under the seal of the director to the
county. attorney of the county where the “alcoholic hquor is
located.

Within 15 days after the order of revocation becomes ﬁnal the
county attorney shall institute, against the person who procured
the license, a civil action under the code of civil procedure in the
district court of the county in the name of the state of Kansas on

- the relation of the county attorney to forfeit all alcoholic liguor

ageinst the person who preeured the lieense. Summons shall be
served as provided by the code of civil procedure upon the
person who procured the license. Upon the return day of the
summons issued or as soon after as convenient to the court, an
order shall be entered by the court forfeiting the alcoholic
liquers liquor to the state of Kansas and ordering them it to be
sold by the sheriff of the county in which the forfeiture occurred.
The order shall fix the time and place of sale and the method and'

‘manner in which the sale shall be held, together with notice of

the sale as the court directs. After payment of all costs of the
action, mcludmg a reasonable fee for the county attorney, the
balance remaining shall be paid to the state treasurer pursuant to
K.S.A. 20-2801 and any amendments thereto. ,

Sec. 58. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-1101 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-1101. (a) No distributor licensed

under this act shall purchase any alcoholic liquor from any .

manufacturer, owner of alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a
marketable ptoduct, exclusive agent of such manufacturer or
owner, farm winery or distributor of alcoholic liquor bottled in a
forelgn country either within or without this state, unless the

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

NEW STATE LAWS

beer



NEW STATE LAWS

KANSAS REGISTER o | 787

manufacturer, owner, exclusive agent; farm winery or distributor
- files with " the director ‘a written ‘statement_sworn to by the
manufacturer, owner, exclusive agent, farm winery. or distributor

or, in case of a‘corporation, one of its priricipal officers, agreeing

to sell any of the brands or kinds of alcoholic liquor manufac-
tured or distributed by the manufacturer, owner, exclusive agent,
farm winery or distributor to any distributor licensed in this state
and having a franchise to distribute the alcoholic liquor pursuant
to K.S.A. 41-410.and amendments thereto; to make such sales to
all such licensed distributors in this state at the same current
price and without discrimination; and to file price lists showing
the current prices of spirits and wine in the office of the director
as often as may be necessary- or required.by.the director but at
least once each three months. If any manufacturer, owner, €x-
- clusive agent, farm winery or distributor making the agreement
violates the agreement by refusing to sell such alcoholic liquor to
any such franchised licensed distributor in this state or discrim-
inates in current prices among such franchised licensed distrib-
utors making or attempting to make purchases of alcoholic liquor
from the manufacturer, owner; exclusive-agent, farm winery or
distributor, the director shall notify, by registered mail, each
such franchised licensed distributor in this state of the violation.
Thereupon, it shall be unlawful for a franchised licensed dis-
tributor-in this state to purchase any alcoholic liquor from the
manufacturer, owner, exclusive agent, farm winery. or distribu-
tor. If thereafter such a franchised licensed distributor purchases
* any alcoholic liquor from the manufacturer, owner, exclusive
agent, farm winery or distributor, such franchised distributor’s
license shall be revoked by the director. If any. manufacturer,
owner, exclusive agent, farm winery or distributor of alcoholic
liquor bottled in a foreign country, making any agreement here-
under, does not have a sufficient supply of alcoholic liquor of any
of the brands or kinds which the manufacturer, owner, exclusive
agent, farm winery or distributor manufactures or distributes to
supply the demands-of all licensed distributors having a fran-
chise to. distribute such alcoholic. liquor, the manufacturer,
owner, exclusive agent, farm winery or distributor may ration
such aleoholic liquor and apportion the available supply among
such franchised licensed distributors purchasing or attempting to
purchase it, in accordance with a plan which shall be subject to
the approval of the director. The provisions of this subsection

relating to the filing.of price lists with-the director shall not apply -

to any-manufacturer with respect to aleohelie liquer spirits or
wine manufactured or bottled in a foreign country:

(b). No retailer, licenised .under this act shall purchase any
alcoholic liquor from any distributor licensed under this. act
unless the distributor files with the director a written statement
sworn.to. by.the distributor, or.in case-of a-corporation by one of
its principal officers, agreeing to sell any of the brands or kinds of
alcoholic liquor. distributed by the distributor and to provide
service in connection therewith to any licensed retailer whose
licensed premises are located within the geographic territory of
the distributor’s franchise for the alcoholic liguess liguor, unless
written approval ta do otherwise is. obtained from the director; to
make such sales to all such licensed retailers at the same current
bottle and case price:and without discrimination; and to file
price lists showing the current bottle and case price of spirits
and wine in the office of the director as-often as may be necessary
orrequired by the director-but at least once each three months. If
any distributor making the agreement violates the agreement by
refusing to sell.orprovide service to any such licensed retailer in
this state without written: approval of the direetor.or discrimi-
nates in current prices  amorig such licensed retailers making or
attempting to.make:purchases of alcoholic liquor from the dis-
tributor, the director shall may revoke.the license of the distrib-

utor.; If any licensed -distributor making’any agreement hereun-.

der does not have a sufficient supply of alecholic liguor of any of
the brands or kinds which the distributor distributes to supply
the demands of all such-licensed retailers,. the distributor may
ration such alcoholic liquor and apportion the available supply
. among such licensed retailers purchasing or attempting to pur-
chase the same, in accordance with a plan which shall be subject
to the approval of the director.

(¢) No club or drinking, establ,ishﬁe‘ﬁi licensed in this state

shall purchase any wine or beer from any distributor licensed
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under this act unless the distributor files with the director a
written statement sworn to by the distributor, or in case of a
corporation by one of its principal officers, agreeing to sell any
Z[ the brands or kinds of wine or beer distributed by the
istributor to those clubs and drinking establishments to which
the distributor is authorized to sell such wine or beer and to
which the distributor desires to sell such wine or beer, unless .
written approval to do otherwise is obtained from the director;
to make such sales to all such licensed clubs or drinking es-
tablishments at the same current bottle and case price and
without discrimination; and to file price lists showing the cur-
rent bottle and case price of wine in the office of the director as
often as may be necessary or required by the director but at
least once each three months. If any distributor making the
agreement violates the agreement by refusing to sell to any such -
licensed club or drinking establishment in this state without
written approval of the director or discriminates in current
prices among such licensed clubs or drinking establishments
making or attempting to make purchases of wine or beer from
the distributor, the director may revoke the license of the dis-
tributor. If any licensed distributor making any agreement
hereunder does not have a sufficient supply of wine or beer of
any of the brands or kinds which the distributor distributes to
supply the demands of all such licensed clubs or drinking
establishments, the distributor may ration such wine or beer
and apportion the available supply among such licensed clubs
or drinking establishments purchasing or attempting to pur-

' chase the same, in accordance with a plan which shall be subject

to the approval of the director. ;
For the purposes of this subsection, a delivery charge shall
not be considered a part of the price of wine or beer sold by a

’distributor.

te) The provisiens of this seetion shell net apply to any
distributer of beer or any manulscturer or imperter of beer;
whether within or without this state; with respeet to beer dis-
wibuted or menufactured by the distributer; manufacturer or
Sec. 59. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-1101, as
amended by section 58 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 41-1101. (a) No distributor licensed under this act shall
purchase any alcoholic liquor from any manufacturer, owner of
alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a marketable product,
exclusive agent of such manufacturer or owner, microbrewery,
farm winery or distributor of alcoholic liquor bottled in a foreign
country either within or without this state, unless the manufac-
turer, owner, exclusive agent, microbrewery, farm winery or
distributor files with the director a written statement sworn to by
the manufacturer, owner, exclusive agent, microbrewery, farm
winery or distributor or, in case of a corporation, one of its
principal officers, agreeing to sell any of the brands or kinds of
alcoholic liquor manufactured or distributed by the manufac-
turer, owner, exclusive agent, microbrewery, farm winery or
distributor to any distributor licensed in this state and having a
franchise to distribute the alcoholic liquor pursudnt to K.S.A.
41-410 and amendments thereto or section 15; to make such sales
to all such licensed distributors. in this state at the same current
price and without discrimination; and to file price lists showing
the current prices of spirits and wine in the office of the director
as often as may be necessary or required by the director but at
least once each three months. If any manufacturer, owner, ex-
clusive agent, microbrewery, farm winery or distributor making
the agreement violates the agreement by refusing to sell such
alcoholic liquor to any such franchised licensed distributor in
this state or discriminates in current prices among such fran-
chised licensed distributors making or attempting to make pur-
chases of alcoholic liquor from the manufacturer, owner, exclu-
sive agent, microbrewery, farm winery or distributor, the
director shall notify, by registered mail, each such franchised
licensed distributor in this state of the violation. Thereupon, it
shall be unlawful for a franchised licensed distributor in this
state to purchase any alcoholic liquor from the manufacturer,
owner, exclusive agent, microbrewery, farm winery or distribu-
tor. If thereafter such a franchised licensed distributor purchases
any alcoholic liquor from the manufacturer, owner, exclusive
' ‘ (continued)
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agent, microbrewery, farm winery or distributor, such franchised:
distributor’s license shall be revoked by the director. If any
manufacturer, owner, exclusive agent, microbrewery, farm win-
ery or dlstnbutor of alcoholic liquor bottled in a foreign country,
making any agreement hereunder, does not have a sufficient
supply of alcoholic liquor of any of the brands or kinds which the
manufacturer, owner,.exclusive agent, microbrewery, farm win-.
ery. or- distributor manufactures or distributes to. supply the
demands of all licensed distributors having a franchise to dis-
‘tribute such alcoholic liquor, the manufacturer, owner, exclusive

agent, microbrewery, farm winery or distributor may ration such ;
alcoholic liquor and apportion the available supply among such-

franchised licensed distributors purchasing or attempting to
purchase it, in accordance with a plan which shall be subject to
the approval of the director. The provisions of this subsection

relating to the filing of price lists with the director shall not apply.

to any manufacturer with respect to spirits or wine manufactured\
or bottled in a foreign country.

(b) No retailer licensed under this act shall purchase any
‘alcoholic liquor from any distributor licensed under this act
- unless the distributor files with the director a written statement
sworn to by the distributor, or in case of a corporation by one of
its principal officers, agreeing to sell any of the brands or kinds of
alcoholic liquor distributed by the distributor and to provide
service in connection therewith to any licensed retailer whose
licensed premises are located within the geographic territory of
the distributor’s franchise for the alcoholic liquor, unless written

approval to do otherwise is obtained from the director; to make

- such sales to all such licensed retailers at the same current bottle

and case price and without discrimination; and to file price lists
showing the current bottle and case price of spirits and wine in_
the office of the director as often as may be necessary or required

by the director but at least once each three months. If any
distributor making the agreement violates the agreement by

refusing to sell or provide service to any such licensed retailer in .

this state without written approval of the director or discrimi-

nates in current prices among such licensed retailers making or -

attempting to make purchases of alcoholic liquor from the dis-
tributor, the director may revoke the license of the distributor. If
any llcensed distributor making any agreement heréunder does
not have a sufficient supply of alcoholic liquor of any of the
brands or kinds which the distributor distributes to supply the
demands of all such licensed retailers, the distributor may ration
such alcoholic liquor and apportion the available supply among

such Incensed retailers purchasing or attempting to purchase the

same, in accordance with a plan’ whlch sha.ll be subject to the
approval of the director.

(c) No clubor drmkmg establishment llcensed in this state’
shall purchase any wine or beer from any distributor licensed .
under this act unless the distributor files’ with the director a

written statement sworn to by the distributor, or in case of a

corporation by one of its pn‘ncipal officers, agreeing to sell any of"

the brands or kinds of wine or beer distributed by the distributor

to those clubs and drinking establishments to which the distrib-

utor is authorized to sell such wine or beer and to which the
distributor desires to sell such wine or beer, unless written
approval to do otherwise is obtained from the director; to make

such sales to all such licensed clubs or drinking establishments .
at the same current bottle and case price and without discrimi-_

nation;. and to file price lists showing the current bottle and case
price:of wine in the office of the director as often as may be
necessary or required by the director but at least once each three
months. If any distributor making the agreement violates the
agreement by refusing to sell to any such licensed club or
drinking establishment in this state without written approval of

the director or discriminates in current prices among such k-

censed clubs or dnnkmg establishments making or attempting to.

make purchases of wine or beer from the distributor, the director
may revoke the license of the distributor. If any licensed dis-

tributor' making any agreement hereunder does not have a suffi-
cient supply of wine or beer of any of the brands or kinds which
the distributor distributes to supply the demands of all such
licensed clubs or drinking establishments, the distributor may
ration such wine or beer and apportion the available supply
among such licensed clubs or drinking establishments: purchas-
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ing or attempting to purchase the same, in accordance with:a .

plan which shall be subject to the approval of the director. -
For the purposes of this sibsection, a delivery charge shall not

be considered a- part of the pnce of wine- or’ beer sold by a

dlstnbutor o

Sec. 60. K.S.A. 41-2601" is hereby amended to read as fol-
lowsi'41-:2601: (s tised in - 432603 thi:eagh 41-2630; end
amendments thereto the club ‘and drinking establishment aét:

(a) The following terms shall have the meanings provided by -

K.S.A. 41°102 and amendments thereto: (1) “Alcoholic liquor™;

(2) 2beafd3- B8 *““diréctor”;
‘person”’; (6) (5) “sale”; and B (6) “to sell.”™
&) & ZClub” means an

of

consuining alecholie liquer: ‘
&) “Benef' icial interest” shall not include any interest a-

person may have as ownber, operator, lessee or franchise holder
a licensed hotel or motel on the premtses 0 whwh a club or
rmkmg establishment is located.
(c) “Caterer” means an individual, partnership or corpora-
tion which sells alcoholic liguor by the individual drink, and

* provides services relatéd to the serving thereof, on unlicensed
premises which may be opén to the public, but does not include -

a holder of “a témporary permit, selling alcoholic liquor in
accordance with the terms of such permit. ’

(d)  “Cereal malt bevérage” has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 41-2701 and amendments thereto.

(e) “Class A club” means a premises which is owned or

leased and epereted by a corporation, partnership, business trust
or association and which is operated thereby as a bona f de
nonprofit social, fraternal or war veterans’ club, as determined
by the director, for the exclusive use-of the corporate stockhold-

ers, partners, trust beneficiaries or associates (heremaf’ter re-

ferred. to. as members); and their families and invited and
guests; and whieh is not operated for.a profit ethef

eompenied
thaﬁs-uehasweuléaeemetetheenhfemembeﬁhip-ﬁeerpem- ‘

tion; partnership; business frust or asseejation not operated for
preﬁ-&ferthepuspesesef@bedeﬁm&enefael&ssAeh—b—sh&ﬂ
only include & eorporation;

companying them.

8}(f) ‘‘Class B club” means a premises operated for proﬁt by

a corporation, partnership or individual; kenewn as the menage-

men&tewhiehpfemtsesthemanagemeat&llewspefseas—kﬁewn

as members, to which members of such club may resort for the

consumption of food or alcohohc beverages and for entertain-
grerequ-mte' ite for

ment. As & mem-bershtp&hem&aage—
mentmustsereeatheeppheaa@sfer mefa}ehameter--Ne

pamentequeamelduesef&tle&stmexeept&ab

A) Asy class B club locited on the premises of a hotel as.

defined in K-5-A- 36-501 and amendments thereto ey establish

rules whereby a guest registored at the hetel; whe is net a
resident of the county in which the elub is located; may Hle

-in the elub; which mem-

applieation for tempeorary membership’
befshi-p-*fgraﬁted—sh&llealybevahdfbﬂhepeaeéefhmeﬂmt

temporary
ferdaedaysuehm&&velepsheketw%&kd—endwehteﬂ&pem

membeﬁhrpsha}lﬂetbesubjeettethewaﬁiﬁgpeﬂedefduee

requirement of this seeton-
© AﬂyelassBelubheensedaadef&hepmemefﬂameet

may establich rules whereby military personnel- of the armed

forees of the United States on temporary duty and housed at or
m&raaymrkt&rym&taﬂa&enleeatedwﬁhmﬂaee*&e&erbeuﬁd-
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) (3) “original package”; & (4)_‘

organization licehsed hereunder t6 -
whaehﬂaeelubmembefsshdlbepeﬁnﬁedtefeseﬂferﬂael

partnership; business trust or assoei- -
ation which has been determined by the director to be a bona
ﬁdeaeﬁpmﬁtseetd-&atemalefwafvetemsehbguests ac-.

membership inthe elub
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aries of the state of Kansas; may file application for temporary

ip in the elub; which membership; if granted; shall
enly be valid for the period of the haining; not to exceed 20
membership in o elass B private elub under this paragraph (&)
shell present the temperary duty orders to the elub management:
TFemporary membership issued under this peragraph (G) shell
aetbesubyeettetbewmbngpeaederduesrequuemeatsefﬂus
seetion:

) Anyelass B club may enter into e written agreement with
a hotel; as defined in K:S-A- 36-501 and amendments therete;
whefebyeguestwheis!egleteredattbehotelmdwhemnete
resident of the eounty in which the elub is loeated may file
applieation for in the elub: The

tempeorary membership tempo-
rary membership; if granted; shell be valid for only the peried of

time that the guest is a bona fide registered guest at the hotel and
shall net be subjeet to the waiting period or dues requiremeont of
this seetion: A elub may enter into @ writlen agreement with e
heotel pursuant to this provision enly if (i) the hetel is loeated in
the same eounty as the elub; (ii) there is no elub located on the
premweeefﬂaehetelend(iﬁ)aeeﬂaerelubheseateredﬁtea

written agreoment with the hotel pursuant to this seetion:.

{e) %er—-meens&aypersenunde!%}yemefeg&
{d) “Beneficial interest” shall net inelude

(e} (g) “Club” means a class A or class B club.

(h) “Drinkingestablishment” means premises which may be
open to the general public, where alcoholic liquor by the indi-
vidual drink is sold.

(i) “Food” means any raw, cooked or processed edible sub-
stance or ingredient, other than alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage, used or intended for use or for sale, in whole or in part,
for human consumption.

() “Hotel” has the meamng promded by KS.A. 36-501 and
amendments thereto.

(k) “Minor” means a person under 21 years of age.

(1) “Morals charge” means a charge involving prostitution;
procuring any person; soliciting of a child under 18 years of age
for any immoral act involving sex; possession or sale of narcot-
ics, marijuana, amphetamines or barbiturates; rape; incest;
gambling; illegal cohabztation adultery; bigamy; or a crime
against nature

{5 (m) “Restaurant” means a licensed food service establxsh-
ment, as defined by K.S.A. 36-501 and amendments thereto,
which, as determined by the director, derives not less than 50%
»f its gross receipts in each calendar year from the sale of food for
;onsumption on the elub premises.

(n) “Secretary means the secretary of revenue.

(o) “Temporary permit” means a temporary permit issued
sursuant to section 91.

Sec. 61. K.S.A. 41-2605 is hereby amended to read as fol-
jows: 41-2605. The director shall issue an annual license to each
Epp}ymg private elub applicant for licensure which qualifies

nder this act. Such license shall be issued in the name of the
corporatlon, partners, trustees o¥, association officers. or individ-
wual applying; as the ease may be.

! Sec. 62. K.S.A. 41-2606 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2606. (a) Applications for all elub licenses under this act
“ shall be upon forms prescribed and furnished by the.director;
and shall be filed with the director in duplicate; and. Each
application shall be accompanied in each instenee by e state
registration fee of ifly deollars ($50) an applwatton ee of $50, for
each initial application, and ten dellars ($30) $10, for each
renewal application, to defray the cost of preparing and furnish-
ing standard forms incident to the administration of this act; and
the cost of processing such application. Suehk Each application
shall also be accompanied by a certified or cashier’s check of a
bank within this state, United States post office money order; or
cash in the full amount of the elass B elub license fee prescribed
by K.S.A. 41-2622 and amendments thereto, which lieense fee
shall be returned to sueh the applicant if suek the apphcatxon is
denied. Allheensea-ndregrs&e&eafeeseellee&edby d-)reeter
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shall be paid by him into the state treasusy and the state treasurer
shall eredit the same fo the general fund of the state: =
(b) Each application for licensure as a club shall be accom-

_panied by &) a copy of the current bylaws andfer and rules. of the

club; &i) and a current list of the officers of the club.

(c) All application fees collected by the director shall be
remztted to the state treasurer, who shall deposit the entire:
;m,&unt in the state treasury and credit zt to the state general
u

Sec. 63. K.S.A. 41-2608 is hereby amended to read- as fol-
lows: 41-2608. Fhe license herein shall be issued Any
club or drinking establishment license issued pursuant to this
act shall be for one particular premises which shall be stated in
the application and in the license. No license shall be issued for
a premises whieh is being or will be used a5 e elubheouse oF
elubreem club or drinking establishment unless the city, town-"
ship or county zoning code allows a elubhouse er elubreem club
or drinking establishment at that location. B

Sec. 64. 'K.S.A. 41-2609 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2609. The provisions of K.S.A. 41-320, 41-321, 41-322,
41-323 and 41-324, and amendments thereto, relatmg to pro-
ceedings for the suspension or revocation of licenses issued
under the Kansas liquor control act, appeals to the beard from"
orders of the director refusing, suspending or revoking such
licenses and judicial review by the distriet eourt of decisions of
the beard on such appeals and duties of county attorneys relating
to such review shall apply in the same manner to proceedings for
the suspension or revocation of elub licenses ‘issued under this
act, appeals te the beard from orders of the director refusing,
suspending or revoking elub licenses issued under this act,
orders refusing temporary permits, appeals to the beard from
orders of the director and judicial review by the distriet eourt of ;
decisions of the beard on such appeals.

Sec. 65. K.S.A. 41-2610 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2610. It shall be unlawful for & elub licensee any
licensee or holder of a temporary permit under this act to:

(a) Employ any person under the age of 18 years in connec-
tion with the dispensing or serving of alcoholic liquor.

(b) Employ knowingly or continue in employment any per-

“son in connection with the dispensing or serving of alcoholic

liquor or the mixing of drinks containing alcoholic liquor who
has been ad_pudged guilty of a felony or of any crime involving a
morals charge in this or any other state, or of the United States.
Eor the purpeses of this “morals eharge” shall in-
elude these eharges

invelving presbtuhen*
,semsehemngefeehdel.andefisyemefageferaaymemfe’-

() Employ knowmgly or to continue in employment any
person in connection with the dispensing or serving of alcoholic
liquor or mixing of drinks containing alcoholic liquor who has
been adjudged guilty of a violation of any intoxicating liquor law
of this or any other state, or of the United States, during the
two-year period immediately following such adjudging.

(d) In the case of a club, fail to maintain at the licensed
premises a current list of all elub members and their residence
addresses: {e} or refuse to allow the director e¥, any of the
director’s authorized agents or any law enforcement officer to
inspect the eurrent list of the members of the elub such list.

) (e) Purchase alcoholxc liquor from any person except from -
a person helding & valid license to sell aleohelie li at rotail
authorized by law to sell such alcoholic liquor to such licensee
or permit holder. ,

E( j) Permit any employee of the licensee or permit holder .
who is under the age of 21 years to work on the Yieensed
premises where alcoholic liquor is sold by such licensee or
permit holder at any time when not under the en-premise on-
premises supervision of either the licensee or permit holder, or
an employee of the lieensee who is 21 years of age or over,

@) (g) Employ any person under 21 years of age in connec-
tion with the mixing or dispensing of drinks containing alcohohc
liquor.

( continued)‘n

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987
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" .Sec. 66. K.S.A. 41-2611 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2611. The director may revoke or suspend the license of
any elub leensee any license issued pursuant to the club and
drinking establishment act for any one or more of the following
' reasons:

(a) The licensee has fraudulently obtained the license by
giving false information in the application therefor or any hear-
ing thereon.

(b) The licensee has violated any of the provisions of this act
or any rules or regulations adopted hereunder.

{c) The licensee has become ineligible to obtain a license or
permit under this act.

Drunkenness of the lieensee elub’s The licensee’s man-
ager or employee has been intoxicated while on duty; ex

(e) The licensee elub, or its manager or employee, has per-
mitted any disorderly person to remain in premises
on premises where alcoholic liquor is sold by such licensee.

{e}(f) There has been a violation er the elub premises of eny
of a provisien of the laws of this state, or of the United States,
pertaining to the &) sale of intoxicating or alcoholic liquors or
cereal malt beverages, or {i) any crime involving*a “morals
charge” as defined in subseection (b} of 412610 and
amendments therete, on premises where alcoholw liquor is sold
by such licensee.

i3} pu-rehaseenddisplaymtheheensedp!emsesby

() The licensee elub, or its managing officers or any em--

ployee, of has purchased and displayed, on premises where
alcoholic liquor is sold by such licensee, a federal wagering
occupational stamp issued by the United States treasury depart-
ment.

&) The and display in the licensed pfemases by

(h) The licensee elub, or its managing officers or any em-
ployee, of has purchased and displayed, on premises where
alcoholic liquor is sold by such licensee, a federal coin operated
gambling device stamp for the elub premises 1ssued by the
United States treasury department.

() (i) The licensee holding a elass B lieense holds a license
as a class B club, drinking establishment or caterer and has been
found guilty of a violation of article 10 of chapter 44 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated under a decision or order of the civil rights
commission which has become final or such licensee has been
found guilty of a violation of K.S.A. 21-4003 and amendments
thereto.

Sec. 67. K.S.A. 41-2612 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2612. Every elub lieensee holder of a license for a club
or drinking establishment shall cause his such license to be
framed and hung in plain view in a conspicuous place on the
licensed premises.

Sec. 68. K.S.A. 41-2613 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2613. The right of immediate entry to and inspection at
any Hme of any premises licensed as a elub under this aet; or of
any premises where alcoholic liquor is sold by a licensee or
holder of a temporary permit, or any premises subject to the
control of any elub 4 ander this aet licensee or temporary
permit holder, at any time by any duly authorized officer or
agent of the dlrector or by any peaee law enforcement officer,

shall be a condition on which every elub license shall be license .

or temporary permit is issued, and the application for, and
acceptance of, any elub license hereunder or temporary permit
shall conclusively be deemed to be the consent of the applicant
and licensee or permit holder to such immediate entry and
inspection. Such consent shall not be revocable during the term
of the licensé or temporary permit. Refusal of such entry shall be
groundy for revocation of the license or temporary permit.

Sec. 69. K.S.A. 41-2614 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2614. (a) No club licensed hereunder or drinking es-
tablishment shall allow the serving, mixing or consumption of
alcoholic liquor on its premises between the hours of 3 2:00 a.m.
and 9 9:00 a.m. on any day ether than a Sundey nor between the
houss of 3 a.-m- and 12 noon on a Sunday.

(b) No caterer shall allow the serving, mixing or consump-
tion of alcoholic liquor between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00

“a.m. on any day at an event catered by such caterer.

Sec. 70. K.S.A. 41-2615 is hereby amended to read as fol- -
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lows: 41-2615. (a) No elub lieensed hereunder licensee or permit
holder, or any owner, officer or employee thereo
ingly or unknowingly permit the consumption of cohohc liquor
or cereal malt beverage en its premises by @ minor and no miner
shall eonsume or attempt to eonsume any aleehehe liguor oF

vietion shall be subjeet to th‘e same peﬂelty s preseribed by
K:S-A- 41-715 for violation of thet seetion by a minor on premises
where- alcoholic beverages are sold by such licensee or permtt
holder.

(b) Violation of this section is a mtsdemeanor punishable by
a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $250 or impris-
onment not exceeding 30 days, or both.

Sec. 71. K.S.A. 41-2619 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2619. The existence of any establishment; room o pleee
purperting to be a elub or being place for which a license or
temporary permit has not been issued pursuant to this act and
which purports, or is held out to the public or o any person by
the proprietors of said establishment; reom or place or their
agents or employees, to be a elub unless a elub lieense has been
issued by the director for such establishment; reem or place
place where alcoholic liquor is sold by the individual drink,
shall be deemed to be sufficient probable cause for any judge of
the district court to issue a search warrant to any pesee law
enforcement officer of the state or a subdivision of the state for
the purpose of searching said - voom or such place
for alcoholic liquor being sold, possessed or consumed in viola-
tion of this act, any other law of the state; or any ordinance of a
municipal subdivision of the state.

Sec. 72. K.S.A. 41-2620 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2620. (a) No person shall maintain or operate any club
or drinking establishment in thxs state after July 31; 1065; with-

" out having in his such person’s possession for the location of the

elub establishment a valid unexpired er and unrevoked
license issued by the director for such club or establishment.

(b) No person shall act as a caterer in this state without
having in such person’s possession a valid unexpired and unre-
voked caterer’s license issued by the director.

(¢) No person or organization shall sponsor, conduct or hold
an event in this state which requires a temporary permit unless
such person or organization has in such person’s or organiza-
tion’s possession a temporary permit issued by the director for
such event and such event is conducted in accordance with the
terms of such permit.

Sec. 73. KS.A. 41-2621 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2621. A club or drinking establishment license shall
allow the licensee to operate a club or drinking establishment
only at the premises specified in such license in accordance with

thé provisions of this act and the rules and regulations adopted -
. by the secretary of revenue in aceordanee with as provided by

K.S.A. 41-210 and amendments thereto.

Sec. 74. K.S.A. 41-2622 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2622. (a) At the time application is made to the director

for a elub license under the termms of this act; an applicant for a

elass A elub lieense shall pay an annual fee of twe hundred fifty
dellars ($250) and an applicant for e elass B elub license shall pey
en annual fee of one thousand delars ($1;000): In eddition to

such license fee; license pursuant to the club and drinking .

establishment act, the applicant shall pay the following annual
license fee in the manner provided by KS.A. 41-2606 and
amendments thereto:

(I) Fora class A club which is a bona { ide nonproﬁt frater—
nal or war veterans’ club, as defined by rules and regulations of
the secretary, $250;

(2) for a class A club which is ' bona fide nonprofit social
club, as defined by rules and regulations of the secretary, and
whwh has not more than 500 members, $500;

(3) for a class A club which. is a bona fide nonprofit social
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club, as defined by rules and regulations of the secretary, and
which has more than 500 members, $1,000; :
(4) for aclass B club, $1,000; .
(5)+ for a drinking establishment, $1,000; :
'(6) ~for a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a
drinking establishment, $2,000; -
(7) A;for a caterer, $500; . S R
-(8) for a drinking establishmenticaterer, $1,500; and
(9)" for a drinking establishment/caterer, if the drinking es-
tablishment is a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed
as a drinking establishment, $3,500. . - ~ : :

<If a licensee is described by more than one of the above; the

highest fee shall apply. » :

(b) In addition to the fee provided by subsection (a): -

(1) Any city in which a licensed elass B elub is where the
licensed premises of a club or drinking establishment are lo-
cated or, if such licensed premises is are not located in a city, the
board of county commissioners of the county where the licensed
premises is are located; shall levy and collect an annual occupa-
tion.or license tax en sueh elub from the licensee in an amount
equal to not less than ene hundred deHars ($100) $100 nor more
than #we hundsred fifty dolars ($250) $250; or

(2) .in any county having a population of more than eae

sixty theusend (160,000} 160,000 and not more than ere
hundred ei thousand (185;000) 185,000 and in any
county in which there.is loeated not less than seventy-five (75)
elass A and elass B elubs are located the premises of not less than
75 clubs and drinking establishments, any city located within
the_county in which any such -elub is licensed premises are
located or, if such licensed premises is.are not located within a
city, the board of county commissioners of such county may levy
and collect an annual occupation or license tax from all sueh
elubs the licensees in an amount not to exceed +we hundred
delars ($250); but ne other $250. : ,

(c) No occupational or excise tax or license fee other than
that provided by subsection (b) shall be levied by any city or

county against or collected from sueh elub licensee a licensed

club or drinking establishment.

(d) The director shall remit all moneys received under this
section to the state treasurer at least monthly. Upon receipt of
each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire
amount thereof in the state treasury. Fifty pereent {50%) Of each
such deposit, 50% shall be credited to the state general fund, and
the remaining fifty pereent {50%) 50% shall be credited to the
alcoholism treatment fund, which fund is hereby created.
Moneys in seid the alcoholism treatment fund shall be used by
the secretary of social and rehabilitation services for the purpose
of implementing the powers and duties of said the secretary
under the provisions of K.S.A. 65-4006 and 65-4007, and any
amendments to seid seetions thereto. All expenditures from the
alcoholism treatment fund shall be made in accordance with
appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and
reports issued pursuant to vouchers signed by the secretary of
social and rehabilitation services or by a person or persons
designated by the secretary. ; ; ‘ \

Sec. 75. K.S.A. 41-2623 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2623. (a) No elub license shall be issued under the
provisions of this act to:

() (1) Any person described in subsection (a)(1), (2), 4), (5),
(6), (7), (8); (9); &) or (12) of K.S.A. 41-311 and amendments
thereto, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(7) of such
section shall not apply to nor prohibit the issuance of eny liee
te any a license for a class A club to an officer of a post home of a

congressionally chartered service or fraternal organization, or a

benevolent association or society thereof.
&)(2) A person who has had the person’s license revoked for
cause under the provisions of this act. ' ;
(e) A person whe is not & resident of the county in whieh the
{d) A person whe has not been & resident for at least one year
(3) A person who has not been a resident of this state for a
total of at least five yeass period of at least one year immediately
preceding the date of application; except that if the premises
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seught to be licensed are loented in a eity which is located in twe
or more eounties; the applieant for a license; if @ resident of such
eity; shall be deemed to be e resident of cach of such counties for

(e} (4) A person who has a beneficial interest in the man-
ufacture, preparation or wholesaling or the retail sale of alcoholic
liquors or a beneficial interest in any other club, drinking es-.
tablishment or caterer licensed hereunder, except that:

@)(A) A license for premises located in a hotel; as defined in
KSA: 36-501 and amendments thereto; may be granted to a-
person who has abeneficial interest in another elub or elubs one
or more other clubs or drinking establishments licensed here-
under if the other elub or elubs such other clubs or establish-
ments are located in e hetel as defined herein hotels. :

£)(B) - A license for a club leeated in & licensed food serviee

i as defined in K-5-A- 36-501 and amendments
therete; or drinking establishment which is a restaurant may be
issued to a person who has a beneficial interest in other clubs
50% of the #ross reeeipts on each such club and foed serviee
en the premises of such elub end food serviee establishment or
drinking establishments which are restaurants. -

(C) A caterer’s license may be issued to a person who has a
beneficial interest in a club or drinking establishment and a
license for a club or drinking establishment may be issued to a
person who has a beneficial interest in a caterer.

(D) A license for a class A club may be granted to an -
organization of which an officer, director or board member is a
distributor or retailer licensed under the liquor control act if
such distributor or retailer sells no alcoholic liquor to such club.

(E) On and after January 1, 1988, a license for a class B club
or drinking establishment may be granted to a person whohas a
beneficial interest in a microbrewery or farm winery licensed
pursuant to the Kansas liquor control act. o

B (5) A copartnership, unless all of the copartners are quali-
fied to obtain a license. ; » .

&) (6) A corporation, if any officer, manager or director
thereof, or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than
5% of the common or preferred stock of such corporation would
be ineligible to receive a elub license hereunder for any reason
other than citizenship and residence requirements.

(7) A corporation, if any officer, manager or director thereof,
or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 5% of t
common or preferred stock of such corporation, has been an
officer, manager or director, or a stockholder owning in the
aggregate more than 5% of the common or preferred stock, of a.
corporation which: :

(A) Has had a license revoked under the provisions of the
club and drinking establishment act; or oo

(B) has been convicted of a violation of the club and drink-
ing establishment act or the cereal malt beverage laws of this
state. . o

&) (8) A corporation organized under the laws of any state
other than this state. .

(b) No club or drinking establishment license shall be issued
under the provisions of the club and drinking establishment act
to: . . o

(1). A person described in subsection (a)11) of K.S.A. 41-311
and amendments thereto. ‘ o

(2) A person who is not a resident of the county in which the
premises sought to be licensed are located.

Sec. 76.  K.S.A. 41-2625 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2625. (a) No corporation shall be issued a elab license

- as a club, drinking establishment or caterer unless such corpo-

ration shell heve Srst appeinted first appoints a citizen of the
United States, and resident of Kansas, as its agent; and shell have
filed files with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly
executed power of attorney authorizing such agent to: (1) Accept
service of process from the director; the board and the courts of
this state; and autherizing sueh agent to; and (2) exercise full
authority of such corporation; and full authority, control and
responsibility for the conduct of all ‘business and transactions of
the corporation within the state relative to the business licensed.
(continued)
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~ Such agent must have the qualifications of a licensee except for
the qualification of residence. Such agent shall at all times be
maintained by such corporation. -

(b) No corporation shall be issued a elub license as a club,
drinking establishment or caterer unless such corporation shell
have first filed first files with the director a copy of its articles of
incorporation and its bylawss. ~ .

(c) No partnership shall be issued a elub license as a club,

drinking establishment or caterer unless such partnership shall
have first filed first files with the director a copy of the part-
nership agreement.
- Sec. 77. K.8.A. 41-2626 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2626. Whenever any elub lieensee shall have licensee
under this act has been convicted by any court of a violation of
any of the provisions of this act, or the rules and regulations
lawfully promulgated thereunder, the director shall revoke or
suspend his the licensee’s license in an original proceeding
brought before him the director for that purpose.

Sec. 78. K.S.A. 41-2627 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2627. The provisions of K.S.A. 41-315 and amendments
thereto relating to retail licenses under the Kansas liquor control
actare hereby made applicable to elub licenses issued under the
provisions of this act for clubs and drinking establishments.

- Sec. 79. K.S.A. 41:2628 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2628. The provisions of K.S.A. 41-319 and amendments
thereto relating to applications for retailers’ licenses under the
Kansas liquor control act shall apply to applications for elub
licenses made under the provisions of this act.
~ Sec. 80. K.S.A. 41-2629 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2629. A class B club license, drinking establishment
license or caterer’s license shall be purely a personal privilege,
good for not to exceed one year after issuance unless sooner
suspended or revoked as provided in this act and shall not
constitute property, nor shall .it be subject to attachment, gar-
nishment or execution, nor shall it be alienable or transferable,
voluntarily or involuntarily, or subject to being encumbered or
hypothecated. The A class B club license, drinking establish-
ment license or caterer’s license shall not descend by the laws of
* testate or intestate devolution; but it shall cease or expire upon
the death of the licensee subject to the following provision. An
executor, administrator or representative of the estate of any
deceased holder of a class B club lieensee, drinking establish-
ment or caterer’s license or the trustee of any insolvent or
bankrupt class B club lieensee; drinking establishment or ca-
terer’s license may continue the licensee’s business en the -
ebnsed premises under order of the appropriate court and may
exercise the privilege of the deceased, insolvent or bankrupt
licensee after the death of such licensee or after such insolvency
or bankruptcy until the expiration of such license, but in no case
longer than one year after the death, insolvency or bankruptcy of
such licensee. A refund shall be made of that portion of the
license fee paid for any period in which the licensee shall be
prevented from operating under such licénse in accordance with
the provisions of this act, other than that caused by suspension or
revocation. The secretary of revenue shall adopt, in accordance
with K.S.A. 41-210 and amendments thereto, rules and regula-
tions providing for the authorization of refunds of the license
fees paid for any period in which the licensee does not use such
license being canceled upon the request of the licensee and for
voluntary reasons. ' :

Sec. 81. K.S.A. 41-2630 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2630. The attorney general, the attorney for the director
or any county or district attorney, within their county or district,
shall at all times have the power to enjoin any person from
operating or maintaining a club or drinking establishment or
business as a caterer within their respective jurisdictions, not-
withstanding the person has a elub license therefor, if it appears

" that the licensee has violated any provision of this act, or.any of
the rules and regulations adopted under this act. Such injunction
proceedings shall be the same as is now prescribed for the
enjoining of alcoholic liquor nuisances under the Kansas liquor
control act. :

Sec. 82. K.S.A. 41-2632 is hereby amended to read as fol-
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lows: 41-2632. (a) As used in this section: (1) The word “distrib-
utor” means a person, firm, association or corporation which is
the holder of an alcoholic liquor distributor’s Jitense issued
under the Kansas liquor control act; (2) the wotd “retailer”
means a person, copartnership or association which is the holder
of a retailer’s license issued under the Kansas liqudr control act;
and (3) the word “manufacturer” shall have the meaning
ascribed to it by subseetion (10) of K.S.A. 41-108 and amend-
ments thereto. ; o L

(b) It shall be unlawful for a distributor of alcoholic liquor, or
a manufacturer, or fer any officer, agent or employee of & dis-
tributer; or a manufaeturer thereof, to influence, coerce or induce

“or attempt to influence, coerce or induce, either directly or

indirectly, any holder of a elub license issued under this act, or
any officer, agent or employee of the holder of such a elub
license, to: (1) Purchase any particular brand or kind of alcoholic
liquor to be dispensed in sueh elish or to purehase by the licensee
unless such distributor is selling or attempting to sell such
alcoholic liquor to the licensee; or (2) purchase from a particular
retailer alcoholic liquor to be dispensed in sueh elub from o
particular . sl

retailer by the licensee. .
(c) Any persen; corporation; firm or association violating the
provisions of this seetion shall be guilty ef Violation of this

section is a misdemeanor and upen convietion thereof shall be

punished punishable by a fine of not less thin ene hundred
dellars ($100) $100 nor more than ene theusand dellars ($1;000)
$1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than six {8) months, or by
both sueh fne and imprisonment.

Sec. 83. K.S.A. 41-2633 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2633. Violation of any provision of K$-A- 41-2601 to

- 41-263%; inelusive the club and drinking establishment act, and

amendments thereto, or K-8-A< 41-2639; or any rule or regulation
adopted thereunder, for which a penalty is not otherwise specif-
ically provided shell be is punishable by a fine not to exceed five
hundred delers ($500) $500 or imprisonment not to exceed six
{6) months, or both.

Sec. 84. K.S.A. 41-2633a is hereby amended to read as fol-

lows: 41-2633a. (a) In addition to or in lieu of any other civil or

criminal penalty provided by law, the director, upon a finding
that a licensee under astiele 26 of chapter 41 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated or temporary permit holder under the club
and drinking establishment act has violated any provision

thereof, may impose on such licensee or temporary permit-

holder a civil fine not exceeding $1,000 for each violation.'
(b) No fine shall be imposed pursuant to this section except
upon the written order of the director to the licensee or tempo-
rary permit holder who committed the violation. Such order
shall state the violation, the fine to be imposed and the right of
the licensee or temporary permit holder to appeal to the beard:
Such licensee may appeal such order to the board; and the order

of the beard the order. Such order shall be subject to appeal and

review in the manner provided by K.S.A. 41-321, 41-322 and
41-323, and amendments thereto.

(c) Any fine imposed pursuant to this section shall be paid to
the state treasurer, who shall deposit the same in the state
treasury and credit it to the state general fund. :

{d) This seetion shall be part of and supplemental to artiele
26 of ehapter 41 of the Kansas Statules Amnotated:

Sec. 85. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 41-2634 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 41-2634. (a) The secretary of reve-
nue may adopt rules and regulations for the administration and
enforcement of article 26 of chapter 41 of Kansas Statutes Anno-
tated.

(b) The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules and regulations
establishing criteria for determining whether an applicant or
licensee is a bona fide nonprofit social, fraternal or war veterans
club, based on the following standards: ‘

(1) An applicant or licensee is a bona fide nonprofit social
chub if: . ~ ,

(A) It is organized and operated exclusively for pleasure,
recreation and other nonprofitable purposes; and

“(B) no part of its net éarnings inures to the benefit of any of its
private shareholders or members. ’
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l(%)) fAn applicant or licensee is a bona fide nonproﬁt fraternal
club if:

(A) Itis a fraternal beneficiary society, order or association
which operates under the lodge system, or for the exclusive
benefit of the members of a fraternity 1tself operatmg under the
lodge system; and

(B) such society, order or association provides for the pay-
ment of life, sickness, accident or other benefits to its members
or their dependents.

(3) An apphcant or licensee is a bona fide nonprofit war
veterans club if:

(A) Itis a post or organization of war veterans or an auxxhary
unit or society of, or a trust or foundation for, any such post or
organizatlon, orgamzed in the United States or any of its posses-
sions;

(B) not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of its members
are war veterans and substantially all of its other members are
veterans or widows or widowers of veterans; and

(C) no part of its net earnings inures to the benefit of any’

" private shareholder or individual.

(c) Any rules and regulations adopted pursuant to subsection
(d) shall be based on the same criteria and standards used to
determine the right to- exemption from federal income taxes
pursuant to section 501(c)(7), (8) and (19) of the internal revenue
code of 1954, as amended.

@ Al rules and regulations adepted pursuant to this seetion
shall have the prier approvel of the state aleoholie beverage
eontrol beard of review; which approval shall be given only after
the publie hearing thereon required by law has been held:

Sec. 86. K.S.A. 41-2637 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2637. (a) A elub license for a class A club shall allow the
licensee to sella-nde&’eri'ersa-le—teaaymembefeftheelﬁb-
d’.ffe,’r for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for corisumption on

e licensed premises by such member o by members and their
Camalies, and guests accompanying sueh member: Cereal malt

by K:S-A- 41-2701; mey be seld by a private
elubheeaseébyﬂaedafeetortemembenefehepmeteehbeﬂe
bone fide guests aeeompenying such members fer on-piemise

eonsumption only them.
(b) Anytwo or more class A clubs; or any twe or mere elass B

elubs which are restaurants; may permit, by an agreement filed
with and approved by the dlrector, the members of each such
club to have access to all other clubs which are parties to such
agreement. The privileges extended to the visiting members of
other clubs under such an agreement shall bé determined by the
‘agreement; and, if the agreement so provides, any club whichisa
party to such agreement may sell and, offer for sale and serve, to
any person who is a member of another club which is a party to
such agreement, alcoholic liquor for consumption on the li-
censed premises by such person er by and such person’s family,
and guests accompanying sueh person them.

() This seetion shall be part of and supplemental to K-SA- -

41-2601 te 41-2635; inelusive; and amendments thérete:

New Sec. 87. (a) A license for a class B club shall allow the
licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for
consumption on the licensed premises by members of such club
and guests accompanying them. -

(b) Any two or more class B clubs which are restaurants may
permit, by an agreement filed with and approved by the director,
the members of each such club to have access to all other clubs
which are parties to such agreement. The privileges extended to
the visiting members of other clubs under such an agreement
shall be determined by the agreement and, if the agreement so
provides, any club which is a party to such agreement may sell,
offer for sale and serve, to any person who is a member of another
club which is a party to such agreement, alcoholic liquor for
consumption on the licensed premises by such person and such
person’s family, and guests accompanying them.

(c) Except as provided by subsection (d), an- apphcant for
membership in a class B ¢lub shall, before ‘becoming a member
of such club:

(1) Be screened by the club for good ‘moral character;

(2) pay an annual membership fee of not less than $10; and

(3) wait for a period of 10 days after completion of the
application form and payment of the membership fee.
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(d) Noththstandmg the membership fee and wamng penod

_ requirement of subsection (c):

(1) Any class B club located on the premlses ofa hatel may
establish fules whereby a guest, who registered at the hotel and
who is not a resident of the county in which the club is located,
may file application for temporary membership in such club. The
membership, if granted, shall be valid only for the period of time
that the guest is a bona fide registered guest at the hotel and such
temporary membership shall not be subject to the waiting period
or fee requirement of this section.

(2) Any class B club located on property whlch is owned or
operated by a municipal airport authority and upon which con-

- suinption of alcoholi¢ liquor is authorized by law may establish

tules whereby an air traveler who is a holder of a current airline
ticket may file application for temporary membershlp in such
club for the day such air traveler's ticket is valid, and such
temporary membership shall not be subject to the waiting period
or fee requirement of this section.

(3) Any class B club may establish rules whereby mllxtary
personnel of the armed forces of the United States on temporary
duty and housed at or near any military installation located
within the exterior boundaries of the state of Kansas may file
application for temporary membership in such club. The mem-
bership, if granted, shall be valid only for the period of the

" training, not to exceed 20 weeks.-Any person wishing to make

application for temporary membership in a class B club under -
this subsection (d)(3) shall present the temporary duty orders to
the club. Temporary membership issued under this subsection

- (d)(3) shall not be subject to the waiting penod or fee require-

ments of this section.

(4) Anyclass B club may enter into a wtitteri agreement with
a hotel whereby a guest who is registered at the hotel and who is
not a resident of the county in which the club is located may file
application for temporary membership in such club. The tempo-
rary membership, if granted, shall be valid only for the périod of
time that the guest is a bona fide registered guest at the hotel and
shall not be subject to the waiting period or dues requirement of
this section. A club may enter into a written agteement with a
hotel pursuant to this provision only if (A) the hotel is located in
the same county as the club, (B) there is no class B club located

'on the premises of the’ hotel and (C) no other club has entered

into a written agreement with the hotel pursuant to this section.
New Sec. 88. (a) A license for a drinking establishment shall
allow the licensee to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor
for consumption on the licensed premises which may be open to
the public, but only if such premises are located in a county

. where the qiialified electors of the county:

(1) (A) Approved, by a majority vote of those votmg thereon,
the proposition to amend section 10 of article 15 of the constitu-
tion of the state of Kansas at the general election in November,
1986, or (B) have approved a proposition to allow sales of alco-
hollc liquior by the individual drink in public places within the
county at an election pursuant te section 92; and

(2) have not approved a proposition to prohlblt such sales of -
alcoholic liquor in such places at a subsequent election pursuant
to section 92.

- (b) A drinking establishment shall be requu-ed to derive from -
sales of food for consumption on the licensed premises not less

- than 30% of all the establishment’s gross receipts from sales of

food and beverages on such premises unless the licensed prem-
ises are located in a county where the qualified electors of the
county:

(1) Have approved, at an election pursuant to section 92, a
proposition to allow sales of alcoholic liguor by the individual
drink in public places within the county without a requirement
that any portion of their gross receipts be derived from the sale of

- food; and

(2) have not approved a proposntwn to prohnbxt such sales of
alcoholic liguor in such places at a subsequent electxon pursuant
to section 92.

(c) A drinking establishment shall specify in the application
for a license or renewal of a license the premises to be licensed,
which may include all premises which are in close proximity and
are under the control of the applicant or licensee. ‘

(continued)
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New Sec. 89. (a) A caterer’s license shall allow the licensee
" to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for consumption
on unlicensed premises, which may be open to the public, but
only if such premises are located in a county where the quahﬁed
electors of the county:

(1) (A) Approved, by a majority vote of those voting thereon,
the proposition to amend section 10 of article 15 of the constitu-
tion of the state of Kansas at the general election in November,
1986, or (B) have approved a proposrtion to allow sales of alco-
holic liquor by the individual drink in public places within the
county at an elec¢tion pursuant to section 92; and

(2) have not approved a proposition to prohlblt such sales of

alcoholic liquor in such places at a subsequent election pursuant

to-section '92.

(b) A caterer shall be requlred to derive from sales of food at

each catered event not less than 30% of the caterer’s gross

- receipts from all sales of food and beverages at such event unless
the caterer offers for sale, sells and serves alcoholic liquor only in
counties whére the quahﬁed electors of the county:

(1) Have approved, at an election pursuant to section 92 a
proposition to allow sales of alcoholic liquor by the individual
drink in public places within the county without a requirement
that any portion of their gross receipts be derived from the sale of
food; and

(2) have not approved a proposition to prohibit such sales of
alcoholic liquor in such places at a subsequent election pursuant
to section 92.

(c) Each caterer shall maintain the caterer’s prmclpal place of
business in a county in this state where the caterer is authorized

by this section to sell alcoholic liquor by the individual drinkina

publie place. All records of the caterer relating to the caterer’s
licensed business and the caterer’s license shall be kept at such

place of business. The caterer’s prmcrpal place of business shall -

be stated in the application for a caterer’s license and the caterer
shall notify the director of any change in its location within 10
days after such change.

(d) Prior to any event at which a caterer will sell alcoholic
liquor by the individual drink, the caterer shall notify:

(1) The police chief of the city where the event will take
place, if the event will take place within the corporate limits of a
city; or

(2) the county sheriff of the county where the event will take
place, if the event will be outside the corporate limits of any city.

(e) A caterer may rebate a portion of the caterer’s receipts
from the sale of alcoholic liquor at an event to the person or
organization contractmg with the caterer to sell alcoholic liquor
at such event.

New Sec. 90. -A license for a drinking establishment/caterer
shall allow the licensee all the rights and privileges of a holder of
a drinking establishment license and of a licensed caterer, sub-

. ject to all provisions of law relating to such an establishment or
caterer.

New Sec. 91. (a) A temporary perm1t shall allow the permit
holder to offer for sale, sell and serve alcoholic liquor for con-
sumption on unlicensed premises, which may be open. to the
public, subject to the terms of such permit.

(b) The director may issue a temporary permit to any one or
more persons or organizations applying for such a permit, in
accordance with rules and regulations of the secretary. The
permit shall be issued in the names of the persons or organiza-
tions to which it is issued.

(c) Applications for temporary permits shall be required to be
filed with the director not less than seven days before the event
for which the permit is sought unless the director waives such
requirement for good cause. Each application shall state the
purposes for which the proceeds of the event will be used. The
application shall be upon a form prescribed and furnished by the
director and shall be filed with the director in duplicate. Each
application shall be accompamed by a.permit fee of $25 for each
day for which the permit is issued, which fee shall be paid by a
certified or cashier’s check of a bank within this state, United
States post office money order or cash in the full amount thereof.
All permit fees collected by the director pursuant to this section
shall be remitted to the state treasurer, who shall deposit the
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entire amount in the state treasury and credit it to the state
general fund.

(d) Temporary permlts shall specify the premises. for whxch
they are issued and shall be issued only for premises where the
city, county or township zoning code allows use for. which the
permit is issued. No temporary permit shall be issued for prem-
ises which are not located in a county where. the Quahfied
electors of the county:

(1) (A) Approved, by a majority vote of those votmg thereon,
to adopt the proposition amending section 10 of article 15 of: the

constitution of the state of Kansas at the general election in
November, 1986; or (B) have approved a proposition to allow the’
sale of liquor by the individual drink in public places within the
county at an election pursuant to section 92; and .

(2) have not approved a proposition to prohxblt such sales of
alcoholic liquor in such places at a subsequent election’ pursuant
to section 92.

(e) A temporary permit shall be issued for a period of time not "

to exceed three consecutive days, the dates and hours of which
shall be specified in the permit. Not more than four temporary
permits may be issued to any one applicant in a calendar year.

(f) _All proceeds from an event for which a temporary permit
is issued shall be used only for the purposes stated in- the
application for such permit.

(g) A temporary permit shall not be transferable or assrgn-
able.

(h) The director may refuse to issue a temporary permit to
any person or organization which has violated any provision of
the Kansas liquor control act, the drinking establlshment act or
K.S.A. 79-41a01 et seq., and amendments ‘thereto..

New Sec. 92. (a) The board of county commissioners may, by‘
resolution, or shall, upon a petition filed in accordance with
subsection (b), submrt to the qualified electors of the county at
any state general election a proposition to:

(1) - Prohibit the sale of alcoholic liquor by the -individual
drink in public places within the county;

(2) permit the sale of alcoholic liquor by the 1nd1v1dual drink
in public places within the county which derive not less than,
30% of their gross receipts from the sale of food for consumption
on the premises; or :

(3) permit the sale of alcoholic liquor by the individual drmk
in public places within the county without a requirement that
any portion of their gross receipts be derived from the sale of
food.

(b) A petition to submit a proposition to the quahﬁed voters
of a county pursuant to this section shall be filed with the county
election officer. The petition shall be signed by quahfied elec-
tors of the county equal in number to not less than 10% of the
electors of the county who voted for the office of secretary of
state at the last preceding general election at which such office
was elected. The appropriate version following shall appear on
the petition:

“We request an election to determine whether the’ sale of
alcoholic liquor by the individual drink in county
shall be (prohibited in public places) (allowed in publxc places
where at least 30% of the gross receipts are from sales of food for
consumption on the premises) (allowed in public places without
a requirement that any portlon of their gross receipts be from .
sales of food).” v

{c) Upon the adoptlon of a resolution or the submission of a

~ valid petition calling for an election pursuant to this sectlon, the

county election officer shall cause the appropriate version of the
following proposition to be placed on the ballot at the next
succeeding state general election which occurs more than 90
days after the resolution is adopted. or the petition is filed w1th,
the county election officer: .

“Shall sale of alcoholic hquor by the individual drmk in
——_ county be (prohibited) (allowed in public places
where at least 30% of the gross receipts are from sales of food for
consumption on the prémises and prohibited in all other public
places) (allowed in public places without a requirement that’ any
portion of their gross receipts be from sales of food)?”"

(d) - Ifa majority of the votes cast and counted i isin favor of the
proposition, the county election oﬁieer shall transmit a copy of
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the results to the director, who shall issue or refuse to issue
temporary permits and licenses for drinking establishments and
caterers within the county accordingly and the rights of licensees
holding licenses on the date of the election shall be modified in
accordance with the result of the election as provided by rules
and regulations of the secretary.

- {e) -The election provided for by this section shall be con-
ducted, and the votes counted and canvassed, in.the manner
provrded by law for question submitted elections of the county.

New Sec. 93. - (a) Nothing in the club and drinking establish-
ment act shall be construed to prohibit a person from possessing,
on premises licensed pursuant to such act, alcoholic liquor or
cereal malt beverage not purchased from the licensee.

(b) Nothing in this section shall prevent a licensee from
adopting a policy prohibiting the possession, on the licensee’s
- licensed premises, of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage not
purchased from the licensee.

Sec. 94. K.S.A. 41-2640 is hereby ameénded to read as fol-
lTows: 41-2640. (a) No club licensed pursuant to artiele 26 of

41 of the Kansas Statutes Annetated; or, drinking es-
tablishment, caterer or holder of a temporary permit, nor any
per.lson acting as an employee or agent of sueh a elub thereof,
shall:

(1) Oﬁ'er or serve any free cereal malt beverage or alcoholic
hquor in any form to any person;

(2) offer or serve to any person a drink at a price that is less

than the acquisition cost of the drink to the licensee or permit

holder;

(3) sell, offer to sell or serve to any person an unlimited
‘number of drinks during any set period of time for a fixed price,
except at private functions not open to the general elub mem-

public or to the general membership of a club;

(4) sell, offer to sell or serve any drink to any person at any
. time at a price less than that charged all other purchasers of
drinks on that day;

(5) increase the volume of alcoholic hquor contained in a
drink or the size of a drink of cereal malt beverage without
increasing proportionately the price regularly charged for the
drink on that day;

(6) encourage or permit, on the licensed premises, any game
or contest which involves drinking alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage or the awarding of drinks as prizes; or

(7) advertise or promote in any way, whether on or off the
licensed premises, any of the practices prohibited under sub-
sections (a)(1) through (6).

(b) Nothing in subsection (a) shall be construed to prohibit a
club, drinking establishment, caterer or holder of a temporary
permit from:

(1) “ Offering free food or entertainment at any trme, or

(2) selling or delivering wine by the hottle or carafe.

(c) Violation of any provision of this section is a misdemeanor
pumshable as provided by K.S.A. 41-2633 and -amendments
thereto.

(d) Violation of any provision of this section shall be grounds
for suspension or revocation of the elab’s licensee’s license as
provided by K.S.A. 41-2609 and amendments thereto and for

imposition of a civil fine on the licensee or temporary permit

holder as provided by K.S.A. 41-2633a and amendments thereto.

(e) Every licensed private club and drinking establishment
shall make available at any time upon request a price list show-
ing the club’s or drinking establzshments current prices per
drink for all drinks.

(f) As used in this section, ‘“drink” means an individual
serving of any beverage containing alcoholic quuor or an indi-

vidual serving of cereal malt beverage.

Tt - %wseehenshal-lbepeﬁefaads&pplemeﬁtalteles-&
41-2601 through 41-2630; and amendments therete:

New Sec. 95. (a) No drinking establishment license, ca-
tertler s license or temporary permit shall be effective before July
1, 1987.

(b)) On and after July 1, 1987, the director may provrde
procedures whereby a license for a class B club issued before
July 1, 1987, may be converted to a drinking establishment
license ora drmkmg establishment/caterer license if all require-
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ments of this act are met and the licenseé pays that portion of the
additional license fee; if any, attnbutable to the remammg un-
expired license term.

New Sec. 96. K.S.A. 41-260'1 41-2604 through 41-2615, 41-
2619 through 41-2623, 41-2625 through 41-2633, 41-26334, 41-
2634 through 41-2637, 41-2639 and 41-2640, and amendments
thereto, and sections 87 through 93 and 95 shall be known-and
may be cited as the club and drinking establishment act.

Sec. 97. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-2701 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2701. As used in this act
unless the context otherwise requlres

(@) “Cereal malt beverage” means any fermented but undis-
tilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt
or malt substitute, but does not include any such liquor which is
more than 3.2% alcohol by weight.

(b) “Director” means the director of alcoholic beverage con-
trol of the department of revenue.

(c) “Manufacturer” means a manufacturer as_defined by
K.S.A. 41-102 and amendments thereto.

(d) *Person” means any individual, firm , partnership, corpo-
ration or association.

4} (¢) “Retailer” means any person who sells or offers for
sale any cereal malt beverage for use or consumption and not for
resale in any form.

{e} () “Place of business” means any place at whrch cereal
malt beverages are sold.

& “Whelesaleror (g) “Distributor” means aa-ypersen whe
sells or offers for sale any cereal malt beverage or wine to any
person authorized by law to sell cereal malt beverages or wine at
retail a beer distributor licensed pursuant to the Kansas liquor
control act.. .

& (h) “Legal age for consumpnon of cereal malt beverage
means*(-l-)%ﬂarespeettepersenﬁbembefere}a}y-l—lsﬁé- 19
yeefeefageead(-ﬁ)mﬂarespeettepeﬁeasbemenorﬁef}uly
3;1066;21 years of age, except that “legal age for consumption of
cereal malt beverage” shall mean 18 years of age if at any time
the provisions of P.L. 98-363 penalizing states for permitting
persons under 21 years of age to consume cereal malt beverage -
are repealed or otherwise invalidated or nullified.

) “Wine” hes the meaning provided by K-S-A- 41-102 and
amendments thereto-

Sec. 98. K.S.A. 41-2702. is hereby amended to read as folf
lows: 41-2702. (a) No retailer shall sell any cereal malt beverage
without having first secured a license for each place of business
as herein provided. In case such place of business is located
within the corporate limits of a city then, the application for
license shall be made to the governing body of such city. In all
other cases, the apphcatron for license shall be made to the board
of county commissioners in the county in which such place of
business is to be located, except that the application for license
to sell on railway cars ‘shall be made to the director as heremaﬁer
provided.

(b) Aboard of county’ commrssroners shall not issue or renew
a retailer’s license without giving the clerk of the township
where the place of business is to be located written notice by
registered mail of the filing of the application for licensure or
renewal. The township board may within tes 80} 10 days file
advisory recommendations as to the granting of such license or
renewal and such advisory recommendations shall be consid-
ered by the board of county commissioners before such license is
issued. If an original license is granted and issued, the board of
county commissioners shall grant and issue renewals thereof
upon application of the license holder, if the license holder is
qualified to receive the same and the license has not been
revoked as provided by law.

(c) Anapplication for a retailer’s license shall be verified and
upon a form prepared by the attorney general of the state 'and
shall contain:

(1) The name and residence of the applicant;

(2) the length of time that the applicant has resided wrthm
the state of Kansas; -

(3) the particular place ‘of business for whrch a lrcense is
desired; -

(continued)
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(4) the name of the owner of the premlses upon whxch the
place of business is located; and
-(5):a statement that the applicant is a citizen of the United

States and not less than wenty-ene {21 21 years of age and that
- the applicant has not within two {2} years immediately preceding
- the date of making application been convicted of a felony, any

crime involving moral turpitude, drunkenness, driving a miotor
vehicle while-under the influence of intoxicating liquor or-vio-
lation of any other 1ntox1catmg liquor law of any state or of the

United States. - -

{d) - In addition to the fee provided by subsection (e), each
appllcatxon for a retailer’s license to sell cereal malt beverages

or consumption on the hcensed pmmises shall be accompanied

y -a fee.as follows:

{1)Y . For licensure of a place of business in a county having a
‘population of ene (-165000) 165,000
or less, a fee of not less than twenty-five deHars ($25) or more
then ene hundred dellers ($100) $25 nor more than $100, as
prescribed by the board of county commissioners or the govern-
ing body of the city, as the case may be;

(2) for licensure of a place of business in a county having a
population in - excefss (}f one

165,000, a fee of not less than@we-nty—ﬁvedel-lm(%
ermereebanmhundfed dellars ($200) $25 nor more than $200,
as prescribed by the board of county commissioners or the

; govemmg body of the city, as the case may be; - .
{(3) . for licensure to sell on railway cars, a fee of ene hu-nd-red
, del-lafe £$106) $100.

(e) On and after January 1, 1988 each applicant for a re-
tailers license or renewal olf such a license shall submit to the
director a copy of the completed application for such license or
license renewal, together with a fee of $25. Upon receipt of such
application, the director shall authorize a state stamp to be
affixed to the license. No such stamp_shall be affixed to any
license except such stamps as provided by the director and no
retailer’s license shall be issued or renewed unless such stamp
has first been affixed thereto..

The director shall remit to the state treasurer-all lieense
fees collected by the director hereunder, and the state treasurer

shall credit the same to the state general fund, except that the

director may provide for the deposit in the cereal malt beverage
tax refund fund of such amounts as necessary for the refund of
4ny-sueh license fees collected hereunder.

& (g) The board of county commissioners of the several
counties or the governing body of a city shall issue a license
* upon application duly made as otherwise provided for herein, to

any retailer engaged in business in said such county or city and
- qualified to receive said such license, to sell only cereal malt
beverages in .original and unopened containers, and not for
consumption on the premises. The annual hcense fee for such
license, which shall be in addition to the fee pravided by

subsection (e); shall be not less than twenty-five dollars ($35) or °

more than fifty delars (850) $25 nor more than $50.
"~ 4@ (h) No license issued under this act shall be transferable

Sec. 99. K.S.A. 41-2703 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2703. (a) After examination of an apphcatxon for a
retailer’s license, the board of county commissioners or the
- director shall, if they approve the same, issue a license to the
applicant. The governing body of the city shall, if the applicant is
qualified as provided by law, issue a license to said such applx~
cant

(b). No retailer’s hcense shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of the county in which the‘
place of business covered by the license is located, has not been
_ aresident of such county for at least six {6) months or has not

been a resident in good faith of the state of Kansas.

(2) A person who has not been.a resident of this state for at
least one year prior to immediately preceding application for a
retailer’s license.

£8)(3) - A person who is not of good character and reputation in
the community in which the person resides.

3) (4) A person.who is not a citizen of the Umted States.

44} (5) - A person who, within two (2} years immediately pre-
ceding the date of makmg application, has been convicted of a

© Kansas Secretary'of State, 1987

felony; or any crime involving & moral turpitude, drunkenness,
driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating
liquor or violation of any other mtoxxcatmg liquor law of any
state or of the United States. -
(5) 6 A partnershlp, unless one of the partners is. @ resident
the ecounty in which the licensed premises is located and all
the members of the partnershnp are otherwise quallfied to obtam
a license. .
® (7)) A corporatlon, if any manager, officer or director
thereof; or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than
{25%) 25% of the stock of such corporation,
would be ineligible to receive a license hereunder for any reason

other than the citizenship and residency requirements.

(8) Acorporation, if any manager, officer or director thereof
or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of

the stock of such corporation, has been an officer, manager or .

director, or a stockholder owning in the aggregate more than
25% of the stock, of a corporation which: (A) Has had a retailer’s
license revoked under K.S.A. 41-2708 and amendments thereto;
or (B) has been convicted of a violation of the drinking estab-
lishment act or the cereal malt beverage laws of this state..

4B (9) - A person whose place of business is conducted by a
manager or agent unless the manager or agent possesses all the
qualifications of a licensee.

(10} A person whose spouse would be ineligible to receioe a
retailer’s license for any reason other than citizenship, residence
requirements or age, except that this subsection (b)10) skall not
apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license.

(c)- Retailers Retailers’ licenses shall be issued either on an

" annual basis or for the calendar year. If such licenses are issued

on an annual basis, the board of county commissioners or the
governing body of the city shall notify the eercal malt
wheleselers distributors supplying the county or city on or
before April 1 of the year if a retailer’s license is not renewed.
- ‘Sec. 100. K.S.A. 41-2704 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2704. (a) In addition to and consistent with the re-
quirements of this act, the board of county commissioners of any
county or the governing body of any city may prescribe hours of
closing, standards of conduct and rules and regulations concern-
ing the moral, sanitary and health conditions of places licensed
pursuant to this act and may establish zones within whlch no
such place may be located.

(b). Except as provided by subsecl:lon (g), no cereal malt
beverages may be sold:

(1) Between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m.;

(2) on Sunday, except in a place of business which is licensed
to sell cereal malt beverage for consumption on the premises
and which derives not less than 30% o {eits gross recetpts from
the sale of food for consumption on the licensed premises; or

(3) on the day of any national, state, county or city election,
including primary elections, dunng the hours the polls are open,
within the political area in which such election is being held.

(c) ' No private rooms or closed booths shall be operated in a
place of business, but this provision shall not apply if the li-
censed premises are. also currently licensed as a club under e

by the direetor pursuant to the club and drinking

" establishment act.

(d) Each place of business shall be open to the public and to
law enforcement officers at all times during busmess hours,

except that a premises licensed as a club underea
by the direetor pursuant to the club and drinking establishment

act shall be open to law enforcement officers and not to the

public.

‘(é) No licensee shall permit a person under the legal age for
consumption of cereal malt beverage to consume or purchase any
cereal malt beverage in or about a place of business, and no
licensee shall permit a person under the legal age for consump-
tion of cereal malt beverage to possess cereal malt beverage in or
about a place of business, except that a licensee’s employee who
is not less than 18 years of age may dxspense or sell cereal malt
beverage, if:

(1) - The licensee’s place of busmess is licensed only to sell
cereal malt beverage at retail in original and unopened contain-
ers and not for consumptxon on the premlses, or
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(2) the licensee’s place of business is a. licensed food service
establishment, as defined by K.S.A. 36-501 and amendments
thereto,-and: not ‘less ‘than '50% of the gross receipts fiom ‘the

licensee’s place of business is derived from the ‘sale’ of food for -

eonsumptlon on the-premises of the licensed place of busxness

(f) - No person shall have any alcoholic liquor in such person’s ‘

possession while in a place of business, unless the premises. are
curtently licensed as a club by the direetor or drinking estab-
lishment pursuant to the club and drinking establishment act.

(g) Cereal malt beverages may be sold on premises which are
beth licensed pursuant-to both the acts contained: in artiéle 27 of
chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated and licensed as a
elub by the direetor the club and drinking establishment act at
any time when alcoholic liquor is allowed by law to be served -on
the premises.

Sec. 101. On and after ]anuary 1,:1988, K S A 41-2705 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2705. (e} H s-ha-l-l- be

lawhal for G

daestateef!@aﬁsesexeeptteaheensedwhelesaleref
of sueh:

&) E*eeptasp;ewdedmp&mgmph(-ﬁ-}efﬂawsubseehea
manufaeturer; distributor; shalls

fefmeh-lendefgwemeneyierpaymemefsuehh—

[eenses
{6) - purchase or becownie the ownér of any nete; mortgage o
etherewdeneeofmdebtednessefa;etmlereraﬂyfemef

ewner-lesseeerlesseref&n-ypremsesupenw-h&eheefedmdt
are sold at retail:

& Ad*embater—agentefwhelesdef sel%tappmgané
dispensing equipment; as defined by feleS end regulations
adopted under artiele 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes
Aﬂmﬁ&ted-etaetlessth&ﬁﬂaeeestpaidfersueheqmpmemby

esﬁ&bhshmentenwhiehpfedeetsefthemanufaemef-dmﬁbu-
tor or whelesaler are sold: " -

2 Nepefsenengegedmthebusmessefmmfaemﬂng-
distributing or whelesaling cereal malt beverages shall; direetly
: e;mdﬁeeﬁy—payfereradv&nee—fum&shefleaémeneyferthe
payment of any license for another: -

{e)} (a) Except to the extent permztted pursuant to KS A

41-703 and amendments thereto, no retailer, or any officer,

associate, member, representative or agent théreof; shall accept,
receive or borrow money or anything else of valué, or accept or
receive credit, directly or mdzrectly, from: (1) Any manufacturer
or dzstnbutor (2) any person connected with, in any way rep-
resenting or a member of the Jamily of a manufacturer or
distributor; (3) any stockholdeérs in a manufacturer or distribu-
tor; or-(4) any officer; manager, agent or: representatwe of a
manufacturer or distributor. - -

(b) Any licensee who shall permit or assent or be a party in
any way, to any violation or infringement of the provisions of this

section or of K.S.A. 41-702 or 41-703; and amendments thereto,

shall be deemed guilty of a violation'of this:act, and -any‘money
loaned contrary to a provision of this aet section shall.not be
recovered ‘baek, or any note; mortgage or other. évidence of
indebtedness, or security, or any lease: or contract obtained or
made contrary to this act shall be unenforceable and void.
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bevefegeteea-ypefsenwhehasaetseemedaheenseasp!e-
Whh%ﬁmmm&m%wﬂ

: geographie
feseayetherwhelesalererd&s@abuterteseﬂ&ny&ueheereal
malt beverage to such retailer: -

&8 «Exeeptaspfeﬂdedmpmy&pb(ﬂ)eftbissubseehen
{g); no individual brewer or group of brewesrs shall direetly or
méueedyesihteughasubs&é&wera&lmte—erbymeﬁeer—
direetor or firm of such brewer or group of brewers: -
&) Fu*meh—gweerlenémeaeyfeithepaymentefm
heensefbran—ywhelesdermd&eshteefm :

: ewner—lesseeeflesseref&nypremtsesupenwhieheenealmalt
- beverages are sold at whelesale; or

®) engagemthewhelesaled&s&tbuﬁeﬂefeeredmakbev-

’ emgeserma-l-tpreéue@smthest&teef&msas—

Neﬂamgmthtsseehens-h&ﬂbeeenswuedteprehbﬁmy '
brewef&emmakmgsaleenddelweﬂesefeeiealmakbevenges
or malt produets to licensed whelesalers in the state of Kansas; of

_ to a braneh; subsidiary or affiliate located in the state of Kansas;

fremwhaebenerbefere}en&ery%%&ebrewerheébeen ,

-fh) Neothing contained in this section shall meke it unlawful
fetaﬂypeﬁeatebeamembefefaelubheensedaseuehbythe
director of aleoholie beverage eontrol nor shall membership in
suehaelubbyahype;seneens&h&teadasqu&hﬁee&eaefm
person for any license under this eet:

& Nebreweroredaersu-pphefsha}lentefmtemagreement
&MM&QMJM~MWMM

d&s&ibuteraggﬁevedbyaéemiaaﬁeﬂ;med&ﬁe&ﬁeaer
ral made under this section mey fle an appropriate action in any
dismeteeuﬁefth!sstatehwmgvenueauegmgﬁhatﬁaetemr

.Sec. 102. K.S.A. 41-2706 is hereby’ amended to read as fol-
lows .41-2706: No person shall sell or furnish cereal malt bever-
ages at retail to any person on credit ex; on a passbook; e¥; on
order on a store; e¥; in exchange for any goods, wares or mer-
chandise;; or in payment for any services rendereds end. If any
person shall extend extends credit for such purpose, the debt
thereby attempted to be created shall not be recoverable at laws
and, in addition, suffer such person shall be subject to the
penaltles prov1ded in K.S.A. 41-2707 and amendments thereto.

~Sec. 103. “On-and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-2707 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2707. No wheleseles of
eereal malt beverages licensed under the laws of this state
distributor shall sell or furnish cereal malt beverages to a retailer
of eerenl malt liecensed under the laws of this state; on
credit or; on a passbook e¥; on order on a store; ox; in exchange
for any goods, wares or merchandlse- of;.in payment for any

( continued)
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service rendered or to be rendereds; or by any extension of credit
of any kind, type or class. Any distributor; or retailer
who shall sielate violates any of the terms of this section or
K.S.A. 41-2706 and amendments thereto shall be subject to all
penalties and forfeitures provided by K.S.A. 41-2705 and 41-

2708, and any amendments thereto, and any debt attempted to be

created in violation hereof shall not be recoverable at law.

Sec. 104. K.S.A. 41-2708 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2708. (a) The board of county commissioners or the
governing body of any city, upon five days’ notice to the persons
holding a license, shall revoke or suspend the license for any one
of the following reasons:

(1) The licensee has fraudulently obtained the license by
giving false information in the application therefor;

(2) the licensee has violated any of the provisions of this act
or any rules or regulations made by the board or the city, as the
case may be;

(3) the hcensee has become ineligible to obtain a license in
under this act;

“) drunkenness of the llcensee or permitting any intoxicated

person to remain in the licensee’s place of business;

(5) - the sale of cereal malt beverages to any person under the
legal age for consumption of cereal malt beverage;

(6) the nonpayment of any license fees;

(7) . permitting any gambling in or upon the licensee’s place of
business;

(8) permitting any person to mix drinks with matenals pur-
chased in the place of business or brought in for that purpose;

(9) the employment of persons under 18 years of age in
dispensing or selling cereal malt beverages;

(10) the employment of persons who have been adjudged

" guilty of felony or of any violation of the intoxicating liquor law;

(11) the sale or possession of, or permitting any person to use

or-consume on the licensed premises, any alcoholic liquor as
defined by K.S.A. 41-102 and amendments thereto. ’
" (b) The provisions of subsections (a)(8) and (11) shall not
apply if the place of business or premises are also currently
licensed as a club under a License issued by the state direetor of
aleehelie eentrel or drinking establishment pursuant
to the club and drinking establishment act.

(c) Within 20 days after the order of the board revoking or
suspending any license, the licensee may appeal to the district
court and the district court shall proceed to hear such appeal as
though such court had original jurisdiction of the matter. Any
appeal taken from an order revoking or suspending the license
shall not suspend the order of revocation or suspension during
the pendency of any such appeal. In case of the revocation of the
licénse of any licensee, no new license shall be issued to the
former licensee, or to any person. acting for or on the former
licensee’s behalf, for a period of six months thereafter.

Sec. 105. K.S.A. 41-2721 is hereby amended to read as fol- k

lows: 41-2721. (a) No person under the legal age for consump-
tion of cereal malt beverage shall possess, consume, obtain ex,

purchase; or attempt to obtain or purchase; cereal malt beverage
&em eny perser except as authorized by law.

(b) Violation of this subseetion section by a person 18 or more
years of age but less than the legal age for consumption of cereal
" malt beverage is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less
than $100 and net mere than $250 or by nor more than $250. In
addition to such fine, the court may order the offender to
pe(it))rm 40 hours of public service; ox by

Neo persen under the legal age for eeﬂsump&en of eereal

%h&enefth*ssubseeﬁenbyapefsenwefmefeye&sefage
but less then the legol age for consumption of ecereal malt bever-
age is & misdemeanor punishable:

& Byaﬁaeefae&less&han%andaetmerethm%@ef
by 40 hours of publie service; or by beth; if committed on
premises lieensed pursuent to article 26 or artiele 27 of chapter
43 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated: or

{2) byaﬁﬁeefﬂetlessﬂiaa%sandnetmeredmﬂ%gefby
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}OhemefgubkeseMeeerbybeﬂi-#eemmi&edenanyether

(c) Any person less than 18 years of age who violates. this
section is a juvenile offender under the Kansas juvenile offend-
ers code and;. Upon adjudication thereof; shall be required as-a
eondition of d-:&pes-x-aen to pay the fine or perform the publie
serviee; or both; as punishment for the offense under
subseetion {a) or (b} and as a condition of disposition, the court
shall require the offender to pay a fine of not less than $100 nor
more than $250 and, in addition, may order the offender to
perform 40 hours of publw service.

(d) .. This section shall not apply to the possessmn and con-
sumption of cereal malt beverage by a person under the legal age
for consumption of cereal malt beverage when such possession
and consumption is permitted and supervised, and such bever-
age is furnished, by the person’s parent or legal guardjan..

(e) This section shall be part of and supplemental to article
27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated.

Sec. 106. K.S.A. 41-2723 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 41-2723. A cereal malt beverage wholesaler’s or distribu-
tor’s license issued pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2713 and amendments
thereto shall allow:

(a) The wholesale purchase, importation and storage of wme,
but any wine purchased or imported which is manufactured in
the United States shall be purchased: (1) From the primary

- American source of supply, as defined by K.S.A. 41-102 and
" amendments thereto; (2) from a'distributor licensed pursuant to

the Kansas liquor control act; or (3) at a sheriff's sale, if the wine
has been confiscated;

(b) the sale of wine to: (1) Distributors lxcensed pursuant to
the Kansas liquor control act; (2) retailers licensed pursuant to
the Kansas liquor control act, except that such wholesaler or
distributor shall'sell a brand of wine only to such retailers whose
licensed premises are located in the geographic territory within
which such distributor or wholesaler is authorized to sell such
brand, as designated in the notice or notices filed with the

- director -pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2713 and amendments thereto;

and (3) such persons located outside such territery or outsxde thns '
state as permitted by law;

(c) .thesale o{ wine; but only in barrels, casks and other bulk
containers, to: (1) Caterers licensed pursuant to the club and
drinking establishment act; and (2) clubs and drinking estab-
lishinents licensed pursuant to the club and drinking establish-
ment act, except that such wholesaler or distributor shall sell a-
brand of wine only to such clubs and drinking establishments .
the licensed premises of which are located in the geographic
territory within which such distributor or wholesaler is autho-
rized to sell such brand, as designated in the notice or notices

filed with the director pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2713 and amend-

ments thereto;

(d) the purchase of wine in barrels, casks or other bulk
containers and the bottling thereof before resale, but all bottles
or containers filled with such wine shall be sealed, labeled,
stamped and otherwise made to comply with all laws and rules
and regulations governing the preparation and bottling of wine
by manufacturers and with all federal rules, regulatlons and
laws;

(d-) (e) the wholesale purchase, importation and storage of
cereal malt beverage,

() (f) the sale of cereal malt beverage to: (1) sttnbutors or
wholesalers licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2713 and amend-
ments thereto; (2) retailers licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702
and amendments thereto; and (3) such other persons as permit-
ted by law; and

{5 (g) the purchase of cereal malt beverage in kegs or other
bulk containers and the bottling or canning thereof in accordance
with law.

Sec.: 107. K.S.A. 41-2724 is hereby amended to read as fol- -
lows: 41-2724. (a) The provisions. of K.S.A. 41-312, 41-501
through 41-506, 41-601, 41-602, 41-701 through 41-709, 41-714,
41-722, 41-723, 41-724, 41-901 through 41-905, 41-1001 through
41-1004, 41-1101, 41-1102, 41-1107 and 41-1112, and amend-
ments thereto, and any rules and regulations adopted for the
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administration or enforcement thereof, shall apply with respect
to wholesalers and distributors licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-
2713 and amendments thereto to the same extent as those provi-
sions apply with respect to distributors licensed pursuant to the
Kansas liquor control act; except to the -extent otherwise pro-
vided by K.S.A. 41-2723 and amendments thereto.

{b)" No'club or drinking establishment licensed pursuant to
the club and drinking establishment act shall purchase any wine
from any:wholesaler or distributor unless the wholesaler or
distn'butbriﬁles with the director a written statement sworn to
by the wholesaler or distributor, or in case of a corporation by
one of its principal officers, agreeing to sell any of the brands or
ki‘nds*o{ wine distributed by the wholesaler or distributor to
those clubs and drinking establishments to which the whole-
saler or distributor is authorized to sell such wine and to which
the wholesaler or distributor desires to sell such wine, unless
written approval to do otherwise is obtained from the director;
to make such sales to all such licensed clubs or drinking es-
tablishments at the same current bottle and case price and
without discrimination; and to file price lists showing the cur-
rent bottle and case price in the office :i)f the director as often as
may be necessary or required by the director but at least once

. each.three months. If any wholesaler or distributor making the

agreement.violates the agreement by refusing to sell to any such
licensed club or drinking establishment in this state without

written approval of the_director or discriminates in current '

prices among such licensed clubs or drinking establishments

making. or attempting to make purchases. of wine from the

wholesaler or distributor, the director may revoke the license of

_the wholesaler or distributor. If any licensed wholesaler or

distributor making any agreement hereunder does not have a
sufficient supply of wine of any of the brands or kinds which the
wholesaler or distributor distributes to supply the demands of
all such licensed clubs. or drinking establishments, the whole-
saler or distributor may ration such wine and apportion the
available supply among such licensed clubs or drinking estab-
lishments purchasing or attempting to purchase the same, in
accordance with a plan which shall be subject to the approval of

- the director.

- For the purposes of this subsection, a delivery charge shall
not be considered a part of the price of wine sold by a whole-
saler or distributor. , ‘

(¢) As used in this section and K.S.A. 41-2723, and amend-
ments thereto, terms defined by K.S.A. 41-2701 and amendments
thereto shall have the meanings provided therein.

“Sec. 108: K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 79-3603 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 79-3603. For the privilege of engaging in the
business of selling tangible personal property at retail in this
state ot rendering or furnishing any of the services taxable under
this act, there is hereby levied and there shall be collected and
paid a tax as follows: -

(a) A tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received
from the sale of tangible personal property at retail within this
state. If any contractor has entered into a written binding con-
tract prior to May 15, 1986, for the construction, reconstruction,
repair, equipment or improvement of any building, airport,
highway, street, road, alley, sewer, sewage system, water line,
water system or any other improvement, and such contract and
the contract price includes the furnishing by the contractor of
tangible personal property subject to the tax imposed by this act
and: which is to become part of the completed improvement,
such tax shall be imposed at the rate prescribed by law immedi-
ately prior'to the effective date of this act, but this provision shall
not apply unless the contractor shall give notice and proof of
such contract to the director of taxation on or before July 10,
1986, which notice and proof shall be in such form and of such
sufficiency as the director of taxation shall prescribe;

(b) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from

intrastate telephone or telegraph services, which sale is not
otherwise exempt from taxation under the provisions of this act;

(c) atax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the sale
or furnishing of gas, water, electricity and heat, which sale is not
otherwise exempt from taxation under the provisions of this act,
and whether furnished by 'municipally or privately owned utili-
ties;
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(d) atax atthe rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the sale
of meals or drinks furnished at any private club er at any,
drinking establishment, catered event, restaurant, eating house,
dining car, hotel, drugstore or other place where meals or drinks
are regularly sold to the public;

(e) ' atax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the sale
of admissions to any place providing amusement, entertainment’
or recreation services including admissions to state, county,
district and local fairs, but such tax shall not be levied and
collected upon the gross receipts received from fees and charges
by political subdivisions of the state of Kansas for participation in
sports, games and other recreational/ activities;

(f) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the
operation of any coin-operated device dispensing or providing
tangible personal property, amusement or other services except
laundry services, whether automatic or manually operated;

(g) a-tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the
service of renting of rooms by hotels, as defined by K.S.A.
36-501; and amendments thereto, except such tax shall not apply
where 'a room s rented by an individual, firm, association or
corporation for a period of more than 28 consecutive days;

(h) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the
service of renting or leasing of tangible personal property except
such tax shall not apply to the renting or leasing of machinery,
equipment or other personal property owned by a city and
purchased from the proceeds of industrial revenue bonds issued
prior to July 1, 1973, in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A.
12-1740 te 12-1749; inelusive; and aets through
12-1749, and amendments thereto, and any city or lessee renting
or leasing such machinery, equipment or other personal property
purchased with the proceeds of such bonds who shall have paid a
tax under the provisions of this section upon sales made prior to
July 1, 1973, shall be entitled to a refund eut of from the sales tax
refund fund of all taxes paid thereon; ‘

(i) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts fiom the
rendering of dry cleaning, pressing, dyeing and laundry services
except laundry services rendered through a coin-operated device
whether automatic or manually operated;

() a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from the
rendering of the services of washing and washing and waxing of
vehicles; o

(k) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from cable,
community antennae and other subscriber radio and television
services; .

(1) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received
from-the sales of tangible personal property to all contractors,
subcontractors or repairmen of materials and supplies for use by
them in erecting structures for others, or building on, or other-
wise improving, altering, or repairing real or personal property of
others; :

(m) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received
from fees and charges by public and private clubs, drinking
establishments, organizations and businesses for participation in
sports, games and other recreational activities;

(n) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received-
from dues charged by public and private clubs, drinking estab-
lishments, organizations and businesses, payment of which en-
titles a member to the use of facilities for recreation or enter-

‘tainment;

(o) a tagx at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received
from the isolated or occasional sale of motor vehicles or trailers
but not including the transfer of motor vehicles or trailers by a
person to a corporation solely in exchange for stock or securities
in such corporation or the transfer of motor vehicles or trailers by
one corporation to another when all of the assets of such corpo-
ration are transferred to such other corporation. In determining
the base for computing the tax on such isolated or occasional
sale, the fair market value of any motor vehicle or trailer traded
in by the purchaser to the seller may be deducted from the
selling price;

(p) atax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received for
the service of installing or applying tangible personal property
which when installed or applied is not being held for sale in the
regular course of business, and whether or not such tangible

(continued)
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personal property when installed or applied remains tangible
personal property or becomes a part of real estate, except that no
tax shall be imposed upon the service of installing or applying
tangible personal property in connection with the original con-
struction of a building or facility or the construction, reconstruc-
tion, restoration, replacement or repair of a bridge or hlghway

‘ For the purposes of this subsectlon

(1) “Original construction” shall mean the first or initial
constructlon of a new building or facility. The term “original
construction” shall include the addition of an entire room or floor
to any existing building or facility, the completion of any unfin-
ished portion of any existing building or facility and the restora-
tion, reconstruction or replacement of a building or facility
damaged or destroyed by fire, flood, windstorm, hailstorm, rain-
storm, snowstorm, lightning,‘explbsion or earthquake, but such
term shall not include replacement, remodeling, restoration,
renovation or reconstruction under any other circumstances;

' (2) “building” shall mean only those enclosures within
which individuals customarily live or are employed, or which are
customarily used to house machinery, equipment or other prop-
erty, and including the land improvements immediately sur-
roundmg such bulldmg, and

1 (3) “facility” shall mean a mill, plant, refinery, oil or gas well,
water well, feed lot or any conveyance, transmission or distribu-
tion line of any cooperative, nonprofit, membership corporation
organized under or subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 17-4601 et
seq., and amendments thereto, or of any municipal or quasi-mu-
nicipal corporation, including the land improvements immedi-
ately surrounding such facility; .

i(q) atax atthe rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received for
the service of repairing, servicing, altering or maintaining tangi-
ble personal property which when such services are rendered is
not being held for sale in the regular course of business, and
whether or not any tangible personal property is transferred in
connection therewith. The tax imposed by this subsection shall

- be applicable to the services of repairing, servicing, altering or
mamtaxmng an item of tangible personal property which has
been and is fastened to, connected with or built into real prop-
erty;

{r) a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts from fees or
charges made under service or maintenance agreement contracts
for services, charges for the providing of which are, taxable
under the provisions of subsection (p) or (q) of this seetion;

'(s). a tax at the rate of 4% upon the gross receipts received
from the sale of computer software. As used in this subsection,

“computer software” means information and directions loaded
into a computer which dictate different functions to be per-
formed by the computer, whether contained on tapes, dlSCS
cards or other devices or materials.

Sec.-109. Onand after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 79-4101 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 79-4101. (a) For the purpose of
provxdmg revenue which may be used by the state, counties and
cities in the enforcement of the provisions of this act, from and
after the effective date of this act, for the privilege of engaging in
the business of selling alcoholic liquor et retail ex by by retailers
or farm wineries to consumers in this state; or selling alcoholic
liquor or cereal malt beoerage by distributors to clubs, drinking
establishments or caterers in this state, there is hereby levied
and there shall be collected and paid a tax at the rate of 8% upon
the gross receipts received from: (1) The sale of alcoholic liquor
at retail or by retailers or farm wineries to consumers within this
state; and (2) the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage
by alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beuerage distributors to clubs,
drinking establishments or caterers in this state.

/(b). The tax imposed by this section shall be in addition to the

. license fee imposed on distributors, retailers and farm wineries
by K.S.A. 41-310 or 41-2713, and amendments thereto.

iSec. 110. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 79-4101, as
amended by section 109 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 79-4101. (a) For the purpose of providing revenue which
may be used by the state, counties and cities in the enforcement
of the provisions of this act, from and after the effective date of
this act, for the privilege of engaging in the business of sellmg
alcoholxc liguor by retailers or farm wineries to consumers in this
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state or selling alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage by
distributors to clubs, drinking establishments or caterers in this
state, there is hereby levied and there shall be collected and paid
a tax at the rate of 8% upon the gross receipts received from: (1)
The sale of alcoholic liquor by retailers, microbreweries or farm
wineries to consumers within this state; and (2) the sale of
alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage- by aleoholie liquor or
eereal malt beverage distributors to clubs, drinking establish-
ments or caterers in this state.

(b) The tax imposed by this section shall be in addition to the
license fee imposed on distributors, retailers, microbreweries
and farm wineries by K.S.A. 41-310 ex 4-1-27—18— and amendments
thereto.

Sec. 111. Onand after July I, 1987 K.S.A. 79-4102 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 79-4102. The tax levied under K.S.A.
79-4101 and amendments thereto shall be paid by the consumer
or user to the retailer or farm winery or by the club, drinking
establishment or caterer to the distributor. It shall be the duty of
each retailer, end farm winery or distributor in’ this state to
collect from the purchaser the full amount of the tax imposed by
this act, or an amount equal as nearly as possible or practicable,
to the average equivalent thereof.

Sec. 112. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 79-4102 as
amended by section 111 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 79-4102. The tax levied under K.S.A. 79-4101 and
amendments thergto shall be paid by the consumer or user to the
retailer, microbrewery or farm winery or by the club, drinking
establishment or caterer to the distributor. It shall be the duty of
each retailer, microbrewery, farm winery or distributor in this
state to collect from the purchaser the full amount of the tax
imposed by this act, or an amount equal as nearly as possible or
practicable, to the average equivalent thereof. ,

Sec. 113. Onand after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 79-4103 is hereby
amended to read as follows: 79-4103. On or before the last day of
each calendar month, every person engaged in the business of
selling alcoholic liquor at retail, end every farm winery selling
wine to consumers in this state and every distributor selling
alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to clubs, drinking
establishments or caterers in this state during the preceding
calendar month shall make a return to the director of taxation
upon forms prescribed and furnished by the director, stating: (a)
The name and address of the seller; (b) the total amount of gross
sales of all alechelie liguor made to consumers by the seller
subject to the tax imposed by K.S.A. 79-4101 and amendments

. thereto during the preceding calendar month; and (c) any other

pertinent information the director requires. The person making
the return shall, at the time of making the return, pay to the
director of taxation the amount of tax imposed by K.S.A. 79-4101
and amendments thereto. The director of taxation may extend
the time for making returns and paying the tax for any period not
to exceed 60 days, under rules and regulations adopted by the
secretary of revenue. ;

Sec. 114. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 79-4103, as
amended by section 113 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 79-4103. On or before the last day of each calendar
month, every person engaged in the business of selling alcoholic

liquor at retail, every microbrewery. selling beer to consumers,

every farm winery selling wine to consumers in this state and
every distributor selling alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage
to clubs, drinking establishments or caterers in this state during
the precedmg calendar month shall make a return to the director
of taxation upon forms prescribed and furnished by the director,
stating: (a) The name 'and address of the seller; (b) the total
amount of gross sales subject to the tax imposed by K.S.A.
79-4101 and amendments thereto during the preceding calendar
month; and (¢) any other pertinent information the director
requires. The person making the return shall, at the time of
making the return, pay to the director of taxation the amount of
tax imposed by K.S.A. 79-4101 and amendments thereto. The
director of taxation may extend the time for making returns and
paying the tax for any period not to exceed 60 days, under rules
and regulations adopted by the secretary of revenue.

‘Sec. 115. On and after July 1, 1987, K.S.A. 794104 is hereby
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amended to read as follows: 79-4104. Whenever the director of
alcoholic beverage control issues a retailer’s license to sell alco-
holic liquors or issues a distributor’s or farm winery license, the
director of alcoholic beverage control shall promptly notify the
director of taxation of its issuance. The notice shall include the
name of the licensee and the address of the licensed premises.
Whenever the director of alcoholic beverage control revokes or
suspends any retailer’s, distributor’s or farm winery license or
whenever any retailer’s, distributor’s or farm winery license
expires, the director of alcoholic beverage control shall likewise
notify the director of taxation.

Sec. 116. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 79-4104, as
amended by section 115 of this act, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 79-4104. Whenever the director of alcoholic beverage
control issues a retailer'’s lieense to sell aleohelie liquers or
issues a distr ’s Jicense, distributor’s, microbrewery or farm
winery license, the director of alcoholic beverage control shall
promptly notify the director of taxation of its issuance. The notice
shall include the name of the licensee and, in the case of a
retailer, microbrewery or farm winery, the address of the li-
censed premises. Whenever the director of alcoholic beverage
control revokes or suspends any retailer’s, distributor’s, micro-

brewery or farm winery license or whenever any retailer’s, -

distributor’s, microbrewery or farm winery license expires, the
director of alcoholic beverage control shall likewise notify the
director of taxation. o ‘

Sec. 117.. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 79-41a01 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 79-41a01. As used in K.S.A. 79-41a01 through
79-41a04, and amendments thereto:

(a) “Alcoholic liquor” shell heve the meaning provided
means alcoholic liquor, as defined by K.S.A. 41-102 and amend-
ments thereto, and shall inelude cereal malt beverages beverage,
as defined by K.S.A. 41-2701, and amendments thereto.

(b) “Club” shell have the meaning “Caterer,” “club;” and

“drinking establishment” have the meanings provided by K.S.A.

41-2601 and amendments thereto.

(c) “Gross receipts derived from the sale of alcoholic liquor”
means the amount charged the consumer for a drink containing
alcoholic liquor, including any portion of that amount attributa-
ble to the cost of any ingredient mixed with or added to the
alcoholic liquor contained in such drink.

Sec. 118. K.S.A. 79-41a02 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 79-41a02. (a) There is hereby imposed, for the privilege of
selling alcoholic liquor, a tax at the rate of ten pereent (16%) 10%
upon the gross receipts derived from the sale of alcoholic liquor

.by any club, caterer or drinking establishment. ‘

(b) The tax imposed by this section shall be paid by the
consumer to the club, caterer or drinking establishment and it
shall be the duty of each and every club, caterer or drinking
establishment subject to this section to collect from the con-
sumer the full amount of such tax, or an amount equal as nearly
as possible or practicable to the average equivalent thereto. Each
club, caterer or drinking establishment collecting the tax im-
posed hereunder shall be responsible for paying over the same to
the state department of revenue in the manner prescribed by
K.S.A. 79-41a03 and amendments thereto and the state depart-
ment of revenue shall administer and enforce the collection of
such tax. '

Sec. 119. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 79-41a03 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 79-41a03. (a) The tax levied and collected pur-
suant to K.S.A. 79-41a02; and amendments thereto; shall become
due and payable by the club, caterer or drinking establishment
monthly, or on or before the last day of the month immediately

- succeeding the month in which it is collected, but any club,
caterer or drinking establishment filing an annual or quarterly
return under the Kansas retailers’ sales tax act, as preseribed in
K.S.A. 79-3607; and amendments thereto, shall, upon such con-

ditjons as the secretary of revenue may prescribe, pay the tax -

club, caterer or drinking establishment pays such retailers’ sales

' required by this act on the same basis and at the same time the

tax. Each club, caterer or drinking establishment shall make a

- true report to the department of revenue, on a form prescribed by

the secretary of revenue, providing such information as may be
necessary to determine the amounts to which any such tax shall
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apply for all gross receipts derived from the sale of alcoholic
liquor by the club, caterer or drinking establishment for the -
applicable month or months, which report shall be accompanied
by the tax disclosed thereby. Records of gross receipts derived
from the sale of alcoholic liquor shall be kept separate and apart
from the records of other retail sales made by a club, caterer or
drinking establishment in order to facilitate the examination of
books and records as provided herein. ‘ ,

(b) The secretary of revenue or the secretary’s authorized
representative shall have the right at all reasonable times during
business hours to make such examination and inspection of the
books and records of a club, caterer or drinking establishment as
may be necessary, to determine the accuracy of such reports-
required hereunder.

(c) The secretary of revenue is hereby authorized to admin-
ister and collect the tax imposed hereunder and to adopt such
rules and regulations as may be necessary for the efficient and

" effective administration and enforcement of the collection

thereof. Whenever any club, caterer or drinking establishment
liable to pay the tax imposed hereunder refuses or neglects to
pay the same, the amount, including any -penalty, shall be. col-
lected in the manner prescribed for the collection of the retailers’

sales tax by K.S.A. 79-3617 and amendments thereto.

(d) The secretary of revenue shall remit daily to the state
treasurer all revenue collected under the provisions of this act.

~ The state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount of each

remittance in the state treasury. Subject to the maintenance
requirements of the local alcoholic liquor refund fund created
under K.S.A. 79-41a09; and amendments thereto, 25% of the
remittance shall be credited to the state general fund, 5% shall
be credited to the community alcoholism and intoxication pro-
grams fund created by K.S.A. 41:1126 and amendments thereto
and the balance shall be credited to the local alcoholic liquor
fund created by K.S.A. 79-41a04 and amendments thereto.

(e) Whenever, in the judgment of the secretary of revenue, it
is necessary, in order to secure the collection of any tax, penalties
or interest due, or to become due, under the provisions of this
act, the secretary may require any person subject to such tax to
file a bond with the director of taxation under conditions es-
tablished by and in such form and amount as prescribed by rules
and regulations adopted by the secretary.

Sec. 120. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 79-41a04 is hereby amended to

" read as follows: 79-41a04. (a) There is hereby created, in the state

treasury, the local alcoholic liquor fund. Moneys credited to such
fund pursuant to this act or any other law shall be expended only
for the purpose and in the manner provided by this act. :

(b) All moneys credited to the local alcoholic liquor fund
shall be allocated to the several cities and counties of the state as
follows: . - : .

(1) Each city that has a population of more than 18,000 6,000
shall receive 70% of the amount which is collected pursuant to
this act from clubs or drinking establishments located in such
city, or from caterers whose principal places of business are so
located, and which is paid into. the state treasury during the
period for which the allocation is made. :

(2) Each city that has a population of 36,000 6,000 or less
shall receive 462/3% of the amount which is collected pursuant to
this act from clubs or drinking establishments located in such
city, or from caterers whose principal places of business are so
located, and which is paid into the state treasury during the
period for which the allocation is made. .

(3) Each county shall receive: (A) Seventy pereent 70% of the
amount which ‘is collected pursuant to this act from clubs or
drinking establishments located in such county and outside the
corporate limits of any city, or from caterers whose principal
places of business are so located, and which is paid into the state
treasury during the period for which the -allocation is made; and
(B) twenty-three and ene-third pereent 2313% of the amount
which is collected pursuant to this act from clubs or.drinking
establishments located in the county and within a city that has a
population of 18,000 6,000 or less, or from caterers whose prin-
cipal places of business are so located, and which is paid into the
state treasury during the period for which the allocation is made.

(continued)
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{c) - The state treasurer shall make distributions from the local
- alcoholic liquor fund in accordance with the allocation formula
prescribed by subsection (b) on March 15, June 15, September
15 and December 15 of each year. The director of accounts and
reports shall draw warrants on the state treasurer in favor of the
several county treasurers and city treasurers on the dates and in
the amounts determined under this section. Such distributions
shall be paid directly by mail to the several county treasurers and
city treasurers. )

(d) Each city treasurer of a city that has a population of more
than 16,000 6,000, upon receipt of any moneys distributed under

“this section, shall deposit the full amount in the city treasury and
shall credit 13 of the deposit to the general fund of the city, Ystoa
special parks and recreation fund in the city treasury and Y3 to a
special alcohol and drug programs fund in the city treasury. Each
city treasurer of a city that has a population of 30;000 6,000 or
less, upon receipt of any moneys distributed under this section,
shall deposit the full amount in the city treasury and shall credit
1j3 of the deposit to the general fund of the city and 12 to a special
parks and recreation fund in the city treasury. Moneys in such
special funds shall be under the direction and control of the
governing body of the city. Moneys in the special parks and
recreation fund shall be expended only for the purchase, es-
tablishment, maintenance or expansion of park and recreational
services, programs and facilities. Moneys in the special alcohol
and drug programs fund shall be expended only for the purchase,
establishment, maintenance or expansion of services or programs
whose principal purpose is alcoholism and drug abuse preven-
tion and education, alcohol and drug detoxification, intervention
in alcohol and drug abuse or treatment of persons who are
alcoholics or drug abusers or are in danger of becoming alcohol-
ics or drug abusers. - :

(e) Each county treasurer, upon receipt of any moneys dis-
tributed under this section, shall deposit the full amount in the
county treasury and shall credit to a special alcohol and drug
programs fund in the county treasury 231/3% of the amount which
is collected pursuant to this act from clubs or drinking estab-
lishments located in the county and within a city that has a
population of 30;000.6,000 or less, or from caterers whose prin-
cipal place of business is so located, and which is paid into the
state treasury during the period for which the allocation is made;
of the remainder, the treasurer shall credit U3 to the general fund
of the county, 13 to a special parks and recreation fund in the
county treasury and Ys to the special alcohol and drug programs
fund. Moneys in such special funds shall be under the direction
and control of the board of county commissioners. Moneys in the
special parks and recreation fund shall be expended only for the
purchase, establishment, maintenance or expansion of park and
recreational services, programs and facilities. Moneys in the
special alcohol and drug programs fund shall be expended only
for the purchase, establishment, maintenance or expansion of
services or programs whose principal purpose is alcoholism and
drug abuse prevention and education, alcohol and drug detoxifi-

_ cation, intervention in alcohol and drug abuse or treatment of
persons who are alcoholics or drug abusers or are in danger of
becoming alcoholics or drug abusers. In any county in which
there has been organized an alcohol and drug advisory commit-
tee, the board of county commissioners shall request and obtain,
prior to making. any expenditures from the special alcohol and
drug programs fund, the recommendations of the advisory com-
mittee concerning such expenditures. The board of county com-
missioners shall adopt the recommendations of the advisory
committee concerning such expenditures unless the board, by
unanimous vote of all commissioners, adopts a different plan for
such expenditures. ,

(f) Each year, the county treasurer shall estimate the amount
of money the county and each city in the county will receive
from the local alcoholic liquor fund and from distributions pur-
suant to K.S.A. 79-41a05 and amendments thereto. The state

treasurer shall advise each county treasurer, prior to June 1 of -

each year of the amount in the local alcoholic liquor fund that the
state treasurer estimates, using the most recent available infor-
mation, will be allocated to such county in the following year.
The county treasurer shall, before June 15 of each year, notify
the treasurer of each city of the estimated amount in dollars of
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the distribution to be made from the local alcoholic liquor fund
and pursuant to K.S.A. 79-41a05 and amendments thereto.. -

Sec. 121. K.S.A. 79-41a06 i§ hereby amended to'read as fol- -
lows: 79-41a06. No club, drinking establishment or caterer shall
sell any alcoholic liquor without a-registration ¢ertificate from
the secretary of revenue. Application for such certificate shall be
made to the secretary upon forms provided by the secretary and
shall contain such information as the secretary deems necessary
for the purposes of administering the provisions of this act. T! he
registration certificate shall be conspicuouslydisplayed in ‘the
licensed premises for which it is issued. = . oo T

Upon violation of any of the provision$ of K.S.A: 7941a01 et
seq., and amendments thereto, or any of the terms of this act, and
upon due notice and opportunity for hearing, the secretary may
revoke such registration certificate. - - -~ - R

Sec. 122. K.S.A. 79-41a07 is hereby amendéd to read as fol-
lows: 79-41a07. (a) The director of taxation or the director of
alcoholic beverage control may enjoin any person from-engaging
in business as a club, drinking establishment or caterer when
the club, drinking establishment or caterer is in'violation of any
of the provisions of K.S.A. 79-41a01 et seq., and amendments
thereto, or any of the terms of this act and shall'be entitled in any
proceeding brought for that purpose to have an order restraining
the person from engaging in business.as a club, drinking’ es-
tablishment or caterer. No bond shall be required for any such
restraining order or for any témporary or‘permanent injunction
issued in that proceeding. o ' AR ‘

(b) If a club, drinking establishment or caterer licensed by
the director of alcoholic beverage control viclates any- of the
provisions of K.S.A. 79-41a01 et seq., and amendments thereto,
or any of the terms of this act, the director of alcohelic beverage
control may suspend or revoke the elub’s license of such club,
establishment or caterer in accordance with K.S.A. 41-2609.and
amendments thereto or may impose a civil fine on the licensee in
the manner provided by K.S.A. 41-2633a an@ amendments
thereto. - _ .

Sec. 123. K.S.A. 79-41a08 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 79-41a08. The tax imposed by this act shall be a lien-upon
the elub or any propesty thereef business and any property of the
club, drinking establishment or caterer which may be sold. The
person acquiring such ekab business or property shall withhold a
sufficient amount of the purchase price thereof to cover the
amount of any taxes due and unpaid by the seller, until the seller
shall furnish the purchaser with a receipt from the secretary of
revenue, as herein provided, showing that such taxes have been
paid. The purchaser shall be personally liable for the payment of
any unpaid taxes of the seller, to the extent of the value-of the
business or property received by the purchaser, and if a receipt is
not furnished by such seller within 20 days from the date of sale
of such elub business or property, the purchaser shall remit the
amount of such unpaid taxes to the secretary on or before the
20th day of the month succeeding that in which such purchaser
acquired such elub business or property. Con

New Sec. 124. (a) The director shall provide procedures
whereby .a beer distributor’s license or cereal malt beverage
distributor’s or wholesaler’s license, or both, issued prior to
January 1, 1988, shall be converted to a beer distributor’s license
or wine distributors license, or both, on January 1, 1988, if .all
requirements of this act are met and the licensee pays that
portion of the additional license fee or fees attributable to the
remaining unexpired license term. - - oo R

(b) - The director shall provide procedures whereby an alco-
holic liquor distributor’s license, issued prior to January 1, 1988,
shall be: converted to a spirits distributor’s license or wine
distributor’s license, or both, on January 1, 1988, if all require-
ments of this act are met and the licensee pays that portion of the
additional license fee or fees attributable to the remaining ex-

_ pired license term.

(c) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the
Kansas liquor control act. . =~ = - - . .. . <.

New Sec. 125.. (a) On and after January 1, 1988, every sup-
plier desiring to sell alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to
distributors in this state shall be required to obtain a permit from
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the director, unless such supplier is licensed in this state as a
manufacturer or distributor. Application for such permit shall be
on a form prescribed by rules and regulations of the secretary of
revenue and shall be accompanied by a permit fee of $25. As a
condition of the issuance of such permit, the supplier shall be
deemed to have appointed the secretary of state as the resident
agent and representative of the supplier to accept service of
process from the director, the board and the courts of this state
and to accept service of any notice or order provided for in this
act, and all such acts by the secretary of state shall be fully
binding upon the supplier. . ’

(b) The director, in accordance with the Kansas administra-
tive procedure act, may revoke, suspend or refuse to issue a
permit to any supplier found to have violated any provision of
the Kansas liquor control act or K.S.A. 412701 et seq. and
amendments thereto, or any rules and regulations adopted
thereunder. : ’

New Sec. 126. The director may issue to a supplier a tem-
porary permit allowing such supplier to import into this state to a
distributor licensed under the Kansas liquor control act or under
K.S.A. 41-2713 and amendments thereto alcoholic liquor or ce-
real malt beverage for which such distributor does not have a
franchise to sell. The permit shall specifically identify the brand
and type of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage for which the
permit is issued and the quantity permitted to be imported into
the state. Such alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage shall not
be resold by the distributor and shall not be subject to the tax
imposed by K.S.A. 41-501 or 79-3818, and amendments thereto.

New Sec. 127.. Any natural person may act as a salesperson
for the sale of, or the taking or soliciting of orders for the sale of,
alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage in the state of Kansas
only after such person has first applied for and received a permit
therefor from the director; except that no such permit shall be
required of a licensed retailer or an employee of such retailer.

New Sec. 128. (a) Any natural person over the age of 21 may

apply to the director for a salesperson’s permit. The application
. shall be in such form and shall include such terms as the director
may prescribe, and shall include a provision that the holder will
comply with the Kansas liquor control act and the cereal malt
beverage laws of this state, and any rules and regulations
adopted under such act or laws. The application and any permit
issued pursuant thereto shall set forth the name and address of
the person, firm or corporation whom the applicant represents
and also the name, address and a description of the applicant. A
salesperson shall not represent any person, firm or corporation
whose name does not appear on the salespersons’ employer. No
person shall act as salesperson for more than one person, firm or
corporation under one permit. Additional permits may be
granted the same applicant for additional principals.
" (b)" Upon approval of any application by the director, the
director shall isstie a permit to the applicant for one year upon
the payment of an annual fee of $10, which fee shall accompany
the application.

(c) 'No person shall be issued a salesperson’s permit if such
person does not meet the qualifications of subsections (a)(4) and
(8) of K.S.A. 41-311 and amendments thereto or if such person
has a beneficial interest in any licensed retailer of alcoholic
liquor or cereal malt beverage or any licensed club, drinking
establishment or caterer. The director may deny a permit to any
. person who has been convicted of a felony or of a violation of the
Kansas liquor control act or cereal malt beverage laws of this
state.

any time while engaged in soliciting, taking orders for, or pro-
moting the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, upon
demand of any agent or employee of the director or upon request
of any licensee.

" New Sec. 130. No licensee shall purchase alcoholic ligaor or
cereal malt beverage from, or give an order to, any person who is
not the holder of a permit duly issued hereunder, except that an

- employee of a licensed distributor may solicit sales while on the
licensed premises of such distributor without such a permit.

"New Sec. 131. If a salesperson leaves the employ of the
employer specified on the salesperson’s permit, the salesperson
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New Sec. 129. All salespersons shall exhibit their peﬁnits at

shall immediately notify the director and surrender the permiit to
the director within five days. Failure to surrender the permit

‘within five days shall make the salesperson ineligible for any

other permit for a period prescribed by the director. It shall also
be the duty of the employer whose name is specified.on the
salesperson’s permit to notify the director within five days of the
termination of a salesperson’s employment. L

New Sec. 132. If the holder of a salesperson’s permit
changes address from that noted on the application for the
permit, the salesperson shall notify the director of such change of -
address within five days. Failure to so notify the director of a
change of address shall make the salesperson’s permit subject to
revocation in accordance with the Kansas administrative proce-
dure act. : ' :

New Sec. 133. (a) If the holder of salesperson’s permit is
convicted of a felony or violates the provisions of the Kansas
liquor control act or the cereal malt beverage laws of this state, or
any rules and regulations adopted thereunder, the director may
suspend or revoke any and all permits issued to such salesper-
son. The director shall suspend or revoke a salesperson’s permit
if the salesperson is not qualified to receive a permit pursuant to
section 128. ; i '

(b) In addition to suspending or revoking a salesperson’s
permit, the director may suspend or revoke the authority of the
salesperson’s employer to sell alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage to licensed distributors within the state of Kansas or, if
the salesperson is an employee of a licensed distributor, suspend
or revoke such distributor’s license. . :

(¢) Any suspension or revocation of a license or permit pur-
suant to this section shall be in accordance with the Kansas
administrative procedure act.

New Sec. 134. No salesperson’s permit shall be issued .ex-
cept to a person who, in good faith, devotes a major part of the
person’s time to selling, or taking or soliciting orders for the sale
of, alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage and whose principal
occupation is that of a salesperson of the person, firm or corpo-
ration on whose behalf the application is filed. Nothing in this
section shall prohibit the issuance of a permit to a person who is
regularly employed on a full-time basis by a manufacturer or
licensed distributor of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage
and who, incident to the person’s regular employment for such
manufacturer or distributor, may sell, take or solicit orders for the
sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage. ,

New Sec. 135. No salesperson shall directly or indirectly: (a)
Sell, supply, furnish, give, pay for, loan or lease any furnishing,
fixture or equipment on the premises of a place of business of a
licensee authorized under this law to sell alcoholic liquor or
cereal malt beverage at retail; (b) pay for any such license, or
advance, furnish, lend or give money for payment of such li-
cense; (c) purchase or become the owner of any note, mortgage
or other evidence of indebtedness of such licensee or any form of
security therefor; (d) be interested in the ownership, conduct or

- operation of the business of any licensee authorized to sell

alcoholic liquor at retail; or (e) be interested, directly or indi-
rectly, or as owner, part owner, lessee or lessor thereof, in any
premises upon which alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is
sold at retail, and any person having any such interest as de-
scribed ‘above shall not be eligible to receive or to hold a

" salesperson’s permit.

New Sec. 136. (a) No distributor shall, directly or indirectly,
sell on credit any alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a
club, drinking establishment or caterer, and no club, drinking
establishment or caterer shall, directly or indirectly, buy on
oredit any alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage from a dis-
tributor.

(b) Any sales of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage by a
distributor to a club, drinking establishment, caterer or retailer
licensed under the Kansas liquor control act or under K.S.A.
41-2702 and amendments thereto shall be separate transactions
from sales by such distributor to any other such club, drinking
establishment, caterer or retailer even if the licensee is the same
person or entity as the holder of the license for such other club,

- drinking establishment, caterer or retailer.

(continued)
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.- (e) - {Except as otherwise provided By this se"ctibn or K.S.A.
41-702,-41-703 and 41-2707, and amendments thereto, any fi-

nancial: instrument, - other than a second-party ¢check, mdy be.

used by a club; drinking establishment, caterer or retailer li-
censed under the Kansas liquor control act or-under K.S.A.
41-2702 and amendments thereto to purchase alcoholic liquor or
cereal ‘malt beverage: from a distributor and a distributor may
accept any such financial instrument as payment. In addition, a
prepayment plan may be used for the purpose of making such
purchases  if the amount prepaid does notexceed the usual
purchases made for the period of time for which prepayment is

e. S . ‘
. (d) Sales of alcoholic liquor by a distributor to clubs, drinking
establishments, caterers or retailers licensed under the Kansas
liquor- control act or under K.S:A. 41-2702 and amendments
thereto shall be final except that a distributor may: . _
. (1) 'Buy back any item of alcohelic lignor or cereal ‘malt
beverage which such club, drinking establishment, caterer or
retailer has obtained the approval of the director to close out;
~ (2) buy back any item of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage when required by the supplier; and . - ‘
'(3) - buy back or exchange, within 24 hours after delivery, any
item of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage which is dam-

~ aged or deteriorated in quality. R :
New Sec. 137. (a) No retailer shall sell, directly or indirectly,
any alcoholic liquor at less than the acquisition cost of such
, ‘}iiquo‘r without first having obtained from the director a permit to
do so. : ‘ o T ’
(b) The director may issue to a licensed retailer a permit
authorizing the retailer to sell alcoholic liquor at less than the
‘acquisition-act of such liquor if: : 2 ‘

(1) The retailer is actually closing out the retailer’s stock for
the purpose of completely discontinuing sale of the item of
alcoholic liquor for a period of not less than 12 months;

(2) - the.item of alcoholic liquor is damaged or deteriorated in
quality and notice is given to the public thereof; or 1

(3) the sale of the item of alcoholic liquor is by an officer
acting under the order of a court. o

_ New Sec. 138. (a) On and after January 1, 1988, a micro-
brewery license shall allow: '

" (1) The manufacture of not less than 100 nor more than 5,000
barrels of domestic beer during the license year and the storage
thereof; ,

(2) the sale to beer distributors-of beer manufactured by the
licensee; :

(3) the sale, on the licensed premises in the original un-
opened container to consumers for consumption off the licensed
premises, of beer manufactured by the licensee;

(4) the serving on the premises of samples of beer manufac-
tured by the licensee, if the premises are located in a county
where the sale of alcoholic liguor is permitted by law in licensed
drinking establishments; and .

(5) if the licensee is also licensed as a. club or drinking
establishment, the sale of domestic beer and other alcoholic
liquor for consumption on the licensed premises as authorized
by the club and drinking establishment act. L :

(b) Not less than 50% of the products utilized in the man-
ufacture of domestic beer by a microbrewery shall be grown in
Kansas except when a greater proportion of products grown
outside this state is authorized by the director based upon
findings that such products are not available in this state. The
label of each container of domestic beer shall clearly set forth the
proportion of the products utilized in the manufacture of the beer
which was from agricultural products grown in Kansas.

(¢) A microbrewery may sell domestic beer in the original
unopened container to consumers for consumption off the li-
censed premises at any time when a retailer is authorized to sell
alcoholic liquor at retail. If authorized by subsection (a), a mi-
crobrewery may serve samples of domestic beer and serve and
sell domestic beer and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on
the licensed premises at any time when a club or drinking
establishment is authorized to serve and sell alcoholic liquor.

(d) A microbrewery license shall apply only to the premises
deséribed in the application and in the license issued and only
one location shall be described in the license.

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987

(e) No microbrewery shall: - - o
.*{1y - Employ any person under the age of 18 years.in connec-
tion with the manufacture, sale or serving of any aleoholie liquor;

{2) permitany employee of the licensee:who is:under the age
of 21 years to:work on the licensed premises-at any time when
pot under the on-premise supervision of either the licensee oran
employee of the licenseewho is'21 yyears of age:or over;

(3) ‘employ any person-under 21 years of age in ‘connection
with mixing or dispensing aleoholic liquor;or -~ - -

(4)" employ any person in connection with the'manufacture or
sale of alcoholic liquor if the person has ‘beenconvicted of a
felony. e R C L ]

lation-of the Kansas liquor control act, the director may revoke
the licensee’s license and all fees paid for the license in accord-
ance ‘with the Kansas administrative: procedure act.

New Sec. 139.° Sections 124 through 138 shall be part of and
suppleméntal to the Kansas liquor eontrol act. "< .- .
" Sec. 140.  On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 79-3833 is

. hereby amended to read as follows: 79-3833. It s}:au be unlaw-

ful; -
" (a) For any person to prevent the director or any officer or
agent authorized by law from making a full inspection for the
purposes of this act of any place of business where*cereal malt
beverages .or malt products are sold or offered for sale.
"(b)  For any wholesaler or distributor, or his er her agents or
employees thereof, to fail to produce on demiand of seid the
director or any officer or agent authorized by laws; all invoices
herein required of all cereal malt beverages and malt products
bought and sold by him er her or received in his or her such
wholesaler or disttibutor or received at the wholesaler’s or
distributor’s place of business, or any other record herein re-
quired to be kept. T :
(¢)  For any person knowingiy to make, use or present or
exhibit to said director or any officer or agent authorized by law

_ «{f)»“Whenever a-microbrewery licensee is convicted of a vio-

any invoices of cereal malt beverages or malt products which .

bear an untrue date or falsely state the nature or quantity of the
goods therein invoiced. ; : 5 ;
d) Forany wholesaler, distributor or retailer to fail or refuse

" to keep and preserve for the time and in the manner required by

this act all records requited by this act to be kept and preserved.

(e) For any person to fail or refuse to make any reports
required by this act to be made to the director. o

() For any retailer to have in his er her the retailer’s posses-
gion, more than twenty-feur 24 hours after the receipt thereof,
any of the articles herein taxed which do not have-affixed thereto
the crown or stamps required by this act or for any wholesaler,
distributor, or retailer to sell, deliver; or otherwise dispose of in
this state’ any cereal malt beverage or malt product on the
coritainer of which the crown or stamp evidencing the payment

. of the tax herein imposed has not been affixed in conformity with

the provisions of this act.

" (g) " 'For any person to make a false or fraudulent return or to
evade or-attempt to evade the payment of tax imposed pursuant
to K.S.A. 79-3418 and amendments thereto. - oo

(h) * For any brewer or group of brewers to sell, deliver or
distribute malt products in this state except to a beer distributor
licensed under the liquor control act. : -

" See. 141 "On and after Janudry 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-308ais
hereby amended to read as follows: 41-308a. (a) A farm winery
license shall allow the manufacture; storage and sale of domestie
l | I s .r,«,v,\" %e lc P : l ]l ll ' I . g}gﬁ % l. «‘ i

‘ - ’- B ef»*\e -3 - " ‘iﬂ &e L - ‘ ‘k N M - ’kw
consumers for WIRery; B eg,“ebe*gn,’,,;'il“ 1 oontii ,“@e* ot
le_a, RS a,”j" ;!;., ik ’elan’s‘ “’ *@“F tehéi*.} soll rotailerss eﬂdp'e«_)““;es].‘ sed

users: “ ; .o

*(1) ~The manufacture of domestic ‘tzible wine and the storage
thereof; RN i L

. (2) ‘the sale tb wme distributo‘fé of uﬁ'ne manufact’itred'by the

licensee; : S E .

" (3) the sale, on the licensed premises in the original un-
opened container to consumers for consumption off the licensed
premises, of wine manifactured by the licensee; -
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(4) _ the serving on the premises of samples of wine manufac-
tured by the licensee, if the premises are located in. a county
where the sale of alcoholic liquor is permitted by law in licensed
drinking establishments; and , , . L
- (5) if the licensee -is also licensed as a club or drinking
establishment, the sale of domestic wine and other alcoholic
liquor for consumption on the licensed premises as authorized
by the club and drinking establishment act. , ,

(b) Not less than 60% of the products utilized in the man-
ufacture of domestic table wine by a farm winery shall be grown
in Kansas except when a greater proportion is authorized by the
director based upon findings that such products are not available
in this state. A winery shall affix to each container of domestie
table wine to be effered for sele a separete label cleasly setting
The label y domestic wine shall clearly set forth the proportion
of the products utilized in the manufacture of the wine which
was from agricultural products grown in Kansas. ,

(c) A farm winery having a capacity of 50,000 gallons per year
or more, which sells wine to any distributor shall be required to

- comply with all provisions of article 4 of chapter 41 of the Kansas

Statutes Annotated and of K:S.A, 41-701 through 41-705 and
41-709, and amendments thereto, in the same manner and sub-
ject to the same penalties as a manufacturer.

(d) A farm winery may sell wine to eonsumers on Monday
dey between noon and 6:00 p-m- domestic wine in the original
unopened container to consumers for consumption off the li-
censed premises at any time when a retatler is authorized to sell
alcoholic liquor at retail. If authorized by subsection (a), :‘{arm
winery may serve samples of domestic wine and serve and sell

domestic wine and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on

the licensed premises at any time when a club or drinking
establishment is authorized to serve and sell alcoholic liquor.

(e) A farm winery license shall apply only to the premises
described in the application and in the license issued and only
one location shall be described in the license. . o

(f) No farm winery shall employ any persen in eonnection
with the menufeeture or salo of wine if the persent (1) Is less then
21 years of age; or (2) has been convieted of a folony:

(1) Employ any person under the age of 18 years in connec-
tion with the manufacture, sale or serving of any alcoholic

liquor; ; :
(2) permit any employee of the licensee who is under the age
of 21 years.to work on the licensed premises at any time when
not under the on-premise supervision of either the licensee or an
employee of the licensee who is 21 years of age or over; ‘

(3) employ any person under 21 years of age in con_nectidn '

with mixing or dispensing alcoholic liquor; or

(4) employ any person in connection with the manufacture

or sale of alcoholic liquor if the person has been convicted of a
elony. . ‘ . , .
% {g) Whenever a farm winery licensee is convicted of a viola-
tion of the Kansas liquor control act, the director may revoke the
licensee’s license and all fees paid for the license, after a hearing

before the director for that purpose. :

(h) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the

Kansas liquor control act. , _ o
Sec. 142. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 79-3819 is
hereby amended to read as follows: 79-3819. Any wholesaler or
distributor who imports any cereal malt beverages or malt prod-
ucts shall pay the tax imposed by this act and affix the stamps as.

the same shall be seld or offered for sele or distribution by gift or -
e

sale within the state of Kansas, and in no event shall such tax b
paid by the manufacturer unless the cereal malt beverages or
malt products are manufactured in this state. - , o
New Sec. 143. If any provisions of this act or the application
thereof to any person or circumstances is held invalid the inva-
lidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this act
which can be given effect without the invalid provisions. or
application and to this end the provisions of this act are sever-
able. o g . R C
Sec. 144. 'K.S.A. 41-102, 41-103, 41-104, 41-311, 41-403, 41-.
408, 41-506, 41-719, 41-727, 41-803, 41-2601, 41-2602, 41-2603,
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41-2605, 41-2606, 41-2608 through 41-2615, 41-2619 .through
41-2630, 41-2632, 41-2633, 41-2633a, 41-2637, 41-2640, 41-2702,
41-2703, 41-2704, 41-2706, 41-2708, 41-2721, 41-2723, 41-2724,
41-2801 through 41-2804, 79-41a02, 79-41a06, 79-41a07 and 79-
41208 and K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 79-3603, 79-41a01, 79-41a03 and
79-41a04 are hereby repealed. , . S
- ‘Sec. 145. On and after July 1, 1987, K.5.A. 41-203 through
41-207, 41-210, 41-306, 41-307, 41-308, 41-310, 41-321, 41-322, .
41-323, 41-328, 41409, 41-410, 41-701, 41-702, 41-703, 41-1101,

- 41-2634 and 794101 through 79-4104 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 146. On and after January 1, 1988, K.S.A. 41-304, 41-
305, 41-308a, 41-312, 41-313, 41-316, 41-317, 41-319, 41-320,
41-401, 41-402, 41-501, 41-601, 41-602, 41-709, 41-710, 41-714,
41-717, 41-718, 41-901, 41-2701, 41-2705, 41-2707, 412713, 41-
2718, 79-3819 and 79-3833 and K.S.A. 41-102, as amended by
section 1 of this act, 41-306, as amended by section 13 of this act,
41-307, as amended by section 16 of this act, 41-310, as amended

- by section 19 of this act, 41-311, as amended by section 21 of this

act, 41-409, as amended by section 37 of this act, 41-410, as
amended by section 39 of this act, 41-701, as amended by section
45 of this act, 41-1101, as amended by section 58 of this act,
41-2723, as amended by section 106 of this act, 41-2724, as
amended by section 107 of this act, 79-4101, as amended by
section 109 of this act, 79-4102, as amended by section 111 of this
act, 79-4103, as amended by section 113 of this act, and 79-4104,
as amended by section 115 of this act, are hereby repealed.
Sec. 147. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register. o
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HOUSE BILL No. 2582

AN ACT relating to certain public corporations; concerning certain personnel and
financial matters of Kansas, Inc. and Kansas technology enterprise corpora-
tion; amending K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-8005 and 74-8105 and repealing the
existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-8001 through 74-8011
and sections 1, 2 and 3 and any amendments thereto shall be
known and may be cited as the Kansas, Inc. act. ~

New Sec. 2. (a) The president and all other employees of
Kansas, Inc. shall be considered to be state employees and
Kansas, Inc. shall be considered to be a state agency for purposes
of the laws and procedures governing the payroll accounting
system for state agencies under K.S.A. 75-5501 et seq., the
deferred compensation plan developed and approved for state
employees under K.S.A. 75-5521 through 75-5529 and amend-
ments thereto, the Kansas public employees retirement system,
the employment security law, the workmen’s compensation act,
including the state workmen’s compensation self-insurance fund
as provided in K.S.A. 44-575 through 44-580 and amendments
thereto, the state health care benefits program and remittances
pursuant to the federal social ‘security act, federal insurance
compensation act and the federal internal revenue code. The
president and all other employees of Kansas, Inc. shall be con-
sidered to be state employees and Kansas, Inc. shall be consid-
ered to be a state agency only for the purposes specified in this
subsection. :

(b) Exceptas provided in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 1986 Supp.
74-8003 and amendments thereto for members of Kansas, Inc.,
the provisions of article 32 of chapter 75 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated, any acts amendatory thereof or supplemental thereto,
and any rules and regulations adopted thereunder, shall not
apply to officers or employees of Kansas, Inc. Subject to policies
established by Kansas, Inc., the president of Kansas, Inc. or the
president’s designee shall be authorized to approve all travel and
travel expenses of such officers and employees.

(c) - Nothing in this act or the act of which it is amendatory
shall be construed as placing any officer or employee of Kansas,
Inc. in the classified service or unclassified service under the
Kansas civil service act. )

New Sec. 3. (a) All state appropriations to or grants of state
appropriations to Kansas, Inc. shall remain in the state treasury
until expended or transferred to other state agencies pursuant to
the Kansas, Inc. act. . .

(b) Exceptas provided in subsection (a), all moneys received
by Kansas, Inc. from gifts, donations, grants or any other source
outside the state treasury may be placed in the state treasury or
may be maintained in interest-bearing accounts in Kansas banks

or Kansas savings and loan associations until expended or other-

wise disposed of pursuant to the Kansas, Inc. act.

New Sec. 4. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-5050, 74-8101 through
74-8112 and sections 4, 5 and 6 and amendments thereto shall be
known and may be cited as the Kansas technology enterprise
corporation act.

New Sec. 5.. (a) The president and all other employees of the
Kansas technology enterprise corporation shall be considered to
be state employees and the Kansas technology enterprise corpo-
ration shall be considered to be a state agency for purposes of the
laws and procedures governing the payroll accounting system for
state agencies under K.S.A. 75-5501 et seq., the deferred com-
pensation plan developed and approved for state employees
under K.S.A. 75-5521 through 75-5529 and amendments thereto,
the Kansas public employees retirement system, the employ-
ment security Jaw, the workmen’s compensation act, including
the state workmen’s compensation self-insurance fund as pro-
vided in K.S.A. 44-575 through 44-580 and amendments thereto,
the state health care benefits program and remittances pursuant
to the federal social security act, federal insurance compensation
act and the federal internal revenue code. The president and all
other employees of the Kansas technology enterprise corporation
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shall be considered to be state employees and the corporation
shall be considered to be a state agency only for the purposes
specified in this subsection. -~ SR

(b) Exceptas provided in subsection (h) of K.S.A. 1986 Supp.
74-8101 and amendments thereto for members of the board of
directors of the Kansas technology enterprise corporation, the
provisions of article 32 of chapter 75 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated, any acts amendatory thereof or supplemental thereto,
and any rules and regulations adopted thereunder, shall not
apply to officers or employees of Kansas technology enterprise
corporation. Subjéct to policies established by the board of
directors, the president of the corporation or the president’s
designee shall be authorized to approve all travel and travel
expenses of such officers and employees. - ‘

(c) Nothing in this act or the act of which it is amendatory
shall be construed as. placing any officer or employee of the
Kansas technology enterprise corporation in the classified ser-
vice or the unclassified service under the Kansas civil service
act. ) . : ) .
New Sec. 6. (a) All state appropriations to or grants of state
appropriations to the Kansas technology enterprise corporation
shall remain in the state treasury until expended, loaned, trans-
ferred to other state agencies or invested pursuant to the Kansas
technology enterprise corporation act. .

(b) Except as provided in subsection (a), any matching funds
or other moneys received by the corporation from any source
outside the state treasiiry may be placed in the state treasury or
may be maintained in interest-bearing accounts in Kansas banks
or Kansas savings and loan associations, or invested pursuant to
subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-8109 and amendments
thereto. Any accounts so maintained shall bear a designation of
one of the fund titles established in the Kansas technology
enterprise corporation act. ’

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-8005 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 74-8005. (a) Kansas, Inc. shall hire a person to serve as
its chief executive officer and president. Kansas, Inc. shall con-
duct a national search and select a corporation president who

meets a.national-standard of experience, ability and initiative for - :

similar positions. Kansas, Inc. may negotiate and enter into an
employment agreement with the individual selected as corpo-
ration president which may provide for such compensation and
such provisions for allowances, benefits and expenses as may be
included in such agreement. Kansas, Inc. is authorized to make
all payments and payroll deductions as may be required under
such agreement. ‘ ; '

(b) The president shall direct and supervise the general
management of the corporation and a small core staff of analysts.
{b) The president: : ] '

(1) May employ and terminate such other employees as des-
ignated by the members of Kansas, Inc.; - ; .

(2) -shall attend board meetings;

(3) shall keep a record of all proceedings and maintain and be
custodian of all financial and operational records, documents and
papers filed with Kansas, Inc.; and » '

(4) as a first priority, shall prepare a business plan which
shall be approved by the members of Kansas, Inc. and be sub-
mitted for review and comment to the legislative eeonemie

> ecommission legislative standing committees on
economic development or the joint committee on economic
development. .

(c) Kansas, Inc. is hereby authorized to negotiate and ‘enter
into contracts for professional consulting and research services
and in collaboration with the department of commerce.

(d)' Kansas, Inc. is authorized to accept gifts, donations and
grants. :

(e) Kansas, Inc. is not subject to state purchasing laws.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 1986 Supp.74-8105 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 74-8105. (a) The president shall be the chief execu-
tive officer of the corporation and shall serve at the pleasure of
the board. The president’s salary shall be set by the board of
directors. The board of directors may negotiate and enter into
an employment agreement with the individual selected as pres-
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ident of the corporation which may provide for such compensa-
tion and such provisions for allowances, benefits and expenses
. as may be included in such agreement. The board of directors is
. - authorized to make all payments and payroll deductions as ‘may
. be required under such agreement. The president shall direct
and supervise-administrative affairs and the general manage-

ment of the corporation, : -

- «(b) .. The president: . '

. (1) May, employ and terminate such other officers and em-
-ployees as designated by the board of directors;
"~ (2). shall attend board meetings; : :

- (3) shall appoint a secretary to keep a record of all proceed-
‘ings and maintain and be custodian of all financial and opera-
tional records, documents and papers filed with the corporation
and of the minute book of the corporation; and

» (4) before accepting any applications as provided for under
this act, shall prepare a business plan which shall include the

corporate analysis of funding levels of programs in other states .

that are shown in the report required in subsection (b) of K.S.A.
1986 Supp. 74-8111; and amendments thereto and the threshold
funding levels specified in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 1986 Supp.
74-8111 and amendments thereto. Upon approval of the business
plan by the corporation board, the plan shall be presented to the
standing or joint legislative committees on economic develop-
ment for review and evaluation. '

« Sec. 9. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 74-8005 and 74-8105 are hereby
repealed. .

~+8ee. 10.- This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register. '

Dear Secretary Brier: Please send

I | hereBy certify that the above BILL ’origi\nate‘d in‘ the HOUSE, and

passed that body April 8, 1987.
JAMES D. BRADEN
Speaker of the House.
GENEVA SEWARD -
Chief Clerk of the House.

the SENATE April 10, 1987. - :
Fassed P ROBERT V. TALKINGTON
. President of the Senate.
LU KENNEY
Secretary of the Senate.

APPROVED April 23, 1987.
; MIKE HAYDEN
Governor.

STATE OF KANSAS
. ‘ " Office of Secretary of State :

I, BILL GRAVES, Secretary of State of the State of Kansas, do
hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a correct copy of the
original -enrolled bill now on file in my office. )

IN. TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscnbe:d

my name and affixed my official seal, this 23rd day of April,

1987. . .
BILL GRAVES

(SEAL) Secretary of State. -

___ Kansas Register binders.
(Quanity)

Price: $14.00 each, includes shipping and handling.

SHIP TO:

AMOUNT ENCLOSED §

Shipping is by

U.P.S. Delivery Service;
STREET ADDRESS

IS NECESSARY.

Mail order, WITH PAYMENT, to: Kansas Register; Secretary of State; State Capitol;‘ Topekaf KS 66612,

Vol. 6, No. 18, April 30, 1987

,

© Kansas Secretary of State, 1987



KANSAS REGISTER

Secretary of State SeCOh& Cléss'

State Capitol ' , : , B Etanelidee
Tepeka, Kansas 66612-1594 I _{'?f’?;‘?gf?a'd

| Topeka, Kansas

Use this form (or a copy of it) to enter a

SUBSCRIPTION

____ One-year subscriptions @ $47.50 ea. THIS SPACE FOR REGISTER OFFICE

. TOTAL ENCLOSED ' USE ONLY, PLEASE

(Make checks payable to Kansas Register) CODE REC. NO.

SEND TO: - | EXPIRES. ____ ENTEREDBY | .
(Please, no .
more than
.4 address
lines.) -

Zip code must be included

Mail order, WITH PAYMENT, to: Kansas Register; Secretary of State: State Capitol; Topeka, KS 66612-1594.

Use this form (or a copy of it) for

CHANGE OF ADDRESS
Remove youf mailing label (above) and affix it here: Indicate change or correction of name or address
' here:
®

MAIL TO. Kansas Register, Secretary of State, State Capitol, Topeka, KS 66612-1594



